DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10, 12-22, 26, 27, 29-32, 34-39, 41, and 42 are presented for examination.
Claims 11, 23-25, 28, 33, 40, and 43-45 are canceled.
Claims 1, 36, 38, and 41 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-19, 29-32, 34-39, 41, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny et al., (hereinafter Tenny), U.S. Publication No. 2018/0199185, in view of Park et al., (hereinafter Park), U.S. Publication No. 2013/0039202.
As per claim 1, Tenny discloses a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1, 10, Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0040, 0076, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (wireless communications systems are supporting user equipments (UEs))], comprising:
determining whether one or more trigger conditions are met, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on an overheating assistance (OA) configuration received from a network [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045-0048, 0054, 0058, 0060, determining whether one or more trigger conditions are met, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on an overheating assistance (OA) configuration received from a network (UE 505 determines that it is overheating (block 515); detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; receiving an initial configuration specified by the network to perform a check to determine if the UE is overheating)]; and
following the OA configuration, or switching to an internal thermal mitigation configuration based at least in part on the determining [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0045, 0047, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0059, following the OA configuration, or switching to an internal thermal mitigation configuration based at least in part on the determining (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)].
Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration.
However, Park teaches wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration [fig. 14B, 15A, 15B, paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0129, 0130, 0139, 0194, 0261, 0267, 0270, 0272, 0310, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration (the electronic device 100 may include information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the first frequency range (FR1) or information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the second frequency range (FR2); the overheat assistance information (OverheatingAssistance) generated in response to identifying the internal overheat; voltage manager 1410 may indicate information about the determination that an excessive voltage drop is likely to occur to at least one of the first CP or the second CP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration as taught by Park because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of efficiently processing overheat in an electronic device [Park, paragraph 0007].
As per claim 2, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the OA configuration indicates one or more OA parameters, comprising:
a number of uplink component carriers (CCs); a number of downlink CCs; a maximum bandwidth; a maximum number of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers; or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0003, 0043, 0046-0048, 0055, a number of uplink component carriers (CCs); a number of downlink CCs; a maximum bandwidth; a maximum number of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers; or a combination thereof (capabilities of a UE, e.g., maximum data rate, number of supported carriers in carrier aggregation (CA), number of antennas in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) operation, and so on; configuration (e.g., high data rates, MIMO configuration, large number of carriers, and so on))].
As per claim 3, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, wherein following the OA configuration received from the network or switching to the internal thermal mitigation configuration based at least in part on the determining comprises:
following the OA configuration when none of the one or more trigger conditions is met; or switching to the internal thermal mitigation configuration when the one or more trigger conditions are met [paragraphs 0045, 0054, 0055, following the OA configuration when none of the one or more trigger conditions is met; or switching to the internal thermal mitigation configuration when the one or more trigger conditions are met (UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)].
As per claim 4, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on at least one of:
the network not supporting OA signaling; the UE not receiving the OA configuration from the network within a threshold duration; the UE receiving the OA configuration from the network, wherein the OA configuration does not include one or more OA parameters requested by the UE, includes an insufficient value for at least one of the one or more OA parameters requested by the UE, or both; the UE being configured with a prohibit timer value larger than a threshold timer value, wherein the prohibit timer value indicates a time from sending an OA request to the network until another OA request can be sent to the network; and the UE determining that a thermal threshold is satisfied, or a combination thereof [fig. 6, paragraphs 0045, 0051, 0056, 0063, 0069, the network not supporting OA signaling; the UE not receiving the OA configuration from the network within a threshold duration (the network does not transmit updated configuration to the UE; the data rate reduction is insufficient to reduce the heat dissipation requirements)].
As per claim 5, Tenny discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising
determining whether the network supports OA signaling based at least in part on whether the network configured the UE for sending an OA request indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters [fig. 5, paragraphs 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, determining whether the network supports OA signaling based at least in part on whether the network configured the UE for sending an OA request indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)].
As per claim 6, Tenny discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
sending an OA request to the network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters [fig. 5, paragraphs 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, sending an OA request to the network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)];
starting a timer based at least in part on sending the OA request; and determining whether the UE receives the OA configuration from the network before expiry of the timer, wherein the timer is associated with the threshold duration [paragraphs 0051, 0056, 0061, 0063, starting a timer based at least in part on sending the OA request; and determining whether the UE receives the OA configuration from the network before expiry of the timer, wherein the timer is associated with the threshold duration (the UE initiates a timer after triggering the transfer of the updated UE capability information and if the timer expires prior to receiving the updated configuration information from the network)].
