DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 9 September 2025 has been entered. No claims are currently amended; no claims are cancelled; claims 1-20 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 August 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou et al. (US 2017/0318615 A1), hereafter referred Ou, in view of Fehrenbach et al. (US 2020/0092685 A1), hereafter referred Fehrenbach, further in view of NTT DOCOMO et al. “Synchronization mechanism”, 3GPP Draft; R1-1809158, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #94, Gothenburg, Sweden, August 20-24, 2018, hereafter referred NTT. NTT was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 2 November 2022.
Regarding claim 1, Ou teaches a method for joining a first user equipment-coordination set (UECS) by a first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communications network (Ou, Fig. 6 and 9, [0177]; the procedure for finding a qualified cooperative UE is illustrated in Fig. 9), a UECS comprising multiple UEs configured to jointly transmit to and/or jointly receive from a base station, data for one or more UEs of the UECS (Ou, Fig. 6 and 9, [0068]; Cooperation mode: an uplink transmission using cooperation mode is transmitted by multiple UEs at the same time), a UECS further comprising a coordinating UE configured to coordinate joint transmission and/or reception of downlink and/or uplink data with the base station (Ou, Fig. 9, [0178]-[0181]; the UE in figure 9 initiating the finding of a qualified cooperative UEs includes transmit a D2D discovery message. The examiner contends the UE transmitting D2D discovery signal is interpreted as the coordinating UE), the method comprising the first UE equipment.
Ou does not expressly teach receiving, from a second UE, acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, one or more UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS;
transmitting a first UECS-Access-Request to the second UE; and
receiving a first UECS-Access-Response from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the first UECS.
However, Fehrenbach teaches receiving, from a second UE, acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, one or more UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0268]; the group manager UE may transmit a signal to a yet foreign UE in the second step, where the signal transmitted by the Group Manger UE might be a sidelink primary and secondary synchronization signal to provide an identity of the UE-Group identity and to measure the receive signal strength).
transmitting a first UECS-Access-Request to the second UE (Fehrenbach, [0219]; the group manager UE may receive a connection setup request message from the foreign UE that is not yet a member of the UE-group); and
receiving a first UECS-Access-Response from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0223]; in response to said connection setup request message, the group manager UE may send a connection setup response message to the foreign UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Fehrenbach in order to provide efficient communication between an eNB and the one or more UEs within a radio network (Fehrenbach, [0023]).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach does not expressly teach receiving an indication of an allocation of air interface resources for UECS synchronization signals; and monitoring the air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals.
However, NTT teaches receiving an indication of an allocation of air interface resources for UECS synchronization signals; and monitoring the air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals (NTT, p. 1-5; synchronization resource is (pre-)configured resource for SLSS/PSBCH transmission. Synchronization resource is configured with fixed defined period in LTE V2X and three independent offset indicators can configure up to three synchronization resources. In NR V2X the synchronization resource configuration can follow LTE V2X synchronization resource configuration principle and resource for SLSS/PSBCH block can be indicated via configuration signaling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in Fehrenbach to include the above recited limitations as taught by NTT in order to provide system information to the UEs (NTT, p. 2, Section 2.1 Synchronization signal).
Regarding claim 20, Ou teaches a user equipment (UE) (Ou, Fig. 3, [0039]; the communication device 300 can be utilized for realizing the UEs in Fig. 1) comprising:
a wireless transceiver (Ou, Fig. 3, [0039]; the communication device 300 may include a transceiver 314);
a processor (Ou, Fig. 3, [0039]; the communication device 300 may include a control circuit 306); and
instructions for a communication manager application that are executable by the processor (Ou, Fig. 3, [0039]; the control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU) to configure the UE to:
a UECS comprising multiple UEs configured to jointly transmit to and/or jointly receive from a base station, data for one or more UEs of the UECS (Ou, Fig. 6 and 9, [0068]; Cooperation mode: an uplink transmission using cooperation mode is transmitted by multiple UEs at the same time), a UECS further comprising a coordinating UE configured to coordinate joint transmission and/or reception of downlink and/or uplink data with the base station (Ou, Fig. 9, [0178]-[0181]; the UE in figure 9 initiating the finding of a qualified cooperative UEs includes transmit a D2D discovery message. The examiner contends the UE transmitting D2D discovery signal is interpreted as the coordinating UE).
Ou does not expressly teach receive, from a second UE, acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, one or more UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS;
transmit a first UECS-Access-Request to the second UE; and
receive a first UECS-Access-Response from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the first UECS.
