Claims 1-10 and 12-30 are pending.
Claim 11 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 12-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,11,13, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2, in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Sun et al, US 20210251002 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi discloses A first user equipment (UE)((pg. 18, col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
transmit a sidelink data message to a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band((pg.24,col.16,line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the
group of UEs for D2D communication the resource poolfor data and the resource for ACK/NACK to
destination UE 702.);
transmit, a reservation signal to reserve the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the second UE((Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) (pg.24,col.16,line.4-10) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.),
and monitor the sidelink communications channel for a feedback message from the second UE in response to transmitting the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.),
receive the feedback message from the second UE via the sidelink communications channel ((pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18)) The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit, a reservation signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message,
However, Selvanesan does disclose wherein, to monitor the sidelink communications channel, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
one or more memories storing processor-executable code ([0522] The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600. );
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
transmit, a reservation signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message (CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal. [0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following:a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, Cl, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The Cl and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the CI 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with one or more memories storing
processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and
operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmitting, a reservation
signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing
so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Wakabayashi and Selvanesan does not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold;
However, Sun does disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds alisten-before-talk success threshold([0005][0028]] One approach to avoiding collisions when communicating in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum is to use a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to ensure that the shared channel is clear before transmitting a signal in the shared channel. For example, a transmitting node may listen to the channel to determine whether there are active transmissions in the channel. When the channel is idle, the transmitting node may transmit a reservation signal (e.g., a preamble) to reserve a channel occupancy time (COT) in the shared channel and may communicate with a receiving node during the COT. During the initial phase of the LBT procedure, a device may perform a clear channel assessment (CCA) for a predetermined duration. During the CCA, the device may compare the energy level detected in the channel to a threshold value. If the energy level exceeds the threshold, the device may determine that the channel is occupied, refrain from transmitting a signal, and repeat the CCA after a period of time, or the device may reduce its transmit power to avoid interfering with other devices that may be using the channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds alisten-before-talk success threshold to as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectrum utilization efficiency . (Sun, [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi discloses the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, transmit the reservation signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message(pg.25,col.17, line.18- 20) ACK/NACKs 1208, 1210, 1212 are transmitted by different assisting UEs 1105 at different times on time separated communications resources.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to.
However, Selvanesan does disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a
main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with the one or more processors are
operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to as taught by Selvanesan.
The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Wakabayashi discloses the first UE wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit an indication of the slot configured for feedback with the sidelink data message or via a control message that schedules the sidelink data message ((pg.24, col.16, line.20-25) The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted.).
Regarding claim 17, Wakabayashi discloses a first user equipment (UE) ((pg. 18, col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
receive a sidelink data message from a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
communicate, a reservation signal to reserve the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the first UE ((pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration ofone slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are providedfor each if the UEs
of the group.),
and transmit a feedback message to the second UE via of the sidelink communications channel in response to communication of the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: after receiving the sidelink data message, communicating a reservation signal.
However, Selvanesan does disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code ([0522] The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600.);
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to ([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk
drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
after receiving the sidelink data message, communicating a reservation signal (CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal. ([0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following: a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, Cl, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The CI and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the CI 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with one or more memories storing
processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and
operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: after receiving the sidelink
data message, communicating a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing
so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds alisten-before-talk success threshold;
However, Ye does disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold([0042][0044] In other words, the LBT protocol can be performed one time in order to generate a channel assessment that determines whether a channel threshold is met for determining idleness or not, and whether a reservation signal should be transmitted along with the DRS transmission, or a DRS transmission alone. The channel assessment, for example, can include a determination of whether the unlicensed carrier or channel satisfies a predetermined threshold corresponding to an idle state. If the strength or energy of the channel is above the threshold, for example, then the channel can be determined to be busy. A measurement of energy, power, noise, or other parameter for channel measurement can be directly determined by the RF circuitry component 201 as part of the LBT, for example. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold to as taught by Ye. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the transmission opportunities of DRS. (Ye, [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Wakabayashi does disclose the first UE wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message(((pg.25,col.17, line.18-20) ACK/NACKs 1208, 1210, 1212 are transmitted by different assisting UEs 1105 at different times on time separated communications resources.)).
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2, in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Gubeskys et al, US 20230224096 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel.
However, Gubeskys does not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel ([0056] In sidelink control information (SCI), an indication that HARQ feedback is enabled for a data signal; receive the data signal; refrain from transmitting during a gap portion occurring in time after the receiving of the data signal, wherein the gap portion has a duration less than or equal to a value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to
cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention-based
procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel as
taught by Gubeskys. The motivation for doing so would be by improving spectral efficiency, lowering
costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL). (Gubeskys,[0004])).