As per claim 7, Tenny discloses the method of claim 6,
where the determining is based at least in part on multiple previously received OA parameters, de-configuration commands, or de-activation commands from the network [paragraphs 0045, 0046, 0055, 0068, where the determining is based at least in part on multiple previously received OA parameters, de-configuration commands, or de-activation commands from the network (the network to deactivate and then reactivate the affected radio resources; UE may force a reduction in the data rate by ignoring some carriers (in a CA mode), turning off some receivers (in a MIMO mode), and so on)].
As per claim 8, Tenny discloses the method of claim 6,
wherein the determining is performed upon expiry of the timer, upon receiving a first de-configuration command from the network, or upon receiving a first de-activation command from the network [fig. 7, paragraphs 0045, 0051, 0055, 0056, 0063, wherein the determining is performed upon expiry of the timer, upon receiving a first de-configuration command from the network, or upon receiving a first de-activation command from the network (change to the UE capability if the timer expires prior to receiving the updated configuration information from the network)].
As per claim 9, Tenny discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising:
sending an OA request to the network indicating the one or more OA parameters requested by the UE [fig. 5, paragraphs 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, sending an OA request to the network indicating the one or more OA parameters requested by the UE (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)];
receiving the OA configuration from the network; and determining whether the OA configuration includes the one or more OA parameters requested by the UE [paragraphs 0057, 0059, 0063, 0064, 0066, receiving the OA configuration from the network; and determining whether the OA configuration includes the one or more OA parameters requested by the UE (messages exchanged between a UE 405 and network 410 as UE 405 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; UE 605 performs a check to determine if it has received updated configuration information)].
As per claim 10, Tenny discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising
determining the threshold timer value based at least in part on a UE overheating tolerance capability [paragraphs 0045, 0056, 0058, 0061, 0064, 0066, determining the threshold timer value based at least in part on a UE overheating tolerance capability (UE 605 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating while using a timer to ensure that the UE capability is changed; UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction)].
As per claim 12, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until overheating is alleviated, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm [paragraphs 0045, 0056, 0058, 0061, 0064, 0066, wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until overheating is alleviated, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm (UE 605 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating while using a timer to ensure that the UE capability is changed; UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition)].
As per claim 13, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until after a threshold number of iterations of an internal thermal mitigation algorithm associated with the internal thermal mitigation configuration [paragraphs 0045, 0051, 0056, 0058, 0061, 0064, 0066, wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until after a threshold number of iterations of an internal thermal mitigation algorithm associated with the internal thermal mitigation configuration (UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE initiates a timer after triggering the transfer of the updated UE capability information)].
As per claim 14, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until a temperature of the UE is below a threshold temperature, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm [paragraphs 0045, 0054, wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until a temperature of the UE is below a threshold temperature, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm (UE may be able to detect that is overheating using one or more thermal sensors, temperature detection circuitry; one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)].
As per claim 15, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, wherein following the internal thermal mitigation configuration comprises following the internal thermal mitigation configuration until an OA configuration is received from the network that indicates:
a mobility change, that the network supports OA signaling, that configures a prohibit timer value within a threshold timer value, or a combination thereof, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm [paragraphs 0045, 0048, 0090, a mobility change, that the network supports OA signaling, that configures a prohibit timer value within a threshold timer value, or a combination thereof, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is associated with an internal thermal mitigation algorithm (UE may be able to detect that is overheating using one or more thermal sensors, temperature detection circuitry; one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating; the UE is overheating may involve the comparison of a signal provided by one or more thermal sensors with an overheating threshold)].
As per claim 16, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending an OA request to the network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters associated with a UE preferred order of reduction, wherein the OA configuration indicates one or more configured OA parameters [paragraphs 0045-0048, 0055, 0058, 0059, 0062, 0065, sending an OA request to the network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters associated with a UE preferred order of reduction, wherein the OA configuration indicates one or more configured OA parameters (the UE is overheating, the UE updates the UE capability to reduce the heat generated by the UE; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)]; and
wherein switching to the internal thermal mitigation configuration is based at least in part on the OA configuration being different than the UE preferred order of reduction [paragraphs 0008, 0056, wherein switching to the internal thermal mitigation configuration is based at least in part on the OA configuration being different than the UE preferred order of reduction (taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; operating capabilities that differs from the second set of operating capabilities)].
