DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ response to the Requirement for Restriction, filed 6 August 2025, in the matter of Application N° 17/997,674. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 28, 29, 33, 39, 47-50, 53, 59, 67-70, 73, 79, 87, and 89-92 have been canceled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 6 and 21 have been amended to address the previously raised objections.
No new matter has been added.
Applicants’ election of Group I (claims 1, 2, 6, 12, 20, 21, and 21) is acknowledged.
Applicants’ species election for no additional therapy is acknowledged.
However, because Applicants did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction or species requirements, the elections have both been treated as elections without traverse (MPEP §818.01(a)).
Applicants’ election is made FINAL. In addition to the canceled claims of Groups: II-IV, claims 2(d), 6, 12, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicants timely traversed the restriction requirement between the methods.
Thus, claims 1, 2, 21, and 26 are presented and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
One Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 1 November 2022 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 2, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trofimova et al. (RU 2716504 C1; machine translation attached and cited).
The limitations of instant claim 1 recite a method of treating excessive production of one or more cytokines in an individual, comprising the step of administering to the individual, a therapeutically effective amount of Sphagnum, Sphagnum extract, a preparation of Sphagnum, a composition derived from Sphagnum, or a combination thereof. Claim 2, as elected, recites that (a) the Sphagnum extract is an ethanol, methanol, and/or aqueous extract of Sphagnum; (b) the preparation of Sphagnum comprises tolpa peat preparation; and/or (c) the composition derived from Sphagnum comprises humic acid and/or fulvic acid.
Trofimova discloses the use of water-soluble humic acids isolated from high-moor Magellanicum peat as a means for stimulating the development of Th1-dependent immune response reactions by regulating the balance of activation of the pro-inflammatory properties of macrophages secreting IL-1β, IL-12, and TNFα cytokines and the anti-inflammatory properties of macrophages that produce IL-10 cytokines (see Abstract; claim; ¶[0004]). The foregoing is considered to teach the limitations recited by option (c) of claim 21.
The reference is thus considered to expressly disclosed the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dekker et al. (USPN 6,569,900 B1; US publication of EP 1 700 599 B1).
The limitations of claims 1 and 2 are discussed above.
Dekker discloses a method of treating a subject presenting inflammation comprising administering fulvic acid (see e.g., claim 1). One of the disclosed effects of administering oxifulvic acid is that it causes a statistically significant decrease in interleukin 2 (IL-2) cytokine levels.
The reference is thus considered to expressly disclosed the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 2, 21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trofimova et al. (RU 2716504 C1; machine translation attached and cited) in view of Pedersen et al. (JCI; published 27 March 2020).
Trofimova discloses the use of water-soluble humic acids isolated from high-moor Magellanicum peat as a means for stimulating the development of Th1-dependent immune response reactions by regulating the balance of activation of the pro-inflammatory properties of macrophages secreting IL-1β, IL-12, and TNFα cytokines and the anti-inflammatory properties of macrophages that produce IL-10 cytokines (see Abstract; claim; ¶[0004]). The foregoing is considered to teach the limitations recited by option (c) of claim 21.
Where Trofimova is deficient is with respect to claim 26 whereby the viral infection is a coronavirus infection or is an infection of SARS-CoV-2.
Pedersen is considered to remedy the above deficiency in its teachings which connect SARS-CoV-2/COVID-19 to a cytokine storm. Therein, Figure 1 (pg. 2203) depicts the different symptoms and internal effects associated with severe COVID-19. Of particular note is that with severe COVID-19, there is a marked uptick in production of cytokines: IL-6, IL-2R, IL-10, and TNFα. The reference additionally discloses that “[i]n SARS-CoV-2-infected individuals, interleukin 6 (IL-6), IL-10, and tumor necrosis factor α (TNF-α) surge during illness and decline during recovery” and that “[s]erum cytokine levels and analysis of lymphocyte composition on admission suggest that SARS-CoV-2 infection is associated with lymphopenia (particularly in CD4+ T cells and CD8+ T cells but not in B cells), overproduction of cytokines (IL-6, soluble IL-2 receptor [IL-2R], IL-10, and TNF-α), and decreased IFN-γ expression in CD4+ T cells in severe COVID-19, which correlated with disease severity of COVID-19 (Figure 1). Levels of IL-6, IL-2R, IL-10, and TNF-α were mildly elevated or within the normal range in moderate cases, but markedly elevated in most of the severe cases.” [emphasis added] (see pg. 2204, left col.).
The Examiner acknowledges that Pedersen does not focus on or disclose any methods or compositions to treat an elevated presence of cytokines that result from SARS-CoV-2 or COVID-19, despite providing a clear association between the two. Trofimova, is similarly acknowledged as being deficient in connecting the overproduction of cytokines with SARS-CoV-2.
However, based on the combined teachings of the references, the Examiner submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at achieving the recited method of treatment, particularly since modulation of the levels of cytokines such as IL-6, IL-2R, IL-10, and TNF-α are disclosed as being impacted by humic acid administration.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary.
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert A. Wax can be reached on (571) 272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeffrey T. Palenik/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615