However, Fehrenbach teaches receive, from a second UE, acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, one or more UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0268]; the group manager UE may transmit a signal to a yet foreign UE in the second step, where the signal transmitted by the Group Manger UE might be a sidelink primary and secondary synchronization signal to provide an identity of the UE-Group identity and to measure the receive signal strength);
transmit a first UECS-Access-Request to the second UE (Fehrenbach, [0219]; the group manager UE may receive a connection setup request message from the foreign UE that is not yet a member of the UE-group); and
receive a first UECS-Access-Response from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0223]; in response to said connection setup request message, the group manager UE may send a connection setup response message to the foreign UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Fehrenbach in order to provide efficient communication between an eNB and the one or more UEs within a radio network (Fehrenbach, [0023]).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach does not expressly teach receive an indication of an allocation of air interface resources for UECS synchronization signals; and monitor the air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals.
However, NTT teaches receive an indication of an allocation of air interface resources for UECS synchronization signals; and monitor the air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals (NTT, p. 1-5; synchronization resource is (pre-)configured resource for SLSS/PSBCH transmission. Synchronization resource is configured with fixed defined period in LTE V2X and three independent offset indicators can configure up to three synchronization resources. In NR V2X the synchronization resource configuration can follow LTE V2X synchronization resource configuration principle and resource for SLSS/PSBCH block can be indicated via configuration signaling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach to include the above recited limitations as taught by NTT in order to provide system information to the UEs (NTT, p. 2, Section 2.1 Synchronization signal).
Regarding claim 18, Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT teaches the method of claim 1 above. Ou does not expressly teach
However, NTT teaches wherein the receiving the indication of the allocation of air interface resources for the UECS synchronization signals comprises:
receiving the indication of the allocation of air interface resources for the UECS synchronization signals from a base station (NTT, p. 4, paragraph 1; in LTE V2X, synchronization sources include base station).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou to include the above recited limitations as taught by NTT in order to provide system information to the UEs (NTT, p. 2, Section 2.1 Synchronization signal).
Regarding claim 19, Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT teaches the method of claim 18 above. Further, Ou teaches wherein the receiving of the indication of the allocation of air interface resources for the UECS synchronization signals from the base station comprises:
receiving the indication of the allocation of air interface resources for the UECS synchronization signals from the base station in a broadcast message (Ou, [0134]-[0135]; if some configuration can be cell-specific, it can be signaled by broadcasting, e.g. in system information).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2016/0113050 A1), hereafter referred Li. Li was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 2 November 2022.
Regarding claim 2, Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT teaches the method of claim 1 above. Further, Ou teaches the method comprising the first UE: based on being the coordinator, periodically transmitting UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS (Ou, [0156]-[0166]; once a UE receives the configuration, the UE starts to find a qualified cooperative UE periodically).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
receiving, from the second UE, a first Coordinator-Change message, the first Coordinator-Change message indicating that the first UE is now acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS.
However, Li teaches the method comprising the first UE:
receiving, from the second UE, a first Coordinator-Change message, the first Coordinator-Change message indicating that the first UE is now acting as the coordinating UE for the first UECS (Li, [0040]; a previous coordinator can select a another D2D UE as the next coordinator in a D2D network and transmit the coordinator selection to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 3, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the Coordinator-Change message includes a round-robin schedule of UEs to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS.
However, Li teaches wherein the Coordinator-Change message includes a round-robin schedule of UEs to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS (Li, Fig. 5, [0037]-[0051]; for a group of D2D devices, the resource allocation can be determined for a period of time by a coordinator. The coordinator can be selected using defined criteria, such as each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on various parameters such as priorities or requested resource size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 4, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 3 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the round-robin schedule includes an indication of one or more criteria for scheduling a duration for each UE in the round-robin schedule to act as the coordinating UE, and wherein the criteria include one or more of:
a time duration; an amount of power consumed performing coordinating UE operations; or an amount of data transferred while acting as the coordinating UE.
However, Li teaches wherein the round-robin schedule includes an indication of one or more criteria for scheduling a duration for each UE in the round-robin schedule to act as the coordinating UE, and wherein the criteria include one or more of:
a time duration; an amount of power consumed performing coordinating UE operations; or an amount of data transferred while acting as the coordinating UE (Li, Fig. 5, [0037]-[0051]; for a group of D2D devices, the resource allocation can be determined for a period of time by a coordinator. The coordinator can be selected using defined criteria, such as each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on various parameters such as priorities or requested resource size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Yie et al. (US 2015/0208371 A1), hereafter referred Yie.