As per claim 17, Tenny discloses the method of claim 16,
wherein the OA configuration indicates one or more first CCs to be reduced, and wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration reduces one or more second CCs different than the one or more first CCs indicated by the network, wherein the one or more first CCs and the one or more second CCs include the same number of CCs [fig. 7, paragraphs 0043, 0048, 0057, 0058, 0065, wherein the OA configuration indicates one or more first CCs to be reduced, and wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration reduces one or more second CCs different than the one or more first CCs indicated by the network, wherein the one or more first CCs and the one or more second CCs include the same number of CCs (the subset of the UE capability information may indicate support for a reduced number of carriers compared to the current operating UE capability; support CA with 8 downlink carriers … adjusts the UE capability (reduces the number of downlink carriers))].
As per claim 18, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising
sending the network an indication of a UE preferred order of reduction indicating an order of preference for cell groups, component carriers (CCs), or both to be reduced [paragraphs 0043, 0045-0047, 0067, sending the network an indication of a UE preferred order of reduction indicating an order of preference for cell groups, component carriers (CCs), or both to be reduced (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction in processing, achievable by reducing the data rate, MIMO rank, number of carriers, or a combination thereof)].
As per claim 19, Tenny discloses the method of claim 18,
wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction indicates weights associated with the UE preferred order of reduction [paragraphs 0020, 0045-0047, 0067, wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction indicates weights associated with the UE preferred order of reduction (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction in processing, achievable by reducing the data rate, MIMO rank, number of carriers, or a combination thereof)].
As per claim 29, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending an indication to the network that overheating is alleviated and including one or more requested parameters [paragraph 0046, 0047, 0055, 0058, 0060, sending an indication to the network that overheating is alleviated and including one or more requested parameters (UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction in processing, achievable by reducing the data rate, MIMO rank, number of carriers)].
As per claim 30, Tenny discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the one or more requested parameters comprise at least one of:
a requested number of uplink component carriers, a requested number of downlink component carriers, a requested total number of component carriers, a request bandwidth, a requested number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers, or a combination thereof [paragraphs 0043, 0047, 0048, 0065, a requested number of downlink component carriers, a requested total number of component carriers, a request bandwidth, a requested number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers, or a combination thereof (capabilities of a UE, e.g., maximum data rate, number of supported carriers in carrier aggregation (CA), number of antennas in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) operation; the number of downlink carriers to 4, 2, or 1)].
As per claim 31, Tenny discloses the method of claim 29,
wherein the indication is sent via signaling used for indicating overheating [paragraphs 0044, 0048, 0053, wherein the indication is sent via signaling used for indicating overheating (operations may be indicative of operations occurring in a UE as the UE is overheating; configuration change indicator indicating that the UE capability information)].
As per claim 32, Tenny discloses the method of claim 31,
wherein the signaling is sent in response to determining an overheating condition is alleviated, or is repurposed OA signaling sent in response to determining a change in one or more parameters is desired [paragraph 0046, 0047, 0055, 0058, 0060, wherein the signaling is sent in response to determining an overheating condition is alleviated (UE may consider the overheating problem to be alleviated by a reduction in processing, achievable by reducing the data rate, MIMO rank, number of carriers)].
As per claim 34, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving multiple thermal indications from multiple thermal monitors; queuing the multiple thermal indications; and sending OA signaling for each thermal indication separately [fig. 5, paragraphs 0015, 0045, 0050, 0052, 0054, 0060, 0070, receiving multiple thermal indications from multiple thermal monitors; queuing the multiple thermal indications; and sending OA signaling for each thermal indication separately (UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating; obtain the updated UE capability information may be transmitted in a separate message transmitted to the network)].
