DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, 14-19, 21-28, 30-31, 33-35, 37, and 156-159 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 11-12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 9) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 101 & Fig. 9), comprising: one or more memories (see Para [0087]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & Para [0089]) coupled to the one or more memories (see Para’s [0006], [0087], & [0089-0090]), the one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & [0089]) configured to: receive, from a network, a broadcast message that indicates a plurality of occasions (see Fig.’s 3A-3B i.e., monitoring occasions MO 31-34 & [0030-0035] i.e., PDCCH monitoring occasions 31-34) for a control resource set, (see Para’s [0029] i.e., a configuration of search space zero may be used for UE 101 to determine whether to enable PDCCH repetition for search space zero. In detail, referring to Fig. 2, BS 102 may broadcast a MIB 102M to UE 101…The MIB 102M may include a configuration of search space zero. The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO 31 and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 (i.e., “plurality of occasions”)…A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero)
Wherein the plurality of occasions for the control resource set are associated with an unlicensed band (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0027] i.e., the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums (i.e., suggests the PDCCH monitoring occasions will be communicated over an unlicensed band) & [0030-0032])
and monitor, based at least in part on the broadcast message (see Para’s [0029-0030] i.e., MIB), at least one occasion of the plurality of occasions for the control resource set, (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0030-0032] i.e., Accordingly, UE 101 may detect DCI in the first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO31 within the first slot S31, and may repeatedly detect DCI in the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 within the first slot S31)
While Wang discloses the plurality of occasions for the control resource set may be associated with an unlicensed band (see Para’s [0027] i.e., whereas in other embodiments, the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums & [0029-0030]), Wang does not disclose the claim features of wherein the plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers, and wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with an unlicensed band (In light of the applicants specification, the claim feature of “wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with the unlicensed band” refers to the plurality of occasions each including respective component carriers sent along the unlicensed band, see applicants specification Para’s [0134], [0235], & [0247]). However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121).
Lin discloses wherein a plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers (see Para’s [0003], [0005] i.e., there is a method for performing PDCCH monitoring of component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation scheme that aggregates a first CC and a second CC, the method including: calculating a first monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the first CC…calculating a second monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the second CC…and generating a schedule for the monitoring occasion of the first CC and the monitoring occasion of the second CC, [0033] i.e., multiple monitoring occasions on multiple respective component carriers, [0034] i.e., Each time instance of PDCCH SS (e.g., each symbol in which a DCI may occur) is referred to as a monitoring occasion (MO), & [0044]).
(Lin suggests the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation (see Para [0034]) and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers, (see Para’s [0003], [0005-0006], [0014], [0022], & [0036])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the control resource set which are transmitted from the base station to the UE on the unlicensed band as disclosed in Wang to be associated with a plurality of component carriers such as the PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to a respective component carrier as disclosed in Lin which results in the plurality of component carriers being associated with the unlicensed band, because the motivation lies in Lin that the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used by the UE to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers.
While Wang discloses a broadcast message such as MIB received by the UE includes a configuration of search space zero (i.e., CORESET) in order for the UE to monitor for the control resource set according to a plurality of monitoring occasions (see Para’s [0029-0032]), the combination of Wang in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the broadcast message indicating the plurality of occasions for a control resource set. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Reial discloses a broadcast message indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038] i.e., A CORESET defines the time/frequency (T/F) size where a downlink (DL) control channel (e.g., PDCCH) is confined…In addition, the associated search space IE also configures the parameters including PDCCH monitoring occasions…to indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH & [0039] i.e., In addition, another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions).
Reial discloses a UE monitoring, based at least in part on the broadcast message, at least one occasion of a plurality of occasions for a control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions…PDCCH monitoring occasions indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH)
(Reial suggests the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message such as the MIB which includes search space configuration used for the UE to monitor the CORESET according to a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin to indicate the plurality of occasions for the control resource set by using the information according to the MIB message disclosed in Reial who discloses a MIB uses bits indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set, because the motivation lies in Reial that the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the broadcast message further indicates an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal block. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670).
Jung discloses wherein a broadcast message further indicates an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal block (see Para [0068] i.e., In such embodiments, each sub-SSB burst may have a different time-shift value (“offset”) with respect to a reference sub-SSB burst location, and a respective time shift value may be included in PBCH”…“In addition, a UE may receive X bits indicating a time shift value (i.e., “offset”) with respect to reference SSB location in terms of a number of SSB occasions or time offset with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of slots (or subframes) in PBCH or PDSCH carrying SIB 1”, [0069] i.e., In some embodiments, an additional 3 bits may be added to an existing payload (e.g., NR PBCH) to indicate a time offset of a shifted SSB burst with respect to a half frame boundary & Para [0080]).
(Jung suggests the UE receives the PBCH (i.e., “broadcast message”) indicating the offset for properly identifying an SSB occasion which is associated with one or more SS/PBCH blocks for obtaining the synchronization signal (i.e., SS/PBCH block), (see Para’s [0068-0069] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message such as the MIB which is associated with the plurality of occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial to indicate an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal block such as the broadcast message received by the UE as disclosed in Jung, because the motivation lies in Jung that the UE receives the PBCH (i.e., “broadcast message”) indicating the offset for properly identifying an SSB occasion which is associated with one or more SS/PBCH blocks for obtaining the synchronization signal (i.e., SS/PBCH block).
While Jung discloses wherein the offset is indicated as a quantity of slots or subframes (see Para’s [0068] i.e., In addition, a UE may receive X bits indicating the time shift value…or time offset with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of slots (or subframes) in PBCH & [0069] i.e., time offset of the shifted SSB burst with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of subframes), the combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung does not disclose wherein the offset is a quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048).
Harada discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one slot or one subframe that may include one or a plurality of resource blocks (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0238-0239] i.e., One subframe may include one or a plurality of resource blocks)).
