DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
In response, the remarks and amendments, filed 07/10/2026 by Applicant, the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues, on page 10 of the remarks, that “
”.
Examiner disagrees. Barnes, at para. [0009] recites “In one exemplary embodiment, the subject disclosure includes an image analysis system and computer implemented method for early stage cancer prognosis. Digitized whole slide images of serial section tissue slides are stained with the desired set of histopathological assays (H&E, IHC) utilizing either simplex or multiplex methodologies to evaluate the tumor and immune marker expressions in the tissue. Such staining methods may include, for example, (1) mapping one or more regions (all the tumor regions on the whole slide, specific “marker hotspots” i.e., tumor sub-regions where a particular marker is over-expressed, immune specific regions from the tissue microenvironment, stromal regions which are adjacent to tumor regions) annotated on a digitized image of the first tissue slide (example, H&E slide or Ki67 slide) or subset of a selected few slides (like H&E and Ki-67) to digitized images of each of a plurality of tissue slides, wherein the plurality of tissue slides correspond to serial sections from a tissue block”; Barnes, at para. [0073] recites “Since there is variability between the image data obtained from different markers, a different classifier can be trained for each different biomarker so as to ensure better performance on unseen test data, where the biomarker type of the test data will be known. The trained classifier can be selected based at least in part on how best to handle training data variability, for example, in tissue type, staining protocol, and other features of interest, for slide interpretation. The system can analyze a specific region of an image based at least in part on information within that region, as well as information outside of that region. In some embodiments, a multi-stage binary classifier can identify positive and negative nuclei. The positive nuclei can be distinguished from the negative nuclei, lymphocytes, and stroma. Additionally, the negative cells and lymphocytes can be distinguished from stroma. Lymphocytes are then distinguished from the negative nuclei. In further classification, the positive cells can be distinguished from background cells. For example, if the positive cells have brown stained nuclei, the background cells may exhibit cytoplasmic blush that can be filtered out. Based at least in part on the number of positive/negative nuclei, a score (e.g., a whole-slide score) can be determined”. It is clear from the para. [0009] and [0073] of Barnes that different groups of nuclei are identified in the images in cell categories such as positive nuclei, negative nuclei).
Regarding the Examiner-interpreted amended claim limitations of independent claims 1 and 19, Madabhushi teaches “the one or more nodes encoding the identified cell type categories” (Madabhushi, para. [0020]; para. [0035]; In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 140, generating at least one nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the plurality of segmented cellular nuclei. In one embodiment, a node of the at least one nuclear CG is defined on a centroid of a member of the plurality of cellular nuclei. A first node is connected to a second, different node based on a Euclidean distance between the first node and the second node. In another embodiment, the centroid of a local nuclei cluster is used as a node, and a plurality of nodes is used to construct the global CG. The probability a first node will be linked with a second, different node is based on an exponentially decaying function of the Euclidean distance between the nodes.” (see Examiner interpretation of the independent claims 1, 13, and 19 in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) below).
Regarding the Examiner-interpreted amended claim limitations of independent claim 13, Svekolkin teaches “generating a spatial connectivity matrix with edges encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells and nodes encoding the identified cell type categories” (Svekolkin, para. [0222]-[0223]: “The computing device then computes, based on the graph representation of the tissue 776, the local cell features at step 752B. The local cell features can include information about the cells that can be determined based on the cell data 774 and/or the graph 776. For example, the local cell features can include, for each cell, a cell type, cell neighbors determined based on the edges of the graph 776, neighboring cell types, neighbor distance data (e.g., median distance to neighbors, mask-related data (e.g., a percentage of area filled with positive pixels for marker masks under each cell (e.g., a CD31 mask for blood vessels, etc.)), and/or the like. Each node can therefore have an associated set of local data points (e.g., represented as a vector). In some embodiments, the node data can include the cell type, which can be encoded using a plurality of variables. For example, if there are seven discovered cell types in the tissue sample, then “cell type 6” can be encoded as [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0]. In some embodiments, the node data can include the median value of lengths of all node edges for the cell. In some embodiments, the node data can include the percentage of positive pixels of a given mask for a cell, which can be extended to include data for each of a plurality of masks (if present). In some embodiments, the data can include the percentage of the cells located within one or more masks of selected markers (e.g., a percentage of the area of the cell mask filled with positive cells). Such mask-based data can allow the computing device to leverage information about cells and/or structures that may otherwise be difficult to segment. As a result, in some embodiments the total number of data points for each node is L, which is the sum of (1) the number of cell types, (2) the number of masks to consider (if any), and (3) a value for the median distance of edges of given node. The graph 776 can be encoded for input into the graph neural network 772. In some embodiments, the node information can be stored in a matrix with dimensionality n by L, where n is a number of nodes and L is the number of node features. In some embodiments, the graph is encoded, such as into a sparse adjacency matrix (e.g., with dimensionality n by n nodes), into an adjacency list of edges, and/or the like” (see Examiner interpretation of this claim limitation in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above regarding the edges encoding the identified cell type categories).
Therefore, the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Using independent claim 1 as the representative claim for analysis of claims 13 and 19, regarding the amended limitation “generating a spatial connectivity graph representing one or more relationships between the nuclei of the plurality of cells, the spatial connectivity graph comprising one or more edges encoding one or more inter-cell distances, and the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories”, Applicant’s present specification fails to support edges encoding the identified cell categories. Applicant’s remarks, on page 11, cite para. [0067] of the present specification as support for this claim amendment; however, Applicant’s present specification, at para. [0067], recites “Stated differently, in one implementation, Delaunay triangulation is used to connect the nuclei into the feature graph, and the number of connections and the average length (i.e. spatial distance) between two types of nuclei summarize the spatial organization of different types of cell. As one example, the histology-based digital staining system 102 extracts features images according to six nucleus categories (tumor, stromal, lymphocyte, macrophage, karyorrhexis and red blood cell). In this example, the edges of the feature graph are classified into 21 categories [i.e. 6×(6+1)/2=21] according to their vertex pairs. For each pathology image 104 in this example, the number of connections (edges) for different categories are counted (21 features), the lengths of the connections are averaged for each edge category (another 21 image features), and the density of each type of nucleus are calculated (yielding 6 image features). In total, 48 image features are extracted in this example. The image features are averaged across the 100 patches for each ROI in the pathology image 104.”; para. [0085] recites “as such, in one non-limiting example, k is set to 8 to cover the adjacent neighbors of each nucleus. Each graph consists of two components: nodes (representing nuclei) and edges (representing spatial connections among nuclei). To further describe cell types and morphological features in graph, two feature matrices may be defined for nodes and edges, respectively. In one example, the node feature matrix contains eleven features: confidence of prediction and ten morphological features. The edge feature matrix contains three features: edge type based on cell types of starting node and ending node (yielding 6*6=36 edge types), edge weight defined as reciprocal of Euclidean edge length, and edge angle. As shown in FIG. 8, the edge angle may be defined as cosine of an angle between major axes of the starting node and ending node. For example, a cosine of an angle 804 corresponding to an orientation between a first nucleus 800 and a second nucleus 802 may provide the edge angle. The features are globally centered and scaled before feeding into the GCN system 120.” Fig. 8 below shows the nuclei are the vertices/nodes of the graph and the edges define the inter-cell distances/topological relationships between the nuclei:
).
Further, in Applicant’s present specification in para. [0067] above, Delauney triangulation is the method used to develop the nuclei spatial connectivity graph. In cellular and tissue spatial graphs, nodes encode the classification categories of individual cell nuclei (such as tumor, stroma, or immune cell types), while the Delaunay triangulation edges purely define geometric adjacency and spatial proximity between pairs of neighboring nuclei (see non-patent literature "Combining graph neural networks and computer vision methods for cell nuclei classification in lung tissue." Heliyon 10.7 (2024) (Pérez-Cano et al.) (hereinafter Pérez-Cano). Accordingly, from Applicant’s own specification and Pérez-Cano, it is clear that “the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories” is inaccurate and the specification fails to support this amended limitation; nodes (vertices) represent individual cell nuclei positioned by their spatial coordinates (centroids); each node is assigned categorical attributes or class labels derived from image segmentation and deep learning classifiers; edges form the triangular mesh connecting spatial neighbors; while edges themselves do not define the intrinsic cell category, they can be labeled or color-coded based on the combined node types they connect (e.g., a tumor-to-lymphocyte edge) to evaluate microenvironment interactions.
For the sake of examination and responding to arguments (see response to arguments section above), independent claim 1 is interpreted as reciting “one or more nodes encoding the identified cell type categories” rather than “the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories”; independent claim 13 is interpreted as reciting “with edges encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells and the nodes encoding identified cell type categories”; independent claim 19 is interpreted as reciting “with nodes representing the identified cell type categories and one or more global topological relationships encoded with edges”.
Claim 18 recites “the method of claim 13, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the edges includes at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophage category, a lymphocyte category, red blood cell category’ or a karyorrhexis category”; new claim 21, recites “the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges include one or more of: a tumor cell category; a stromal cell category; or a lymphocyte cell category”; new claim 22 recites “the system of claim 19, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges include one or more of: a macrophage category; a red blood cell category; or a karyorrhexis category”; for the sake of examination, claim 18 is interpreted as reciting “the method of claim 13, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the nodes includes at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophage category, a lymphocyte category, red blood cell category’ or a karyorrhexis category”; claim 21 is interpreted as reciting “the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more nodes include one or more of: a tumor cell category; a stromal cell category; or a lymphocyte cell category”; claim 22 is interpreted as reciting “the system of claim 19, wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more nodes include one or more of: a macrophage category; a red blood cell category; or a karyorrhexis category” (see rejections of claims 18 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 below).
Therefore, independent claims 1, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for deficient written description support and having new matter regarding edges encoding/representing cell type categories. Proper corrections are requested
Dependent claims 3-12, 14-16, 18, and 20-22 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claims 1, 13, and 19, respectively, and thus are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as well.
