Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 15, 17, 24-26, 29 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the D1 U.S. Pub. 2019/0052996 to Sahai in view of U.S. Pub. 2016/0066176 to Zhang and U.S. Pub. 2021/0058891 to Huang.
Regarding claim 1, Sahai (D1 in the written opinion) teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration indicating a pattern of PRS resources transmitted by at least one network node (see Fig. 4A and section [0062] which teaches “The PRS configuration parameters such as the number of consecutive positioning subframes, periodicity, muting pattern, etc. may be configured by network 130 and may be signaled to UE 120 (e.g. by LS 150)”, where the location server (LS) is the recited “network entity” and the eNB 140 is the “serving network node”, and see sections [0089] to [0097], which describe steps 402-420 in Fig. 4A); and
transmitting a proposed measurement gap pattern to a serving network node, the proposed measurement gap pattern enabling the UE to measure at least a subset of PRS resources transmitted by each of the at least one network node, the proposed measurement gap pattern determined based on the pattern of PRS resources (see steps 430 and 440 in Fig. 4A, as in sections [0087]-[0088] and [0097] to [0108], where the UE transmits and/or requests the measurement gap pattern as recited).
Regarding the feature of claim 1 which recites “transmitting a proposed measurement gap pattern to a serving network node in a medium access control control element (MAC-CE)”, Zhang is added.
In an analogous art Zhang teaches a PRS wireless system which where the eNB and UE determine measurement gaps. See Fig. 4C and section [0038] which teaches “In some embodiments, both request from eNB and response from UE are carried in either MAC-CE information element or RRC signaling information element, both of which are transmitted over wireless air interface between eNB and UE”.
Therefore, as both Sahai and Zhang teach determining measurement gaps for UEs to measure PRS, and as Zhang teaches using a MAC-CE for communications, it would have been obvious to modify the UE signaling of Sahai to be as recited, for the reasons as in Zhang, which are that MAC-CEs are an established and conventional way to signal information between UE and base station.
Regarding the amendment to claim 1 which recites “determining, based on the pattern of PRS resources, a proposed measurement gap pattern having a plurality of measurement gaps at a symbol level for a specified bandwidth”, see for example, sections [0030] to [0032] of Sahai which teach the UE configuring the length of the gap, and see Figs. 2A and 2B and sections [0065] to [0070] of Sahai which teach that the PRS gap is determined in slots and subframes. Therefore, although Sahai teaches (in sections [0100], [0109], [0156]) the use of symbols for transmission of other channels, as Sahai does not explicitly teach that the gap is “at a symbol level”, Huang is added.
In an analogous art Huang teaches a PRS system where the eNB and UE determine and adjust measurement gaps. See for example, sections [0017] to [0029] and Tables 1 and 2, which teach that the PRS gaps are defined in terms of symbols and slots (which result in ms time periods similar to Sahai). See also section [0138] which teaches “the measurement gap pattern is determined based on an OFDM symbol pattern information of the PRS resource”.
Therefore, as all of Sahai, Zhang and Huang teach determining measurement gaps for UEs to measure PRS, and as Huang teaches that the measurement gaps are defined “at a symbol level”, it would have been obvious to modify the measurement gap determining of Sahai to be as recited, as any time gap may be calculated or expressed in terms of time/frequency resources, subframes or slots, as these are all conventionally used to determine the gap.
Regarding this amended feature, language such as “defining a measurement gap to be an integer number of symbols” is more meaningful and/or specific than the descriptive language that the gap “is at a symbol level”. As described above, and as in section [0134] of the published application, a gap may be defined in terms of time, symbols, subframes or slots. Therefore, any gap in the prior art references may also be interpreted to be defined in terms of symbols, subframes or slots.
Regarding independent claim 24, which recites the same features as claim 1 (except in apparatus form), see the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, which recites “further comprising: determining, for each network node of the at least one network node, a set of time resources during which the UE can receive at least the subset of PRS resources from the at least one network node, wherein the proposed measurement gap pattern is a union of the plurality of sets of time resources”, as in the written opinion see sections [0048], [0096] to [0098], [0103] to [0105], [0114], [0129] to [0134], [0148], [0151] and see also sections [0023] to [0024], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0056], [0059], [0094]-[0095], [0119], [0139] and [0159] of Sahai, which teach that the patterns are formed by the base stations, which use the time resources which is the recited “union” (i.e. all the time periods together form the gap).
Regarding claim 3, which recite “wherein the proposed measurement gap pattern includes a plurality of measurement gaps”, as described above, see sections [0028], [0048], [0096] to [0098], [0103] to [0105], [0114], [0129] to [0134], [0139], [0148], [0151] and [0159] of Sahai, which teach the conventionality of a plurality of recurring measurement gaps.