Regarding claim 5, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 3 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
based on the round-robin schedule, including an indication of a third UE acting as a next coordinating UE for the first UECS in a second Coordinator-Change message; and transmitting the second Coordinator-Change message as a message to the UEs included in the first UECS.
However, Li teaches the method comprising the first UE:
based on the round-robin schedule, including an indication of a third UE acting as a next coordinating UE for the first UECS in a second Coordinator-Change message; and transmitting the second Coordinator-Change message as a message to the UEs included in the first UECS (Li, [0039]-[0042]; each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on a criteria, so the first D2D UE is assigned as the first coordinator and then proceeding down the list to assign subsequent coordinators, where the previous coordinator can broadcast the next coordinator to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li does not expressly teach discontinuing the periodic transmission of UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS.
However, Yie teaches discontinuing the periodic transmission of UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS (Yie, [0016]; a transmission policy may utilize an aperiodic transmission scheme or a transmission stopping scheme so as to perform the D2D communication with the other terminal).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yie in order to efficiently transmit a D2D synchronization signal for D2D communication (Yie, [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Li further in view of Yie teaches the method of claim 5 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the transmitting of the second Coordinator-Change message comprises:
transmitting the second Coordinator-Change message as a broadcast message to the UEs included in the first UECS.
However, Li teaches wherein the transmitting of the second Coordinator-Change message comprises:
transmitting the second Coordinator-Change message as a broadcast message to the UEs included in the first UECS (Li, [0039]-[0042]; each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on a criteria, so the first D2D UE is assigned as the first coordinator and then proceeding down the list to assign subsequent coordinators, where the previous coordinator can broadcast the next coordinator to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niu et al. (CN 104937859 A). A machine translation of Niu et al. is provided and is hereby referred Niu. Niu et al. is cited by applicant’s IDS filed 2 November 2022.
Regarding claim 11, Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT teaches the method of claim 1 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
after receiving, from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response, monitoring air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals from the second UE.
However, NTT teaches the method comprising the first UE:
after receiving, from the second UE, the first UECS-Access-Response, monitoring air interface resources to receive UECS synchronization signals from the second UE (NTT, p. 1-5; synchronization resource is (pre-)configured resource for SLSS/PSBCH transmission. Synchronization resource is configured with fixed defined period in LTE V2X and three independent offset indicators can configure up to three synchronization resources. In NR V2X the synchronization resource configuration can follow LTE V2X synchronization resource configuration principle and resource for SLSS/PSBCH block can be indicated via configuration signaling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach to include the above recited limitations as taught by NTT in order to provide system information to the UEs (NTT, p. 2, Section 2.1 Synchronization signal).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach determining that the UECS synchronization signals from the second UE have not been received for a threshold period of time.
However, Niu teaches determining that the UECS synchronization signals from the second UE have not been received for a threshold period of time (Niu, p. 15, paragraphs 1-2; the UE is monitoring D2D discovery beacon for a predetermined period of time. When D2D discovery beacon is not received by the UE for a predetermined period of time, the UE is assigned D2D a cluster coordinator and perform D2D communication where the UE send D2D to D2D UE in D2D cluster from the cluster coordinator D2D discovery beacons such as frame 1040).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Niu in order to reduce the interference between the D2D UE (Niu, p. 15, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 12, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu teaches the method of claim 11 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
determining to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS; and
periodically transmitting the UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS.
However, Niu teaches the method comprising the first UE:
determining to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS; and periodically transmitting the UECS synchronization signals for the first UECS (Niu, p. 15, paragraphs 1-2; the UE is monitoring D2D discovery beacon for a predetermined period of time. When D2D discovery beacon is not received by the UE for a predetermined period of time, the UE is assigned D2D a cluster coordinator and perform D2D communication where the UE send D2D to D2D UE in D2D cluster from the cluster coordinator D2D discovery beacons such as frame 1040).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Niu in order to reduce the interference between the D2D UE (Niu, p. 15, paragraph 2).
Claim 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (US 2015/0011230 A1), hereafter referred Noh. Noh was cited in applicant’s IDS filed 2 November 2022.
Regarding claim 7, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 2 above. Ou does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
receiving a second UECS-Access-Request from a fourth UE while the first UE acts as the coordinating UE for the first UECS; and
transmitting to the fourth UE a second UECS-Access-Response, the second UECS-Access-Response indicating that the fourth UE is included in the first UECS.