Claims 1, 3-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the spatial connectivity graph comprising one or more edges encoding one or more inter-cell distances, and the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories”; Claim 13 recites “generating a spatial connectivity matrix with edges encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells and the identified cell type categories”; Claim 19 recites “a spatial connectivity graph with edges representing the identified cell type categories and one or more global topological relationships”; it is unclear/indefinite how the edges of a spatial connectivity graph can encapsulate/encode/represent both the inter-cell distances/topological relationships between the nuclei as well as define the categories of the nuclei themselves simultaneously, without explicitly defining the nodes encapsulate/encode/represent the nuclei cell categories (see 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection above regarding claim interpretation of these respective claims for examination). Proper corrections are requested.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the cell type includes at least one of tumor cells, stromal cells, macrophages, red blood cells, lymphocytes, or karyorrhexis”; claim 18 recites “wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the edges includes at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophages category, a lymphocytes category, red blood cell category, or a karyorrhexis category; claim 22 recites “wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges include one or more of: a macrophage category; a red blood cell category; or a karyorrhexis category”. Independent claims 1, 13, and 19, from which these claims depend from respectively, define one or more groups of nuclei, the one or more groups of nuclei individually having identified cell type categories selected from a group of cell type categories; therefore, the cell type categories must be 1) actual cell types and 2) have a nucleus that can be defined; red blood cells and karyorrhexis fail to pass both points 1) and 2) respectively; in human patients (as independent claims 1, 13, and 19 specify as well as the specification that the medical images taken are of human patients), red blood cells do not contain a nucleus (non-patent literature “Biological Membranes Architecture and Function., Handbook of Biological Physics, vol.1, Elsevier, 1995 (Sackmann et al.) recites that “in humans, mature red blood cells are flexible biconcave disks; they lack a cell nucleus (which is expelled during development) and organelles, to accommodate maximum space for hemoglobin”); Karyorrhexis is not a cell type category, but rather a cellular process referring to the destructive fragmentation of a cell nucleus during cell death (such as apoptosis or necrosis (non-patent literature "Condensed matter in cell death." Nature 401.6749 (1999): 127-128. (Zamzami et al.)); further, Applicant’s present specification confirms Examiner’s rejection of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) at para. [0049] reciting “moreover, the histology-based digital staining system 102 segments red blood cells and karyorrhexis to represent blood vessels and necrosis, respectively, to quantify blood vessels and necrosis and characterize their interactions with tumor cells, stromal cells, lymphocytes and macrophages” and para. [0060] reciting “in these patches, different types of cell nuclei were labeled. All the pixels within tumor nuclei, stromal nuclei, lymphocyte nuclei, macrophage nuclei, red blood cells, and karyorrhexis were labeled according to their categories and all the remaining pixels were considered “other.”; therefore, according to Applicant’s own specification, red blood cells and karyorrhexis are not defined as identified cell type categories selected from a group of cell type categories having one or more groups of nuclei and are identified in the specification only in relation to actual cell type categories having nuclei (tumor, stromal, lymphocyte, macrophage). For sake of examination, claims 5, 18, and 22 are examined ignoring the claim terms red blood cells/red blood cell category, and karyorrhexis/karyorrhexis category. Proper corrections are requested.
Dependent claims 3-4, 6-12, 14-16, and 20-21 fail to cure the deficiencies of independent claims 1, 13, and 19, respectively, and thus are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as well.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “histology-based digital staining system” in claims 1, 13, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-12, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2017/0270666 (Barnes et al.) (hereinafter Barnes), in view of non-patent literature “An automatic nuclei segmentation method based on deep convolutional neural networks for histopathology images”; BMC biomed eng 1, 24 (2019) (Jung et al.) (hereinafter Jung), and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2019/0259154 (Madabhushi et al.) (hereinafter Madabhushi).
Regarding claim 1, Barnes teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions for performing a computer process on a computing system, the computer process comprising: (Barnes, para. [0011], lines 1-5: “In yet another exemplary embodiment, the subject disclosure comprises a tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium to store computer-readable code that is executed by a processor to perform operations. The system includes a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory configured to store computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations”)
receiving a pathological image of patient tissue of a patient, the patient tissue including a plurality of cells (Barnes, para. [0064]; para. [0056]; FIG. 2B: “FIG. 4 shows a method for early-stage prognosis, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure. This method may use components described with reference to system 100, or other components that perform similar functions. For instance, an image series corresponding to a single patient undergoing diagnosis may be received (S401) from an imaging system or any other input. The image series may include data in the form of color channels or frequency channels representing serial sections of tissue stained with various biomarkers. Example biomarkers include biomarkers for estrogen receptors (ER), human epidermal growth factor receptors 2 (HER2), Ki-67, and progesterone receptors (PR). The imaging system may include the ISCAN COREO™ product of the assignee Ventana Medical Systems, Inc. The image data corresponds to cancerous or significantly cancerous sections retrieved from a single patient.”; “FIG. 2A shows a series of images of serial tissue sections, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure;
);
simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system, the nuclei of the plurality of cells segmented according to spatial location and classified according to cell type (Barnes, para. [0065]; para. [0057]; FIG. 4; FIG. 2A; para. [0013]: “Once the image data is received (S401), an image in a series of images corresponding to slides comprising serial tissue sections may be displayed on a user interface for field-of-view (FOV) selection and annotation (S403). Several annotation mechanisms (S403) may be provided, such as designating known or irregular shapes, or defining an anatomic region of interest (e.g., tumor region). In one example, the field of view is a whole slide, whole tumor region, or whole tissue section. The annotation (S403) annotates the FOV on the first slide and a registration operation (S405) maps the annotations across the remainder of the slides. As described herein, several methods for annotation and registration may be utilized, depending on the defined FOV. For example, a whole tumor region on a Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide from among the plurality of serial slides may be defined, and registration operation (S405) maps and transfers the whole tumor annotations from the H&E slide to each of the remaining IHC slides in the series. Alternatively, representative regions or “hot spots” may be identified on a Ki67 digitized whole slide, and may be mapped to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides.”; Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide is a histology-based digital staining system.; “FIG. 2B shows an alternate means for FOV selection using representative regions or “hot spots” 231 on a Ki67 digitized whole slide 225. Hot spots are specific regions of the whole slide that contain relatively high and heterogeneous amounts of Ki67 protein. The FOV 231 may, for instance, be in the form of a rectangular shape 231. Other embodiments may provide a manually drawn FOV selection, or automated image analysis algorithms may highlight such FOV regions on the Ki67 slide 225. An inter-marker registration operation as described above may be used to map these “hot spots” to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides such as ER 226, PR 227, and H&E slide 228. Shown on the right hand side of FIG. 2B are the zoomed-in versions of these hot spots, depicted at 20× magnification. Additional IHC slides are not depicted by FIG. 2B or 2A may be similarly annotated, such as HER2. In either case, whether the whole tumor or only “hot spots” are annotated, the corresponding regions on the remaining slides necessarily correspond to similar tissue types, assuming the magnification remains constant across the series.”;
;
;
“A ‘multi-channel image’ as understood herein encompasses a digital image obtained from a biological tissue sample in which different biological structures, such as nuclei and tissue structures, are simultaneously stained with specific fluorescent dyes, each of which fluoresces in a different spectral band thus constituting one of the channels of the multi-channel image. The biological tissue sample may be stained by a plurality of stains and/or by a stain and a counterstain, the later being also referred to as a “single marker image”.);
generating one or more groups of nuclei, the one or more groups of nuclei individually having identified cell type categories selected from a group of cell type categories (Barnes, para. [0009]; para. [0073]: “In one exemplary embodiment, the subject disclosure includes an image analysis system and computer implemented method for early stage cancer prognosis. Digitized whole slide images of serial section tissue slides are stained with the desired set of histopathological assays (H&E, IHC) utilizing either simplex or multiplex methodologies to evaluate the tumor and immune marker expressions in the tissue. Such staining methods may include, for example, (1) mapping one or more regions (all the tumor regions on the whole slide, specific “marker hotspots” i.e., tumor sub-regions where a particular marker is over-expressed, immune specific regions from the tissue microenvironment, stromal regions which are adjacent to tumor regions) annotated on a digitized image of the first tissue slide (example, H&E slide or Ki67 slide) or subset of a selected few slides (like H&E and Ki-67) to digitized images of each of a plurality of tissue slides, wherein the plurality of tissue slides correspond to serial sections from a tissue block”; “Since there is variability between the image data obtained from different markers, a different classifier can be trained for each different biomarker so as to ensure better performance on unseen test data, where the biomarker type of the test data will be known. The trained classifier can be selected based at least in part on how best to handle training data variability, for example, in tissue type, staining protocol, and other features of interest, for slide interpretation. The system can analyze a specific region of an image based at least in part on information within that region, as well as information outside of that region. In some embodiments, a multi-stage binary classifier can identify positive and negative nuclei. The positive nuclei can be distinguished from the negative nuclei, lymphocytes, and stroma. Additionally, the negative cells and lymphocytes can be distinguished from stroma. Lymphocytes are then distinguished from the negative nuclei. In further classification, the positive cells can be distinguished from background cells. For example, if the positive cells have brown stained nuclei, the background cells may exhibit cytoplasmic blush that can be filtered out. Based at least in part on the number of positive/negative nuclei, a score (e.g., a whole-slide score) can be determined”; it is clear from Barnes that different groups of nuclei are identified in the images in cell categories such as positive nuclei and negative nuclei that are distinguished from other cells such as lymphocyte and stromal cells); and
determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei (Barnes, para. [0066]; para. [0078]: “Given the FOV, image analysis operations are used to compute scores (S407) for each slide. The scores for each slide may be based on a determination of a percent positivity, as well as a regional heterogeneity. Tumor nuclei that are positively and negatively stained for a particular biomarker, such as Ki67, ER, PR, HER2, etc. are counted, and a percent positivity is computed. Additional scoring mechanisms may be employed, such as H-scores representing regional heterogeneity of a particular marker or protein … The resulting slide-level scores may be combined together to generate IHC3, IHC4, or IHCn scores for the series of slides, depending on the number of individually-stained slides. Any scores computed from the H&E slide can also be included to the information from IHC slides to accordingly specify a different risk scoring metric. The scores are based on, for example, a whole-tumor FOV selection or on a “hot spot” FOV selection.”; “In some embodiments, a computer system can be programmed to automatically identify features in an image of a specimen based at least in part on one or more selection criteria, including criteria based at least in part on color characteristics, sample morphology (e.g., cell component morphology, cell morphology, tissue morphology, anatomical structure morphology, etc.), tissue characteristics (e.g., density, composition, or the like), spatial parameters (e.g., arrangement of tissue structures, relative positions between tissue structures, etc.), image characteristic parameters, or the like. If the features are nuclei, the selection criteria can include, without limitation, color characteristics, nuclei morphology (e.g., shape, dimensions, composition, etc.), spatial parameters (e.g., position of nuclei in cellular structure, relative position between nuclei, etc.), image characteristics, combinations thereof, or the like. After detecting candidate nuclei, algorithms can be used automatically to provide a score or information about the entire analyzed image.”).
