DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2022 and 12/12/2023 were filed on or after the filing date of this application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claims 5 and 8-11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “at least one laser diode unit configured to operate according to claim 1”. Claim 1 recites “a method for operating a pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser.” Accordingly, claim 5 is indefinite, because it is unclear if applicant is attempting to claim that only the laser diode unit is operating as “a pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser” or if the “diode-pumped solid-state laser system” is operating as “a method for operating a pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser.” Additionally, it is unclear if “at least one laser diode unit” can operate according to “a method for operating a pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser” without the “solid-state laser”.
For the purpose of this Office Action, the Office will interpret the claim as “at least one laser diode unit; and wherein the diode-pumped solid-state laser system is configured to operate according to claim 1.”
Claims 6-11 are indefinite at least based on their dependence from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (US20060018350A1)1, hereafter Adams.
Regarding claim 1, Adams discloses a method for operating a pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser (Fig. 5; Abstract; [0083]-[0089]) comprising: providing a pump light source (Fig. 5 element 210; [0087]) for pumping a solid-state laser (Fig. 5 element 200; [0083]; [0087]), said pump light source comprising at least one laser diode unit configured for emitting a series of light pulses for pumping the solid-state laser ([0089]), modulating the series of light emission pulses of the at least one laser diode unit ([0093]) such that only the light pulses with a frequency close to or equal to a requested frequency setting of the solid-state laser are operated with a required pulse amplitude and/or a required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser (Fig. 2 elements Δt1 and Δt4; Fig. 7a element 308 in Δt1; [0093]), and such that any other light pulses emitted by the at least one laser diode unit are operated to not trigger light emission of the solid-state laser (Fig. 2 element Δt3; Fig. 7a element 308 in Δt3; [0093]).
Regarding claim 4, Adams further discloses during operation of the pulsed diode-pumped solid-state laser, an electrical current provided to drive the at least one laser diode unit is non-zero at all times (Fig. 2 shows the diode current above zero during all times when operating).
Regarding claim 5, Adams further discloses a diode-pumped solid-state laser system (Fig. 5; Abstract; [0083]-[0089]) comprising: a solid-state laser (Fig. 5 element 200; [0083]-[0084]), at least one laser diode unit (Fig. 5 element 210; [0089]) configured to operate according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 8, Adams further discloses at least one laser diode unit comprises a single laser diode or a one-dimensional array of laser diodes, or a two-dimensional array of laser diodes, or a three-dimensional array of laser diodes ([0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams in view of Lee et al. (WO2013079943A1)2, hereafter Lee.
Regarding claim 2, Adams does not explicitly disclose the requested frequency setting for the solid-state laser lies at a frequency below 300 Hz. However, Lee discloses the requested frequency setting for the solid-state laser lies at a frequency below 300 Hz (Table 1). An advantage, as is known in the art, is to increase the number of potential applications for the laser device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with the requested frequency setting for the solid-state laser lies at a frequency below 300 Hz as disclosed by Lee in order to increase the number of potential applications for the laser device and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, Adams in view of Lee do not explicitly disclose the requested frequency setting for the solid-state laser is one of the following frequency settings: 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 75 or 100 Hz, and wherein the at least one laser diode unit is operated to emit light pulses with a frequency of 100 Hz, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 5 Hz, only every 20th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 10 Hz only every 10 th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 20 Hz only every 5th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 25 Hz only every 4th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 50 Hz only every 2nd light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 75 Hz or 100 Hz all pulses of the laser diode unit are operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser. However, Lee discloses optimizing the frequency settings (Table 1; pg. 11 ll. 29 to pg. 12 ll. 14) and optimizing the number of pulses between trigger pulses with the desired amplitude or pulse width based on the desired frequency setting (Table 1; pg. 11 ll. 29 to pg. 12 ll. 14) in order to provide stable pulses over a wide range of applications (pg. 12 ll. 15-24). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams in view of Lee with the requested frequency setting for the solid-state laser is one of the following frequency settings: 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 75 or 100 Hz, and wherein the at least one laser diode unit is operated to emit light pulses with a frequency of 100 Hz, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 5 Hz, only every 20th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 10 Hz only every 10 th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 20 Hz only every 5th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 25 Hz only every 4th light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 50 Hz only every 2nd light pulse of the laser diode unit is operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, and wherein for a requested solid-state laser frequency setting of 75 Hz or 100 Hz all pulses of the laser diode unit are operated with the required pulse amplitude and/or the required pulse duration to trigger light emission of the solid-state laser, since Lee discloses optimizing the frequency settings and optimizing the number of pulses between trigger pulses with the desired amplitude or pulse width based on the desired frequency setting in order to provide stable pulses over a wide range of applications and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 6, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adams