(Harada suggests the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station (see Para’s [0066], [0233], & [0238-0239])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is comprised of a quantity of slots or subframes as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung to be comprised of a quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Harada who discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one slot or one subframe that may include at least one resource block, because the motivation lies in Harada that the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, and further in view of Harada does not disclose wherein the offset is indicated as the quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Lee discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a slot offset, a subframe offset, or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) (see Para [0152] i.e., In an example, a PDSCH may be scheduled with a scheduling offset by a PDCCH (and/or DCI)), such that the scheduling offset may be indicated or determined by the associated PDCCH (and/or DCI). For example, the scheduling offset may be any one or more of timing offset, slot offset, subframe offset…RB offset).
(Lee suggests the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by a WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information, (see Para [0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is a quantity of resource blocks as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, and further in view of Harada to be indicated as the quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Lee who discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a slot offset, a subframe offset, or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) to a WTRU, because the motivation lies in Lee that the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by the WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, based at least in part on the monitoring, another broadcast message that schedules further transmissions from the network (Wang, see Para [0035] i.e., the UE may repeatedly detect DCI in the PDCCH monitoring occasions MO31 to MO34. When detecting DCI, UE 101 may receive DCI from BS 102. DCI may correspond to a SIB1 (i.e., “another broadcast message”) and may include scheduling information of PDSCH corresponding to the SIB1. Then, BS 102 may transmit downlink data according to the scheduling information of PDSCH. Subsequently, UE 101 may receive downlink data via PDSCH according to the scheduling information of PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of occasions are contiguous along the unlicensed band, (Wang, see Fig. 3A i.e., plurality of occasions MO31 & MO32 are contiguous & Para’s [0027] i.e., the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums & [0030] i.e., MO 31 and MO32)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the control resource set is repeated across the plurality of occasions (Wang, see Fig. 3A & Para’s [0029] i.e., The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero), and wherein the UE receives the control resource set across the plurality of occasions (Wang, see Fig. 3A & Para’s [0029] i.e., The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero, [0030] i.e., A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero, & [0031]),
Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 9) for wireless communication at a network node (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station 102), comprising: one or more memories (see Para [0087]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & Para [0089]) coupled to the one or more memories (see Para’s [0006], [0087], & [0089-0090]), the one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & [0089]) configured to: transmit a broadcast message that indicates a plurality of occasions (see Fig.’s 3A-3B i.e., monitoring occasions MO 31-34 & [0030-0035] i.e., PDCCH monitoring occasions 31-34) for a control resource set, (see Para’s [0029] i.e., a configuration of search space zero may be used for UE 101 to determine whether to enable PDCCH repetition for search space zero. In detail, referring to Fig. 2, BS 102 may broadcast a MIB 102M to UE 101…The MIB 102M may include a configuration of search space zero. The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO 31 and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 (i.e., “plurality of occasions”)…A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero)
Wherein the plurality of occasions for the control resource set are associated with an unlicensed band (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0027] i.e., the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums (i.e., suggests the PDCCH monitoring occasions will be communicated over an unlicensed band) & [0030-0032])
and transmit, based at least in part on the transmission of the broadcast message (see Para’s [0029-0030] i.e., MIB), the control resource set in at least one occasion of the plurality of occasions, (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0030] i.e., BS 102 may transmit DCI in the first MO31 and may repeatedly transmit DCI in the second MO32. A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero & [0031-0032] i.e., Accordingly, UE 101 may detect DCI in the first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO31 within the first slot S31, and may repeatedly detect DCI in the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 within the first slot S31)
While Wang discloses the plurality of occasions for the control resource set may be associated with an unlicensed band (see Para’s [0027] i.e., whereas in other embodiments, the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums & [0029-0030]), Wang does not disclose the claim features of wherein the plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers, and wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with an unlicensed band (In light of the applicants specification, the claim feature of “wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with the unlicensed band” refers to the plurality of occasions each including respective component carriers sent along the unlicensed band, see applicants specification Para’s [0134], [0235], & [0247]). However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121).
Lin discloses wherein a plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers (see Para’s [0003], [0005] i.e., there is a method for performing PDCCH monitoring of component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation scheme that aggregates a first CC and a second CC, the method including: calculating a first monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the first CC…calculating a second monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the second CC…and generating a schedule for the monitoring occasion of the first CC and the monitoring occasion of the second CC, [0033] i.e., multiple monitoring occasions on multiple respective component carriers, [0034] i.e., Each time instance of PDCCH SS (e.g., each symbol in which a DCI may occur) is referred to as a monitoring occasion (MO), & [0044]).
(Lin suggests the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation (see Para [0034]) and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers, (see Para’s [0003], [0005-0006], [0014], [0022], & [0036])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the control resource set which are transmitted from the base station to the UE on the unlicensed band as disclosed in Wang to be associated with a plurality of component carriers such as the PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to a respective component carrier as disclosed in Lin which results in the plurality of component carriers being associated with the unlicensed band, because the motivation lies in Lin that the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used by the UE to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers.
While Wang discloses a broadcast message such as MIB transmitted to the UE includes a configuration of search space zero (i.e., CORESET) in order for the UE to monitor for the control resource set according to a plurality of monitoring occasions (see Para’s [0029-0032]), the combination of Wang in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the broadcast message indicating the plurality of occasions for a control resource set. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Reial discloses a broadcast message indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038] i.e., A CORESET defines the time/frequency (T/F) size where a downlink (DL) control channel (e.g., PDCCH) is confined…In addition, the associated search space IE also configures the parameters including PDCCH monitoring occasions…to indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH & [0039] i.e., In addition, another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions).
Reial discloses a UE monitoring, based at least in part on the broadcast message, at least one occasion of a plurality of occasions for a control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions…PDCCH monitoring occasions indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH)
(Reial suggests the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message such as the MIB which includes search space configuration used for the UE to monitor the CORESET according to a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin to indicate the plurality of occasions for the control resource set by using the information according to the MIB message disclosed in Reial who discloses a MIB uses bits indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set, because the motivation lies in Reial that the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the broadcast message further indicates an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal block. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670).