Barnes fails to teach
generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image; and simultaneously segmenting and classifying the nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system by applying the one or more masks.
Jung teaches
generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image; and simultaneously segmenting and classifying the nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system by applying the one or more masks (Jung, page 4, right column; section Nuclei Segmentation; pages 5-6; FIG. 3: “Mask R-CNN [31] is a state-of-the-art object segmentation framework that can identify not only the location of any object but also its segmented mask. Mask R-CNN extends the object detection model Faster R-CNN [32] by adding a third branch for predicting segmentation masks to the existing branches for classification and bounding box regression. Mask R-CNN is a two-stage framework. In the first stage, it scans an input image and finds areas that may contain an object using a Region Proposal Network (RPN). It predicts the classes of proposed areas, refines the bounding box, and generates masks for an object at the pixel level in the next stage based on the proposed areas from the first stage … “While the original Mask R-CNN used 5 scales with box areas starting from 1282, which is suitable for the COCO dataset, we modify the anchor sizes since nuclei are much smaller than the objects in the COCO dataset. We obtain segmentation results of Mask R-CNN on the top 1000 candidates to detect a large number of nuclei.”; “we apply Mask R-CNN as well as color normalization and multiple inference to segment nuclei in H&E stained histopathology images”; Mask R-CNN is used for simultaneous object detection and instance segmentation; In Mask R-CNN, the nucleus is segmented from the rest of the image; it means the nucleus pixels will be assigned a color (say blue) and all the background pixels will be assigned yellow which is a simultaneous segmentation and classification;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the computer process, as taught by Barnes, to include the step of generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image, as taught by Jung; further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the step of simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system, as taught by Barnes, to be done by applying the one or more masks, as further taught by Jung.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using a Mask R-CNN allows for highly accurate instance segmentation, meaning it not only detects objects but also precisely delineates their boundaries simultaneously which allows for accurate identification of multiple instances of the same object in images; this has application in medical imaging where there can be numerous nuclei of cells in a tissue image.
Barnes, in view of Jung, fails to teach
wherein the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells producing nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to the nuclei; determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results; and generating a spatial connectivity graph representing one or more relationships between the nuclei of the plurality of the cells, the spatial connectivity graph comprising one or more edges encoding one or more inter-cell distances and one or more local topological features.
Madabhushi teaches
wherein the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells producing nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to the nuclei (Madabhushi, para. [0021]; para. [0035]; para. [0006]; FIG. 2: “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 140, generating at least one nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the plurality of segmented cellular nuclei. In one embodiment, a node of the at least one nuclear CG is defined on a centroid of a member of the plurality of cellular nuclei. A first node is connected to a second, different node based on a Euclidean distance between the first node and the second node. In another embodiment, the centroid of a local nuclei cluster is used as a node, and a plurality of nodes is used to construct the global CG. The probability a first node will be linked with a second, different node is based on an exponentially decaying function of the Euclidean distance between the nodes.”; “FIG. 2 illustrates segmented cellular nuclei in NSCLC tissue”;
);
determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results (Madabhushi, para. [0023]; para. [0045]: “Embodiments compute a set of cell graph features based on the CG. The set of cell graph features capture tumor morphology within the microenvironment of the tumor. These features may include first-order statistics (e.g. mean, mode, median) of the representative descriptors. In one embodiment, the set of cell graph features may include a Delaunay side length disorder of the cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a Delaunay ratio of the minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a number of possible triangles formed from cells (i.e., nodes) of the cell graph feature. Other cell graph features may be computed”; “Operations 1100 also includes, at 1130, extracting a set of cellular graph (CG) features from the set of digitized images. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes at least one of a Delaunay triangulation feature or a Voronoi feature. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes a side length disorder of a Delaunay triangulation feature, a ratio of minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by nodes of the CG, and a number of possible polygons formed by nodes of the CG. In this embodiment, a polygon is a triangle.”); and
generating a spatial connectivity graph representing one or more relationships between the nuclei of the plurality of the cells, the spatial connectivity graph comprising one or more edges encoding one or more inter-cell distances, and the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories (Madabhushi, para. [0020]-[0021]; para. [0035]: “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes”; “Embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei. Nodes may be connected based on distance metrics such as Euclidean Distance between nodes, or the L1 norm. In another embodiment, a threshold number of nuclei (e.g., 50%, 75%, or 90%) represented in the digitized H&E stained image may be employed to define nodes of the graph.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 140, generating at least one nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the plurality of segmented cellular nuclei. In one embodiment, a node of the at least one nuclear CG is defined on a centroid of a member of the plurality of cellular nuclei. A first node is connected to a second, different node based on a Euclidean distance between the first node and the second node. In another embodiment, the centroid of a local nuclei cluster is used as a node, and a plurality of nodes is used to construct the global CG. The probability a first node will be linked with a second, different node is based on an exponentially decaying function of the Euclidean distance between the nodes.” (see Examiner interpretation of this limitation of independent claim 1 in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above regarding edges encoding the identified cell type categories).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to: 1) modify the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to produce nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to the nuclei, as taught by Madabhushi; 2) modify the step of determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to include applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results, as taught by Madabhushi; 3) modify the computer process, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to include the step of generating a spatial connectivity graph representing one or more relationships between the nuclei of the plurality of the cells, the spatial connectivity graph comprising one or more edges encoding one or more inter-cell distances, and the one or more edges encoding the identified cell type categories, as taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “this technique improves on those employed by existing approaches to segmenting nuclei by being computationally simpler and faster; this technique also facilitates the adjustment and fine-tuning of parameters with greater simplicity than techniques used by existing approaches, thereby providing the technical effect of improving the performance of computers, systems, or other apparatus on which embodiments are implemented” (Madabhushi, para. [0033]); further suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that a “personalized cancer treatment plan may be generated based, at least in part, on the classification and at least one of the probability, the set of nuclear radiomic features, the set of CG features, or the digitized image … defining a personalized cancer treatment plan facilitates delivering a particular treatment that will be therapeutically active to the patient, while minimizing negative or adverse effects experienced by the patient” (Madabhushi, para. [0051]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, with Jung and Madabhushi, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
wherein the mask regional convolutional network is trained using a plurality of training pathological images, and each of the plurality of training pathological images is manually labeled.
Jung further teaches
wherein the mask regional convolutional network is trained using a plurality of training pathological images, and each of the plurality of training pathological images is manually labeled (Jung, page 6, Experiment and Results, para. 2; Table 2: “The first dataset is the multiple organ H&E stained histopathology image dataset (MOSID) [20]. It contains a total of 30 images and the spatial size of each image is 1000×1000. Histopathology images of the following seven organs were collected: breast, kidney, liver, prostate, bladder, colon, and stomach. We divide the dataset into a training set and test set as shown in Table 2. Histopathology images of the bladder, colon, and stomach are included in only the test set.”;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the mask regional convolutional network, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, to be trained using a plurality of training pathological images, and each of the plurality of training pathological images is manually labeled, as further taught by Jung.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that manually labeling pathology images provides the essential, high-quality "ground truth" data (like tumor boundaries, cell types) that supervised machine learning models need to learn accurately, defining what's what (e.g., normal vs. cancerous) for precise pattern recognition, leading to more reliable AI diagnostics, better disease detection, and improved patient outcomes by correcting model errors and handling complex visual features beyond simple algorithms.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, and Madabhushi, with Jung further, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the patient tissue is at least one of lung tissue, breast tissue, head tissue, or neck tissue (Barnes, para. [0067], lines 10-13: ““Based on the training workflow, optimized cut-off points are provided from database 418 for enabling the scores to be stratified (S411) into low-risk and high-risk groups for cancer recurrence besides medical applications such as anatomical or clinical pathology, prostrate/lung cancer diagnosis, etc.”).
Regarding claim 5, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
wherein the cell type includes at least one of tumor cells, stromal cells, macrophages, red blood cells, lymphocytes, or karyorrhexis.
Madabhushi further teaches
wherein the cell type includes at least one of tumor cells, stromal cells, macrophages, red blood cells, lymphocytes, or karyorrhexis (Madabhushi, para. [0020]: “embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei” (see both of Examiner claim interpretations of this claim in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the cell type, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, to include at least one of tumor cells, stromal cells, macrophages, red blood cells, lymphocytes, or karyorrhexis as further taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “improved prediction of response may produce the technical effect of improving the administration of chemotherapy or immunotherapy, by increasing the accuracy of and decreasing the time required to determine if a patient is likely or unlikely to respond; treatments and resources, including expensive immunotherapy or chemotherapy agents may be more accurately tailored to patients with a likelihood of benefiting from said treatments and resources, including responding to immunotherapy, so that more appropriate treatment protocols may be employed, and expensive resources are not wasted, when digitized H&E images are more accurately and more quickly assessed for likelihood of response.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, and Madabhushi, with Madabhushi further, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the plurality of cells is stained in the image using one or more colors according to the composition and the spatial organization of the tumor microenvironment (Barnes, para. [0042]: “For instance, input data 102 may provide a means for inputting image data from one or more scanned IHC slides to memory 110. Image data may include data related to color channels or color wavelength channels, as well as details regarding a staining and/or imaging process. For instance, a tissue section may require staining by means of application of a staining assay containing one or more different biomarkers associated with chromogenic stains for brightfield imaging or fluorophores for fluorescence imaging. Staining assays can use chromogenic stains for brightfield imaging, organic fluorophores, quantum dots, or organic fluorophores together with quantum dots for fluorescence imaging, or any other combination of stains, biomarkers, and viewing or imaging devices. Example biomarkers include biomarkers for estrogen receptors (ER), human epidermal growth factor receptors 2 (HER2), Ki-67, and progesterone receptors (PR), wherein the tissue section is detectably labeled with antibodies for each of ER, HER2, Ki-67 and PR. In some embodiments of the subject disclosure, the operations of scoring, cox modeling, and risk stratification are depending on the type of biomarker being used as well as the field-of-view (FOV) selection and annotations. Therefore, any other biomarker tissue slides (like immune markers or some other additional markers) will trigger slide image analysis and scoring specific to the particular marker and include those scores in the Cox model fitting process.”).
