DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 13-18 are under examination. Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III, claims 13-18 in the reply filed on 08/19/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-12 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites the following, “(b) feeding the fish feed to the fish such that a ectoparasite infection is treated.” The phrase, “a ectoparasite” should be change to “an ectoparasite.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the microbial biomass.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as if it depends from claim 15, which does recite “a microbial biomass” and therefore, provides proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kajie et al., JP 2000281568.
Please note the rejection below is based off of paragraph numbers from the Espacenet English Translation of Kajie.
Regarding claim 13, Kajie teaches a method of preventing and/or treating ectoparasite infections in fish (applying a preventing and curing agent to an aquatic animal for preventing and curing parasitic diseases; Abstract).
Kajie teaches (a) mixing a capsaicin containing product with at least one fish feed ingredient, producing a fish feed (capsaicin containing composition is added to a useful aquatic animal nontoxic carrier or an appropriate stabilizer or suitable carrier such as feed to prepare a mixed animal feed for aquatic animals; [0019-0021], Claims 6-7).
Kajie teaches (b) feeding the fish feed to the fish such that an ectoparasite infection is treated, reduced or prevented in the fish (administering the capsaicin containing composition that is added to the feed to prevent and treat parasitic disease; [0019], [0034], Claim 8).
Regarding claim 14, Kajie teaches the method further comprises mixing a glucosamine containing product with the fish feed (mixing with a non-toxic carrier for aquatic animals, such as yeast; [0022], Claim 2). Regarding yeast as a glucosamine containing product, the instant specification recognizes yeast as a glucosamine containing product [0049]. Thus, yeast from Kajie is considered to meet the claim limitation as a glucosamine containing product.
Regarding claim 16, by meeting claim 13 with capsaicin, claim 16 is also considered to be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kajie et al., JP 2000281568.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Kajie teaches the glucosamine containing product comprises yeast, as described above in claim 14. Kajie does not specify the specific genus of the yeast (Abstract, [0022], Claim 2), where the yeast is of Pichia origin as required by claims 15 and 17. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kajie to use any genus of yeast, including Pichia, with the method as taught by Kajie. See MPEP 2144.08.
Regarding claim 18 Kajie teaches feeding the fish feed to the fish for a period of 30 days or more [0034]. This encompasses the claimed range of feeding the fish feed to the fish for a period of at least six weeks. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/S.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791