Jung discloses wherein a broadcast message further indicates an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal block (see Para [0068] i.e., In such embodiments, each sub-SSB burst may have a different time-shift value (“offset”) with respect to a reference sub-SSB burst location, and a respective time shift value may be included in PBCH”…“In addition, a UE may receive X bits indicating a time shift value (i.e., “offset”) with respect to reference SSB location in terms of a number of SSB occasions or time offset with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of slots (or subframes) in PBCH or PDSCH carrying SIB 1”, [0069] i.e., In some embodiments, an additional 3 bits may be added to an existing payload (e.g., NR PBCH) to indicate a time offset of a shifted SSB burst with respect to a half frame boundary & Para [0080]).
(Jung suggests the UE receives the PBCH (i.e., “broadcast message”) indicating the offset for properly identifying an SSB occasion which is associated with one or more SS/PBCH blocks for obtaining the synchronization signal (i.e., SS/PBCH block), (see Para’s [0068-0069] & [0080])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message such as the MIB which is associated with the plurality of occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial to indicate an offset based at least in part on which occasion of the plurality of occasions includes a synchronization signal such as the broadcast message received by the UE as disclosed in Jung, because the motivation lies in Jung that the UE receives the PBCH (i.e., “broadcast message”) indicating the offset for properly identifying an SSB occasion which is associated with one or more SS/PBCH blocks for obtaining the synchronization signal (i.e., SS/PBCH block).
While Jung discloses wherein the offset is indicated as a quantity of slots or subframes (see Para’s [0068] i.e., In addition, a UE may receive X bits indicating the time shift value…or time offset with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of slots (or subframes) in PBCH & [0069] i.e., time offset of the shifted SSB burst with respect to a half frame boundary in terms of a number of subframes), the combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung does not disclose wherein the offset is a quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048).
Harada discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one slot or one subframe that may include one or a plurality of resource blocks (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0238-0239] i.e., One subframe may include one or a plurality of resource blocks)).
(Harada suggests the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station (see Para’s [0066], [0233], & [0238-0239])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is comprised of a quantity of slots or subframes as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung to be comprised of a quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Harada who discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one slot or one subframe that may include at least one resource block, because the motivation lies in Harada that the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, and further in view of Harada does not disclose wherein the offset is indicated as the quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Lee discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a slot offset, a subframe offset, or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) (see Para [0152] i.e., In an example, a PDSCH may be scheduled with a scheduling offset by a PDCCH (and/or DCI)), such that the scheduling offset may be indicated or determined by the associated PDCCH (and/or DCI). For example, the scheduling offset may be any one or more of timing offset, slot offset, subframe offset…RB offset).
(Lee suggests the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by a WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information, (see Para [0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is a quantity of resource blocks as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, and further in view of Harada to be indicated as the quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Lee who discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a slot offset, a subframe offset, or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) to a WTRU, because the motivation lies in Lee that the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by the WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim is directed towards an apparatus such as a network node that performs transmission according to the same claim features as claim 2. Therefore claim 12 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung as in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16, the claim is directed towards an apparatus such as a network node that performs transmission according to the same claim features as claim 6. Therefore claim 16 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung as in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, the claim is directed towards an apparatus such as a network node that performs transmission according to the same claim features as claim 8. Therefore claim 18 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Jung as in claim 8.
3. Claims 21-22, 25-28, 30-31, 34-35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Yan et al. US (2023/0247639), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 9) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 1 i.e., UE 101 & Fig. 9), comprising: one or more memories (see Para [0087]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & Para [0089]) coupled to the one or more memories (see Para’s [0006], [0087], & [0089-0090]), the one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & [0089]) configured to: receive, from a network, a control message that indicates a plurality of occasions (see Fig.’s 3A-3B i.e., monitoring occasions MO 31-34 & [0030-0035] i.e., PDCCH monitoring occasions 31-34) for at least one control resource set, (see Para’s [0029] i.e., a configuration of search space zero may be used for UE 101 to determine whether to enable PDCCH repetition for search space zero. In detail, referring to Fig. 2, BS 102 may broadcast a MIB 102M to UE 101…The MIB 102M (i.e., “control message”) may include a configuration of search space zero. The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO 31 and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 (i.e., “plurality of occasions”)…A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero)
Wherein the plurality of occasions for the control resource set are associated with an unlicensed band (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0027] i.e., the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums (i.e., suggests the PDCCH monitoring occasions will be communicated over an unlicensed band) & [0030-0032])
and monitor, based at least in part on the control message (see Para’s [0029-0030] i.e., MIB), at least one occasion of the plurality of occasions for the at least one control resource set, (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0030-0032] i.e., Accordingly, UE 101 may detect DCI in the first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO31 within the first slot S31, and may repeatedly detect DCI in the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 within the first slot S31)
While Wang discloses the plurality of occasions for the control resource set may be associated with an unlicensed band (see Para’s [0027] i.e., whereas in other embodiments, the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums & [0029-0030]), Wang does not disclose the claim features of wherein the plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers, and wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with an unlicensed band (In light of the applicants specification, the claim feature of “wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with the unlicensed band” refers to the plurality of occasions each including respective component carriers sent along the unlicensed band, see applicants specification Para’s [0134], [0235], & [0247]). However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121).
Lin discloses wherein a plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers (see Para’s [0003], [0005] i.e., there is a method for performing PDCCH monitoring of component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation scheme that aggregates a first CC and a second CC, the method including: calculating a first monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the first CC…calculating a second monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the second CC…and generating a schedule for the monitoring occasion of the first CC and the monitoring occasion of the second CC, [0033] i.e., multiple monitoring occasions on multiple respective component carriers, [0034] i.e., Each time instance of PDCCH SS (e.g., each symbol in which a DCI may occur) is referred to as a monitoring occasion (MO), & [0044]).