Regarding claim 7, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the composition and the spatial organization of the tumor microenvironment is further determined based on image features extracted using connections between the plurality of centroids corresponding to each of the nuclei of the plurality of cells (Madabhushi, para. [0021]; para. [0035]; para. [0006]; FIG. 2; para. [0023]; para. [0045]; para. [0020]- [0021]; see rejection of claim 1 above; centroids of nuclei clusters are used as nodes in a cell graph (CG) having edges connecting and features are extracted from the cell graph using Delaunay triangulation and determining connection (strength of edges) between the nodes using Euclidean distance).
Regarding claim 9, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, further comprising: generating a prognostic model for the patient based on the composition and the spatial organization of the tumor microenvironment (Barnes, para. [0067]: “The IHC3 or IHC4 combination scores and the combined regional heterogeneity scores may then be entered into a Cox proportional hazards regression model (S409) to maximize the combined predictive capabilities of both measures. The Cox proportional hazards regression model models time to distant recurrence by taking two variables and finding the best logistic combination of the two to predict time to distant recurrence. Depending upon the type of FOV selected, a plurality of coefficients or parameters for the Cox model may be retrieved from parameter database 418. The coefficients may be based on training data for similar workflows as described with respect to FIG. 3, thereby enabling survival predictions for the slide series of the individual patient being tested. Based on the training workflow, optimized cut-off points are provided from database 418 for enabling the scores to be stratified (S411) into low-risk and high-risk groups for cancer recurrence besides medical applications such as anatomical or clinical pathology, prostrate/lung cancer diagnosis, etc.,”; see steps S409 and S411 in the flowchart of FIG. 4 in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 9, wherein the prognostic model includes a risk score (Barnes, para. [0067]; see rejection of claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 11, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 10, further comprising: assigning the patient to a risk group corresponding to a predicted survival outcome based on the risk score (Barnes, para. [0067]; see rejection of claims 9-10 above).
Regarding claim 12, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 1, wherein the image is a patch from a larger image (Barnes, para. [0037]; para. [0044]: “The tissue slides may represent the time of diagnosis of the patient. The tissue slides may be processed according to a specific staining protocol and stains or biomarkers may be scored using a specific scoring protocol. For example, a series of histopathological simplex and/or multiplex tissue slides from serial sections of cancerous tissue block corresponding to each patient and stained with H&E and multiple IHC tumor and immune markers (such as tumor markers ER, PR, Ki67, HER2, etc. and/or immune markers such as CD3, CD8, CD4 etc.) are digitized using a digital pathology scanning system, for example, on a whole slide scanner or a digital microscope.”; each section can be thought of as a “patch” or section of a larger image); “For example, a qualified reader such as a pathologist may annotate a whole-tumor region on any other IHC slide, and execute registration module 112 to map the whole tumor annotations on the other digitized slides. For example, a pathologist (or automatic detection algorithm) may annotate a whole-tumor region on an H&E slide triggering an analysis of all adjacent serial sectioned IHC slides to determine whole-slide tumor scores for the annotated regions on all slides.”).
Regarding claim 19, Barnes teaches a system for characterizing patient tissue of a patient, the system comprising: the pathological image is captured using a tissue slide scanning kit (Barnes, abstract; para. [0007]: “The subject disclosure presents systems and computer-implemented methods for providing reliable risk stratification for early-stage cancer patients by predicting a recurrence risk of the patient and to categorize the patient into a high or low risk group. A series of slides depicting serial sections of cancerous tissue are automatically analyzed by a digital pathology system, a score for the sections is calculated, and a Cox proportional hazards regression model is used to stratify the patient into a low or high risk group.”; “The present invention provides for an computational pathology system, where a digital pathology system is used to digitizing cancer biopsy tissue samples followed with using image analysis workflow methods for analyzing the digitized tissue slides and statistical analysis methods to correlate the obtained biomarker expressions in the tissue samples with the patient survival outcome information to construct and clinical use a prognostic model for a prognostic and predictive evaluation of cancer tissue samples, such as early stage cancer prognosis”)
a plurality of cells in a pathological image of the patient tissue of the patient (Barnes, para. [0064]; para. [0056]; FIG. 2B: “FIG. 4 shows a method for early-stage prognosis, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure. This method may use components described with reference to system 100, or other components that perform similar functions. For instance, an image series corresponding to a single patient undergoing diagnosis may be received (S401) from an imaging system or any other input. The image series may include data in the form of color channels or frequency channels representing serial sections of tissue stained with various biomarkers. Example biomarkers include biomarkers for estrogen receptors (ER), human epidermal growth factor receptors 2 (HER2), Ki-67, and progesterone receptors (PR). The imaging system may include the ISCAN COREO™ product of the assignee Ventana Medical Systems, Inc. The image data corresponds to cancerous or significantly cancerous sections retrieved from a single patient.”; “FIG. 2A shows a series of images of serial tissue sections, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure;
);
a histology-based digital staining system simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei, and the nuclei of the plurality of cells are segmented according to spatial location; and classified according to cell type (Barnes, para. [0065]; para. [0057]; FIG. 4; FIG. 2A; para. [0013]: “Once the image data is received (S401), an image in a series of images corresponding to slides comprising serial tissue sections may be displayed on a user interface for field-of-view (FOV) selection and annotation (S403). Several annotation mechanisms (S403) may be provided, such as designating known or irregular shapes, or defining an anatomic region of interest (e.g., tumor region). In one example, the field of view is a whole slide, whole tumor region, or whole tissue section. The annotation (S403) annotates the FOV on the first slide and a registration operation (S405) maps the annotations across the remainder of the slides. As described herein, several methods for annotation and registration may be utilized, depending on the defined FOV. For example, a whole tumor region on a Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide from among the plurality of serial slides may be defined, and registration operation (S405) maps and transfers the whole tumor annotations from the H&E slide to each of the remaining IHC slides in the series. Alternatively, representative regions or “hot spots” may be identified on a Ki67 digitized whole slide, and may be mapped to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides.”; Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide is a histology-based digitial staining system.; “FIG. 2B shows an alternate means for FOV selection using representative regions or “hot spots” 231 on a Ki67 digitized whole slide 225. Hot spots are specific regions of the whole slide that contain relatively high and heterogeneous amounts of Ki67 protein. The FOV 231 may, for instance, be in the form of a rectangular shape 231. Other embodiments may provide a manually drawn FOV selection, or automated image analysis algorithms may highlight such FOV regions on the Ki67 slide 225. An inter-marker registration operation as described above may be used to map these “hot spots” to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides such as ER 226, PR 227, and H&E slide 228. Shown on the right hand side of FIG. 2B are the zoomed-in versions of these hot spots, depicted at 20× magnification. Additional IHC slides are not depicted by FIG. 2B or 2A may be similarly annotated, such as HER2. In either case, whether the whole tumor or only “hot spots” are annotated, the corresponding regions on the remaining slides necessarily correspond to similar tissue types, assuming the magnification remains constant across the series.”;
;
;
“A ‘multi-channel image’ as understood herein encompasses a digital image obtained from a biological tissue sample in which different biological structures, such as nuclei and tissue structures, are simultaneously stained with specific fluorescent dyes, each of which fluoresces in a different spectral band thus constituting one of the channels of the multi-channel image. The biological tissue sample may be stained by a plurality of stains and/or by a stain and a counterstain, the later being also referred to as a “single marker image”.);
wherein the histology-based digital staining system generates one or more groups of nuclei, the one or more groups of nuclei individually have identified cell type categories from a group of cell type categories (Barnes, para. [0009]; para. [0073]: “In one exemplary embodiment, the subject disclosure includes an image analysis system and computer implemented method for early stage cancer prognosis. Digitized whole slide images of serial section tissue slides are stained with the desired set of histopathological assays (H&E, IHC) utilizing either simplex or multiplex methodologies to evaluate the tumor and immune marker expressions in the tissue. Such staining methods may include, for example, (1) mapping one or more regions (all the tumor regions on the whole slide, specific “marker hotspots” i.e., tumor sub-regions where a particular marker is over-expressed, immune specific regions from the tissue microenvironment, stromal regions which are adjacent to tumor regions) annotated on a digitized image of the first tissue slide (example, H&E slide or Ki67 slide) or subset of a selected few slides (like H&E and Ki-67) to digitized images of each of a plurality of tissue slides, wherein the plurality of tissue slides correspond to serial sections from a tissue block”; “Since there is variability between the image data obtained from different markers, a different classifier can be trained for each different biomarker so as to ensure better performance on unseen test data, where the biomarker type of the test data will be known. The trained classifier can be selected based at least in part on how best to handle training data variability, for example, in tissue type, staining protocol, and other features of interest, for slide interpretation. The system can analyze a specific region of an image based at least in part on information within that region, as well as information outside of that region. In some embodiments, a multi-stage binary classifier can identify positive and negative nuclei. The positive nuclei can be distinguished from the negative nuclei, lymphocytes, and stroma. Additionally, the negative cells and lymphocytes can be distinguished from stroma. Lymphocytes are then distinguished from the negative nuclei. In further classification, the positive cells can be distinguished from background cells. For example, if the positive cells have brown stained nuclei, the background cells may exhibit cytoplasmic blush that can be filtered out. Based at least in part on the number of positive/negative nuclei, a score (e.g., a whole-slide score) can be determined”; it is clear from Barnes that different groups of nuclei are identified in the images in cell categories such as positive nuclei and negative nuclei that are distinguished from other cells such as lymphocyte and stromal cells); and
wherein the histology-based digital staining system determines a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei (Barnes, para. [0066]; para. [0078]: “Given the FOV, image analysis operations are used to compute scores (S407) for each slide. The scores for each slide may be based on a determination of a percent positivity, as well as a regional heterogeneity. Tumor nuclei that are positively and negatively stained for a particular biomarker, such as Ki67, ER, PR, HER2, etc. are counted, and a percent positivity is computed. Additional scoring mechanisms may be employed, such as H-scores representing regional heterogeneity of a particular marker or protein … The resulting slide-level scores may be combined together to generate IHC3, IHC4, or IHCn scores for the series of slides, depending on the number of individually-stained slides. Any scores computed from the H&E slide can also be included to the information from IHC slides to accordingly specify a different risk scoring metric. The scores are based on, for example, a whole-tumor FOV selection or on a “hot spot” FOV selection.”; “In some embodiments, a computer system can be programmed to automatically identify features in an image of a specimen based at least in part on one or more selection criteria, including criteria based at least in part on color characteristics, sample morphology (e.g., cell component morphology, cell morphology, tissue morphology, anatomical structure morphology, etc.), tissue characteristics (e.g., density, composition, or the like), spatial parameters (e.g., arrangement of tissue structures, relative positions between tissue structures, etc.), image characteristic parameters, or the like. If the features are nuclei, the selection criteria can include, without limitation, color characteristics, nuclei morphology (e.g., shape, dimensions, composition, etc.), spatial parameters (e.g., position of nuclei in cellular structure, relative position between nuclei, etc.), image characteristics, combinations thereof, or the like. After detecting candidate nuclei, algorithms can be used automatically to provide a score or information about the entire analyzed image.”).