However, Fehrenbach teaches the method comprising the first UE:
receiving a second UECS-Access-Request from a fourth UE while the first UE acts as the coordinating UE for the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0219]; the group manager UE may receive a connection setup request message from the foreign UE that is not yet a member of the UE-group); and
transmitting to the fourth UE a second UECS-Access-Response, the second UECS-Access-Response indicating that the fourth UE is included in the first UECS (Fehrenbach, [0223]; in response to said connection setup request message, the group manager UE may send a connection setup response message to the foreign UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Fehrenbach in order to provide efficient communication between an eNB and the one or more UEs within a radio network (Fehrenbach, [0023]).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li does not expressly teach receiving a second UECS-Access-Request from a fourth UE; and
determining to include the fourth UE in the first UECS.
However, Noh teaches receiving a second UECS-Access-Request from a fourth UE (Noh, Fig. 3, [0048]-[0053]; each of the terminals 20, 30, and 40 may transmit a random access preamble message for uplink synchronization to the coordinator 50 and receive a random access response message including timing advance information in response to the random access preamble message from the coordinator); and
determining to include the fourth UE in the first UECS (Noh, Fig. 3, [0048]-[0053]; each of the terminals 20, 30, and 40 may transmit a random access preamble message for uplink synchronization to the coordinator 50 and receive a random access response message including timing advance information in response to the random access preamble message from the coordinator).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Noh in order to efficiently perform a coordinator based device-to-device communications in a wireless communication system (Noh, [0008]-[0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Li further in view of Noh teaches the method of claim 7 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the Coordinator-Change message includes a round-robin schedule of UEs to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, the method comprising the first UE: including the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule.
However, Li teaches wherein the Coordinator-Change message includes a round-robin schedule of UEs to act as the coordinating UE for the first UECS, the method comprising the first UE: including the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule (Li, Fig. 5, [0037]-[0051]; for a group of D2D devices, the resource allocation can be determined for a period of time by a coordinator. The coordinator can be selected using defined criteria, such as each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on various parameters such as priorities or requested resource size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Li further in view of Noh teaches the method of claim 8 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the including of the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule comprises the first UE:
evaluating one or more selection criteria for including the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule, wherein the one or more selection criteria include:
a remaining battery charge of the fourth UE;
a charging status of the fourth UE;
an uplink signal power to a base station;
a downlink received signal strength from the base station;
an uplink transmit power to the base station;
a number of uplinks from the fourth UE to base stations; or
an uplink data throughput of the fourth UE.
However, Li teaches wherein the including of the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule comprises the first UE:
evaluating one or more selection criteria for including the fourth UE in the round-robin schedule, wherein the one or more selection criteria include:
a remaining battery charge of the fourth UE; a charging status of the fourth UE;
an uplink signal power to a base station; a downlink received signal strength from the base station; an uplink transmit power to the base station; a number of uplinks from the fourth UE to base stations; or an uplink data throughput of the fourth UE (Li, Fig. 5, [0037]-[0051]; for a group of D2D devices, the resource allocation can be determined for a period of time by a coordinator. The coordinator can be selected using defined criteria, such as each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on various parameters such as priorities or requested resource size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Li further in view of Noh teaches the method of claim 9 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT does not expressly teach wherein the one or more selection criteria are included in the second UECS-Access-Request.
However, Li teaches wherein the one or more selection criteria are included in the second UECS-Access-Request (Li, Fig. 5, [0037]-[0051]; for a group of D2D devices, the resource allocation can be determined for a period of time by a coordinator. The coordinator can be selected using defined criteria, such as each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on various parameters such as priorities or requested resource size).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach further in view of NTT to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Noh.
Regarding claim 13, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu teaches the method of claim 11 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu does not teach the method comprising the first UE:
receiving UECS synchronization signals for a second UECS from a fifth UE, the fifth UE acting as a coordinating UE for the second UECS;
transmitting a third UECS-Access-Request to the fifth UE; and
receiving from the fifth UE a third UECS-Access-Response, the third UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the second UECS.