(Lin suggests the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation (see Para [0034]) and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers, (see Para’s [0003], [0005-0006], [0014], [0022], & [0036])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the control resource set which are transmitted from the base station to the UE on the unlicensed band as disclosed in Wang to be associated with a plurality of component carriers such as the PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to a respective component carrier as disclosed in Lin which results in the plurality of component carriers being associated with the unlicensed band, because the motivation lies in Lin that the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used by the UE to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers.
While Wang discloses a control message such as MIB received by the UE includes a configuration of search space zero (i.e., CORESET) in order for the UE to monitor for the control resource set according to a plurality of monitoring occasions (see Para’s [0029-0032]), the combination of Wang in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the control message indicating the plurality of occasions for at least one control resource set. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Reial discloses a control message indicating a plurality of occasions for at least one control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038] i.e., A CORESET defines the time/frequency (T/F) size where a downlink (DL) control channel (e.g., PDCCH) is confined…In addition, the associated search space IE also configures the parameters including PDCCH monitoring occasions…to indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH & [0039] i.e., In addition, another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions).
Reial discloses a UE monitoring, based at least in part on the control message, at least one occasion of a plurality of occasions for the at least one control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions…PDCCH monitoring occasions indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH)
(Reial suggests the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the control message such as the MIB which includes search space configuration used for the UE to monitor the CORESET according to a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin to indicate the plurality of occasions for the control resource set by using the information according to the MIB message disclosed in Reial who discloses a MIB uses bits indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set, because the motivation lies in Reial that the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the control message further indicates, for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yan et al. US (2023/0247639).
Yan discloses wherein a control message further indicates, for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion (see Fig. 3 i.e., αoffset*T & Para’s, [0007] i.e., an offset (e.g., αoffset*T) from the beginning of each MPDCCH search space period, [0071-0072] i.e., The start subframe of the MPDCCH monitoring duration in each MPDCCH search space period can be indicated by another offset (e.g., αoffset*T) from the beginning of each MPDCCH search space period, [0073-0075] i.e., the parameters N and Δ (i.e., “offset”) may be configured by higher layer (i.e., “control message”) & [0093] i.e., In each MPDCCH search space period (T), αoffset*T is the second offset of the start of the MPDCCH monitoring duration from the start of each MPDCCH search space period (T))
(Yan suggests the offset indicates the beginning of the MPDCCH search space period for monitoring the PDCCH to obtain DCI in order for the UE to receive scheduling information (see Para’s [0056], [0072], [0075], & [0078])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the control message which indicates each occasion of the plurality of occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial to be configured to use for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion indicated by the control message as disclosed in Yan, because the motivation lies in Yan that the offset indicates the beginning of the MPDCCH search space period for monitoring the PDCCH to obtain DCI in order for the UE to receive scheduling information.
While Yan discloses the offset may be indicates as a quantity of subframes (see Para’s [0007-0008] i.e., MPDCCH search space period T is in units of subframe & [0071-0072] i.e., An offset can be configured to indicate the starting MPDCCH search space period. The offset may be configured as a multiple (Δ) of MPDCCH search space period (T), Δ)=0, 1, 2), the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the offset is a quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048).
Harada discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one subframe that may include one or a plurality of resource blocks (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0238-0239] i.e., One subframe may include one or a plurality of resource blocks)).
(Harada suggests the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station (see Para’s [0066], [0233], & [0238-0239])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is comprised of a quantity of slots or subframes as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Yan to be comprised of a quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Harada who discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one subframe that may include at least one resource block, because the motivation lies in Harada that the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, and further in view of Harada does not disclose wherein the offset is indicated as the quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Lee discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a subframe offset or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) (see Para [0152] i.e., In an example, a PDSCH may be scheduled with a scheduling offset by a PDCCH (and/or DCI)), such that the scheduling offset may be indicated or determined by the associated PDCCH (and/or DCI). For example, the scheduling offset may be any one or more of timing offset, slot offset, subframe offset…RB offset).
(Lee suggests the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by a WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information, (see Para [0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is a quantity of resource blocks as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, and further in view of Harada to be indicated as the quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Lee who discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a subframe offset or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) to a WTRU, because the motivation lies in Lee that the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by the WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured receive, based at least in part on the monitoring, another control message that schedules further transmissions from the network (Wang, see Para [0035] i.e., the UE may repeatedly detect DCI in the PDCCH monitoring occasions MO31 to MO34. When detecting DCI, UE 101 may receive DCI from BS 102. DCI may correspond to a SIB1 (i.e., “another control message”) and may include scheduling information of PDSCH corresponding to the SIB1. Then, BS 102 may transmit downlink data according to the scheduling information of PDSCH. Subsequently, UE 101 may receive downlink data via PDSCH according to the scheduling information of PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 21, but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the at least one control resource set includes a plurality of control resource sets, and wherein each control resource set of the plurality of control resource sets corresponds to a respective occasion of the plurality of occasions. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Lin discloses wherein the at least one control resource set includes a plurality of control resource sets (see Fig. 1 i.e., plurality of PDCCH Coresets in each PDCCH monitoring occasion & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., See, e.g., Fig. 1, which shows exemplary locations of PDCCH transmissions associated with a specified CORESET), and wherein each control resource set of the plurality of control resource sets corresponds to a respective occasion of the plurality of occasions (see Fig. 1 i.e., plurality of PDCCH Coresets in each PDCCH monitoring occasion & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., See, e.g., Fig. 1, which shows exemplary locations of PDCCH transmissions associated with a specified CORESET…PDCCH monitoring occasions)