Barnes fails to teach
a histology-based digital staining system simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei using one or more masks corresponding to the nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image, generated by a mask convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising: a regional proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch.
Jung teaches
a histology-based digital staining system simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei using one or more masks corresponding to the nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image generated by a mask convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a regional proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch (Jung, page 4, right column; section Nuclei Segmentation; pages 5-6; page 2, right-hand col., para. 4, lines 8-10; FIG. 3; FIG. 2: “Mask R-CNN [31] is a state-of-the-art object segmentation framework that can identify not only the location of any object but also its segmented mask. Mask R-CNN extends the object detection model Faster R-CNN [32] by adding a third branch for predicting segmentation masks to the existing branches for classification and bounding box regression. Mask R-CNN is a two-stage framework. In the first stage, it scans an input image and finds areas that may contain an object using a Region Proposal Network (RPN). It predicts the classes of proposed areas, refines the bounding box, and generates masks for an object at the pixel level in the next stage based on the proposed areas from the first stage … “While the original Mask R-CNN used 5 scales with box areas starting from 1282, which is suitable for the COCO dataset, we modify the anchor sizes since nuclei are much smaller than the objects in the COCO dataset. We obtain segmentation results of Mask R-CNN on the top 1000 candidates to detect a large number of nuclei.”; “we apply Mask R-CNN as well as color normalization and multiple inference to segment nuclei in H&E stained histopathology images”; “Thus, we apply Mask R-CNN as well as color normalization and multiple inference to segment nuclei in H&E stained histopathology images”; Mask R-CNN is used for simultaneous object detection and instance segmentation; In Mask R-CNN, the nucleus is segmented from the rest of the image; it means the nucleus pixels will be assigned a color (say blue) and all the background pixels will be assigned yellow which is a simultaneous segmentation and classification;
;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the histology-based digital staining system, as taught by Barnes, to simultaneously segment and classify nuclei using one or more masks corresponding to the nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image generated by a mask convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a regional proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch as further taught by Jung.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using a Mask R-CNN allows for highly accurate instance segmentation, meaning it not only detects objects but also precisely delineates their boundaries simultaneously which allows for accurate identification of multiple instances of the same object in images; this has application in medical imaging where there can be numerous nuclei of cells in a tissue image.
Barnes, in view of Jung, fails to teach
wherein the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells produces nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding the nuclei; wherein the histology-based digital staining system: determines a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor environment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results; generates, based on applying the triangulation algorithm, a spatial connectivity graph with edges representing the identified cell type categories and one or more global topological relationships; and computes one or more features from the spatial connectivity graph for assessing tumor microenvironmental structure and patient prognosis;
Madabhushi teaches
wherein the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells produces nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding the nuclei (Madabhushi, para. [0021]; para. [0035]; para. [0006]; FIG. 2: “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 140, generating at least one nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the plurality of segmented cellular nuclei. In one embodiment, a node of the at least one nuclear CG is defined on a centroid of a member of the plurality of cellular nuclei. A first node is connected to a second, different node based on a Euclidean distance between the first node and the second node. In another embodiment, the centroid of a local nuclei cluster is used as a node, and a plurality of nodes is used to construct the global CG. The probability a first node will be linked with a second, different node is based on an exponentially decaying function of the Euclidean distance between the nodes.”; “FIG. 2 illustrates segmented cellular nuclei in NSCLC tissue”;
);
wherein the histology-based digital staining system: determines a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor environment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results (Madabhushi, para. [0023]; para. [0045]: “Embodiments compute a set of cell graph features based on the CG. The set of cell graph features capture tumor morphology within the microenvironment of the tumor. These features may include first-order statistics (e.g. mean, mode, median) of the representative descriptors. In one embodiment, the set of cell graph features may include a Delaunay side length disorder of the cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a Delaunay ratio of the minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a number of possible triangles formed from cells (i.e., nodes) of the cell graph feature. Other cell graph features may be computed”; “Operations 1100 also includes, at 1130, extracting a set of cellular graph (CG) features from the set of digitized images. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes at least one of a Delaunay triangulation feature or a Voronoi feature. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes a side length disorder of a Delaunay triangulation feature, a ratio of minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by nodes of the CG, and a number of possible polygons formed by nodes of the CG. In this embodiment, a polygon is a triangle.”);
generates, based on applying the triangulation algorithm, a spatial connectivity graph with edges representing the identified cell type categories and one or more global topological relationships (Madabhushi, para. [0020]- [0021]: “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes”; “Embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E-stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei. Nodes may be connected based on distance metrics such as Euclidean Distance between nodes, or the L1 norm. In another embodiment, a threshold number of nuclei (e.g., 50%, 75%, or 90%) represented in the digitized H&E stained image may be employed to define nodes of the graph.”); and
computes one or more features from the spatial connectivity graph for assessing tumor microenvironmental structure and patient prognosis (Madabhushi, para. [0023]; para. [0038]: “Embodiments compute a set of cell graph features based on the CG. The set of cell graph features capture tumor morphology within the microenvironment of the tumor. These features may include first-order statistics (e.g. mean, mode, median) of the representative descriptors. In one embodiment, the set of cell graph features may include a Delaunay side length disorder of the cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a Delaunay ratio of the minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a number of possible triangles formed from cells (i.e., nodes) of the cell graph feature. Other cell graph features may be computed.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 150, providing the set of nuclear radiomic features and the set of CG features to a machine learning classifier … operations 100 also includes, at 160, receiving, from the machine learning classifier, a probability that the ROT will respond to immunotherapy. The machine learning classifier computes the probability based, at least in part, on the set of nuclear radiomic features and the set of CG features … Operations 100 also includes, at 170, generating a classification of the ROT as a responder or non-responder based on the probability. The classification is generated, based, at least in part, on the probability. For example, embodiments may classify the region of tissue as likely to respond to immunotherapy when the probability >=0.5, and may classify the region of tissue as unlikely to respond to immunotherapy when the probability <0.5. Other classification schemes may be employed.”; outputting the level of response of a subject to a treatment meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “patient prognosis” because predicting a patient's response to treatment is a crucial part of their overall prognosis (the likely course of a disease or ailment); see FIG. 1 steps 130 for feature extraction and steps 160-170 for prognosis model).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to: 1) modify the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to include spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to each the nuclei, as taught by Madabhushi; 2) modify the histology-based digital staining system that determines a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor environment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to apply a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results, as taught by Madabhushi; 3) modify the histology-based digital staining system, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to generate, based on applying the triangulation algorithm, a spatial connectivity graph with edges representing the identified cell type categories and one or more global topological relationships, as taught by Madabhushi; 4) modify the histology-based digital staining system, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to compute one or more features from the spatial connectivity graph for assessing tumor microenvironmental structure and patient prognosis, as taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “this technique improves on those employed by existing approaches to segmenting nuclei by being computationally simpler and faster; this technique also facilitates the adjustment and fine-tuning of parameters with greater simplicity than techniques used by existing approaches, thereby providing the technical effect of improving the performance of computers, systems, or other apparatus on which embodiments are implemented” (Madabhushi, para. [0033]); further suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that a “personalized cancer treatment plan may be generated based, at least in part, on the classification and at least one of the probability, the set of nuclear radiomic features, the set of CG features, or the digitized image … defining a personalized cancer treatment plan facilitates delivering a particular treatment that will be therapeutically active to the patient, while minimizing negative or adverse effects experienced by the patient” (Madabhushi, para. [0051]-[0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, with Jung and Madabhushi, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the pathological image is received from a user device over a network (Barnes, para [0041]; para. [0042], lines 1-2: “FIG. 1 shows a system for early-stage prognosis, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure. System 100 comprises a memory 110, which stores a plurality of processing modules or logical instructions that are executed by processor 105 coupled to computer 101. Besides processor 105 and memory 110, computer 101 also includes user input and output devices such as a keyboard, mouse, stylus, and a display/touchscreen. As will be explained in the following discussion, processor 105 executes logical instructions stored on memory 110, performing image analysis and other quantitative operations resulting in an output of results to a user operating computer 101 or via a network. For instance, input data 102 may provide a means for inputting image data from one or more scanned IHC slides to memory 110.”; Barnes has the ability to communicate over network and allows an input image to be received over network or input directly by a user to the system).
