Claims 1-30 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,17,29, and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the originally filed specification fails to support “a reservation signal that reserves one or more slots of the sidelink communication channel”. A search for “a reservation signal via slots” pointed to paragraph 0019. However, this portion does not seem to describe “reserves one or more slots” as recited in the claim.
Claims 17,29, and 30 are rejected for the same reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claims 1,17,29, and 30 applicant argues Wakabayashi does not teach or suggests that reserves one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel or monitoring the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel for a feedback message from the second UE in response to transmitting the reservation signal. The examiner respectfully disagrees on pg.19 col.5, lines19-24 and Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18 of Wakabayashi discloses The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages. In the section of Wakabayshi the references disclose monitoring a resource element which is described as a slot. Therefore, the combination of Wakabayshi, Jia, and disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of claims 1,17,29, and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,11,13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2, in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi discloses a first user equipment (UE) ((pg. 18, col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
transmit a sidelink data message to a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band ((pg.24,col.16,line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
transmit, a reservation signal that reserves one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the second UE ((Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) (pg.24,col.16,line.4- 10) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group);
and monitor the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel for a feedback message from the second UE in response to transmitting the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code;
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:transmit, a reservation signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message,
However, Selvanesan does disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code([0522] The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600. );
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
transmit, a reservation signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message ( CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal.[0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following:a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, Cl, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The Cl and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the Cl 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmitting, a reservation signal, after transmitting the sidelink data message as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi discloses the first UE wherein to transmit the reservation signal comprises, transmit the reservation signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message((pg.25,col.17, line.18- 20) ACK/NACKs 1208, 1210, 1212 are transmitted by different assisting UEs 1105 at different times on time separated communications resources.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:
However, Selvanesan does disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Regarding claim 11, Wakabayashi discloses the first UE wherein, to monitor the sidelink communications channel, receive the feedback message from the second UE via the sidelink communications channel ((pg.23,col.14,line14-17 The source UE 701 can receive the ACK/NACK message 706 from another UE, by relaying the ACK/NACK message, which can be received via a common D2D communications interface.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:
However, Selvanesan does disclose the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Regarding claim 13, Wakabayashi discloses the method first UE wherein transmitting, to transmit the sidelink data message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:transmitting transmit an indication of the slot configured for feedback with the sidelink data message or via a control message that schedules the sidelink data message((pg.24, col.16, line.20-25) The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted.).
Regarding claim 17, Wakabayashi discloses a first user equipment (UE) ((pg.18,col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
receiving the receive a sidelink data message from a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band ((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
communicate, a reservation signal that reserves one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the first UE ((pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.);
and transmit a feedback message to the second UE via the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel in response to communication of the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:after receiving the sidelink data message, communicating a reservation signal.
However, Selvanesan does disclose one or more memories storing processor-executable code([0522] The secondary memory 608 may allow computer programs or other instructions to be loaded into the computer system 600. );
and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to([0522] The processor 602 is connected to a communication infrastructure 604, like a bus or a network. The computer system 600 includes a main memory 606, e.g., a random-access memory, RAM, and a secondary memory 608, e.g., a hard disk drive and/or a removable storage drive.):
after receiving the sidelink data message, communicating a reservation signal ( CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal.[0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following:a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, Cl, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The Cl and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the Cl 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:after receiving the sidelink data message, communicating a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2, in view of Shin et al, US 20200314804 A1, and in further view of Fan et al, US 20200229239 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Wakabayashi does disclose the first UE, wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ((pg.25,col.17, line.18- 20) ACK/NACKs 1208, 1210, 1212 are transmitted by different assisting UEs 1105 at different times on time separated communications resources.),
Wakabayashi and Shin do not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold.
However, Fan does disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold([0059] the UE 115 may perform an LBT 330 to reserve a TXOP 332 to transmit the feedback associated with the PDSCH 308 via the PUCCH 320. If the TXOP 304 reserved by the BS 105 and the TXOP 332 reserved by the UE 115 overlaps such that the UE 115 is able to transmit the feedback within the TXOP 304, the LBT 330 may be a category 2 LBT. If a gap between the DL transmission via the PDSCH 308 and the UL transmission via the PUCCH 320 satisfies a predefined threshold (e.g., ten microseconds or seven symbols), the UE 115 may perform “no LBT” before transmitting the feedback via the PUCCH 320. The gap may satisfy the predefined threshold if the gap is smaller than the predefined threshold. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Shin with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold as taught by Fan. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectrum sharing performance and reduce LBT latency. (Fan, [0042])
Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as
Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2, in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Gubeskys et al, US 20230224096 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention-based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel.