(Reial suggests different CORESETs may be configured for transmitting different types of DL control information for meeting requirements of different 5G use cases and the PDCCH monitoring occasions are indicated to the UE using a control message such as MIB in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information, (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the at least one control resource set included in the plurality of occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to be configured to includes a plurality of control resource sets, and wherein each control resource set of the plurality of control resource sets corresponds to a respective occasion of the plurality of occasions as disclosed in the teachings of Reial, because the motivation lies in Reial that different CORESETs may be configured for transmitting different types of DL control information for meeting requirements of different 5G use cases and the PDCCH monitoring occasions are indicated to the UE using a control message such as MIB in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the control message further indicates a repetition pattern (Wang, see Para [0029] i.e., PDCCH repetition may be a repetition pattern), within the plurality of occasions, for the at least one control resource set, (Wang, see Para [0029] i.e., The MIB 102M may include a configuration of search space zero. The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., the base station 102 may transmit DCI in a first monitoring occasion MO31 and may repeatedly transmit DCI in a second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32. A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero, [0076], & [0080])
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 26 including wherein the control message indicates a PDCCH repetition pattern (see Para’s [0029-0030] & [0076]), but does not disclose wherein the control message includes a bitmap that indicates the repetition pattern. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Reial discloses wherein the control message includes a bitmap that indicates a repetition pattern of PDCCH monitoring occasions (see Fig. 1 & Para [0039] i.e., four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions)
(Reial suggests the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the PDCCH repetition pattern which includes a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the control resource set as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to be indicated using the bitmap which indicates a repetition pattern of PDCCH monitoring occasions as disclosed in Reial which results in a bitmap that indicates the repetition pattern, because the motivation lies in Reial the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
Regarding Claim 28, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to decode scheduling information, received from the network, based at least in part on the repetition pattern, (Wang, see Para’s [0029-0030] i.e., PDCCH repetition, [0031] i.e., UE 101 may detect DCI in the PDCCH monitoring occasions, & [0035])
Regarding Claim 30, Wang discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 9) for wireless communication at a network node (see Fig. 1 i.e., base station 102), comprising: one or more memories (see Para [0087]); and one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & Para [0089]) coupled to the one or more memories (see Para’s [0006], [0087], & [0089-0090]), the one or more processors (see Fig. 9 i.e., processor 95 & [0089]) configured to: transmit a control message that indicates a plurality of occasions (see Fig.’s 3A-3B i.e., monitoring occasions MO 31-34 & [0030-0035] i.e., PDCCH monitoring occasions 31-34) for at least one control resource set, (see Para’s [0029] i.e., a configuration of search space zero may be used for UE 101 to determine whether to enable PDCCH repetition for search space zero. In detail, referring to Fig. 2, BS 102 may broadcast a MIB 102M to UE 101…The MIB 102M (i.e., “control message”) may include a configuration of search space zero. The configuration of search space zero may be used to indicate whether a PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO 31 and the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 (i.e., “plurality of occasions”)…A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero)
Wherein the plurality of occasions for the control resource set are associated with an unlicensed band (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0027] i.e., the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums (i.e., suggests the PDCCH monitoring occasions will be communicated over an unlicensed band) & [0030-0032])
and transmit, based at least in part on the transmission of the control message (see Para’s [0029-0030] i.e., MIB), the at least one control resource set in at least one occasion of the plurality of occasions, (see Fig.’s 3A-3B & Para’s [0030] i.e., BS 102 may transmit DCI in the first MO31 and may repeatedly transmit DCI in the second MO32. A PDCCH monitoring occasion may correspond to a CORESET that is associated with search space zero & [0031-0032] i.e., Accordingly, UE 101 may detect DCI in the first PDCCH monitoring occasion MO31 within the first slot S31, and may repeatedly detect DCI in the second PDCCH monitoring occasion MO32 within the first slot S31)
While Wang discloses the plurality of occasions may be associated with an unlicensed band (see Para’s [0027] i.e., whereas in other embodiments, the BS 102 may communicate over unlicensed spectrums & [0029-0030]), Wang does not disclose the claim features of wherein the plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers, and wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with an unlicensed band (In light of the applicants specification, the claim feature of “wherein the plurality of component carriers are associated with the unlicensed band” refers to the plurality of occasions each including respective component carriers sent along the unlicensed band, see applicants specification Para’s [0134], [0235], & [0247]). However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121).
Lin discloses wherein a plurality of occasions are associated with a plurality of component carriers (see Para’s [0003], [0005] i.e., there is a method for performing PDCCH monitoring of component carriers (CCs) in a carrier aggregation scheme that aggregates a first CC and a second CC, the method including: calculating a first monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the first CC…calculating a second monitoring occasion start time for a monitoring occasion of the second CC…and generating a schedule for the monitoring occasion of the first CC and the monitoring occasion of the second CC, [0033] i.e., multiple monitoring occasions on multiple respective component carriers, [0034] i.e., Each time instance of PDCCH SS (e.g., each symbol in which a DCI may occur) is referred to as a monitoring occasion (MO), & [0044]).
(Lin suggests the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation (see Para [0034]) and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers, (see Para’s [0003], [0005-0006], [0014], [0022], & [0036])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions for the control resource set which are transmitted from the base station to the UE on the unlicensed band as disclosed in Wang to be associated with a plurality of component carriers such as the PDCCH monitoring occasions corresponding to a respective component carrier as disclosed in Lin which results in the plurality of component carriers being associated with the unlicensed band, because the motivation lies in Lin that the monitoring occasions on the respective component carriers are used by the UE to properly receive DCI which includes control information necessary for the UE’s downlink operation and for indicating DCI decoding success using bits in a certain order based on the start time of the respective monitoring occasions in order for the network to correctly interpret the bits of the DCI reception corresponding to the respective component carriers.
While Wang discloses a control message such as MIB transmitted to the UE includes a configuration of search space zero (i.e., CORESET) in order for the UE to monitor for the control resource set according to a plurality of monitoring occasions (see Para’s [0029-0032]), the combination of Wang in view of Lin does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of the control message indicating the plurality of occasions for the at least one control resource set. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683).
