DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 08 September 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08 September 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3: “1,4-cyclohexanedimetanol” should probably read “1,4-cyclohexanedimethanol”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2015/0031815 A1, “Singh”).
With respect to claims 1-2, Singh discloses a two-component curable adhesive comprising (a) a first component comprising a polyester-polycarbonate polyol and a solvent (corresponding to the claimed isocyanate-reactive component (b)) and (b) a second component comprising a reaction product of a polyol and an organic polyisocyanate (corresponding to the claimed at least one isocyanate component (a)) ([0011]). The first component (a) further includes a flow control agent ([0060]) that is a polyacrylic ester ([0065]) (i.e., an acrylic polymer). The first component (a) is present in an amount of 60-90% by weight of the two-component composition ([0012]); the second component (b) is present in an amount of 10-40% by weight of the two-component composition ([0013]). Thus, the ratio of the second component (b) to the first component (a) (corresponding to the claimed weight ratio of component (a) to component (b)) is 10/90 to 40/60, which is equivalent to 11/100 to 67/100, which overlaps the presently claimed range.
Singh does not disclose the polyester-polycarbonate polyol is crystalline. However, Singh discloses the physical state of the polyester-polycarbonate polyol can be controlled by the ratio of the ester and carbonate in the copolymer and that such control is important since it affects the viscosity and the processing of the adhesive ([0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the physical state of the polyester-polycarbonate polyol of Singh, including having a crystalline polyester-polycarbonate polyol, in order to produce an adhesive with desired viscosity and having good processability.
With respect to claim 3, Singh discloses the polyester-polycarbonate polyol is the reaction product of a polyester polyol and a polycarbonate polyol ([0014]) (i.e., the polyester-polycarbonate is the reaction product of at least one polyester polyol precursor and at least one polycarbonate polyol precursor).
With respect to claims 4-5 and 7, Singh discloses the polyester polyol is made from reacting an organic acid such as adipic acid with a glycol such as butanediol ([0015-0017]) while the polycarbonate polyol is made by reacting an alkane diol such as butanediol with dimethyl carbonate ([0024-0026]).
With respect to claim 6, Singh discloses the polyisocyanate includes hexamethylene diisocyanate, diphenylmethane diisocyanate, and 2,4- and/or 2,6-toluene diisocyanate ([0047]).
With respect to claim 9, Singh discloses the solvent includes ethyl acetate and methyl ethyl ketone ([0042]).
With respect to claim 10, while there may be no explicit disclosure from Singh regarding the adhesive composition having an oxygen transmission rate of less than 750 cm3/[m2·day], given that Singh discloses an otherwise identical adhesive composition made from otherwise identical components as that presently claimed, it is clear the adhesive composition of Singh would necessarily inherently have an oxygen transmission rate of less than 750 cm3/[m2·day], absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2015/0031815 A1, “Singh”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brinkman et al. (US 2013/0018146 A1, “Brinkman”).
With respect to claim 8, while Singh discloses the use of an acrylic flow control agent as set forth above, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one acrylic polymer compound comprises the compounds presently claimed.
Brinkman teaches a two-component urethane system ([0001]) comprising a hydroxy-functional acrylic polymer as a flow aid, where the polymer is made from monomers including alkyl acrylate and acrylic acid (i.e., is an acrylic copolymer made of a monomer including acrylic acid). The flow aid produces a uniform coating of adhesive on a film ([0012]).
Singh and Brinkman are analogous inventions in the field of two-component urethane compositions containing acrylic-based flow agents.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the acrylic flow agent of Singh to be the hydroxy-functional acrylic polymer made from alkyl acrylate and acrylic acid as taught by Brinkman in order to provide a uniform coating of adhesive on a film (Brinkman, [0012]).
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2015/0031815 A1, “Singh”) in view of Schreckenberg et al. (GB 1 587 481, “Schreckenberg”).