However, Noh teaches the method comprising the first UE:
receiving UECS synchronization signals for a second UECS from a fifth UE, the fifth UE acting as a coordinating UE for the second UECS (Noh, Fig. 3, [0048]-[0053]; the coordinator may transmit the synchronization signals and the system information in a broadcast manner to terminals 20, 30, and 40);
transmitting a third UECS-Access-Request to the fifth UE (Noh, Fig. 3, [0048]-[0053]; each of the terminals 20, 30, and 40 may transmit a random access preamble message for uplink synchronization to the coordinator 50 and receive a random access response message including timing advance information in response to the random access preamble message from the coordinator); and
receiving from the fifth UE a third UECS-Access-Response, the third UECS-Access-Response indicating that the first UE is included in the second UECS (Noh, Fig. 3, [0048]-[0053]; each of the terminals 20, 30, and 40 may transmit a random access preamble message for uplink synchronization to the coordinator 50 and receive a random access response message including timing advance information in response to the random access preamble message from the coordinator).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Li to include the above recited limitations as taught by Noh in order to efficiently perform a coordinator based device-to-device communications in a wireless communication system (Noh, [0008]-[0009]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 14, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu teaches the method of claim 11 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu does not expressly teach wherein the first UECS includes additional UEs, the method comprising the first UE:
transmitting a UECS-Handover-Request to a fifth UE, the fifth UE acting as a coordinating UE for a second UECS; receiving a UECS-Handover-Response indicating that the fifth UE has included the first UE and the additional UEs into the second UECS; and transmitting a third Coordinator-Change message to the additional UEs indicating that the fifth UE is the coordinating UE for the second UECS.
However, Li teaches wherein the first UECS includes additional UEs, the method comprising the first UE:
transmitting a UECS-Handover-Request to a fifth UE, the fifth UE acting as a coordinating UE for a second UECS; receiving a UECS-Handover-Response indicating that the fifth UE has included the first UE and the additional UEs into the second UECS; and transmitting a third Coordinator-Change message to the additional UEs indicating that the fifth UE is the coordinating UE for the second UECS (Li, [0039]-[0042]; each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on a criteria, so the first D2D UE is assigned as the first coordinator and then proceeding down the list to assign subsequent coordinators, where the previous coordinator can broadcast the next coordinator to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 14 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu does not expressly teach comprising the first UE: including identities of the additional UEs in the UECS-Handover-Request.
However, Li teaches comprising the first UE: including identities of the additional UEs in the UECS-Handover-Request (Li, [0039]-[0042]; each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on a criteria, so the first D2D UE is assigned as the first coordinator and then proceeding down the list to assign subsequent coordinators, where the previous coordinator can broadcast the next coordinator to the UEs in the D2D network, where one criteria can be device ID).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 16, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Li teaches the method of claim 14 above. Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu do not expressly teach wherein the transmitting of the third Coordinator-Change message to the additional UEs comprises:
transmitting the third Coordinator-Change message as a broadcast message to the additional UEs indicating that the fifth UE is the coordinating UE for the second UECS.
However, Li teaches wherein the transmitting of the third Coordinator-Change message to the additional UEs comprises:
transmitting the third Coordinator-Change message as a broadcast message to the additional UEs indicating that the fifth UE is the coordinating UE for the second UECS (Li, [0039]-[0042]; each active D2D UE can be assigned as a coordinator by using a defined coordinator order or list based on a criteria, so the first D2D UE is assigned as the first coordinator and then proceeding down the list to assign subsequent coordinators, where the previous coordinator can broadcast the next coordinator to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT further in view of Niu to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Noh as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 17, Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Noh teaches the method of claim 13 above. Ou does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
based on being the coordinator, periodically transmitting UECS synchronization signals for the second UECS.
However, Fehrenbach teaches the method comprising the first UE:
based on being the coordinator, periodically transmitting UECS synchronization signals for the second UECS (Fehrenbach, [0268]; the group manager UE may transmit a signal to a yet foreign UE in the second step, where the signal transmitted by the Group Manger UE might be a sidelink primary and secondary synchronization signal to provide an identity of the UE-Group identity and to measure the receive signal strength).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Fehrenbach in order to provide efficient communication between an eNB and the one or more UEs within a radio network (Fehrenbach, [0023]).
Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Noh does not expressly teach the method comprising the first UE:
receiving, from the fifth UE, a fourth Coordinator-Change message, the fourth Coordinator-Change message indicating that the first UE is now acting as the coordinating UE for the second UECS.
However, Li teaches the method comprising the first UE:
receiving, from the fifth UE, a fourth Coordinator-Change message, the fourth Coordinator-Change message indicating that the first UE is now acting as the coordinating UE for the second UECS (Li, [0040]; a previous coordinator can select a another D2D UE as the next coordinator in a D2D network and transmit the coordinator selection to the UEs in the D2D network).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ou in view of Fehrenbach in view of NTT in view of Niu further in view of Noh to include the above recited limitations as taught by Li in order to coordinate UE contention scheduling (Li, [0034]-[0041]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416