Claims 1-15 are pending. Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on March 18, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler (WO 2020/070283) in view of Kelly (EP 2223940) in view of Tyzor® TnBT (organic Titanate, 2/2013).
Dobler teaches formaldehyde free aqueous curable compositions (paragraph 006,092,093,0189) wherein the composition comprises water, and 10-90% (paragraph 016) of alkyl acrylate such as C1-20 alkyl acrylates and methacrylates including ethyl, propyl, n-butyl, 2-ethyhexyl acrylate at up to 70% (paragraph 019), vinylaromatics such as styrene (paragraph 016), ethylenically unsaturated compounds having two carboxylic acid groups such as maleic acid, itaconic acid or fumaric acid (paragraph 020), other ethylenically unsaturated acids such as methacrylamide (paragraph 020) and catalysts (paragraph 092).
Dobler does not teach the individual concentrations of the styrene and itaconic or fumaric acid or methacrylamide and does not teach titanium catalysts.
Kelly teaches formaldehyde free aqueous curable binders (paragraph 0008) comprising carboxylic acids such as itaconic acid (paragraph 0051, 0053), alpha-methyl styrene (paragraph 0054) and alkyl methacrylates such as methyl, butyl or ethylhexyl methacrylates (paragraph 0063) and 2-15 weight percent Lewis acid catalysts such as Tyzor organic titanates (paragraph 0060). Kelly teaches glass transition temperatures of no greater than 70°C are preferred (paragraph 0067).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the formaldehyde-free aqueous compositions of Dobler by adding titanium catalysts at the claimed concentrations as Kelly teaches formaldehyde-free aqueous curable binders containing similar monomers which are to be polymerized benefit from adding a Lewis acid catalyst selected from organic titanates at concentrations of 2-15%. Using a known effective catalyst in art recognized concentration ranges to facilitate polymerization of similar monomer components is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the claimed amounts of each claimed component a-e, Dobler teaches adding mixtures of the components in amounts of 10-90% and one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation could arrive at the claimed concentrations of the individual components. Nothing critical has been shown regarding the claimed component mixture and the individual concentrations, therefore selecting the claimed mixture at the claimed concentrations could be routinely determined through experimentation based on the desired properties of the formaldehyde-free aqueous curable binder. Regarding the glass transition temperature of claim 11, the same components combined in the same proportions would produce a composition with the same properties and Kelley teaches glass transition temperatures of no greater than 70°C are preferred..
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobler (WO 2020/070283) in view of Kelly (EP 2223940) and further in view of Tyzor® TnBT (organic Titanate, 2/2013).
Dobler and Kelley are relied upon as set forth above.
Dobler and Kelley do not teach the titanates of TI(OR)4 where R is an alkyl radical of 1-30.
Tyzor® TnBT teaches that tetra-n-butyl titanate is an effective Lewis acid catalyst for polymerization and crosslinking that eliminate by-products, increase yield and have low toxicity and is effectively used in binders (page 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the compositions of Dobler and Kelly by incorporating the Tyzor® TnBT tetra-n-butyl titanate Lewis catalyst as the Tyzor® TnBT teaches these compounds are effective Lewis catalyst that facilitate polymerization and are useful in binder compositions. Kelley invites the inclusion of Tyzor organic titanate Lewis acid catalyst and Dobler invites the inclusion of catalysts to produce binders.
Conclusion
/AMINA S KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761