Regarding claim 6, which recites “wherein locations in time of the plurality of measurement gaps are determined with respect to a mini-slot, slot, subframe, or frame boundary”, see sections [0046] to [0048], [0057] to [0059], [0065] to [0076] and [0094] to [0103] of Sahai, which teach the gaps in frames or sub-frames, as recited.
Regarding claim 8, which recites “wherein a periodicity of the plurality of measurement gaps is specified to account for repetitions of at least the subset of PRS resources of each of the at least one network node”, as in the written opinion, see sections [0032], [0049]-[0050], [0099], and [0103] of Sahai which teach that the periodicity of the gap accounts for the PRS resources, so that the signals do not interfere or overlap, as recited.
Regarding claim 9, which recites “wherein a periodicity of the proposed measurement gap pattern is specified to account for each PRS resource instance of the PRS configuration”, as in the written opinion, see sections [0032], [0049]-[0050], [0099], and [0103] of Sahai, which teach the conventionality that the periodicity of the gap accounts for the PRS resources, so that the signals do not interfere or overlap, as recited.
Regarding claim 15, which recite “wherein: the proposed measurement gap pattern includes a plurality of measurement gaps, and locations in time of the plurality of measurement gaps are determined with respect to timing of the MAC-CE”, as described above, Sahai teaches the plurality of measurement gaps and Zhang teaches using the MAC-CE timing, therefore, the combination of these references would teach and/or render obvious this feature, as recited.
Regarding claim 17, which recite “wherein the at least one network node includes the serving network node”, as described above, the base station eNBs (or “network nodes”) of Sahai include the currently serving base station eNB node, as recited.
Regarding claim 25, which recites “further comprising: determining, for each network node of the at least one network node, a set of time resources during which the UE can receive at least the subset of PRS resources from the at least one network node, wherein the proposed measurement gap pattern is a union of the plurality of sets of time resources”, as in the written opinion see sections [0048], [0096] to [0098], [0103] to [0105], [0114], [0129] to [0134], [0148], [0151] and see also sections [0023] to [0024], [0036], [0041]-[0042], [0056], [0059], [0094]-[0095], [0119], [0139] and [0159], which teach that the patterns are formed by the base stations, which use the time resources which is the recited “union” (i.e. all the time periods together form the gap).
Regarding claim 26, which recites “wherein the proposed measurement gap pattern includes a plurality of measurement gaps”, as described above, see sections [0028], [0048], [0096] to [0098], [0103] to [0105], [0114], [0129] to [0134], [0139], [0148], [0151] and [0159], which teach the conventionality of a plurality of recurring measurement gaps.
Regarding claim 29, which recites “wherein locations in time of the plurality of measurement gaps are determined with respect to a mini-slot, slot, subframe, or frame boundary”, see sections [0046] to [0048], [0057] to [0059], [0065] to [0076] and [0094] to [0103] of Sahai, which teach the gaps in frames or sub-frames, as recited.
Regarding claim 31, which recites “wherein a periodicity of the plurality of measurement gaps is specified to account for repetitions of at least the subset of PRS resources of each of the at least one network node”, as in the written opinion, see sections [0032], [0049]-[0050], [0099], and [0103] of Sahai which teach that the periodicity of the gap accounts for the PRS resources, so that the signals do not interfere or overlap, as recited.
Regarding claim 32, which recites “wherein a periodicity of the proposed measurement gap pattern is specified to account for each PRS resource instance of the PRS configuration”, as in the written opinion, see sections [0032], [0049]-[0050], [0099], and [0103], which teach the conventionality that the periodicity of the gap accounts for the PRS resources, so that the signals do not interfere or overlap, as recited.
Claims 4, 10-11, 27 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the D1 reference to Sahai, Zhang and Huang as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2021/0203460 to Da.
Regarding claim 4, which recites “wherein each measurement gap of the plurality of measurement gaps includes one or more symbols after a last PRS resource within the measurement gap to allow for propagation time between the respective network node and the UE and processing time at the UE”, although Sahai teaches using slots and symbols, Da is added to show symbols after the PRS resources.
In an analogous art, Da teaches a system which determines and sets the PRS resource configurations and measurement gaps. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, and as described throughout and in section [0140] explicitly, Da teaches that a gap between the PRS resources is 2 symbols. It is noted that the phrase “to allow for” is intended use.
Therefore, as both Sahai and Da teach transmitting measurement gaps to UEs (which are formed in slots using symbols) and as Da explicitly teaches setting a gap of 2 symbols after the PRS resources, it would have been obvious to modify the PRS resources of Sahai to have gaps, for the reasons as in Da, which include a number of variations of determining the PRS resources, which results in allowing for a transmission (“propagation”) time (see also section [0157]), as recited.