Reial discloses a control message indicating a plurality of occasions for at least one control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038] i.e., A CORESET defines the time/frequency (T/F) size where a downlink (DL) control channel (e.g., PDCCH) is confined…In addition, the associated search space IE also configures the parameters including PDCCH monitoring occasions…to indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH & [0039] i.e., In addition, another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions).
Reial discloses the UE monitoring, based at least in part on the control message, at least one occasion of a plurality of occasions for a control resource set (see Fig. 1 & Para’s [0038-0039] i.e., another four bits in the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions…PDCCH monitoring occasions indicate to the UE how and where to search for the PDCCH)
(Reial suggests the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information (see Para’s [0038-0039])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the control message such as the MIB which includes search space configuration used for the UE to monitor the CORESET according to a plurality of monitoring occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin to indicate the plurality of occasions for the control resource set by using the information according to the MIB message disclosed in Reial who discloses a MIB uses bits indicating a plurality of occasions for a control resource set, because the motivation lies in Reial that the MIB is used for indicating the PDCCH monitoring occasions to the UE in order to indicate to the UE where it should search for the PDCCH for receiving scheduling information.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the control message further indicates, for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yan et al. US (2023/0247639).
Yan discloses wherein a control message further indicates, for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion (see Fig. 3 i.e., αoffset*T & Para’s, [0007] i.e., an offset (e.g., αoffset*T) from the beginning of each MPDCCH search space period, [0071-0072] i.e., The start subframe of the MPDCCH monitoring duration in each MPDCCH search space period can be indicated by another offset (e.g., αoffset*T) from the beginning of each MPDCCH search space period, [0073-0075] i.e., the parameters N and Δ (i.e., “offset”) may be configured by higher layer (i.e., “control message”) & [0093] i.e., In each MPDCCH search space period (T), αoffset*T is the second offset of the start of the MPDCCH monitoring duration from the start of each MPDCCH search space period (T))
(Yan suggests the offset indicates the beginning of the MPDCCH search space period for monitoring the PDCCH to obtain DCI in order for the UE to receive scheduling information (see Para’s [0056], [0072], [0075], & [0078])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the control message which indicates each occasion of the plurality of occasions as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, and further in view of Reial to be configured to use for each occasion of the plurality of occasions, an offset based at least in part on a beginning of a search space within the occasion indicated by the control message as disclosed in Yan, because the motivation lies in Yan that the offset indicates the beginning of the MPDCCH search space period for monitoring the PDCCH to obtain DCI in order for the UE to receive scheduling information.
While Yan discloses the offset may be indicates as a quantity of subframes (see Para’s [0007-0008] i.e., MPDCCH search space period T is in units of subframe & [0071-0072] i.e., An offset can be configured to indicate the starting MPDCCH search space period. The offset may be configured as a multiple (Δ) of MPDCCH search space period (T), Δ=0, 1, 2), the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the offset is a quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048).
Harada discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one subframe that may include one or a plurality of resource blocks (see Fig. 3 & Para’s [0238-0239] i.e., One subframe may include one or a plurality of resource blocks)).
(Harada suggests the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station (see Para’s [0066], [0233], & [0238-0239])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is comprised of a quantity of slots or subframes as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Yan to be comprised of a quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Harada who discloses the resource block (RB), in the time domain may have a duration equivalent to one subframe that may include at least one resource block, because the motivation lies in Harada that the resource block is a resource allocation unit in the time domain which may be allocated to the UE for performing communications between the UE and the base station.
The combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, and further in view of Harada does not disclose wherein the offset is indicated as the quantity of resource blocks. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
Lee discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a subframe offset or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) (see Para [0152] i.e., In an example, a PDSCH may be scheduled with a scheduling offset by a PDCCH (and/or DCI)), such that the scheduling offset may be indicated or determined by the associated PDCCH (and/or DCI). For example, the scheduling offset may be any one or more of timing offset, slot offset, subframe offset…RB offset).
(Lee suggests the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by a WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information, (see Para [0152])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the offset which is a quantity of resource blocks as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, and further in view of Harada to be indicated as the quantity of resource blocks based on the teachings of Lee who discloses wherein an offset may be indicated as either a subframe offset or a resource block (RB offset) (i.e., quantity of resource blocks) to a WTRU, because the motivation lies in Lee that the offset which is indicated as a quantity of resource blocks (i.e., RB offset) is used by the WTRU to determine the offset time in order to determine when a signal can be properly received by the WTRU based on the received offset information.
Regarding Claim 31, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, and further in view of Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, based at least in part on the transmission of the at least one control resource set, another control message that schedules further transmissions from the network node, (Wang, see Para [0035] i.e., the UE may repeatedly detect DCI in the PDCCH monitoring occasions MO31 to MO34. When detecting DCI, UE 101 may receive DCI from BS 102. DCI may correspond to a SIB1 (i.e., “another control message”) and may include scheduling information of PDSCH corresponding to the SIB1. Then, BS 102 may transmit downlink data according to the scheduling information of PDSCH. Subsequently, UE 101 may receive downlink data via PDSCH according to the scheduling information of PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 34, the claim is directed towards an apparatus that performs the same claim features as claim 25. Therefore claim 34 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee as in claim 25.
Regarding Claim 35, the claim is directed towards an apparatus that performs the same claim features as claim 26. Therefore claim 35 is rejected as obvious over the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee as in claim 26.
Regarding Claim 37, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 35, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit scheduling information (Wang, see Para [0030] i.e., BS 102 may transmit DCI in a first MO 31 & [0035]), wherein the scheduling information is repeated based at least in part on the repetition pattern, (Wang, see Para’s [0029] i.e., configuration indicates to the UE that PDCCH repetition is enabled for search space zero & [0030] i.e., BS 102 may transmit DCI in a first MO 31, and may repeatedly transmit DCI in a second MO32 which is based on the configuration information (i.e., includes repetition pattern indication) & [0080])
4. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, and further in view of Noh et al. US (2022/0150979).