As per claim 35, Tenny discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
starting a combination timer; receiving multiple thermal indications from multiple thermal monitors while the combination timer is running; combining the multiple thermal indications; and sending OA signaling for the combined thermal indications [paragraphs 0045, 0051, 0054-0056, 0063, 0064, starting a combination timer; receiving multiple thermal indications from multiple thermal monitors while the combination timer is running; combining the multiple thermal indications; and sending OA signaling for the combined thermal indications (UE may be able to detect that is overheating using one or more thermal sensors, such as a thermistor, a diode, temperature detection circuitry, and so forth; one or more thermal sensors; the UE initiates a timer after triggering the transfer of the updated UE capability information)].
As per claim 36, Tenny discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1, 10, Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0040, 0076, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (wireless communications systems are supporting user equipments (UEs))], comprising:
sending an overheating assistance (OA) request to a network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045, 0047, 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, sending an overheating assistance (OA) request to a network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)];
receiving, from the network and based at least in part on the OA request, an OA configuration of one or more OA parameters [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045, 0047, 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, receiving, from the network and based at least in part on the OA request, an OA configuration of one or more OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)]; and
switching to an internal UE configuration when the OA configuration is different than a UE preferred order of reduction [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0045, 0047, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0059, switching to an internal UE configuration when the OA configuration is different than a UE preferred order of reduction (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)].
Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration.
However, Park teaches wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration [fig. 14B, 15A, 15B, paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0129, 0130, 0139, 0194, 0261, 0267, 0270, 0272, 0310, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration (the electronic device 100 may include information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the first frequency range (FR1) or information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the second frequency range (FR2); the overheat assistance information (OverheatingAssistance) generated in response to identifying the internal overheat; voltage manager 1410 may indicate information about the determination that an excessive voltage drop is likely to occur to at least one of the first CP or the second CP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration as taught by Park because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of efficiently processing overheat in an electronic device [Park, paragraph 0007].
As per claim 37, Tenny discloses the method of claim 36,
wherein the OA configuration from the network indicates component carriers (CCs) to be reduced, and wherein the internal UE configuration reduces different CCs that the CCs indicated by the network and corresponding to a same number of reduced CCs [fig. 7, paragraphs 0043, 0048, 0057, 0058, 0065, wherein the OA configuration from the network indicates component carriers (CCs) to be reduced, and wherein the internal UE configuration reduces different CCs that the CCs indicated by the network and corresponding to a same number of reduced CCs (the subset of the UE capability information may indicate support for a reduced number of carriers compared to the current operating UE capability; support CA with 8 downlink carriers … adjusts the UE capability (reduces the number of downlink carriers))].
As per claim 38, Tenny discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) [fig. 1, 10, Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0040, 0076, a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (wireless communications systems are supporting user equipments (UEs))], comprising:
determining a desired configuration comprising at least one of a requested number of uplink component carriers, a requested number of downlink component carriers, a requested total number of component carriers, a request bandwidth, a requested number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers, or a combination thereof [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0003, 0043, 0045-0048, 0054, 0055, 0060, determining a desired configuration comprising at least one of a requested number of uplink component carriers, a requested number of downlink component carriers, a requested total number of component carriers, a request bandwidth, a requested number of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) layers, or a combination thereof (UE 505 determines that it is overheating (block 515); detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating; capabilities of a UE, e.g., maximum data rate, number of supported carriers in carrier aggregation (CA), number of antennas in multiple input multiple output (MIMO) operation, and so on; configuration (e.g., high data rates, MIMO configuration, large number of carriers, and so on))]., and
signaling the desired configuration to a network via repurposed OA signaling during a duration when the UE is not experiencing an overheating condition [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0045, 0047, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0059, signaling the desired configuration to a network via repurposed OA signaling during a duration when the UE is not experiencing an overheating condition (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; when the UE detects that it is no longer overheating, the UE resumes operation, for example, by reactivating its previous configuration from the network)].
Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the desired configuration is different from a received overheating assistance (OA) configuration.
However, Park teaches wherein the desired configuration is different from a received overheating assistance (OA) configuration [fig. 14B, 15A, 15B, paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0129, 0130, 0139, 0194, 0261, 0267, 0270, 0272, 0310, wherein the desired configuration is different from a received overheating assistance (OA) configuration (the electronic device 100 may include information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the first frequency range (FR1) or information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the second frequency range (FR2); the overheat assistance information (OverheatingAssistance) generated in response to identifying the internal overheat; voltage manager 1410 may indicate information about the determination that an excessive voltage drop is likely to occur to at least one of the first CP or the second CP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration as taught by Park because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of efficiently processing overheat in an electronic device [Park, paragraph 0007].