However, Gubeskys does not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention-based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel([0056] In sidelink control information (SCI), an indication that HARQfeedback is enabled for a data signal; receive the data signal; refrain from transmitting during a gap portion occurring in time after the receiving of the data signal, wherein the gap portion has a duration less than or equal to a value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: refrain from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention-based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel as taught by Gubeskys. The motivation for doing so would be by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL). (Gubeskys, [0004])).
Regarding claim 19, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE further comprising wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel.
However, Gubeskys does not disclose the first UE further comprising wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel([0056] In sidelink control information (SCI), an indication that HARQfeedback is enabled for a data signal; receive the data signal; refrain from transmitting during a gap portion occurring in time after the receiving of the data signal, wherein the gap portion has a duration less than or equal to a value.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE further comprising wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:refraining from transmitting the reservation signal during a gap of the duration, wherein the gap is less than a gap threshold corresponding to a timing in which a contention- based procedure is to be performed prior to communicating over the sidelink communications channel as taught by Gubeskys. The motivation for doing so would be by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL). (Gubeskys, [0004]).
Claims 4,8, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20210306824 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0165] Reserve a data transmission with reserved resources for initial transmission, repetition transmission, HARQfeedback, SL-CSI, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit one or more repetitions of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086]).
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message([0155] The first SCI may carry control information for decoding the data, such as HARQ ID, Sidelink Demodulation Reference Signal (SL-DMRS) port and initial state, frequency hopping flag and pattern, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086])).
Regarding claim 24, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein communicating, to communicate the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to:rccciving receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data message.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein communicating, to communicate the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data message ([0165] Reserve a data transmission with reserved resources for initial transmission, repetition transmission, HARQ feedback, SL-CSI, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein communicating, to communicate the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a repetition of the sidelink data message and the feedback message is based at least in part on the repetition of the sidelink data message as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spatial reuse, reduce resources used for beam sweeping, or reduce interference in the proximity. (Li, [0086]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Earnshaw et al, US 20130235808 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Earnshaw does disclose the first UE, wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0040] The same frequency resources and MCS as the most recent transmission for the same transport block, but with a different HARQ redundancy version.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a different redundancy version of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Earnshaw. The motivation for doing so would be to improved eNB decoding performance may be achieved. (Earnshaw, [0049])
Claims 14 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Yeo et al, US 20200106566 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots.
However, Yeo does disclose the first UE, wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots ([0250] Where the information may include information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink; or/andHARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein, to transmit the sidelink data message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007]).
Regarding claim 27, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein to receive the sidelink data message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots.
However, Yeo does disclose the first UE, wherein to receive the sidelink data message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots ([0250] Where the information may include information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink; or/andHARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein to receive the sidelink data message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the sidelink data message in multiple slots, wherein the feedback message is for the sidelink data message transmitted in the multiple slots as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, in view of Yeo et al, US 20200106566 A1, and in further view of Fan et al, US 20200229239 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback message,
However, Yeo does disclose the first UE wherein to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0250] Where the information may include information relating to which slots and symbols can be used for sidelink; or/andHARQ-ACK.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal via a portion of a slot, or one or more slots, between the sidelink data message and the feedback messageas taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a method and device for efficiently performing device-to-device communication. (Yeo, [0007])
Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, and Yeo do not disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold.
However, Fan does disclose wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold([0059] the UE 115 may perform an LBT 330 to reserve a TXOP 332 to transmit the feedback associated with the PDSCH 308 via the PUCCH 320. If the TXOP 304 reserved by the BS 105 and the TXOP 332 reserved by the UE 115 overlaps such that the UE 115 is able to transmit the feedback within the TXOP 304, the LBT 330 may be a category 2 LBT. If a gap between the DL transmission via the PDSCH 308 and the UL transmission via the PUCCH 320 satisfies a predefined threshold (e.g., ten microseconds or seven symbols), the UE 115 may perform “no LBT” before transmitting the feedback via the PUCCH 320. The gap may satisfy the predefined threshold if the gap is smaller than the predefined threshold. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi, Selvanesan, and Yeo with wherein the reservation signal reserves the sidelink communications channel in accordance with a transmit power that satisfies a listen-before-talk success threshold as taught by Yeo. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectrum sharing performance and reduce LBT latency. (Fan, [0042])
Claims 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Li et al, US 20180255532 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal compriscs, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal compriscs, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both ([0066] The sidelink UE may also be transmitting sidelink data during the same or an overlapping time via the same resources allocated for sidelink data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal compriscs, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding performance and UE power efficiency. (Li, [0074]).
