DETAILED ACTION
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2020/096473 (International Filing Date: 06/17/2020), and does not claim priorities from any domestic application or to any foreign application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 32-39, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOKOMAKURA et al. (US 20200008102 A1, hereinafter YOKOMAKURA_102), in view of Kozue YOKOMAKURA (US 20200403748 A1, hereinafter YOKOMAKURA_748).
Regarding claim 1, YOKOMAKURA_102 teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (in general, see fig. 10 and corresponding paragraphs 107-114, in view of fig. 6s-7 and their paragraphs at least 94-96):
receiving downlink control information (DCI) that schedules a multi-panel physical uplink shared channel transmission including a first physical uplink shared channel, and a second physical uplink shared channel, that are to be spatially multiplexed over a same set of time and frequency resources (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 109-111 along with at least para. 95-96, e.g. step 104 in view of step 102-103, “...The base station apparatus 3 may include the reference signal mapping information or the reference signal pattern information in DCI...”, note that in one or more of fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, “...The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”),
the DCI indicating that a first set of resource elements associated with the first physical uplink shared channel are to be used to transmit a first phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) and that a second set of resource elements associated with the second physical uplink shared channel are to be used to transmit data (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 109-111 along with at least para. 95-96, “...The base station apparatus 3 may include the reference signal mapping information or the reference signal pattern information in DCI...”, note that in one or more of fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, “...Here, the terminal apparatus 1 may not have a PUSCH signal mapped to a resource element to which PTRS has been mapped. In other words, in the case that the PUSCH signal is not mapped, a rate match may be applied in which the resource element with the PTRS mapped does not serve as a resource element to which the PUSCH signal can be mapped...”),
and
transmitting the multi-panel physical uplink shared channel transmission by spatially multiplexing the first physical uplink shared channel with the second physical uplink shared channel such that one or more resource elements of the second set of resource elements that overlap in time and frequency with one or more corresponding resource elements of the first set of resource elements are punctured (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 112-114 along with at least para. 95-96, e.g. step 107 in view of step 105-106, note that in one or more of fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, “...Here, the terminal apparatus 1 may not have a PUSCH signal mapped to a resource element to which PTRS has been mapped. In other words, in the case that the PUSCH signal is not mapped, a rate match may be applied in which the resource element with the PTRS mapped does not serve as a resource element to which the PUSCH signal can be mapped...”, in other words, “...The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”).
YOKOMAKURA_102 does not specifically teach a first physical uplink shared channel, associated with a first antenna panel, and a second physical uplink shared channel, associated with a second antenna panel.
YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches a first physical uplink shared channel, associated with a first antenna panel, and a second physical uplink shared channel, associated with a second antenna panel (YOKOMAKURA_748, see at least para. 184 along with para. 117, “...To be more specific, the multiplexing unit 1075 maps the PUCCH and/or PUSCH signals and the generated uplink reference signal to the resource elements for each transmit antenna port...”, note that “...A signal of the PUSCH may be allocated on a resource element to which a PTRS is mapped, but the resource element may be overwritten by the PTRS...”, in other words, both the PUSCH and the uplink reference signal (e.g. PTRS) have associated antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate YOKOMAKURA_748 into the method of YOKOMAKURA_102 to effectively reduce overhead due to the PTRS while maintaining the phase tracking performance.
Regarding claim 2, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches receiving a radio resource control configuration message comprising an indication to puncture the one or more resource elements associated with a data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 110-111, “...The base station apparatus 3 may include the reference signal mapping information or the reference signal pattern information in DCI. In S104, the base station apparatus 3
performs downlink transmission. In this process, the information configured in S102 and S103 is transmitted to the terminal apparatus 1...”),
wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with the data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on the received radio resource control configuration message. (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 113 in view of para. 96, “...the terminal apparatus 1 generates PTRS based on the information included in DCI and the like, and maps the PTRS to the resource element...”, note that “...The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”).