As per claim 39, Tenny discloses the method of claim 38, wherein signaling the desired configuration is based at least in part on a determination of at least one of:
a coverage level being below a threshold, a secondary cell (SCell) quality being below a threshold, SCell timing being drifted beyond a threshold, a configured cyclic prefix format being incorrect, an interference condition associated with one or more SCells, a persistent lack of resources, or a combination thereof [fig. 10, paragraphs 0046, 0073, 0078, 0094, a persistent lack of resources (transmit and/or receive wireless signals within a particular geographic region or area; dropping of resources by the UE)].
As per claim 41, Tenny discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [fig. 1, 10, Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0040, 0076, an apparatus for wireless communication (wireless communications systems are supporting user equipments (UEs))], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory [fig. 8, 11A, paragraphs 0070, 0084, 0087, a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (the processing system 800 includes a processor 804, a memory 806)], the one or more processors and the memory being configured to:
determine whether one or more trigger conditions are met, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on an overheating assistance (OA) configuration received from a network [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045-0048, 0054, 0058, 0060, determining whether one or more trigger conditions are met, wherein the one or more trigger conditions are based at least in part on an overheating assistance (OA) configuration received from a network (UE 505 determines that it is overheating (block 515); detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; receiving an initial configuration specified by the network to perform a check to determine if the UE is overheating)]; and
follow the OA configuration, or switching to an internal thermal mitigation configuration based at least in part on the determining [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0045, 0047, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0059, following the OA configuration, or switching to an internal thermal mitigation configuration based at least in part on the determining (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)].
Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration.
However, Park teaches wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration [fig. 14B, 15A, 15B, paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0129, 0130, 0139, 0194, 0261, 0267, 0270, 0272, 0310, wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration (the electronic device 100 may include information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the first frequency range (FR1) or information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the second frequency range (FR2); the overheat assistance information (OverheatingAssistance) generated in response to identifying the internal overheat; voltage manager 1410 may indicate information about the determination that an excessive voltage drop is likely to occur to at least one of the first CP or the second CP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Tenny by including wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration as taught by Park because it would provide the Tenny’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of efficiently processing overheat in an electronic device [Park, paragraph 0007].
As per claim 42, Tenny discloses an apparatus for wireless communication [fig. 1, 10, Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0040, 0076, an apparatus for wireless communication (wireless communications systems are supporting user equipments (UEs))], comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory [fig. 8, 11A, paragraphs 0070, 0084, 0087, a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (the processing system 800 includes a processor 804, a memory 806)], the one or more processors configured to:
send an overheating assistance (OA) request to a network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045, 0047, 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, send an overheating assistance (OA) request to a network indicating a set of one or more requested OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)];
receive, from the network and based at least in part on the OA request, an OA configuration of one or more OA parameters [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0005, 0045, 0047, 0048, 0050, 0055, 0059, receive, from the network and based at least in part on the OA request, an OA configuration of one or more OA parameters (the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an unsolicited capability update message to the network; request for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information; messages exchanged between a UE 505 and network 510 as UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating; detecting, by the UE, an occurrence of an overheating condition in the UE; UE compares a signal provided by the one or more thermal sensors against an overheating threshold to detect if the UE is overheating)].
switch to an internal thermal mitigation configuration [fig. 2, 3, 5, paragraphs 0045, 0047, 0053, 0054, 0056, 0059, switch to an internal thermal mitigation configuration (UE takes action to reduce power consumption; taking action to mitigate the overheating condition; the UE adjusts the UE capability to compensate for overheating)].
Tenny does not explicitly discloses switch to an internal thermal mitigation configuration when the OA configuration is different than a user equipment preferred order of reduction.