Regarding Claim 3 the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Harada, further in view of Jung, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claims 1 but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the unlicensed band includes at least one of a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, or a combination thereof. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Noh et al. US (2022/0150979).
Noh discloses wherein an unlicensed band includes at least one of a 5 GHz band for communication between a UE and a base station (see Fig. 18 & Para [0186] i.e., For example, the unlicensed band may be a 5GHz band)
(Noh suggests the unlicensed band may be an NR-unlicensed band in which a new radio (NR) system enhances spectral efficiency of a network and achieves higher throughput and a lower latency for data and voice services, (see Para’s [0004] & [0131]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the unlicensed band used for communication between the UE and the base station as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to include the 5 GHz unlicensed band used for communication between a UE and a base station as disclosed in Noh because the motivation lies in Noh that the unlicensed band may be an NR-unlicensed band in which a new radio (NR) system enhances spectral efficiency of a network and achieves higher throughput and a lower latency for data and voice services.
5. Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Takano US (2014/0119349).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, the combination Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 11 but does not disclose wherein each occasion of the plurality of occasions has a width of no more than 80 MHz. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takano US (2014/0119349).
Takano discloses wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion is configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz (see Fig.’s 12-13 & Para [0187] i.e., when Macro eNodeB selects 20 MHz bandwidth (i.e., no more than 80 MHz), common search space can be used…that is, the position of common search space of PDCCH of Macro eNodeB is restricted according to the bandwidth & [0190] i.e., With this method, Macro eNodeB can use the common search space in a bandwidth equal to or lower than 15 MHz (i.e., no more than 80 MHz) as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH).
(Takano suggests the common search space can be equal to or lower than 15 MHz as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH which results in reduced network overhead and for restricting and controlling interference to the broadcast channel (BCH) of Pico eNodeB (See Para’s [0177-0178] & [0190])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for each occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to each be configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz based on the teachings of Takano who discloses wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion is configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz, because the motivation lies in Takano that the common search space can be equal to or lower than 15 MHz as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH which results in reduced network overhead and for restricting and controlling interference to the broadcast channel (BCH) of Pico eNodeB.
6. Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0295558).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose wherein the UE receives the control resource set in a bandwidth that is larger than 80 MHz. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2022/0295558).
Lei discloses wherein a network node transmits or a UE receives a control resource set in a bandwidth that is larger than 80 MHz (see Para [0108] i.e., Multiple CORESETs may be configured by a gNB to a UE for PDCCH transmission…For example, each CORESET may be configured with a frequency bandwidth of 20, 40, 60, 80, or 100 MHz (i.e., 100 MHz is a bandwidth larger than 80 MHz) according to the bandwidth of the BWP).
(Lei suggests the bandwidth of each CORESET is configured according to the bandwidth of the BWP for satisfying the bandwidth of the downlink (DL) BWP (see Para’s [0097] & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the control resource set received by the UE as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to be received in a bandwidth that is larger than 80 MHz as disclosed in the teachings of Lei who discloses wherein a UE receives a control resource set in a bandwidth that is larger than 80 MHz, because the motivation lies in Lei that the bandwidth of each CORESET is configured according to the bandwidth of the BWP for satisfying the bandwidth of the downlink (DL) BWP.
7. Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), and further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US (2018/0324843).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 11 including the plurality of monitoring occasions transmitted along the unlicensed band (Wang, see Para’s [0027] & [0029-0032]), but does not disclose the claim features of wherein the plurality of occasions are separated along the unlicensed band, and wherein the broadcast message further indicates one or more gaps separating the plurality of occasions along the unlicensed band. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lee et al. US (2018/0324843).
Lee discloses wherein a plurality of occasions are separated, (see Para [0326] i.e., the number of CORESETs or search spaces being consecutively transmitted or the information indicating the interval (i.e., “gap”) between consecutive CORESETS or search spaces)
and wherein the broadcast message further indicates one or more gaps separating the plurality of occasions (see Para [0326] i.e., The MIB (i.e., “broadcast message”) may include time domain mapping information (time position information) of CORESETs or search spaces in the CORESETs…and time domain position information may mean….the information indicating the interval (i.e., “gap”) between consecutive CORESETs or search spaces).
(Lee suggests the time domain position information using MIB is indicated to the UE for acquiring time-frequency resource position information of the CORESETs for receiving control information scheduling PDSCH in order to properly receive the downlink traffic, (see Para’s [0054-0055], [0316-0317], & [0326])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the plurality of monitoring occasions transmitted to the UE along the unlicensed band according to a broadcast message such as MIB as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to be configured to include one or more gaps separating the plurality of occasions indicated by a broadcast message such as MIB as disclosed in the teachings of Lee, because the motivation lies in Lee that the time domain position information using MIB is indicated to the UE for acquiring time-frequency resource position information of the CORESETs for receiving control information scheduling PDSCH in order to properly receive the downlink traffic
8. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), and further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Liu et al. US (2020/0205186).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatuses of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose wherein the broadcast message further indicates a number of symbols in the control resource set, and wherein the number of symbols is no more than two. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Liu et al. US (2020/0205186).
Liu discloses wherein the broadcast message further indicates a number of symbols in the control resource set (see Para [0076] i.e., the terminal parses the MIB to acquire the configuration information of a CORESET…the terminal learns that a time-frequency resource position of the CORESET of the RMSI#1 is located at the first 2 to 3 symbols of the same slot as that for SS block #1), and wherein the number of symbols is no more than two (see Fig. 2 & Para [0011] i.e., As shown in Fig. 2, it is assumed that the CORESET indicated in the MIB is fixed at the first 2 (i.e., the number of symbols may be “2 symbols”) to 3 symbols of a slow where the SS block is located, that is, there is a PDCCH used to schedule the RMSI in the CORESET that is in the same slot as the SS block).