Regarding claim 19, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel.
However, Gubeskys does not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel ([0056] In sidelink control
information (SCI), an indication that HARQ feedback is enabled for a data signal; receive the data signal; refrain from transmitting during a gap portion occurring in time after the receiving of the data signal, wherein the gap portion has a duration less than or equal to a value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE further comprising wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor executable code to cause the first UE to: refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel as taught by Gubeskys. The motivation for doing so would be by improving
spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL). (Gubeskys, [0004]).
Claims 4,8, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi
US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US
20210306824 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message([0165] Reserve a data transmission with reserved
resources for initial transmission, repetition transmission, HARQ feedback, SL-CSI, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message([0155] The first SCI may carry control information for decoding the data, such as
HARQ ID, Sidelink Demodulation Reference Signal (SL-DMRS) port and initial state, frequency hopping
flag and pattern, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086])).
Regarding claim 24, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data message ([0165] Reserve a data transmission with reserved resources for initial transmission, repetition transmission, HARQ feedback, SL-CSI, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein communicating, to communicate the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the
reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink
data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data
message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce
resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US
10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Earnshaw et al, US
20130235808 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Earnshaw does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0040] The same frequency resources and MCS as the most recent transmission for the same transport block, but with a different HARQ redundancy version.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink
data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time
between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Earnshaw. The motivation
for doing so would be to improved eNB decoding performance may be achieved. (Earnshaw, [0049])
Claims 10,14, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Yeo et al, US
20200106566 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Yeo does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0250] Where the information may include information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink; or/and HARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007])
Regarding claim 14, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots.
However, Yeo does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots ([0250] Where the information may include
information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink; or/and HARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007]).
Regarding claim 27, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to receive the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots ([0250] Where the information may include information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink;or/andHARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein to receive the sidelink data message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007]).
Claims 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi
US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US
20180255532 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both ([0066] The
sidelink UE may also be transmitting sidelink data during the same or an overlapping time via the same resources allocated for sidelink data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal compriscs, the one or more processors are operable to
execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a
set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink
data message, the feedback message, or both as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to
improve decoding performance and UE power efficiency. (Li, [0074]).
Regarding claim 23, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both([0066] The
sidelink UE may also be transmitting sidelink data during the same or an overlapping time via the same resources allocated for sidelink data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of
frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data
message, the feedback message, or both as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to
improve decoding performance and UE power efficiency. (Li, [0074]).
Claims 16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi
US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Wang et al, US
20210195573 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for transmission to the second UE.
However, Wang does disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for transmission to the second UE ([0076] The node 210 may transmit a control message to each of the UEs 115-e and 115-f, and the control message may allocate sidelink resources for the helper UE 115-f.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for
transmission to the second UE as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to enhance the wireless systems via reduced latency, multi- path diversity, coverage extension, battery-life
improvement, location enhancement, and infrastructure less communication. (Wang, [0022]).
Regarding claim 28, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE.
However, Wang does disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE ([0076] The node 210 may transmit a control message to each of the UEs 115-e and 115-f, and the control message may allocate sidelink resources for the helper UE 115-f.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to enhance the wireless systems via reduced latency, multipath diversity, coverage extension, battery-life improvement, location enhancement, and infrastructureless communication. (Wang, [0022]).
Claims 6,7,12, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of
Lee et al, US 20220394702 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0524-0525] The codewords are encoded bit sequences of information blocks. The information
blocks may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block, a DL-SCH transport block). The
codewords may be converted into scrambled bit sequences by the scramblers 1010.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to
execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the
sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time
between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Lee. The motivation for
doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0524-0525] The codewords are encoded bit sequences of information blocks. The information blocks may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block, a DL-SCH transport block). The codewords may be converted into scrambled bit sequences by the scramblers 1010.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Lee. The motivation for
doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is transmitted.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is transmitted ([0195-0196] There are several options for a reference point for PUCCH to report SL HARQ feedback. A slot containing PDCCH that schedules SL resources can be a reference point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the
processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured
for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the
sidelink data message is transmitted as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 26, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is received.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is received ([0195-0196] There are several options for a reference point for PUCCH to report SL HARQ feedback. A slot containing PDCCH that schedules SL resources can be a reference point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to
execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a
slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot
in which the sidelink data message is received as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be
to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi
US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, and in further view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1.
