DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks filed 11/21/2025.
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-26 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 3 and 8 are cancelled.
Claim 26 is newly added.
Claims 4-5 and 17-24 are previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-11, filed 12/15/2025, with respect to the 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 7-9 the Applicant argues that Suzuki does not appropriately teach a difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is from 3.0 to 5.5 or that the liquid comprising an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5 % acid by weight, as required by amended claim 1. The Examiner agrees that Suzuki does not teach these limitations. However, Cipolla, originally cited in the rejections of cancelled claims 3 and 8 from which the amendments are derived, still makes obvious the claim as amended.
On pages 10-11 the Applicant argues that Cipolla does not appropriately teach claim 1, amended to require that “the difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is from 3.0 to 5.5”, as previously recited by cancelled claim 3. Specifically, the applicant argues that the result effective variable cited in the rejection (e.g., the modification of pH of the acid and pH of the base) is not the same as the result effective variable of the instant disclosure (e.g., the difference between the acid pH and the base pH) and thus does not render the claimed invention obvious.
The Examiner disagrees. While Cipolla may teach a different result effective variable, this does not preclude its application and modification to prior art reference Suzuki.
Cipolla is merely cited to demonstrate that it is known to adjust the pH of an acidic solution in an inhalable consumable, as acidic solutions may be damaging. Specifically, Cipolla states that "making the formulation highly basic (e.g. pH 10 or higher) or highly acidic (e.g. pH 2 or lower) could damage lung tissue, especially if large volumes of solution were inhaled, or if the solution had a high buffering capacity" ([0034]). In this statement, Cipolla provides motivation to optimize the pH of the acid and the base based on potential negative effects to lungs. Although Cipolla does not explicitly state that this variable is the difference in pH, it would be expected that by separately optimizing the acid pH and the base pH, this would comprise adjusting the pH difference (e.g., acid pH 4.5-6.5 and base pH 7.5-9.5 would yield a difference of 3-5, which overlaps the claimed range).
The Examiner further notes that the Applicant cites Cipolla [0009] as teaching adjusting a pH to modify the solubility of a compound to be delivered. The Examiner notes that while this may be subject matter adjacent, this teaching is not cited in the rejection. The rejection merely uses the general teaching about harmful pH levels of "larger inhaled volumes" ([0034]) whereas [0009] of Cipolla is directed to smaller inhaled volumes, and is not relied upon in the rejection.
The Examiner notes that an alternative rejection has been supplied, in view of Rose et al. (US 20120006342 A1). Rose does teach that the difference in pH between the acid and the base may be a result effective variable. The Examiner further notes that while the reasoning behind this rejection may be more aligned with that described by the applicant, the rejection in view of Cipolla is not any less relevant.
Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5, "the liquid comprises an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5% acid by weight" should read "the liquid comprises an acid.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 25, the claim recites the limitation “the liquid comprising an acid further comprises an acid from 0.01 to 5 % acid by weight”. Claim 1, upon which claim 25 depends, similarly recites “the liquid comprises an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5% acid by weight" should read "the liquid comprises an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5% acid by weight”. Thus, claim 25 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, the limitation "a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7" requires interpretation, as it is generally not possible for a solid to have a pH value. In accordance with page 10, lines 3-5 of the specification, it is interpreted that the pH is measured as per CORESTA recommended method No. 69 for measuring the pH of tobacco.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 13-14, 16 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20180049477 A1) in view of Cipolla et al. (US 20100209538 A1), or in the alternative over Suzuki in view of Rose et al. (US 20120006342 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium (flavor inhaler 10; [0060]), the consumable comprising
a liquid comprising an acid having a pH of at least 2 and less than 7 (acid source 112 may be, for example, hydrofluoric acid, which in most concentrations is considered to have a pH of at least 2 and less than 7; [0068]; Furthermore, an acidic liquid has by definition a pH of less than 7. The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious)
and a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7 (flavor source 210 with pH greater than 7 when added to water; [0078]).
Suzuki does not explicitly teach (I) that the liquid comprising an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5 % acid by weight or (II) that the difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is from 3.0 to 5.5.