(Liu suggests the UE receives the MIB is order to acquire the configuration information of the CORESET in order to learn the time-frequency position of the CORESET for receiving PDCCH used to schedule RMSI in order to properly receive the RMSI which is system information necessary for initial access, (see Para’s [0010-0011] & [0075-0076])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message such as the MIB used by the UE monitoring the control resource set as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to indicate a number of symbols in the control resource set, and wherein the number of symbols is no more than two according to the information in the broadcast message such as the MIB sent to the UE as disclosed in Liu because the motivation lies in Liu that the UE receives the MIB is order to acquire the configuration information of the CORESET in order to learn the time-frequency position of the CORESET for receiving PDCCH used to schedule RMSI in order to properly receive the RMSI which is system information necessary for initial access.
9. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Yan et al. US (2023/0247639), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690).
as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Noh et al. US (2022/0150979).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claims 21 but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the unlicensed band includes at least one of a 5 GHz band, a 6 GHz band, or a combination thereof. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Noh et al. US (2022/0150979).
Noh discloses wherein an unlicensed band includes at least one of a 5 GHz band for communication between a UE and a base station (see Fig. 18 & Para [0186] i.e., For example, the unlicensed band may be a 5GHz band)
(Noh suggests the unlicensed band may be an NR-unlicensed band in which a new radio (NR) system enhances spectral efficiency of a network and achieves higher throughput and a lower latency for data and voice services, (see Para’s [0004] & [0131]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the unlicensed band used for communication between the UE and the base station as disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to include the 5 GHz unlicensed band used for communication between a UE and a base station as disclosed in Noh, because the motivation lies in Noh that the unlicensed band may be an NR-unlicensed band in which a new radio (NR) system enhances spectral efficiency of a network and achieves higher throughput and a lower latency for data and voice services.
10. Claims 24 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Yan et al. US (2023/0247639), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above, and further in view of Takano US (2014/0119349).
Regarding Claims 24 and 33 the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatuses of claims 21 and 30 but does not disclose wherein each occasion of the plurality of occasions has a width of no more than 80 MHz. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Takano US (2014/0119349).
Takano discloses wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion is configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz (see Fig.’s 12-13 & Para [0187] i.e., when Macro eNodeB selects 20 MHz bandwidth (i.e., no more than 80 MHz), common search space can be used…that is, the position of common search space of PDCCH of Macro eNodeB is restricted according to the bandwidth & [0190] i.e., With this method, Macro eNodeB can use the common search space in a bandwidth equal to or lower than 15 MHz (i.e., no more than 80 MHz) as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH).
(Takano suggests the common search space can be equal to or lower than 15 MHz as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH which results in reduced network overhead and for restricting and controlling interference to the broadcast channel (BCH) of Pico eNodeB (See Para’s [0177-0178] & [0190])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for each occasion of the plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Yan, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to each be configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz based on the teachings of Takano who discloses wherein a PDCCH monitoring occasion is configured to have a width of no more than 80 MHz, because the motivation lies in Takano that the common search space can be equal to or lower than 15 MHz as using first to third OFDM symbols as PDCCH which results in reduced network overhead and for restricting and controlling interference to the broadcast channel (BCH) of Pico eNodeB.
11. Claims 156-159 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US (2023/0232416) in view of Lin et al. US (2021/0022121), further in view of Reial et al. US (2021/0185683), further in view of Jung et al. US (2020/0053670), further in view of Harada et al. US (2023/0171048), and further in view of Lee et al. US (2020/0404690) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Si et al. US (2019/0191457).
Regarding Claims 156 and 158, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 11, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the broadcast message includes an index corresponding to a multiplexing pattern, a frequency pattern, and the offset. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Si et al. US (2019/0191457).
Si discloses wherein a broadcast message includes an index corresponding to a multiplexing pattern, a frequency pattern, and the offset (see Para [0374] i.e., Table 1 i.e., configuration index indicates multiplexing pattern, CORESET BW in RB (i.e., “frequency pattern”) (i.e., since In light of the applicants specification in Table 1 & Para [0220], the frequency pattern represents the number of RBs for CORESET), and offset in RB (i.e., “offset”) & Para [0378] i.e., the time-domain configuration of common search spaces in the CORESET is indicated using 4 bits in PBCH content (i.e., “broadcast message”))
(Si suggests the configuration index which corresponds to the information (i.e., in table 1) is used for indicating the CORESET configuration information in order for the UE to locate the CORESET and perform initial cell selection (see Para’s [0010], [0120], [0364] & [0378]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to include the index corresponding to a multiplexing pattern, a frequency pattern, and the offset as disclosed in Si, because the motivation lies in Si that the configuration index which corresponds to the information is used for indicating the CORESET configuration information in order for the UE to locate the CORESET and perform initial cell selection.
Regarding Claim 157 and 159, the combination of Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee discloses the apparatus of claims 156 and 158, but does not disclose wherein the index comprises a bitmap. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Si et al. US (2019/0191457).
Si discloses wherein the index comprises a bitmap (see Para [0374] i.e., Table 1 i.e., configuration index & Para [0378] i.e., the time-domain configuration of common search spaces in the CORESET is indicated using 4 bits (i.e., “bitmap”) in PBCH content (i.e., “broadcast message”))
(Si suggests the configuration index which corresponds to the information (i.e., in table 1) is used for indicating the CORESET configuration information in order for the UE to locate the CORESET and perform initial cell selection (see Para’s [0010], [0120], [0364] & [0378]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the broadcast message disclosed in Wang in view of Lin, further in view of Reial, further in view of Jung, further in view of Harada, and further in view of Lee to include the index comprising a bitmap to indicate the multiplexing pattern, the frequency pattern, and the offset as disclosed in Si, because the motivation lies in Si that the configuration index which corresponds to the information is used for indicating the CORESET configuration information in order for the UE to locate the CORESET and perform initial cell selection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461