Regarding claim 23, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both.
However, Li does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both ([0066] The sidelink UE may also be transmitting sidelink data during the same or an overlapping time via the same resources allocated for sidelink data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the reservation signal using a set of frequency resources that at least partially overlap frequency resources used for the sidelink data message, the feedback message, or both as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to improve decoding performance and UE power efficiency. (Li, [0074]).
Claims 16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Wang et al, US 20210195573 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for transmission to the second UE.
However, Wang does disclose the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for transmission to the second UE ([0076] The node 210 may transmit a control message to each of the UEs 115-e and 115-f, and the control message may allocate sidelink resources for the helper UE 115-f.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for transmission to the second UE as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to enhance the wireless systems via reduced latency, multi- path diversity, coverage extension, battery-life improvement, location enhancement, and infrastructureless communication. (Wang, [0022]).
Regarding claim 28, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE.
However, Wang does disclose the first UE, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE ([0076] The node 210 may transmit a control message to each of the UEs 115-e and 115-f, and the control message may allocate sidelink resources for the helper UE 115-f.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive a control message that schedules the sidelink data message for reception from the second UE as taught by Wang. The motivation for doing so would be to enhance the wireless systems via reduced latency, multipath diversity, coverage extension, battery-life improvement, location enhancement, and infrastructureless communication. (Wang, [0022]).
Claims 6,7,12, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Lee et al, US 20220394702 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0524-0525] The codewords are encoded bit sequences of information blocks. The information blocks may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block, a DL-SCH transport block). The codewords may be converted into scrambled bit sequences by the scramblers 1010.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of parity bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback message ([0524-0525] The codewords are encoded bit sequences of information blocks. The information blocks may include transport blocks (e.g., a UL-SCH transport block, a DL-SCH transport block). The codewords may be converted into scrambled bit sequences by the scramblers 1010.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a same transport block of the sidelink data message and a set of systematic bits of the sidelink data message over a duration in time between the sidelink data message and the feedback messageas taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is transmitted.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is transmitted ([0195-0196] There are several options for a reference point for PUCCH to report SL HARQfeedback. A slot containing PDCCH that schedules SL resources can be a reference point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to receive the feedback message, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is transmitted as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Regarding claim 26, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is received.
However, Lee does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is received ([0195-0196] There are several options for a reference point for PUCCH to report SL HARQfeedback. A slot containing PDCCH that schedules SL resources can be a reference point.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the feedback message comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit the feedback message via a slot configured for feedback, wherein the slot is configured for feedback with respect to a second slot in which the sidelink data message is received as taught by Lee. The motivation for doing so would be to increase an interval between the vehicles by using the periodic data. (Lee, [0009]).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1.
Regarding claim 29, Wakabayashi discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) ((pg.18,col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
transmitting a sidelink data message to a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band ((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
transmitting, a reservation signal that reserves one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the second UE ((Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) (pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.);
and monitoring the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel for a feedback message from the second UE in response to transmitting the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose after transmitting the sidelink data message, a reservation signal.