Regarding claim 21, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable storage media of claim 1.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges include one or more of: a tumor cell category; a stromal cell category; or a lymphocyte category.
Madabhushi further teaches
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges include one or more of: a tumor cell category; a stromal cell category; or a lymphocyte category (Madabhushi, para. [0020]: “embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei.” (see Examiner claim interpretation of this claim in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the identified cell type categories, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, to include one or more of: a tumor cell category; a stromal cell category; or a lymphocyte category, as further taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “improved prediction of response may produce the technical effect of improving the administration of chemotherapy or immunotherapy, by increasing the accuracy of and decreasing the time required to determine if a patient is likely or unlikely to respond; treatments and resources, including expensive immunotherapy or chemotherapy agents may be more accurately tailored to patients with a likelihood of benefiting from said treatments and resources, including responding to immunotherapy, so that more appropriate treatment protocols may be employed, and expensive resources are not wasted, when digitized H&E images are more accurately and more quickly assessed for likelihood of response.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, and Madabhushi, with Madabhushi further, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 21.
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2021/0279866 (Svekolkin et al.) (hereinafter Svekolkin).
Regarding claim 13, Barnes teaches a method for characterizing patient tissue of a patient, the method comprising: (Barnes, abstract: “The subject disclosure presents systems and computer-implemented methods for providing reliable risk stratification for early-stage cancer patients by predicting a recurrence risk of the patient and to categorize the patient into a high or low risk group. A series of slides depicting serial sections of cancerous tissue are automatically analyzed by a digital pathology system, a score for the sections is calculated, and a Cox proportional hazards regression model is used to stratify the patient into a low or high-risk group.”)
receiving a pathological image of patient tissue of a patient, the patient tissue including a plurality of cells (Barnes, para. [0064]; para. [0056]; FIG. 2B: “FIG. 4 shows a method for early-stage prognosis, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure. This method may use components described with reference to system 100, or other components that perform similar functions. For instance, an image series corresponding to a single patient undergoing diagnosis may be received (S401) from an imaging system or any other input. The image series may include data in the form of color channels or frequency channels representing serial sections of tissue stained with various biomarkers. Example biomarkers include biomarkers for estrogen receptors (ER), human epidermal growth factor receptors 2 (HER2), Ki-67, and progesterone receptors (PR). The imaging system may include the ISCAN COREO™ product of the assignee Ventana Medical Systems, Inc. The image data corresponds to cancerous or significantly cancerous sections retrieved from a single patient.”; “FIG. 2A shows a series of images of serial tissue sections, according to an exemplary embodiment of the subject disclosure;
);
simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system, the nuclei of the plurality of cells segmented according to spatial location and classified according to cell type (Barnes, para. [0065]; para. [0057]; FIG. 4; FIG. 2A; para. [0013]: “Once the image data is received (S401), an image in a series of images corresponding to slides comprising serial tissue sections may be displayed on a user interface for field-of-view (FOV) selection and annotation (S403). Several annotation mechanisms (S403) may be provided, such as designating known or irregular shapes, or defining an anatomic region of interest (e.g., tumor region). In one example, the field of view is a whole slide, whole tumor region, or whole tissue section. The annotation (S403) annotates the FOV on the first slide and a registration operation (S405) maps the annotations across the remainder of the slides. As described herein, several methods for annotation and registration may be utilized, depending on the defined FOV. For example, a whole tumor region on a Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide from among the plurality of serial slides may be defined, and registration operation (S405) maps and transfers the whole tumor annotations from the H&E slide to each of the remaining IHC slides in the series. Alternatively, representative regions or “hot spots” may be identified on a Ki67 digitized whole slide, and may be mapped to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides.”; Hematoxylin and Eosin (H&E) slide is a histology-based digitial staining system.; “FIG. 2B shows an alternate means for FOV selection using representative regions or “hot spots” 231 on a Ki67 digitized whole slide 225. Hot spots are specific regions of the whole slide that contain relatively high and heterogeneous amounts of Ki67 protein. The FOV 231 may, for instance, be in the form of a rectangular shape 231. Other embodiments may provide a manually drawn FOV selection, or automated image analysis algorithms may highlight such FOV regions on the Ki67 slide 225. An inter-marker registration operation as described above may be used to map these “hot spots” to equivalent annotated regions on the other IHC slides such as ER 226, PR 227, and H&E slide 228. Shown on the right hand side of FIG. 2B are the zoomed-in versions of these hot spots, depicted at 20× magnification. Additional IHC slides are not depicted by FIG. 2B or 2A may be similarly annotated, such as HER2. In either case, whether the whole tumor or only “hot spots” are annotated, the corresponding regions on the remaining slides necessarily correspond to similar tissue types, assuming the magnification remains constant across the series.”;
;
;
“A ‘multi-channel image’ as understood herein encompasses a digital image obtained from a biological tissue sample in which different biological structures, such as nuclei and tissue structures, are simultaneously stained with specific fluorescent dyes, each of which fluoresces in a different spectral band thus constituting one of the channels of the multi-channel image. The biological tissue sample may be stained by a plurality of stains and/or by a stain and a counterstain, the later being also referred to as a “single marker image””);
generating one or more groups of nuclei, the one or more groups of nuclei individually having identified cell type categories selected from a group of cell type categories (Barnes, para. [0009]; para. [0073]: “In one exemplary embodiment, the subject disclosure includes an image analysis system and computer implemented method for early stage cancer prognosis. Digitized whole slide images of serial section tissue slides are stained with the desired set of histopathological assays (H&E, IHC) utilizing either simplex or multiplex methodologies to evaluate the tumor and immune marker expressions in the tissue. Such staining methods may include, for example, (1) mapping one or more regions (all the tumor regions on the whole slide, specific “marker hotspots” i.e., tumor sub-regions where a particular marker is over-expressed, immune specific regions from the tissue microenvironment, stromal regions which are adjacent to tumor regions) annotated on a digitized image of the first tissue slide (example, H&E slide or Ki67 slide) or subset of a selected few slides (like H&E and Ki-67) to digitized images of each of a plurality of tissue slides, wherein the plurality of tissue slides correspond to serial sections from a tissue block”; “Since there is variability between the image data obtained from different markers, a different classifier can be trained for each different biomarker so as to ensure better performance on unseen test data, where the biomarker type of the test data will be known. The trained classifier can be selected based at least in part on how best to handle training data variability, for example, in tissue type, staining protocol, and other features of interest, for slide interpretation. The system can analyze a specific region of an image based at least in part on information within that region, as well as information outside of that region. In some embodiments, a multi-stage binary classifier can identify positive and negative nuclei. The positive nuclei can be distinguished from the negative nuclei, lymphocytes, and stroma. Additionally, the negative cells and lymphocytes can be distinguished from stroma. Lymphocytes are then distinguished from the negative nuclei. In further classification, the positive cells can be distinguished from background cells. For example, if the positive cells have brown stained nuclei, the background cells may exhibit cytoplasmic blush that can be filtered out. Based at least in part on the number of positive/negative nuclei, a score (e.g., a whole-slide score) can be determined”; it is clear from Barnes that different groups of nuclei are identified in the images in cell categories such as positive nuclei and negative nuclei that are distinguished from other cells such as lymphocyte and stromal cells);
determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on the one or more groups of nuclei (Barnes, para. [0066]; para. [0078]: “Given the FOV, image analysis operations are used to compute scores (S407) for each slide. The scores for each slide may be based on a determination of a percent positivity, as well as a regional heterogeneity. Tumor nuclei that are positively and negatively stained for a particular biomarker, such as Ki67, ER, PR, HER2, etc. are counted, and a percent positivity is computed. Additional scoring mechanisms may be employed, such as H-scores representing regional heterogeneity of a particular marker or protein … The resulting slide-level scores may be combined together to generate IHC3, IHC4, or IHCn scores for the series of slides, depending on the number of individually-stained slides. Any scores computed from the H&E slide can also be included to the information from IHC slides to accordingly specify a different risk scoring metric. The scores are based on, for example, a whole-tumor FOV selection or on a “hot spot” FOV selection.”; “In some embodiments, a computer system can be programmed to automatically identify features in an image of a specimen based at least in part on one or more selection criteria, including criteria based at least in part on color characteristics, sample morphology (e.g., cell component morphology, cell morphology, tissue morphology, anatomical structure morphology, etc.), tissue characteristics (e.g., density, composition, or the like), spatial parameters (e.g., arrangement of tissue structures, relative positions between tissue structures, etc.), image characteristic parameters, or the like. If the features are nuclei, the selection criteria can include, without limitation, color characteristics, nuclei morphology (e.g., shape, dimensions, composition, etc.), spatial parameters (e.g., position of nuclei in cellular structure, relative position between nuclei, etc.), image characteristics, combinations thereof, or the like. After detecting candidate nuclei, algorithms can be used automatically to provide a score or information about the entire analyzed image.”); and
generating a prognosis model for the patient based on one or more features (Barnes, para. [0054]; para. [0049]: “For instance, in a clinical or diagnostic workflow, when a new slide series comprising H&E and IHC slides from a new patient is input into system 100, and annotations generated and FOVs analyzed using image analysis algorithms to output scores, the corresponding IHC3/IHC4 formulae with specific coefficients are used to compute the whole-slide score for that patient. If whole tumor annotations are performed, WholeTumor_IHC3 and WholeTumor_IHC4 scores may be computed. If “hot spot” annotations are performed, Ki67_HotspotBased_IHC3 and Ki67_HotspotBased_IHC4 scores may be computed. The cutoff points for these scores are used to provide a prognosis for the patient, i.e. stratifying their risk group, based on the cutoff points generated during comparisons of training data with survival curves.”; “In this embodiment, Cox modeling module 114 may be trained by comparing the biomarker/IHC scores for individual slides with survival data comprising populations of high and low risks to determine whole-slide scoring algorithms depending on the type of FOV selection and annotation/registration being used. A cutoff point is determined that matches the input survival data, using a log-rank-test statistic to determine an accurate prediction of low and high risk. The scoring algorithms and cutoff points generated during training may be used to analyze new patient slides and provide a risk assessment or prognosis via risk stratification module 115.”)