Regarding claim 6, Adams does not explicitly disclose the solid-state laser is a Tm:YAG laser. However, Adams discloses Tm as a dopant ([0084]), YAG as a host ([0084]), and selecting the desired materials based on the output wavelengths for the intended use of the device ([0002], [0003], [0083], & [0085]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with the solid-state laser is a Tm:YAG laser, since Adams discloses Tm as a potential dopant, YAG as a potential hose and selecting the desired materials based on the desired output wavelength for the intended use of the device and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Adams does not explicitly disclose the at least one laser diode unit is configured to emit light pulses with a wavelength between 778 to 782 nm at 100 Hz and with pulse durations of up to 500 ps and with amplitudes of up to a maximum current of 250 A. However, Adams discloses optimizing the wavelength ([0052]), the repetition rate ([0050], [0052]), pulse duration ([0050], [0052]), and the amplitude of the current ([0052]) of the laser diode unit in order to manage the thermal loads on a laser gain medium ([0005]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with at least one laser diode unit is configured to emit light pulses with a wavelength between 778 to 782 nm at 100 Hz and with pulse durations of up to 500 ps and with amplitudes of up to a maximum current of 250 A, since Adams discloses optimizing the wavelength, the repetition rate, pulse duration, and the amplitude of the current of the laser diode unit in order to manage the thermal loads on a laser gain medium and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 9, Adams does not explicitly disclose the at least one laser diode unit comprises the one-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the one-dimensional array of laser diodes is a diode laser bar. However, the Office takes Official Notice that a one-dimensional array of laser diodes in the form of a laser diode bar is a well known optical pumping element in the art. An advantage, as is well known in the art, is to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with at least one laser diode unit comprises the one-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the one-dimensional array of laser diodes is a diode laser bar as is known in the art in order to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity and since it has been held that simply substituting one known element (laser diode) for another known element (laser diode bar) to obtain predictable results (increased pumping power) requires only ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 10, Adams does not explicitly disclose the at least one laser diode unit comprises the two-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the two-dimensional array of laser diodes is a stack of diode laser bars. However, the Office takes Official Notice that two-dimensional arrays of laser diodes in the form of a stack of laser diode bars is a well known optical pumping element in the art. An advantage, as is well known in the art, is to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with at least one laser diode unit comprises the two-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the two-dimensional array of laser diodes is a stack of diode laser bars as is known in the art in order to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity and since it has been held that simply substituting one known element (laser diode) for another known element (laser diode bar) to obtain predictable results (increased pumping power) requires only ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 11, Adams does not explicitly disclose the at least one laser diode unit comprises the three-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the three- dimensional array of laser diodes is multiple stacks of diode laser bars. However, the Office takes Official Notice that three-dimensional arrays of laser diodes in the form of multiple stacks of laser diode bars is a well known optical pumping element in the art. An advantage, as is well known in the art, is to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Adams with the at least one laser diode unit comprises the three-dimensional array of laser diodes, and wherein the three- dimensional array of laser diodes is multiple stacks of diode laser bars as is known in the art in order to balance the necessary pump power based on the desired output power for the intended use of the device with increased device complexity such as increased driving circuit and alignment complexity and since it has been held that simply substituting one known element (laser diode) for another known element (laser diode bar) to obtain predictable results (increased pumping power) requires only ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited. See, e.g., US20050157382A1 [0020] disclosing pump sources include diode bars and diode bar stacks.
/Joshua King/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828 01/07/2026
1 U.S. Patent Application Publication Cite No. 1 in the IDS filed 11/04/2022.
2 Foreign Patent Documents Cite No. 2 in the IDS filed 11/04/2022.