DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed December 22, 2025 wherein claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishida et al (JP 2013155278).
With regards to claim 1, Nishida teaches a composition containing polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) resin at a concentration of 50 to 95 parts by mass (0012), a filler material that is inorganic (0043) and is present in the amount of 0 to 120 parts per 100 parts of the PBT resin (0048), and a dye (0008) at a concentration of 0.001 to 0.2 parts. Nishida teaches the dye to include Nigrosine (0008), however, Nishida teaches compositions in the examples that include no Nigrosine (0118) example 6.
With regards to claim 2, Nishida teaches the PBT to include a polycarbonate (0023).
With regards to claim 3, Nishida teaches the addition of a polyfunctional compound (0008) reading on a reactive compound.
With regards to claim 4, Nishida teaches the addition of an epoxy compound (0007).
With regards to claim 5, Nishida teaches the dye to include a black dye (0008).
With regards to claim 6, Nishida is silent on the deflection temperature. The deflection temperature is the temperature at which a material begins to deform under a specific applied load and heat. The deflection temperature is dependent on the material’s base resin, fillers, and any additives. Because Nishida teaches the composition to have the claimed components in the claimed amounts, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the deflection temperature are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 7, Nishida is silent on the color difference. Because Nishida teaches the composition to have the claimed components in the claimed amounts, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the color change are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 8, Nishida teaches the filler to include a glass fiber (claim 6).
With regards to claim 9, Nishida teaches the composition to include a dye that is a transmission absorbent (0004).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka et al (US 2019/0016883).
With regards to claim 1, Yamanaka teaches a resin composition that contains a thermoplastic polyester resin that contains polybutylene terephthalate and a polycarbonate (abstract) as well as nigrosine (abstract) which is a black dye (0046-0047), and an inorganic filler (0137). Yamanaka teaches the amount of nigrosine to be from 0.0005 to 0.05 parts (0048), the amount of dye to be 0.386 parts, and the amount of filler to be 5 to 15 parts by mass (0142).
Yamanaka is silent on the glass transition temperature of either the polybutylene terephthalate or polycarbonate. However, polybutylene terephthalate has a known glass transition temperature of 55-65°C and polycarbonate has a known glass transition temperature of 147°C reading on the glass transition temperature of the polycarbonate being 82 to 92°C higher than the glass transition temperature of the polybutylene terephthalate.
Yamanaka teaches the concentration of the nigrosine to be from 5 to 5000 ppm (0020) which overlaps with the claimed concentration at the end point. Therefore, absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
With regards to claim 2, Yamanaka teaches the copolymer to include polycarbonate (abstract).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Yamanaka teaches the addition of additives that includes epoxy compounds (0136).
With regards to claim 5, Yamanaka teaches the addition of nigrosine (abstract) which is a black dye (0046-0047).
With regards to claim 6, Yamanaka is silent on the deflection temperature. The deflection temperature is the temperature at which a material begins to deform under a specific applied load and heat. The deflection temperature is dependent on the material’s base resin, fillers, and any additives. Because Yamanaka teaches the composition to have the claimed components in the claimed amounts, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the deflection temperature are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claim 7, Yamanaka teaches the change in color to be 6.0 or less (0200).
With regards to claim 8, Yamanaka teaches the addition of a glass fiber (0003).
With regards to claim 9, Yamanaka teaches the addition of nigrosine (0047) that makes the composition transmissive (0050).
With regards to claims 10 and 20, Yamanaka teaches the transmittance of the composition at a wavelength of 940 nm at a thickness of 1 mm-thick position (0234) to be at a value of 21-26% (examples C1-4).
With regards to claims 11 and 19, Yamanaka teaches the composition to include laser welding (abstract) but does not teach the use for Galvano-scanning laser welding. However, when the composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or function are presumed inherent. MPEP 2112.01. Because the prior art exemplifies Applicant’s claimed composition in that the claimed components in the claimed amounts are used, the claimed physical properties relating to the suitability for use for Galvano-scanning laser welding are inherently present in the prior art. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
With regards to claims 12 and 14, Yamanaka teaches the composition to contain an additional resin and colorant (abstract and table 6).
With regards to claim 13, Yamanaka teaches the composition to be used to form a molded article (0001).
With regards to claims 15-17, Yamanaka teaches the use of the molded article to be used for cases for automotive electronic components and housings for motor components (0003).
With regards to claim 18, Yamanaka teaches the composition to undergo laser-welding (0344).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 and 6, filed December 22, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-21 under 35 USC 102 under Yamanaka have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC 103.
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument - Applicant argues that the composition does not have Nigrosine because of weatherability.
Response - However, “[i]t is well settled that unexpected results must be established by factual evidence. Mere argument or conclusory statements in the specification does not suffice.”. In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed.Cir.1984). Therefore, absent a showing of criticality/unexpected results, these arguments are not sufficient to overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763