However, Park teaches switch to an internal thermal mitigation configuration when the OA configuration is different than a user equipment preferred order of reduction [fig. 14B, 15A, 15B, paragraphs 0009, 0010, 0129, 0130, 0139, 0194, 0261, 0267, 0270, 0272, 0310, switch to an internal thermal mitigation configuration when the OA configuration is different than a user equipment preferred order of reduction (the electronic device 100 may include information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the first frequency range (FR1) or information related to the reduced maximum bandwidth of the second frequency range (FR2); the overheat assistance information (OverheatingAssistance) generated in response to identifying the internal overheat; voltage manager 1410 may indicate information about the determination that an excessive voltage drop is likely to occur to at least one of the first CP or the second CP)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the apparatus described in Tenny by including wherein the internal thermal mitigation configuration is different from the OA configuration as taught by Park because it would provide the Tenny’s apparatus with the enhanced capability of efficiently processing overheat in an electronic device [Park, paragraph 0007].
Claim(s) 20-22, 26, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenny, in view of Feuersanger et al., (hereinafter Feuersanger), U.S. Publication No. 2013/0039202.
As per claim 20, Tenny discloses the method of claim 18, Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via a bitmask indicating the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced.
However, Feuersanger teaches wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via a bitmask indicating the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced [fig. 24, paragraphs 0101, 0197, 0198, 0225, 0250, wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via a bitmask indicating the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced (a bit-mask is signaled in the component carrier (de)activation message to indicate the activation state of each configured downlink/uplink component carrier)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including scheduling information group to carry out data transmission in one or more time slots as taught by Feuersanger because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of enabling efficient and robust (de)activation of component carriers [Feuersanger, paragraph 0107].
As per claim 21, Tenny discloses the method of claim 18, Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via an out of range value of a parameter.
However, Feuersanger teaches wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via an out of range value of a parameter [fig. 24, paragraphs 0197, 0213, 0214, 0238, 0248, wherein the indication of the UE preferred order of reduction is provided via an out of range value of a parameter (a bit set to 0 could mean that the corresponding component carrier is to be deactivated)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including an out of range value of a parameter as taught by Feuersanger because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of enabling efficient and robust (de)activation of component carriers [Feuersanger, paragraph 0107].
As per claim 22, Tenny discloses the method of claim 21, Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the out of range value of the parameter comprises a value of 0 for a channel quality indicator (CQI) associated with the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced.
However, Feuersanger teaches a value of 0 for a channel quality indicator (CQI) associated with the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced [fig. 24, paragraphs 0197, 0213, 0214, 0238, 0248, a value of 0 for a channel quality indicator (CQI) associated with the cell groups, CCs, or both to be reduced (a bit set to 0 could mean that the corresponding component carrier is to be deactivated)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including a value of 0 for a channel quality indicator (CQI) as taught by Feuersanger because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of enabling efficient and robust (de)activation of component carriers [Feuersanger, paragraph 0107].
As per claim 26, Tenny discloses the method of claim 18, Tenny does not explicitly discloses further comprising determining whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter to indicate the preferred order of reduction.
However, Feuersanger teaches determining whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter to indicate the preferred order of reduction [fig. 24, paragraphs 0197, 0213, 0214, 0238, 0248, determining whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter to indicate the preferred order of reduction (a bit set to 0 could mean that the corresponding component carrier is to be deactivated)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including an out of range value as taught by Feuersanger because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of enabling efficient and robust (de)activation of component carriers [Feuersanger, paragraph 0107].
As per claim 27, Tenny discloses the method of claim 26, Tenny does not explicitly discloses wherein the determination of whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter is based at least in part on whether a CQI report is configured on one or more CCs to be removed.
However, Feuersanger teaches wherein the determination of whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter is based at least in part on whether a channel quality indicator (CQI) report is configured on one or more CCs to be removed [fig. 24, paragraphs 0197, 0213, 0214, 0238, 0248, wherein the determination of whether to use a bitmask or an out of range value of a parameter is based at least in part on whether a channel quality indicator (CQI) report is configured on one or more CCs to be removed (a bit set to 0 could mean that the corresponding component carrier is to be deactivated)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Tenny by including an out of range value as taught by Feuersanger because it would provide the Tenny’s method with the enhanced capability of enabling efficient and robust (de)activation of component carriers [Feuersanger, paragraph 0107].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McFarland et al., U.S. Publication No. 2019/0174336 discloses an emergency fallback to ensure the device does not damage itself by overheating.
Kwon et al., U.S. Publication No. 2021/0314934 discloses overheating assistance information includes information about radio resources.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469