However, Selvanesan does disclose after transmitting the sidelink data message, a reservation signal (CI 404 is interpreted as sidelink data message and AIM 406 is interpreted to be reservation signal.[0057] [0060] [0384] [0386] [0387] FIG. 5 The AIM may contain information for assisting UE-B in its resource selection process. For example, an AIM may contain one or more of the following:a list of resources, resource blocks or subchannels for which collisions are expected, for example a list of all reservations or of resources where there is a reservation and the UE-B is expected to transmit as well. In either case, UE-A, as is indicated at 400, may detect a collision on resources used or reserved to be used by a transmission of UE-B. Responsive to detecting the collision at 400, UE-A transmits a collision indication, Cl, 404 and the assistance information, like an AIM 406, to UE-B. The Cl and the AIM may be sent by a common signaling or by a separate signaling. In accordance with embodiments of the first aspect, UE-A sends the Cl 404 of a future or past collision to UE-B in accordance with the above-described conventional scheme 2, and based on this Cl 404, UE-A further sends an AIM 406 with a set of resources for UE-B to use instead of the colliding resources or a set of resources to avoid based on the future or past collision, in accordance with scheme 1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with after transmitting the sidelink data message, a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Regarding claim 30, Wakabayashi discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) ((pg.18,col.4line.37-39) communications terminals, user equipment (UE), terminal devices and so forth), comprising:
receiving a sidelink data message from a second UE via a sidelink communications channel of an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band ((pg.24,col.16, line.1-3) The source UE 701 indicates to the group of UEs for D2D communication the resource pool for data and the resource for ACK/NACK to destination UE 702.);
communicating, a reservation signal that reserves the sidelink communications channel of the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band for feedback from the first UE ((pg.24,col.16, line.4-10) The source UE 701 provides an indication of the communications resources for ACK/NACK to any UE(s) able to assist. If there is more than one UE, which is able to assist then two examples are where there are common communications resources available to the UEs of the group or dedicated communications resources are provided for each if the UEs of the group.);
and transmitting a feedback message to the second UE via the one or more slots of the sidelink communications channel after in response to communication of the reservation signal, the feedback message corresponding to the sidelink data message ((pg.19 col.5, lines19-24)(pg.24, col. 16,line.20-25) (Pg.19 Col. 19, line 9-11,16-18) The resources within a slot may be divided into resources blocks 203 each comprising 12 subcarriers for the duration of one slot and the resources blocks further divided into resource elements 204 which span one subcarrier for one OFDM symbol, where each rectangle 204 represents a resource element. The source UE 701 sends scheduling assignments to the destination UE 702. Since the scheduling assignments can be transmitted in accordance with a D2D protocol, the assisting/relay UE 1001 is also able to detect the scheduling assignments in which the ACK/NACK messages will be transmitted. The source UE 701 transmits data units to the destination UE 702. As another example of feedback resource allocation, the destination UE can decide whether ACK/NACK message relaying is enabled or not. This could minimize the resources of feedback signaling and reduce the monitoring of ACK/NACK messages.).
Wakabayashi does not disclose after receiving the sidelink data message, a reservation signal,
However, Selvanesan does disclose after receiving the sidelink data message, a reservation signal ([0261] A second method is provided in which a UE performs sensing during Y OFDM symbols which are an interval of energy detection configured in slot i, and transmits a PSSCH in slot (i+1) when it is determined that a corresponding resource is idle. In this case, slot (i+1) may refer to the next consecutive slot of slot i, or may refer to the next transmittable slot, not the next consecutive slot of slot i. The remaining symbols after sensing is performed in slot i may be defined as an interval in which a reservation signal for the next slot transmission is transmitted. Specifically, transmission of a PSSCH in slot (i+1) is reserved.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi with after receiving the sidelink data message, a reservation signal as taught by Selvanesan. The motivation for doing so would be to save power, enhanced reliability and reduced latency. (Selvanesan, [0048])
Claims 9,20,21,25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Sun et al, US 20200021470 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or a combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 20, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE, wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing coordination information, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE, wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing coordination information, or any combination thereof ([0012] [0367] The CSI-RS is mainly used for channel quality feedback. The reference signal used for CSI estimation may be referred to as a first reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit control signaling to the second UE, wherein the control signaling comprises channel state feedback information, channel sensing coordination information, or any combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 21, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal compriscs, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit a reference signal to the second UE, wherein the reference signal is for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Regarding claim 25, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE, wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof.
However, Sun does disclose the first UE, wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof ([0367] the phase tracking reference signal may be referred to as a second reference signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE, wherein, to communicate the reservation signal, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: receive the reservation signal from the second UE, wherein the reservation signal is a reference signal for channel state measurement, phase tracking, positioning, or any combination thereof as taught by Sun. The motivation for doing so would be to improve accuracy of channel state estimation. (Sun, [0014]).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Wakabayashi US 10291364 B2., in view of Selvanesan et al, US 20240080868 A1, and in further view of Cheolkyu et al, US 20230189218 A1.
Regarding claim 22, Wakabayashi and Selvanesan do not disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols.
However, Shin does disclose the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols ([0098] One or more symbols before the TX UE transmits PSCCH/PSSCH/PSFCH in the corresponding slot 601 may be used as a region 602 for automatic gain control (AGC).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wakabayashi and Selvanesan with the first UE wherein, to transmit the reservation signal comprises, the one or more processors are operable to execute the processor-executable code to cause the first UE to: transmit signaling for automatic gain control training, wherein the signaling spans one or more symbols as taught by Cheolkyu. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the performance of resource allocation. (Cheolkyu, [0010]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419