DETAILED ACTION
2. The election filed on 01/29/2026 in response to the Office Action of 07/30/2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Applicant has elected Group I, claims 1-14, drawn to a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies, wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of
a) a nucleotide sequence encoding an anti-Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) synthetic antibody; and
b) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment of an anti-HBsAg synthetic
antibody.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse. See MPEP 818.03(a).
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claims 15-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/29/2026.
Claims 1-14 are currently under prosecution.
Priority
5. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e) and/or 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
8. Claims 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 5-6 and 9-10 are indefinite because the claims recite “about”.
M.P.E.P. § 2173.05(b) III. A. states:
In determining the range encompassed by the term "about", one must consider the context of the term as it is used in the specification and claims of the application. Ortho-McNeil Pharm., Inc. v. Caraco Pharm. Labs., Ltd., 476 F.3d 1321, 1326, 81 USPQ2d 1427, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 2007). InW.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), the court held that a limitation defining the stretch rate of a plastic as "exceeding about 10% per second" is definite because infringement could clearly be assessed through the use of a stopwatch. However, in another case, the court held that claims reciting "at least about" were invalid for indefiniteness where there was close prior art and there was nothing in the specification, prosecution history, or the prior art to provide any indication as to what range of specific activity is covered by the term "about." Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
In this case, there is nothing in the specification to provide any indication as to what range of specific activity is covered by the term "about."
11. Claims 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a “written description” rejection.
The considerations that are made in determining whether a claimed invention is supported by an adequate written description are outlined by the published Guidelines for Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, ``Written Description'' Requirement (Federal Register; Vol. 66, No. 4, January 5, 2001; The 2015 Written Description Workshop materials; hereinafter “Guidelines”).
These guidelines state that rejection of a claim for lack of written description, where the claim recites the language of an original claim should be rare. Nevertheless, these guidelines further state, “the issue of a lack of written description may arise even for an original claim when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant has possession of the claimed invention” (Id. at 1105). The “Guidelines” continue:
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art. This problem may arise where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process.
With further regard to the proposition that, as original claims, the claims themselves provide in haec verba support sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement, the Federal Circuit has explained that in ipsis verbis support for the claims in the specification does not per se establish compliance with the written description requirement:
Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. The disclosure must allow one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also: University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 69 USPQ2d 1886 1892 (CA FC 2004).
Thus, an original claim may provide written description for itself, but it must still be an adequate written description, which establishes that the inventor was in possession of the invention.
Claims 3-10 are drawn to a nucleotide sequence encodes an anti-HBsAg antibody comprising a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2.
Thus, the claims are drawn to a genus of antibodies comprise a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2.
The specification teaches SEQ ID NOs: 1-2; see Example 2. The specification does not teach that an antibody comprises a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2 would have or retain the activity or function of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2.
Given the fact that the claims are drawn to a genus of antibodies comprise a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2, which have no particular function or activity, there is no correlation between any one particularly identifying structural feature and any one particularly identifying functional feature. Consequently, it is submitted that the skilled artisan could not immediately envision, recognize or distinguish at least a substantial number of the genus of antibodies comprise a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2 to which the claims are directed.
Although the specification teaches SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2, SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2 is not reasonably representative of the genus of antibodies comprise a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2. This is largely because each sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2 has substantially varying structure and need not have any particular function or activity.
Guidelines states, “[p]ossession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was ‘ready for patenting’ such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention” (Id. at 1104). “Guidelines” further states, “[f]or inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus” (Id. at 1106); accordingly, it follows that an adequate written description of a genus cannot be achieved in the absence of a disclosure of at least one species within the genus. Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of antibodies comprise a sequence having at least 60%, 80% or 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 2, which vary both structurally and functionally, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In this instance, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; Applicant has not shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; and Applicant has not described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Thus, it is submitted that the instant claims, and the disclosure describing the claimed subject matter, fails to satisfy the written description requirement set forth under 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-2 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weiner et al. (US 20190091322, published on 03/28/2029) (of record).
Claims 1-2 and 11-14 are herein drawn to a nucleic acid molecule encoding one or more synthetic antibodies, wherein the nucleic acid molecule comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of
a) a nucleotide sequence encoding an anti-Hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) synthetic antibody; and
b) a nucleotide sequence encoding a fragment of an anti-HBsAg synthetic
antibody.
Weiner et al. teach a nucleic acid sequence encoding an antibody, wherein the antibody binds to Hepatitis B antigen; see entire document, e.g., claims 1, 15-18, [0272], [0287], [0292-0293].
For claim 2, Weiner et al. teach the nucleic acid sequence encoding a protease cleavage site; see [0016-0017].
For claim 11, Weiner et al. teach that the nucleic acid sequence includes a leader sequence; see [0170], [0173].
For claim 12, Weiner et al. teach that the nucleic acid sequence comprises an expression vector; see [0040].
For claims 13-14, Weiner et al. teach a composition comprising the nucleic acid sequence and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient; see [0041].
Conclusion
15. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642