DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPUB 2017/0166384 A1 to Walsh et al. (“Walsh”) in view of U.S. PGPUB 2011/0189355 A1 to Field et al. (“Field”) further in view of U.S. PGPUB 2018/0370678 A1 to Ribu et al. (“Ribu”).
As to claim 1, Walsh teaches a container for liquid containing food products, manufactured by press forming of a polymer coated fiber based substrate, said container comprising: a bottom portion (bottom 11), a sidewall portion (sidewall portion 12), and a top flange portion (flange 114), wherein said press forming forms a plurality of creases (score lines 55) extending in a direction from the bottom portion to the top flange portion and further across the top flange portion (Walsh Fig. 3 shows the score lines extending from the bottom 11 to the flange 114), and wherein the container comprises an indentation pattern (corner perforations 96) formed at a creased inner surface of said sidewall portion (Walsh, pg. 3, ¶ 0029), at a creased top surface of said top flange portion, or at both, and said indentation pattern preventing migration of liquid from a liquid containing food product in the container along said creases (Walsh, pg. 3, ¶ 0030), wherein said indentation pattern comprises one or more indentations on the creased inner surface (Walsh Fig. 3 shows the perforations 96 on the corners of the container); but does not teach wherein a distance between two adjacent indentations is in a range of 1-5 mm, and, wherein said indentations have a width in the range of 0.1-1 mm.
Field teaches wherein a distance between two adjacent indentations is in a range of 1-5 mm (Field, pg. 2-3, ¶ 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the spacing of Field with the container as taught by Walsh to provide a container with improved rigidity and resistance to deformation duet to its particular geometry (Field, pg. 1, ¶ 0002).
Ribu teaches wherein said indentations have a width in the range of 0.1-1 mm (Ribu, pg. 3, ¶ 0046; Ribu teaches the ridges 32 are spaced apart such that a median distance between adjacent ridges 32 is between 2-500 micrometers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the width of Ribu with the container as taught by Walsh to provide a surface to allow fat to settle down in the valleys (Ribu, abstract).
As to claim 4, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein said indentations have a depth in the range of 0.05-1 mm (Ribu, pg. 3, § 0046; Ribu teaches the ridges 31 have a height such that a distance between a top plane PT and a bottom plane PB is between 2-500 micrometers).
As to claim 6, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein at least one of said indentations is positioned at a topmost half of the sidewall portion (Walsh Fig. 3 shows the perforations 96 on the topmost half of the sidewall portion 12).
As to claim 7, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein at least one of said indentations is positioned at a top surface of the top flange portion (Walsh Fig. 3 shows the perforations 96 at a top surface of the flange 114).
As to claim 8, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein said indentation pattern comprises a pattern of discrete indentations having a length of less than 10 mm (Ribu, pg. 3, ¶ 0046).
As to claim 9, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein said indentation pattern comprises an indentation in the form of a groove traversing said creases (Walsh, pg. 3, ¶ 0029).
As to claim 10, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 9, wherein said indentation pattern comprises at least two parallel grooves (Walsh Fig. 6 shows the perforations 96 comprise at least two parallel grooves).
As to claim 11, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 9, wherein said the groove extends entirely around the sidewall portion of the container (Walsh Fig. 3 shows the perforations 96 and the perforations 35 extend entirely around the sidewall portion 12).
As to claim 12, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 9, wherein the groove extends entirely around the top flange portion (Ribu, pg. 3, ¶ 0046).
As to claim 13, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1 wherein said indentation pattern is formed during or after press forming of the polymer coated fiber based substrate (Ribu, pg. 4, ¶ 0052).
As to claim 14, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein a polymer coating of the polymer coated fiber based substrate comprises one or more of: polyethylene (Walsh, pg. 2, ¶ 0025) (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene (PP) and polylactic acid (PLA).
As to claim 15, Walsh modified by Field and Ribu teaches the container according to claim 1, wherein barrier and sealing properties of the polymer coating is intact after forming of the indentation pattern (Walsh, pg. 2, ¶ 0025). The barrier is intact after forming the perforations 96 but is not inside of the perforations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 19 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the sizes of the indentations in Ribu are critical to achieving its purpose and changing the sizes outside of the specified ranges would frustrate this purpose and render Ribu unsatisfactory from its intended purpose. However, in the rejection above the Examiner uses Ribu as a secondary reference and only uses the Ribu reference to teach indentations have a width in the range of 0.002-0.5 mm. The applicant argues that the Ribu reference would not teach a spacing that twice as large however the claim requires that the size be in the range of 0.1-1mm.
In response to applicant's argument that the Ribu reference would not teach the range of the width, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
/M.L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 31 March 2026