Regarding (I), Cipolla, directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium comprising a liquid comprising an acid ([0034]), teaches that highly acidic formulations could be damaging, especially if a solution has a high buffering capacity ([0034]). Cipolla teaches that a useful acidic pH range may be limited to pH 4.5 to pH 6.5 ([0034]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pH by adjusting the concentration of the acid in the liquid comprising the acid, because Cipolla teaches that the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is a result effective variable, one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize this variable to prevent harm to the user (including if the acid solution was mistakenly inhaled without reacting with a basic nicotine-containing material), and because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
The Examiner further notes that one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adjusting the pH is accomplished by adjusting the concentration of the acidic solution. As such, adjusting the concentration of the acid would similarly be considered a result effective variable. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the concentration through routine optimization in order to determine a workable and safe concentration range of the acid. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. To overcome the rejection, the Applicant would have to prove that the claimed range exhibits unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding (II), Cipolla, directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium comprising a liquid comprising an acid ([0034]), teaches that highly acidic or highly basic formulations could be damaging, especially if a solution has a high buffering capacity ([0034]). Cipolla teaches that a useful pH range may be limited to pH 4.5 to pH 6.5 for acids and pH 7.5 to pH 9.5 for bases ([0034]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pH of the liquid comprising the acid to the range 4.5-6.5 and the solid nicotine-containing material to 7.5-9.5, because Cipolla teaches that the pH of the liquid comprising an acid and the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material are result effective variables, one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize this variable to prevent harm to the user (including if either the acid solution or base was mistakenly inhaled without first reacting), and because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
The difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid would overlap with the claimed range of from 3.0 to 5.5, and would therefore be prima facie obvious.
In the alternative, Suzuki does not explicitly teach (I) that the difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is from 3.0 to 5.5 or (II) that the liquid comprising an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5 % acid by weight.
Rose, directed to a consumable (Fig. 1; [0209]) for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium (delivery device; [0099]), the consumable comprising a liquid comprising an acid having a pH of at least 2 and less than 7 (element 190 may comprise, for example, pyruvic acid, which in most concentrations is considered to have a pH of at least 2 and less than 7; [0085], [0209]; Furthermore, an acidic liquid has by definition a pH of less than 7) and a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7 (nicotine source 190 with alkalinization compounds 210; [0209]), teaches that the pH difference between the liquid acid and the solid base may be optimized to yield higher nicotine delivery to the user ([0177]).
Regarding (I), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pH difference between the liquid comprising the acid and the solid nicotine-containing material because Rose teaches that the pH difference of the liquid comprising an acid and the solid nicotine-containing is a result effective variable, one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize this variable to enhance nicotine delivery to the user, and because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
Regarding (II), the Examiner notes that one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adjusting the pH difference may be accomplished by adjusting the concentration (and thus the pH) of the acidic solution. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the concentration through routine optimization in order to determine an optimal pH difference between the acid and base. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. To overcome the rejection, the Applicant would have to prove that the claimed range exhibits unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki does not explicitly teach that the liquid comprising an acid has a pH of from 4 to 5 or from 4.3 to 4.8.
Cipolla, directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium comprising a liquid comprising an acid ([0034]), teaches that highly acidic formulations could be damaging, especially if a solution has a high buffering capacity ([0034]). Cipolla teaches that a useful acidic pH range may be limited to pH 4.5 to pH 6.5 ([0034]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pH of the liquid comprising the acid, because Cipolla teaches that the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is a result effective variable, one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize this variable to prevent harm to the user (including if the acid solution was mistakenly inhaled without reacting with a basic nicotine-containing material), and because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches that the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material is from 8 to 9.5 or from 8.5 to 9 ([0078] teaches that it is preferable that the solid nicotine-containing material have a pH greater than 8. The claimed range overlaps the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki teaches that acid vapor pressure may be varied to above or below 0.1 kPa at 20 C according to the configuration of the assembly ([0069] teaches that it is preferable that the acid have a vapor pressure of 0.1 kPa at 20 C, but may also have a vapor pressure below 0.1 kPa at 20 C depending on the configuration of the assembly (e.g., presence of a heater, order of generating inhalable medium).
Suzuki does not explicitly teach that the acid has a vapor pressure at 25 C of from 0.1 Pa to 2.5 kPa.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the acid vapor pressure, because Suzuki teaches that acid vapor pressure is a result effective variable, one with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize this variable because there is a design need to alter the acid vapor pressure depending on configuration of the assembly, and because it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki teaches that the solid nicotine-containing material comprises a tobacco material ([0078]).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki teaches that the tobacco is tobacco granules ([0076]).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki teaches that the consumable is a cartridge (cartridge 200; Fig. 7; [0135]) and wherein the liquid comprising the acid 112 is in a first chamber of the cartridge (see Fig. 7; [0135]) and the solid nicotine-containing material 210 is in a second chamber of the cartridge (see Fig. 7; [0135]).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki teaches that the consumable is a rod ([0074] teaches that cartridge 200 is cylindrical; Fig. 7) comprising a first section comprising the liquid comprising the acid 112 and a second section comprising the solid nicotine-containing material 210 (see Fig. 7; [0135]).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki teaches that the rod further comprises a filter section (filter 230; [0080], [0132]).
