DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 08/27/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 31, 38, 61, 63, and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190075566) in view of Bhattad et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190239202).
Regarding claim 1 Kim disclose, a method for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
identifying a set of sensing resources to be used by a first user equipment (UE) for transmission of sensing signals para. 42, “For example, the Sidelink Control information (SCI) may determine a set of subframes and a set of resource blocks which are assigned to the Physical Sidelink Control Channel (PSSCH)”;
receiving one or more uplink signals from a second UE para. 43, “the first user equipment UE1 receives two pieces of SCI in PSCCHs from the second user equipment UE2”;
determining interference at the second UE associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE based at least in part on the set of sensing resources, the one or more uplink signals received from the second UE, or both para. 40, “UE may estimate, predict or presume an interference in a PSSCH based on at least one PSCCH received from at least one UE”; and
transmitting, based at least in part on determination of the interference at the second UE, a configuration message to at least one of the first UE or the second UE para. 44, Fig. 2, “the first user equipment UE1 may schedule a PSSCH to be transmitted based on the estimated interference, and may transmit a PSCCH including SCI and the PSSCH according to the scheduled PSSCH”
the configuration message including an indication of a parameter adjustment pertaining to at least one of transmission of the sensing signals by the first UE or downlink reception by the second UE para. 46, “FIG. 3, the SCI in the PSCCH may have fields, e.g., first to sixth fields F01 to F06, to include control information for a D2D communication therein”, see F01-F06 fields.
Kim do not specifically disclose, wherein the sensing signals are distinct from data transmission signals. However, Chen teach, wherein the sensing signals are distinct from data transmission signals “The base station 105 may accordingly receive AUL transmissions from each UE 115 on the respective sets of beam-specific AUL resources 305 using a different receive beam associated with a different AUL resource 305. As described herein, each AUL resource 305 may include a sensing portion, or a data portion, or both”, see para. 133.
Kim and Bhattad are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bhattad in the system of Kim so the system can adapt each signal for its specific function. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the network efficiency using the available resources.
Claim 31 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 38 Kim disclose, wherein the instructions to transmit the configuration message to at least one of the first UE or the second UE are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, to the first UE, a first configuration message comprising an indication to selectively adjust one or more parameters associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE; and transmit, to the second UE, a second configuration message comprising an indication to selectively adjust one or more downlink reception parameters used by the second UE para. 46, “FIG. 3, the SCI in the PSCCH may have fields, e.g., first to sixth fields F01 to F06, to include control information for a D2D communication therein”, see F01-F06 fields.
Claim 61 recites an apparatus corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 63 recites a computer–program product corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 75 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium corresponding to the apparatus of claim 38 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 38.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, 32, 46, 65, 71,72, and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190075566) in view of Bhattad et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190239202), further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200136780).
Regarding claim 2 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE, a second configuration message indicating a set of interference measurement resources associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE, receiving, from the second UE via the one or more uplink signals, a measurement report based at least in part on the set of interference measurement resources, wherein determining the interference at the second UE is based at least in part on receiving the measurement report
However, Chen teach, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE, a second configuration message indicating a set of interference measurement resources associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE, “the second message indicates channel measurement and interference measurement time domain resources corresponding to CSI 1 and CSI 2, respectively” see para. 163,
receiving, from the second UE via the one or more uplink signals, a measurement report based at least in part on the set of interference measurement resources, wherein determining the interference at the second UE is based at least in part on receiving the measurement report para. 163, “the terminal device needs to select one of CSI 1 and CSI 2 to feed back”.
Kim, Bhattad and Chen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in the system of Kim and Bhattad so the system can accurately determine the level of interference according to the channel conditions reported. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the working quality of the system by reducing the communication interference.
Regarding claim 3 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE via the second configuration message, information indicative that the set of interference measurement resources comprise an entire reception bandwidth associated with the second UE. However, Chen teach, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE via the second configuration message, information indicative that the set of interference measurement resources comprise an entire reception bandwidth associated with the second UE “with respect to CSI 1, the calculation time Z′ required is 10 symbols, the distance between the first symbol following a PDCCH and the first symbol of a PUSCH is 13 symbols, the distance between the first symbol following the PDCCH and the last symbol of channel measurement and interference measurement resources is 2 symbols, the distance between the last symbol of the channel measurement and interference measurement resources and the first symbol of the PUSCH is 11 symbols”, see para. 163.
Kim, Bhattad and Chen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in the system of Kim and Bhattad so the system can accurately determine the level of interference of the entire communication bandwidth. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a report of the channel conditions to best allocate the available resources.
Regarding claim 6 Kim disclose, wherein the set of interference measurement resources comprises a set of cross-link interference measurement resources for measuring a received signal strength indicator of the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE para. 72, “in operation S244b of FIG. 9A, occurrence of an interference in a PSSCH may be determined based on a channel quality of a D2D communication… each of the channel qualities qCHs may be signal power of the PSCCH, and in some exemplary embodiments, each of the channel qualities qCHs may be defined based on a Signal-to-Noise ratio (SNR) of a channel, a Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) of a channel, or a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 7 Kim disclose, wherein the set of interference measurement resources comprises a set of cross-link interference measurement resources for measuring one or more parameters associated with reference signals transmitted by the first UE para. 72, “… each of the channel qualities qCHs may be signal power of the PSCCH, and in some exemplary embodiments, each of the channel qualities qCHs may be defined based on a Signal-to-Noise ratio (SNR) of a channel, a Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) of a channel, or a combination thereof”.