Regarding claim 3, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches determining a UE capability to puncture the one or more resource elements associated with a data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 108 in view of para 96, “...In S101, the terminal apparatus 1 performs uplink transmission. In this process, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit UE Capability (terminal capability information) including phase tracking capability information to the base station apparatus 3. ... For example, the phase tracking capability information may be information for indicating whether the terminal apparatus 1 has the function of mapping PTRS...”); and
transmitting UE capability information comprising an indication of the UE capability to puncture the one or more resource elements associated with the data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel, wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with the data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on the transmitted UE capability information (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 108 in view of para 96, “...In S101, the terminal apparatus 1 performs uplink transmission. In this process, the terminal apparatus 1 may transmit UE Capability (terminal capability information) including phase tracking capability information to the base station apparatus 3...”, note that “...The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”).
Regarding claim 4, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches determining a phase tracking reference signal density associated with the first physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 159, “...a terminal apparatus 1 according to a first aspect of the present invention is configured to communicate with a base station apparatus and includes a transmission unit configured to transmit Phase-tracking reference signals (PTRS), and an higher layer processing unit configured to configure information for indicating a time density and/or a frequency density of the PTRS. A PTRS pattern is configured such that the time density of the PTRS is higher for a larger Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) scheduled for the terminal apparatus, and the frequency density of the PTRS is based on the number of resource blocks scheduled for the terminal apparatus...”); and
wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with a data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on determining that the phase tracking reference signal density associated with the first physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 159 in view of para. 96, “...In other words, in the case that the PUSCH signal is not mapped, a rate match may be applied in which the resource element with the PTRS mapped does not serve as a resource element to which the PUSCH signal can be mapped. The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”).
YOKOMAKURA_102 does not specifically teach determining that the phase tracking reference signal density associated with the first physical uplink shared channel satisfies a threshold.
YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches determining that the phase tracking reference signal density associated with the first physical uplink shared channel satisfies a threshold (in general, see fig. 8-9 and their paragraphs, in particular, see at least para. 131 in view of para. 117, “...In FIG. 9, MCS1 to MCS4 represent MCS thresholds. For example, the MCS thresholds may be configured as MCS1=10, MCS2=17, MCS3=23, and MCS4=29. ... In FIG. 9, TD1 to TD3 represent time densities, and for example, the time densities may be configured as TD1=¼, TD2=½, and TD3=1. Here, the time density may be interpreted as a ratio of PTRSs with respect to the number of time symbols within one resource block...”, in other words, MCS thresholds and TDs would decide amount of PTRS in the patterns of fig. 8, which to be overwritten or rate matched).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate YOKOMAKURA_748 into the method of YOKOMAKURA_102 to effectively reduce overhead due to the PTRS while maintaining the phase tracking performance.
Regarding claim 6, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches determining that a phase tracking reference signal density in a time domain or a frequency domain, or both; wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with a data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on determining that the phase tracking reference signal density in the time domain or the frequency domain, or both. (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 159, “...a terminal apparatus 1 according to a first aspect of the present invention is configured to communicate with a base station apparatus and includes a transmission unit configured to transmit Phase-tracking reference signals (PTRS), and an higher layer processing unit configured to configure information for indicating a time density and/or a frequency density of the PTRS. A PTRS pattern is configured such that the time density of the PTRS is higher for a larger Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) scheduled for the terminal apparatus, and the frequency density of the PTRS is based on the number of resource blocks scheduled for the terminal apparatus...”).
YOKOMAKURA_102 does not specifically teach determining that a phase tracking reference signal density in a time domain or a frequency domain, or both, is greater than a threshold.
YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches determining that a phase tracking reference signal density in a time domain or a frequency domain, or both, is greater than a threshold (in general, see fig. 8-9 and their paragraphs, in particular, see at least para. 131 in view of para. 117, “...In FIG. 9, MCS1 to MCS4 represent MCS thresholds. For example, the MCS thresholds may be configured as MCS1=10, MCS2=17, MCS3=23, and MCS4=29. ... In FIG. 9, TD1 to TD3 represent time densities, and for example, the time densities may be configured as TD1=¼, TD2=½, and TD3=1. Here, the time density may be interpreted as a ratio of PTRSs with respect to the number of time symbols within one resource block...”, in other words, MCS thresholds and TDs would decide amount of PTRS in the patterns of fig. 8, which to be overwritten or rate matched).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate YOKOMAKURA_748 into the method of YOKOMAKURA_102 to effectively reduce overhead due to the PTRS while maintaining the phase tracking performance.