Regarding claim 25, the Examiner notes that one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adjusting the pH difference may be accomplished by adjusting the concentration (and thus the pH) of the acidic solution. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to adjust the concentration through routine optimization in order to determine an optimal pH difference between the acid and base. Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. To overcome the rejection, the Applicant would have to prove that the claimed range exhibits unexpected results over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05 (II).
Regarding claim 26, Suzuki teaches that the liquid comprises one or more aerosol generating agents ([0068] teaches that the acid may comprise one or more acids that would form the aerosol).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Farine (US 20200367569 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki is silent to a specific carrier of the liquid comprising an acid.
Farine, directed to a consumable (cartridge 200; Fig. 2; [0140]) for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium aerosol-generating system 10; Fig. 1; [0140]), comprising a liquid comprising an acid ([0054], [0148]) and a solid nicotine-containing material ([0054], [0070]), teaches a carrier material 214 for the acid ([0143], [0149], [0154]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki by retaining the liquid comprising the acid within a carrier material as taught by Farine because both Suzuki and Farine are directed to consumables comprising liquids comprising an acid, Farine teaches that it is known in the art to use a carrier material to retain a liquid comprising an acid within a consumable device, Suzuki is silent to a specific liquid carrier and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable liquid-comprising-acid carriers, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Farine teaches that the carrier material is a wicking material ([0149] teaches that the material 214 is a non-woven sheet of PET/PBT, which is a known wicking material; [0154] additionally teaches that material 214 functions as a wick).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Besso et al. (US 20180010786 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki does not explicitly teach that the rod comprises a cooling section.
Besso, directed to a consumable (container 100; [0108]) for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium comprsing a liquid comprising an acid (delivery-enhancing compound in second compartment 104; [0108]) and a nicotine-containing material (nicotine source in first compartment 102; [0108]), teaches that a consumable may further comprise a cooling section (further portion 106, which may be an aerosol-cooling portion; [0021]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rod of Suzuki by adding a cooling section as taught by Besso because both Suzuki and Besso are directed to consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium, Besso teaches that it is known in the art to use a cooling section to cool a vapor before delivery to the user, and this involves using a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way.
Double Patenting
Rejection 1
Claims 1-3, 6-9 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 12 of copending Application No. 17/906,172 (reference application). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium, the consumable comprising a liquid comprising an acid having a pH of at least 2 and less than 7 and a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7.
The claims differ in that conflicting claim 1 includes additional limitations directed to an aerosol generating assembly. However, conflicting claim 1 still includes all required components of rejected claim 1. Therefore, all elements of rejected claim 1 are present and obvious over the conflicting claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, conflicting claim 4 teaches that the liquid comprising an acid has a pH of from 4 to 5 or from 4.3 to 4.8. Therefore, conflicting claim 4 includes all required components of rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, conflicting claim 5 teaches that the difference between the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material and the pH of the liquid comprising an acid is from 3.0 to 5.5. Therefore, conflicting claim 5 includes all required components of rejected claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, conflicting claim 3 teaches that the pH of the solid nicotine-containing material is from 8 to 9.5 or from 8.5 to 9. Therefore, conflicting claim 3 includes all required components of rejected claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, conflicting claim 6 teaches that the acid has a vapor pressure at 25C of from 0.1 Pa to 2.5 kPa. Therefore, conflicting claim 6 includes all required components of rejected claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, conflicting claim 7 teaches that the liquid comprising an acid comprises from 0.001 to 5 % acid by weight. Therefore, conflicting claim 7 includes all required components of rejected claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, conflicting claim 2 teaches that the solid nicotine-containing material comprises a tobacco material. Therefore, conflicting claim 2 includes all required components of rejected claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium, the consumable comprising a liquid comprising an acid having a pH of at least 2 and less than 7 and a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7 wherein the consumable comprises a first section comprising the liquid comprising the acid and a second section comprising the solid nicotine-containing material.
The claims differ in that conflicting claim 12 does not explicitly teach that the consumable is a rod. However, changes in shape are considered prima facie obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(B). Therefore, all elements of rejected claim 14 are present and obvious over the conflicting claims.
Rejection 2
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 12 of copending Application No. 17/906,172. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 13, both sets of claims are directed to a consumable for use in an assembly for generating an inhalable medium, the consumable comprising a liquid comprising an acid having a pH of at least 2 and less than 7 and a solid nicotine-containing material having a pH of at least 7 wherein the consumable is a cartridge wherein the liquid comprising the acid is in a first chamber of the cartridge and the solid nicotine-containing material is in a second chamber of the cartridge.
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755