Regarding claim 10 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose wherein identifying the set of sensing resources comprises: receiving, from the first UE, an uplink message indicating the set of sensing resources to be used for transmission of the sensing signals. However, Chen teach, wherein identifying the set of sensing resources comprises: receiving, from the first UE, an uplink message indicating the set of sensing resources to be used for transmission of the sensing signals “the second message indicates channel measurement and interference measurement time domain resources corresponding to CSI 1 and CSI 2, respectively”, see para. 163.
Kim, Bhattad and Chen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in the system of Kim and Bhattad so the system can coordinate the communication parameters and determine the best resources to allocate. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the quality of services according to the available resources.
Regarding claim 46 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
include, in the configuration message transmitted to the first UE, a sensing signal adjustment such that less than all symbols configured for the sensing signals are used for transmission of the sensing signals. However, Chen teach, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: include, in the configuration message transmitted to the first UE, a sensing signal adjustment such that less than all symbols configured for the sensing signals are used for transmission of the sensing signals “with respect to CSI 1, the calculation time Z′ required is 10 symbols, the distance between the first symbol following a PDCCH and the first symbol of a PUSCH is 13 symbols”, see para. 163.
Kim, Bhattad and Chen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen in the system of Kim and Bhattad so the system can coordinate the communication parameters and determine the best resources to allocate. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the quality of services according to the available resources.
Regarding claims 32, 65 and 72 the limitations of claims 32, 65 and 72 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claims 71 and 78 the limitations of claims 71 and 78 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 46.
Claim(s) 4, 34, 66 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190075566) in view of Bhattad et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190239202), further in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200136780); further in view of Hang et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2020114357).
Regarding claim 4 Kim, Bhattad and Chen does not specifically disclose, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE via the second configuration message, an indication that the set of interference measurement resources comprises a set of cross-link interference measurement resources for measuring interference associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE However, Hang teach, further comprising: transmitting, to the second UE via the second configuration message, an indication that the set of interference measurement resources comprises a set of cross-link interference measurement resources for measuring interference associated with the sensing signals transmitted by the first UE “the multiple interference measurement resource sets can be configured through one interference measurement resource configuration, and the channel measurement resource configuration and interference measurement resource configuration can be configured with one reporting (and Referred to as "second reporting configuration") association”, see para. 232.
Kim, Bhattad, Chen and Hang are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hang in the system of Kim, Bhattad and Chen to be able to dynamically update the initial configuration according to the changes in the channel conditions. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of services according to the available resources when detecting interferences.
Regarding claims 34, 66 and 73 the limitations of claims 34, 66 and 73 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 4.
Claim(s) 11-12,41, 69 and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190075566) in view of Bhattad et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190239202), further in view of Peng et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2012019349).
Regarding claim 11 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose, wherein determining the interference at the second UE comprises:
determining a relative position of the second UE with respect to the first UE, determining the interference at the second UE based at least in part on the relative position
However, Peng teach, determining a relative position of the second UE with respect to the first “such interference characteristic can be roughly estimated according to the location/position of a cellular UE”, see para. 48.
determining the interference at the second UE based at least in part on the relative position para. 48, “Preferably, in a mixed D2D and cellular modes network environment, such interference characteristic can be roughly estimated according to the location/position of a cellular UE, or it can be determined based on an interference measurement on the cellular UE, or combination of the two”.
Kim, Bhattad and Peng are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Peng in the system of Kim and Bhattad to take in consideration for the determining of the levels of the interferences the current position of the terminal on knows areas and patterns on the cell area. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of services according to the available resources when detecting interferences.
Regarding claim 12 Kim and Bhattad does not specifically disclose, wherein determining the relative position of the second UE with respect to the first UE comprises: determining a pathloss between the first UE and the second UE However, Peng teach, wherein determining the relative position of the second UE with respect to the first UE comprises: determining a pathloss between the first UE and the second UE “The cellular UE interferences may be measured in the form of one or more of the following parameters: a received signal power, a noise to signal ratio, a path loss measure, and the like”, see para. 63.
Kim, Bhattad and Peng are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Peng in the system of Kim and Bhattad to take in consideration for the determining of the levels of the interferences the current position of the terminal on knows areas and patterns on the cell area. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain the quality of services according to the available resources when detecting interferences.
Regarding claims 41, 69 and 76 the limitations of claims 41, 69 and 76 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 4.
Claim(s) 15, 45, 70 and 77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190075566) in view of Bhattad et al. (U.S. Pub. 20190239202), further in view of Ellenbeck et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210243713).
Regarding claim 15 Kim and Bhattad do not specifically disclose, further comprising:
identifying that a first subcarrier spacing associated with the set of sensing resources is larger than a second subcarrier spacing associated with an active bandwidth part of the second UE. However, Ellenbeck teach, identifying that a first subcarrier spacing associated with the set of sensing resources is larger than a second subcarrier spacing associated with an active bandwidth part of the second UE “using a large subcarrier spacing (e.g., separating 180 kHz into N.sub.sc = 12 subcarriers) may yield a larger separation between subcarriers, which can suppress interference between transmissions on adjacent subcarriers (which are generally addressed to different wireless devices per their differing device IDs)”, see para. 361.
Kim, Bhattad and Ellenbeck are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to transmission parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ellenbeck in the system of Kim and Bhattad to be able to accurately allocate the available resources according to preestablished priorities. The motivation for doing so would have been to maintain and improve the quality of services on the channel based on the configured priorities.
Regarding claims 45, 70 and 77 the limitations of claims 45, 70 and 77 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 35, 67, and 74 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471