Regarding claim 29, Wakabayashi discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) ((pg.18,col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth),, comprising:
transmitting a sidelink data message to a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band ((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to
the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
transmitting, a reservation signal to reserve the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the second UE ((Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) (pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.),
and monitoring the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel for a feedback message from the second UE in response to transmitting the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19
Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each
comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided
into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each
rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the
destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D
protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the
ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE
702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether
ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.),
wherein monitoring the sidelink communications channel comprises:receiving the feedback message from the second UE via the sidelink communications channel((pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18)) The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose transmitting, after transmitting the sidelink data message, a reservation signal
However, Selvanesan does disclose transmitting, after transmitting the sidelink data message, a reservation signal (CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal. [0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following:a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, CI, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The Cl and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the Cl 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with after transmitting the sidelink
data message, a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be
to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds alisten-before-talk success threshold.
However, Ye does disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold([0042][0044] In other words, the LBT protocol can be performed one time in order to generate a channel assessment that determines whether a channel threshold is met for determining idleness or not, and whether a reservation signal should be transmitted along with the DRS transmission, or a DRS transmission alone. The channel assessment, for example, can include a determination of whether the unlicensed carrier or channel satisfies a predetermined threshold corresponding to an idle state. If the strength or energy of the channel is above the threshold, for example, then the channel can be determined to be busy. A measurement of energy, power, noise, or other parameter for channel measurement can be directly determined by the RF circuitry component 201 as part of the LBT, for example. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds alisten-before-talk success threshold to as taught by Ye. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the transmission opportunities of DRS. (Ye, [0047]).
Regarding claim 30, Wakabayashi discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) ((pg.18,col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal
devices and so forth), comprising:
receiving a sidelink data message from a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to
the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
communicating, a reservation signal to reserve the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the first UE((pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) The
source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.),
and transmitting a feedback message to the second UE via of the sidelink communications channel in response to communication of the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose after receiving the sidelink data message, a reservation signal,
However, Selvanesan does disclose after receiving the sidelink data message, a reservation signal ([0261] A second method is provided in which a UE performs sensing during Y OFDM symbols
which are an interval of energy detection configured in slot i, and transmits a PSSCH in slot (i+1) when it is determined that a corresponding resource is idle. In this case, slot (i+1) may refer to the next consecutive slot of slot i, or may refer to the next transmittable slot, not the next consecutive slot of slot i. The remaining symbols after sensing is performed in slot i may be defined as an interval in which a reservation signal for the next slot transmission is transmitted. Specifically, transmission of a PSSCH in slot (i+1) is reserved.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with after receiving the sidelink data
message, a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save
power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048]),
Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold.
wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold([0042][0044] In other words, the LBT protocol can be performed one time in order to generate a channel assessment that determines whether a channel threshold is met for determining idleness or not, and whether a reservation signal should be transmitted along with the DRS transmission, or a DRS transmission alone. The channel assessment, for example, can include a determination of whether the unlicensed carrier or channel satisfies a predetermined threshold corresponding to an idle state. If the strength or energy of the channel is above the threshold, for example, then the channel can be determined to be busy. A measurement of energy, power, noise, or other parameter for channel measurement can be directly determined by the RF circuitry component 201 as part of the LBT, for example. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that exceeds a listen-before-talk success threshold to as taught by Ye. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the transmission opportunities of DRS. (Ye, [0047]).
Claims 9,20,21,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi
US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, and in further view of Sun et al, US 20200021470 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking
reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a
combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of
channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 20, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE, wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing coordination information, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE, wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing coordination information, or any combination thereof ([0012] [0367] The CSI-RS is mainly used for channel quality feedback. The reference signal used for CSI estimation may be referred to as a first reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UEwherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the
processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE,
wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing
coordination information, or any combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so
would be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 21, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking
reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the
processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE,
wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any
combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of
channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 25, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor- executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE, wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase
tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would
be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US
10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Ye et al, US 20190075596 A1, in view of Oteri et al, US 20210058967 A1, and in further view of Cheolkyu et al, US
20230189218 A1.
Regarding claim 22, Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols.
However, Shin does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols ([0098] One or more symbols before the TX UE transmits PSCCH/PSSCH/PSFCH in the
corresponding slot 601 may be used as a region 602 for automatic gain control (AGC).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, Ye, and Oteri with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to
execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain
control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols as taught by Cheolkyu. The
motivation for doing so would be to improve the performance of resource allocation. (Cheolkyu, [0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419