Barnes fails to teach
generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image; and simultaneously segmenting and classifying the nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system by applying the one or more masks.
Jung teaches
generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image; and simultaneously segmenting and classifying the nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system by applying the one or more masks (Jung, page 4, right column; section Nuclei Segmentation; pages 5-6; FIG. 3: “Mask R-CNN [31] is a state-of-the-art object segmentation framework that can identify not only the location of any object but also its segmented mask. Mask R-CNN extends the object detection model Faster R-CNN [32] by adding a third branch for predicting segmentation masks to the existing branches for classification and bounding box regression. Mask R-CNN is a two-stage framework. In the first stage, it scans an input image and finds areas that may contain an object using a Region Proposal Network (RPN). It predicts the classes of proposed areas, refines the bounding box, and generates masks for an object at the pixel level in the next stage based on the proposed areas from the first stage … “While the original Mask R-CNN used 5 scales with box areas starting from 1282, which is suitable for the COCO dataset, we modify the anchor sizes since nuclei are much smaller than the objects in the COCO dataset. We obtain segmentation results of Mask R-CNN on the top 1000 candidates to detect a large number of nuclei.”; “we apply Mask R-CNN as well as color normalization and multiple inference to segment nuclei in H&E stained histopathology images”; Mask R-CNN is used for simultaneous object detection and instance segmentation; In Mask R-CNN, the nucleus is segmented from the rest of the image; it means the nucleus pixels will be assigned a color (say blue) and all the background pixels will be assigned yellow which is a simultaneous segmentation and classification;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the method, as taught by Barnes, to include the step of generating, using a mask regional convolutional neural network (Mask R-CNN) comprising a region proposal network, a classification branch, and a mask-generation branch, one or more masks corresponding to nuclei of the plurality of cells in the pathological image, as taught by Jung; further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the step of simultaneously segmenting and classifying nuclei of the plurality of cells using a histology-based digital staining system, as taught by Barnes, to be done by applying the one or more masks, as further taught by Jung.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using a Mask R-CNN allows for highly accurate instance segmentation, meaning it not only detects objects but also precisely delineates their boundaries simultaneously which allows for accurate identification of multiple instances of the same object in images; this has application in medical imaging where there can be numerous nuclei of cells in a tissue image.
Barnes, in view of Jung, fails to teach
wherein the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells producing nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to each of the nuclei; determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results; and generating a prognostic model for the patient based on one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity.
Madabhushi teaches
the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells producing nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to each of the nuclei (Madabhushi, para. [0021]; para. [0035]; para. [0006]; FIG. 2: “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes.”; “Operations 100 also includes, at 140, generating at least one nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the plurality of segmented cellular nuclei. In one embodiment, a node of the at least one nuclear CG is defined on a centroid of a member of the plurality of cellular nuclei. A first node is connected to a second, different node based on a Euclidean distance between the first node and the second node. In another embodiment, the centroid of a local nuclei cluster is used as a node, and a plurality of nodes is used to construct the global CG. The probability a first node will be linked with a second, different node is based on an exponentially decaying function of the Euclidean distance between the nodes.”; “FIG. 2 illustrates segmented cellular nuclei in NSCLC tissue”;
);
determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei by applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results (Madabhushi, para. [0023]; para. [0045]: “Embodiments compute a set of cell graph features based on the CG. The set of cell graph features capture tumor morphology within the microenvironment of the tumor. These features may include first-order statistics (e.g. mean, mode, median) of the representative descriptors. In one embodiment, the set of cell graph features may include a Delaunay side length disorder of the cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a Delaunay ratio of the minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by cells feature. The set of cell graph features may also include a number of possible triangles formed from cells (i.e., nodes) of the cell graph feature. Other cell graph features may be computed”; “Operations 1100 also includes, at 1130, extracting a set of cellular graph (CG) features from the set of digitized images. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes at least one of a Delaunay triangulation feature or a Voronoi feature. In one embodiment, the set of CG features includes a side length disorder of a Delaunay triangulation feature, a ratio of minimum and maximum triangular areas formed by nodes of the CG, and a number of possible polygons formed by nodes of the CG. In this embodiment, a polygon is a triangle.”); and
generating a prognostic model for the patient based on one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity (Madabhushi, para. [0038]; para. [0020]-[0021]: “Operations 100 also includes, at 150, providing the set of nuclear radiomic features and the set of CG features to a machine learning classifier … operations 100 also includes, at 160, receiving, from the machine learning classifier, a probability that the ROT will respond to immunotherapy. The machine learning classifier computes the probability based, at least in part, on the set of nuclear radiomic features and the set of CG features … Operations 100 also includes, at 170, generating a classification of the ROT as a responder or non-responder based on the probability. The classification is generated, based, at least in part, on the probability. For example, embodiments may classify the region of tissue as likely to respond to immunotherapy when the probability >=0.5, and may classify the region of tissue as unlikely to respond to immunotherapy when the probability <0.5. Other classification schemes may be employed.”; outputting the level of response of a subject to a treatment meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “prognosis model” because predicting a patient's response to treatment is a crucial part of their overall prognosis (the likely course of a disease or ailment); “Embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei. Nodes may be connected based on distance metrics such as Euclidean Distance between nodes, or the L1 norm.”; “Embodiments quantitatively evaluate the spatial arrangement of nuclei through the construction of a CG or CGs. A graph is a mathematical construct comprising of a finite sets of objects (nodes) that capture global and local relationships via pair-wise connections (edges) between the nodes. Graphs may be used to quantitatively characterize nuclear architecture in histopathological images by representing the nuclei as nodes and subsequently quantifying neighborhood relationships (e.g., proximity) and spatial arrangement between the nodes.”; see FIG. 1 steps 130 for feature extraction and steps 160-170 for prognosis model).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to: 1) modify the segmentation and classification of the nuclei of the plurality of cells, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to produce nuclei segmentation results including spatial locations of a plurality of centroids corresponding to each of the nuclei, as taught by Madabhushi; 2) modify the step of determining a composition and a spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue based on one or more groups of nuclei, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to include applying a triangulation algorithm to the spatial locations of the plurality of plurality of centroids of the nuclei segmentation results, as taught by Madabhushi; 3) modify the step of generating a prognostic model for the patient based on one or more features, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, to have features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity, as taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “this technique improves on those employed by existing approaches to segmenting nuclei by being computationally simpler and faster; this technique also facilitates the adjustment and fine-tuning of parameters with greater simplicity than techniques used by existing approaches, thereby providing the technical effect of improving the performance of computers, systems, or other apparatus on which embodiments are implemented” (Madabhushi, para. [0033]); further suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that a “personalized cancer treatment plan may be generated based, at least in part, on the classification and at least one of the probability, the set of nuclear radiomic features, the set of CG features, or the digitized image … defining a personalized cancer treatment plan facilitates delivering a particular treatment that will be therapeutically active to the patient, while minimizing negative or adverse effects experienced by the patient” (Madabhushi, para. [0051]-[0053]).
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
generating a spatial connectivity matrix encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells; and one or more features derived from the spatial connectivity matrix, the one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity.
Svekolkin teaches
generating a spatial connectivity matrix with edges encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells and the identified cell type categories (Svekolkin, para. [0222]-[0223]: “The computing device then computes, based on the graph representation of the tissue 776, the local cell features at step 752B. The local cell features can include information about the cells that can be determined based on the cell data 774 and/or the graph 776. For example, the local cell features can include, for each cell, a cell type, cell neighbors determined based on the edges of the graph 776, neighboring cell types, neighbor distance data (e.g., median distance to neighbors, mask-related data (e.g., a percentage of area filled with positive pixels for marker masks under each cell (e.g., a CD31 mask for blood vessels, etc.)), and/or the like. Each node can therefore have an associated set of local data points (e.g., represented as a vector). In some embodiments, the node data can include the cell type, which can be encoded using a plurality of variables. For example, if there are seven discovered cell types in the tissue sample, then “cell type 6” can be encoded as [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 0]. In some embodiments, the node data can include the median value of lengths of all node edges for the cell. In some embodiments, the node data can include the percentage of positive pixels of a given mask for a cell, which can be extended to include data for each of a plurality of masks (if present). In some embodiments, the data can include the percentage of the cells located within one or more masks of selected markers (e.g., a percentage of the area of the cell mask filled with positive cells). Such mask-based data can allow the computing device to leverage information about cells and/or structures that may otherwise be difficult to segment. As a result, in some embodiments the total number of data points for each node is L, which is the sum of (1) the number of cell types, (2) the number of masks to consider (if any), and (3) a value for the median distance of edges of given node. The graph 776 can be encoded for input into the graph neural network 772. In some embodiments, the node information can be stored in a matrix with dimensionality n by L, where n is a number of nodes and L is the number of node features. In some embodiments, the graph is encoded, such as into a sparse adjacency matrix (e.g., with dimensionality n by n nodes), into an adjacency list of edges, and/or the like.” (see Examiner interpretation of this claim limitation in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above regarding the edges encoding the identified cell type categories); and
one or more features derived from the spatial connectivity matrix, the one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity (Svekolkin, para. [0222]; see above discussing local cell features such as inter-cell distance of nodes in the spatial graph; and neighborhood diversity; para. [0139]; para. [0228]: “The computing device 116 uses the information about the cell locations, cell types, and/or other information (e.g., information regarding physical parameters of the cells, such as cell area information, density information, etc.) to determine characteristics 106 of the tissue sample, including determining information regarding neighboring cells (e.g., neighboring cell types) and/or the organization of the cells in the tissue sample. For example, the computing device 116 can determine the neighboring cell types of cells of a cell type of interest. Such neighboring cell type information can be indicative of, for example, whether at least some of the cells of the cell type of interest are (a) closely clustered together in one or more clusters (e.g., if the cells of interest largely neighbor each other), (b) are distributed throughout the tissue sample (e.g., if the cells of interest mostly neighbor other types of cells in the tissue sample), (c) are grouped together with one or more other cell types in the tissue sample (e.g., if the cells of interest mostly neighbor the one or more other cell types in the tissue sample), and/or other cell neighbor information.”; “At step 756, the cell embeddings (including the neighborhood data) are clustered to determine one or more clusters 778. Various clustering techniques can be used to determine the clusters. For example, as described herein the techniques can include using a centroid-based clustering algorithm (e.g., K-means)”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the method, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, to include the step of generating a spatial connectivity matrix with edges encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells, and the identified cell type categories, and deriving one or more features from the spatial connectivity matrix, the one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity, as taught by Svekolkin.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using a spatial connectivity matrix in Graph Neural Networks (GNNs) captures underlying physical or logical relationships, allowing models to learn complex spatial patterns, integrate multimodal data (like gene expression with location), improve interpretability by revealing tissue organization or network hubs, and achieve better performance in tasks like predicting disease states or user behavior by understanding how entities influence their neighbors.
Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, teaches generating a prognostic model for the patient based on one or more features derived from the spatial connectivity matrix, the one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity (Madabhushi teaches generating a prognostic model for the patient based on one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity; Svekolkin teaches generating a spatial connectivity matrix encoding one or more topological relationships among the plurality of cells, and deriving one or more features from the spatial connectivity matrix, the one or more features including an inter-cell connectivity, a density distribution, and a neighborhood diversity; the spatial connectivity matrix taught by Svekolkin is easily integrated into the prognosis of Madabhushi (they both teach creating cell/nucleus graphs from extracted cell/nucleus features with nodes and edges); the spatial connectivity matrix is simply a mathematical form for the extracted feature data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, with Jung, Madabhushi, and Svekolkin, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin teaches the method of claim 13, wherein a treatment for the patient is optimized based on the prognostic model (Barnes, para. [0006]: “Patients with localized (early stage, resectable) breast cancer undergoing curative surgery and/or therapy have an underlying risk of local or distant cancer recurrence while those patients who experience recurrence exhibit an increased mortality rate. Depending on the size of risk, different treatment options exist. Thus, an assay that allows one to reliably identify patients with a low or high risk of cancer recurrence is needed. Accordingly, technologies are also needed that can reliably discriminate between high and low risk patients and provide healthcare providers with additional information to consider when determining a patient's treatment options.”).
Regarding claim 15, Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the composition and the spatial organization of a tumor microenvironment of the patient tissue is determined based on the image features extracted from the pathological image using the triangulation algorithm, the triangulation algorithm being a Delaunay triangulation (Madabhushi, para. [0023]; para. [0045]; see rejection of claim 13 above; Delaunay triangulation is used to extract features from the cell graph).
Regarding claim 16, Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin teaches the method of claim 15.
Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, fails to teach
wherein the image features are associated with transcriptional activity of biological pathways.
Svekolkin further teaches
wherein the image features are associated with transcriptional activity of biological pathways (Svekolkin, para. [0184]; FIG. 11: “FIG. 11 is a diagram pictorially illustrating another exemplary use of a trained neural network 1100 to process immunofluorescence images to generate cell location/segmentation data 1102, according to some embodiments of the technology described herein. In this example, the MxIF image 1110 includes DAPI marker image 1112, and NaKATPase marker image 1114, where DAPI is a fluorescent DNA stain and NaKATPase is a membrane marker. It should be appreciated that DAPI, NaKATPase, and/or other markers can be used. For example, other markers can include a cytoplasm marker S6, a membrane marker PCK26, Carbonic anhydrase IX (CAIX), CD3, and/or the like. The computing device uses the trained neural network 1100 to process the DAPI marker image 1112 and the NaKATPase marker image 1114 to generate the cell location/segmentation information 1102.”; the claim term “transcriptional activity of biological pathways” refers to how gene expression (making RNA from DNA) within a pathway is regulated, controlled by Transcription Factors (TFs); DAPI marker images stains DNA blue, marking cell nuclei, and while it shows chromatin density, changes in its intensity or distribution can indirectly relate to transcriptional activity by reflecting chromatin condensation; DAPI fluorescence lifetime imaging (FLIM) can reveal DNA-protein interactions, hinting at transcriptional states; therefore extracting features from a DAPI marker image meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term “transcriptional activity of biological pathways”;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the image features, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, to be associated with transcriptional activity of biological pathways, as further taught by Svekolkin.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that DAPI binds strongly to DNA, staining the nucleus blue, allowing researchers to easily find, count, and segment cells in images, a prerequisite for any gene expression study; when used with fluorescent in situ hybridization (FISH) for mRNA (to see active transcription) or antibodies for transcription factors, DAPI provides the nuclear boundary, showing where within the cell the transcription is happening (e.g., in the nucleus vs. cytoplasm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, Madabhushi, and Svekolkin, with Svekolkin further, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, teaches the method of claim 13.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, fails to teach
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the edges includes includes at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophages category, a lymphocytes category, a red blood cell category, or a karyorrhexis category.
Madabhushi further teaches
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the edges includes at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophages category, a lymphocytes category, a red blood cell category, or a karyorrhexis category (Madabhushi, para. [0020]: “embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei.” (see both of Examiner claim interpretations of this claim in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the identified cell type categories, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in view of Svekolkin, to include at least one of a tumor cell category, a stromal cell category, a macrophages category, a lymphocytes category, a red blood cell category, or a karyorrhexis category, as further taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “improved prediction of response may produce the technical effect of improving the administration of chemotherapy or immunotherapy, by increasing the accuracy of and decreasing the time required to determine if a patient is likely or unlikely to respond; treatments and resources, including expensive immunotherapy or chemotherapy agents may be more accurately tailored to patients with a likelihood of benefiting from said treatments and resources, including responding to immunotherapy, so that more appropriate treatment protocols may be employed, and expensive resources are not wasted, when digitized H&E images are more accurately and more quickly assessed for likelihood of response.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, Madabhushi, and Svekolkin, with Madabhushi further, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2013/0230230 (Ajemba et al.) (hereinafter Ajemba).
Regarding claim 8, Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi teaches the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 7.
Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
wherein each of the centroids of the nuclei of the plurality of cells is defined as a vertex on a feature graph and edges between sets of vertices correspond to the connections for different cell types. Ajemba teaches
wherein each of the centroids of the nuclei of the plurality of cells is defined as a vertex on a feature graph and edges between sets of vertices correspond to the connections for different cell types (Ajemba, para. [0160]-[0161]; FIG. 12G: “FIG. 12G is a flowchart of illustrative stages involved in ring segmentation by a graph process based upon clustering a triangulation of epithelial nuclei according to some embodiments of the present invention. Some embodiments of the present invention operate based on the principle that a key geometric property of a “ring” of points, possibly including some interior points not on the ring boundary is that the points are more closely spaced around the boundary than in the interior or exterior of the ring. In some embodiments of the present invention, a suitably initialized watershed process on a graph captures this property. At stage 1254, Delaunay triangulation with epithelial nuclei centers as vertices is performed. In some embodiments of the present invention, the triangle connectivity graph is the Voronoi diagram. At stage 1256, a “depth” is assigned to each triangle, for example, equal to the length of the longest side. At stage 1258, a sort by depth is performed, and then starting from the deepest triangles, neighboring regions (e.g., 3 neighboring regions) are examined and regions are merged if the length of the common side is at least, for example, 90% of the depth of the neighbor, and if both regions touch the same epithelial units”;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the each of the centroids of the nuclei of the plurality of cells, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, to be defined as a vertex on a feature graph and edges between sets of vertices correspond to the connections for different cell types, as taught by Ajemba.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that “an advantage of a graph-based watershed method over a pixel-based algorithm is that it is more convenient to track region statistics within the algorithm and to apply fine-tuned region merging criteria (Ajemba, para. [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, and Madabhushi, with Ajemba, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnes, in view of Jung, in view of Madabhushi, and in further view of well-known art (Official Notice).
Regarding claim 22, Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches the system of claim 19.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to teach
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges includes one or more of any possible cell types having nuclei.
Madabhushi further teaches
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges includes one or more of any possible cell types having nuclei (Madabhushi, para. [0020]: “Embodiments further construct a nuclear cell graph (CG) based on the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E stained image. In one embodiment, the cell graph is a global cell graph in which each nucleus represented in the digitized H&E stained image defines a node of the graph. Embodiments may define nodes on all the cellular nuclei represented in the digitized H&E image. Thus, embodiments may define nodes of the CG on different types of nuclei. For example, embodiments may define nodes on cancer cell nuclei and on tumor infiltrating lymphocytes, or on other types of cellular nuclei.”; Madabhushi teaches that any types of cellular nuclei may be nodes in the special connectivity graph connected by edges).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the identified cell type categories, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, to include one or more of any possible cell types having nuclei, as further taught by Madabhushi.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using all possible types of cell nuclei as nodes in a spatial connectivity graph creates a complete map of tissue by capturing every cell interaction’ this avoids bias and keeps all micro-environment details.
Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, fails to expressly teach
wherein the identified cell type categories encoded by the one or more edges includes one or more of: a macrophage category; a red blood cell category; or a karyorrhexis category.
The Examiner takes Official Notice, that it was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the nuclei of cell types such as a macrophage cell to be included in a spatial connectivity graph; non-patent literature Wikipedia article on “Macrophage” teaches a white blood cell of the innate immune system having a nucleus (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macrophage); therefore, since Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, teaches defining nodes for a spatial connectivity graph for any type of cell having a cell nuclei such as lymphocytes, the well-known art makes clear that macrophage is included in the list of possible cells having nuclei; therefore, selecting macrophage for spatial connectivity maps for its nuclei is a well-known design choice (see both of Examiner claim interpretations of this claim in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify the identified cell type categories, as taught by Barnes, in view of Jung, and in view of Madabhushi, to include a macrophage category.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that using macrophage nuclei as nodes in a spatial connectivity graph allows computational models to map precise cell-to-cell interactions, link nuclear morphology to local microenvironment pressures, and evaluate how physical confinement alters immune behavior; macrophage nuclear shape changes depending on tissue crowding or scaffold constraints, giving direct clues about their inflammatory or pro-regenerative state, thus better helping a patient identify tumors and cancer prognosis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Barnes, Jung, and Madabhushi, with Madabhushi further and well-known art, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 22.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ADAM SHARIFF/
Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672