With respect to claims 1-2, Singh discloses a two-component adhesive comprising (a) a first component comprising a polyester-polycarbonate copolymer polyol and a solvent (corresponding to the claimed component (b)) and (b) a second component comprising a reaction product of a polyol and an organic polyisocyanate (corresponding to the claimed component (a)) ([0011]). The first component (a) further comprises a flow control agent ([0060]) that is a polyacrylic ester ([0065]) (i.e., an acrylic polymer). The first component (a) is present in an amount of 60-90% by weight of the two-component composition ([0012]); the second component (b) is present in an amount of 10-40% by weight of the two-component composition ([0013]). Thus, the ratio of the second component (b) to the first component (a) (corresponding to the claimed weight ratio of component (a) to component (b)) is 10/90 to 40/60, which is equivalent to 11/100 to 67/100, which overlaps the presently claimed range. The adhesive is used to bond or laminate substrates ([0075], [0099]).
However, Singh does not disclose wherein the polyester-polycarbonate polyol is a crystalline compound.
Schreckenberg teaches a polyester-diol bis-diphenol carbonate (page 2, lines 31-33) that are crystalline polyester/polycarbonates (page 8, lines 12-15). The polyester/polycarbonates exhibit good transparency, highly elastic properties, and outstanding elongation at break (page 8, lines 54-56) and high heat distortion temperature (page 12, lines 38-40).
Singh and Schreckenberg are analogous inventions in the field of polyester-polycarbonate copolymer polyols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the polyester-polycarbonate copolymer polyol of Singh to be the crystalline polyester-polycarbonate copolymer polyol taught by Schreckenberg in order to provide a composition having good transparency, highly elastic properties, outstanding elongation at break, and high heat distortion temperature (Schreckenberg, page 8, lines 54-56; page 12, lines 38-40).
With respect to claims 3-5, Schreckenberg discloses the polyester-diol bis-aryl carbonates are made by a process involving heating a polyester-diol (i.e., a polyester polyol precursor) and a carbonic acid bis-aryl ester (i.e., a polycarbonate polyol precursor) (page 3, lines 45-54). The polyester diols include those made from adipic acid, sebacic acid, ethylene glycol, butylene 1,4-glycol (i.e., 1,4-butanediol), hexane-1,6-diol (i.e., 1,6-hexanediol), cyclohexanedimethanol, and diethylene glycol (page 4, lines 17-37). The carbonic acid bis-aryl ester includes those having the structure shown by formula (I) below, where Ar is an aryl group (page 4, lines 46-50), corresponding to the claimed diaryl carbonate.
Formula (I)
With respect to claim 6, Singh discloses the polyisocyanate includes hexamethylene diisocyanate, diphenylmethane diisocyanate, and 2,4- and/or 2,6-toluene diisocyanate ([0047]).
With respect to claim 9, Singh discloses the solvent includes ethyl acetate and methyl ethyl ketone ([0042]).
With respect to claim 10, while there may be no explicit disclosure from Singh in view of Schreckenberg regarding the adhesive composition has an oxygen transmission rate of less than 750 cm3/[m2·day], given that Singh in view of Schreckenberg discloses an otherwise identical adhesive composition made from otherwise identical components as that presently claimed, it is clear the adhesive composition of Singh in view of Schreckenberg would necessarily inherently have an oxygen transmission rate of less than 750 cm3/[m2·day], absent evidence to the contrary.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (US 2015/0031815 A1, “Singh”) in view of Schreckenberg et al. (GB 1 587 481, “Schreckenberg”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brinkman et al. (US 2013/0018146 A1, “Brinkman”).
With respect to claim 8, while Singh in view of Schreckenberg discloses the use of an acrylic flow control agent as set forth above, Singh does not disclose wherein the at least one acrylic polymer compound comprises the compounds presently claimed.
Brinkman teaches a two-component urethane system ([0001]) comprising a hydroxy-functional acrylic polymer as a flow aid, where the polymer is made from monomers including alkyl acrylate and acrylic acid (i.e., is an acrylic copolymer made of a monomer including acrylic acid). The flow aid produces a uniform coating of adhesive on a film ([0012]).
Singh in view of Schreckenberg and Brinkman are analogous inventions in the field of two-component urethane compositions containing acrylic-based flow agents.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the acrylic flow agent of Singh in view of Schreckenberg to be the hydroxy-functional acrylic polymer made from alkyl acrylate and acrylic acid as taught by Brinkman in order to provide a uniform coating of adhesive on a film (Brinkman, [0012]).
Conclusion
/STEVEN A RICE/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787