DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7, 11-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferri, Great Britain Patent Application No. 2206055, in view of Butler, U.S. Patent No. 2,735,206, and Petrick et al., U.S. Patent No. 5,272,828, and in further view of Wilson, U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0202750. As to Claim 1, Ferri teaches a toy projectile launcher comprising a launch barrel (20), a handle (5), and an internal projectile storage area (22), paragraphs 7 and 8. Ferri teaches an air piston assembly comprising a barrel (16, 18) and a plunger element (26, 28), paragraph 8. A sliding handle (16A) may be coupled to the barrel and movable between forward and backward positions thereby moving the barrel between forward and backward positions, with a spring biasing the plunger element toward a forward portion of the projectile launcher, paragraph 8. A latching assembly (36) may couple the plunger element to a trigger assembly (7, 42, 46), when the sliding handle is moved to the backward position and the barrel is moved to the corresponding backward position a projectile from the internal projectile storage area may be held by barrel portion (18) in an aligned priming position in front of the barrel portion, when the barrel is moved to the corresponding backward position, paragraph 8, noting that projectiles in the internal storage area are urged upward against barrel portion (18), which may be drawn back and a projectile is pushed up to alignment and priming position in front of barrel portion. Ferri teaches that the sliding handle may be moved from the backward position to a forward position with the latching assembly coupling the plunger element to the trigger assembly, the barrel being moved to a corresponding forward position forming an internal chamber with the plunger element, the chamber being filled with air drawn from a nozzle of the barrel, paragraph 8 and see Figure 1. Ferri does not specify that air filling the internal air chamber passes through a front nozzle but Ferri teaches that air expelled from the chamber passes outward through a front nozzle, paragraph 8, suggesting that the nozzle is a front nozzle for filling air. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified, with a front nozzle, as suggested. The barrel may push the projectile into a firing position, paragraph 8. The barrel may cover at least a portion of a top opening of the projectile storage area (barrel covers a top portion of the projectile storage area) when in the corresponding forward position forming an airtight seal between the launch barrel and the barrel, paragraph 8, and see Figure 1, noting that air is compressed when the piston is released. The trigger assembly, upon toggling, may release the coupling of the latching assembly between the plunger element and the trigger assembly, paragraph 8. Ferri teaches that the top opening of the internal projectile storage area may be proximate the barrel when the barrel is covering the top opening, see Figure 1, but Ferri does not disclose a pair of resilient flaps at the top opening. Butler teaches that an internal projectile storage area (22) may comprise a pair of resilient flaps (23, 24, 31, 32) inwardly biased and disposed on respective first and second sides at a top opening of the internal projectile storage area, Col. 2, ln. 32-33 and Col. 3, ln. 16-26. Butler teaches that an uppermost projectile may be urged forward from between the flaps, by a bolt, in the same manner as a barrel may urge an uppermost projectile from between flaps, leaving the pair of flaps in contact with respective first and second sides of the bolt, Col. 3, ln. 74 – Col. 4, ln. 27 and see Figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri with a pair of inwardly biased resilient flaps on respective first and second sides of a top opening of an internal projectile storage area, to hold a projectile in an aligned priming position, as taught by Butler, to provide Ferri with opposed resilient members to retain an uppermost projectile in aligned priming position to be advanced by a barrel and to contact first and second sides on the barrel, to hold the barrel, when the barrel covers the opening, to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of transferring projectiles from a storage area to a launch barrel. Ferri, as modified, does not provide that the internal projectile storage area may be in the handle. Petrick teaches that an internal projectile storage area of a projectile launcher (firearm) may be in the handle, see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified, with a handle comprising an internal projectile storage area, as taught by Petrick, to provide Ferri, as modified, with a known substitute location for the projectile storage area. Ferri, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for configuring the resilient flaps to apply a downward force on a projectile aligned in priming position. Wilson teaches an internal projectile storage area (20) configured to place a topmost projectile aligned in priming position, paragraph 0040 and see Figure 3B. A spring (28) urges a stack of projectiles upward, paragraph 0037. A pair of resilient flaps (30) may be configured to apply downward force on a projectile when in aligned priming position, paragraph 0040 and see Figure 3B, noting that the resilient flaps hold the projectile against upward force applied by the spring. It follows that the resilient flaps apply downward force. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the resilient flaps as claimed and as taught by Wilson, to provide Ferri, as modified, with resilient flaps configured to hold projectiles aligned in priming position to yield the predictable result of maintaining proper position of the projectile until launched. As to Claims 3 and 13, Butler teaches that a projectile from the internal projectile storage area may be held between a pair of resilient flaps when a bolt is moved to a corresponding backward position, Col. 5, ln. 20-26. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified, with the pair of resilient flaps configured as taught by Butler, to hold a projectile when a barrel is moved backward, to provide Ferri, as modified, with a configuration of resilient flaps to yield the predictable result of controlled release of projectiles from a projectile storage area. As to Claims 4 and 14, Ferri teaches that the sliding handle when moved to the backward position creates an opening for loading projectiles into the internal projectile storage area, paragraph 8, noting that the attachment (18) is drawn back from the magazine (22). As to Claims 7 and 17, Ferri teaches that the projectile may be immediately adjacent a front nozzle of the barrel, paragraph 8 and see Figure 1. As to Claim 11, Ferri, as modified by Butler, Petrick, and Wilson, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationales being found applicable. Ferri teaches that the spring may be a compression spring, as noted in the treatment of Claim 2. As to Claim 12, Ferri teaches that the plunger element compresses the compression spring toward a back wall when the sliding handle is moved to a backward position, paragraph 8 and see Figure 1. As to Claim 16, Ferri is applied as in Claim 6, noting that Ferri teaches a compression spring such that it follows that the plunger element may be pushed forward. As to Claim 18, Butler teaches that at least a pair of resilient flaps may comprise a front and back pairs of resilient flaps (23, 24 front portions and rear portions) Col. 3, ln. 7-18 and 39-43, disposed at respective front and back portions of a top opening of an internal projectile storage area, see Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide front and back pairs of resilient flaps, as taught by Butler, to provide Ferri, as modified, with separate front and back flaps to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of designing the resilient flaps to more precisely control the holding and release of projectiles.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferri, in view of Butler, Petrick, and Wilson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleimeyer et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2002/0128083. Ferri, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 2, Ferri teaches that the spring may be a compression spring, paragraph 8, noting compressed spring. Ferri, as modified, does not disclose that the spring may be an extension spring. Kleimeyer teaches that extension springs may be substituted for compression springs in a variety of devices, including devices for launching projectiles, paragraphs 0236 and 0329. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified with an extension spring, as taught by Kleimeyer, to provide Ferri, as modified, with a known substitute type of spring. As to Claim 6, Ferri teaches that the plunger element may be pushed forward by a compression spring to expel air from the internal air chamber through the front nozzle of the barrel when the coupling of the latched assembly between plunger element and trigger assembly is released, paragraph 8. The examiner finds that the same rationale applied in the treatment of Claim 2 is equally applicable to apply Kleimeyer in support of an obvious modification to substitute an extension spring in place of the compression spring. It follows that the plunger element would be pulled forward. The examiner finds that the same rationale applied in the treatment of Claim 5 is applicable to support a finding of obviousness regarding the configuration of a front nozzle.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferri, in view of Butler, Petrick, and Wilson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sindel, U.S. Patent No. 4,756,297. Ferri, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claims 8 and 19, Ferri, as modified, is silent as to an oval barrel cross-section. Sindel teaches a projectile launcher (air pistol) comprising a barrel (11) having an oval cross-section, Col. 4, ln. 36-41. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified, with a barrel having an oval cross-section shape, as taught by Sindel, to provide Ferri, as modified, with a narrowed barrel cross-section and sufficient volume, to yield the predictable result of a desirable overall shape of the projectile launcher. As to Claims 9 and 20, Sindel teaches that the cross-sectional shape of the barrel may have a height to width ratio wherein the height is greater (ratio greater than 1:1), see Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide Ferri, as modified, with the cross-sectional shape of the barrel having a height greater than the width, as taught by Sindel, to provide Ferri, as modified, with a narrower barrel width to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of designing the projectile launcher to resemble a firearm. Ferri, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for specifying that the ratio may be 7:5. Sindel teaches that oval shape of the barrel facilitates an overall design of the launcher to exhibit a desired external appearance, indicating that the ratio of height to width is a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to provide a height to width ratio of 7:5 since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferri, in view of Butler and Sindel. As to Claim 10, Ferri, as modified by Butler and Wilson, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Sindel is applied as in Claim 8, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. As to Claim 21, Ferri, as modified by Butler and Wilson is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Sindel is applied as in Claim 8, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Ferri teaches that the spring may be a compression spring as noted in the treatment of Claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 18 December 2025 have been considered and are persuasive with regard to the rejection under 35 USC §112(a) and the rejection has been withdrawn.
With regard to rejections under 35 USC §103, the examiner maintains the position that Ferri, as modified by Butler, Petrick, and Wilson discloses the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed above. Particularly, the examiner maintains the position that Ferri teaches that the magazine holds a number of projectiles being pushed upward toward a priming position by a spring. Butler teaches resilient flaps at a top of a magazine maintaining an uppermost projectile in a priming position by downward force. It follows that Ferri, modified by Butler, supports a finding of obviousness regarding resilient flaps holding the barrel when in the forward position, given that the barrel moves forward over the magazine and the projectiles are urged against the barrel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 5 January 2026