Regarding claim 8, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches determining the first physical uplink shared channel partially overlaps the second physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 94, “...In FIGS. 6A to 6I, a hatched section represents a resource element to which PTRS is mapped, and other sections represent resource elements to which data is mapped...”),
wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with a data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on the first physical uplink shared channel partially overlapping the second physical uplink shared channel (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 96, “...the terminal apparatus 1 may not have a PUSCH signal mapped to a resource element to which PTRS has been mapped. In other words, in the case that the PUSCH signal is not mapped, a rate match may be applied in which the resource element with the PTRS mapped does not serve as a resource element to which the PUSCH signal can be mapped. The PUSCH signal mapped to the resource element to which PTRS is mapped may be overwritten with PTRS...”).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 9 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a base station of claim 9 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the UE of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, in view of claim 9 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Regarding claims 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, and 39, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 4, 6, and 8 respectively, except each of these claims is in apparatus claim format.
To be more specific, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least fig. 8), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Regarding claim 38, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 36.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches determine that the phase tracking reference signal density in the time domain or the frequency domain, or both, wherein puncturing the one or more resource elements associated with the data transmission on the second physical uplink shared channel is based at least in part on determining that the phase tracking reference signal density in the time domain or the frequency domain, or both. (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 159, “...a terminal apparatus 1 according to a first aspect of the present invention is configured to communicate with a base station apparatus and includes a transmission unit configured to transmit Phase-tracking reference signals (PTRS), and an higher layer processing unit configured to configure information for indicating a time density and/or a frequency density of the PTRS. A PTRS pattern is configured such that the time density of the PTRS is higher for a larger Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) scheduled for the terminal apparatus, and the frequency density of the PTRS is based on the number of resource blocks scheduled for the terminal apparatus...”).
YOKOMAKURA_102 does not specifically teach determine that the phase tracking reference signal density in the time domain or the frequency domain, or both, is less than the threshold.
YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches determine that the phase tracking reference signal density in the time domain or the frequency domain, or both, is less than the threshold (in general, see fig. 8-9 and their paragraphs, in particular, see at least para. 131 in view of para. 117, “...In FIG. 9, MCS1 to MCS4 represent MCS thresholds. For example, the MCS thresholds may be configured as MCS1=10, MCS2=17, MCS3=23, and MCS4=29. ... In FIG. 9, TD1 to TD3 represent time densities, and for example, the time densities may be configured as TD1=¼, TD2=½, and TD3=1. Here, the time density may be interpreted as a ratio of PTRSs with respect to the number of time symbols within one resource block...”, in other words, MCS thresholds and TDs would decide amount of PTRS in the patterns of fig. 8, which to be overwritten or rate matched).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate YOKOMAKURA_748 into the method of YOKOMAKURA_102 to effectively reduce overhead due to the PTRS while maintaining the phase tracking performance.
Regarding claim 63, YOKOMAKURA_102 in view of YOKOMAKURA_748 teaches claim 1.
YOKOMAKURA_102 further teaches the DCI further indicates that a third set of resource elements associated with the first physical uplink shared channel are to be used to transmit the data and that a fourth set of resource elements associated with the second physical uplink shared channel are to be used to transmit a second PTRS. (YOKOMAKURA_102, see at least para. 109-111 along with at least para. 95-96, “...The base station apparatus 3 may include the reference signal mapping information or the reference signal pattern information in DCI...”, note that in one or more of fig. 6 and/or fig. 7, “...Here, the terminal apparatus 1 may not have a PUSCH signal mapped to a resource element to which PTRS has been mapped. In other words, in the case that the PUSCH signal is not mapped, a rate match may be applied in which the resource element with the PTRS mapped does not serve as a resource element to which the PUSCH signal can be mapped...”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 9, and 32, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465