Regarding claim 10, which recites “wherein the UE indicates a start and end symbol within a slot for each of the plurality of measurement gaps in the proposed measurement gap pattern”, see sections [0055] and [0087] of Sahai, which teach the UE requesting and/or indicating which gaps, and see Da for the starting and ending symbols. Therefore, the combination of Sahai as modified by Da would teach and/or render obvious this feature, as recited.
Regarding claim 11, which recites “wherein the UE indicates a slot for each of the plurality of measurement gaps in the proposed measurement gap pattern”, see for example, sections [0057], [0067] to [0071] and [0074], which teach using slots as recited.
Regarding claim 27, which recites “wherein each measurement gap of the plurality of measurement gaps includes one or more symbols after a last PRS resource within the measurement gap to allow for propagation time between the respective network node and the UE and processing time at the UE”, see in Figs. 1 and 3, and as described throughout and in section [0140] explicitly, Da teaches that a gap between the PRS resources is 2 symbols.
Regarding claim 33, which recites “wherein the UE indicates a start and end symbol within a slot for each of the plurality of measurement gaps in the proposed measurement gap pattern”, see sections [0055] and [0087] of Sahai, which teach the UE requesting and/or indicating which gaps, and see Da for the starting and ending symbols. Therefore, the combination of Sahai as modified by Da would teach and/or render obvious this feature, as recited.
Regarding claim 34, which recites “wherein the UE indicates a slot for each of the plurality of measurement gaps in the proposed measurement gap pattern”, see for example, sections [0057], [0067] to [0071] and [0074], which teach using slots as recited.
Claims 7 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 10,219,108 to Zhou.
Regarding claims 7 and 30, which recite “wherein locations in frequency of the plurality of measurement gaps are determined with respect to a reference frequency resource”, as in the written opinion, although sections [0129] and [0132] and sections [0028] and [0082] of Sahai, teach using F1 (the reference frequency) and F2 for the measurements, Zhou is added to more explicitly teach this feature.
In an analogous art, Zhou teaches a system which defines the PRS resources for a UE. See for example, dependent claim 5 of Zhou which explicitly teaches, “wherein each PRS frequency-shift defines a respective quantity of resource elements by which broadcast of the defined pattern is shifted from a reference frequency position, wherein the plurality of PRS frequency-shifts is two PRS frequency-shifts…”.
Therefore, as both Sahai/Da and Zhou teach transmitting measurement gaps to UEs, and as Zhou explicitly teaches that the frequencies are shifted from a reference frequency, it would have been obvious to modify the PRS measurement gaps resources of Sahai to be shifted as recited, for the reasons as in Zhou, as shifting from a reference is a desirable and conventional way to establish patterns.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2020/0059345 to Pelletier.
Regarding claim 12, which recite “further comprising: determining, based on the UE being able to monitor both an active bandwidth part (BWP) of the UE and a PRS bandwidth for the at least one network node, that the UE does not need additional time for tune-in and tune-out of a PRS measurement mode”, Pelletier is added.
In an analogous art Pelletier teaches a PRS system which determines measurement gaps. See section [0129] which teaches “A WTRU may (e.g., then) determine whether a DL reception gap may be long enough (e.g., is sufficiently long enough), for example, by comparing it to a longest retuning time (e.g., longest retuning time determined)”, where the phrase “may be long enough” refers to the UE assessment that additional time for retune is not needed, as recited (as the previous discussion in this section indicates that when the UE needs more time (gap is not long enough) it must request for more time).
Therefore, as both Sahai/Da and Pelletier teach transmitting measurement gaps to UEs, and as Pelletier explicitly teaches monitoring BWP and determining if more time is needed (or not as recited), it would have been obvious to modify the system of Sahai, as Pelletier teaches the reasons and conventionality that it is critical to ensure that the UE has enough time to monitor these signals given tune-in and tune-out periods.
Regarding claim 13, which recite “wherein the UE does not include additional time for tune-in and tune-out of the PRS measurement mode to the plurality of measurement gaps”, as described above, as both Sahai and Pelletier do not explicitly teach additional time for tune in and tune out, these references teach and/or render obvious that the UE does not include additional time, as recited.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the references as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0101615 to Tenny.
Regarding claim 16, which recite “wherein the proposed measurement gap pattern is transmitted in one or more radio resource control (RRC) protocol data units (PDUs)”, as Sahai does not teach this feature, Tenny is added.
In an analogous art, Tenny teaches a system which allows UEs to perform measurements in gaps based on received patterns from the network. See section [0048] and [0049] of Tenny, which teach transmitting the information related to the gaps via RRC PDU signaling.
Therefore, as both Sahai and Tenny teach transmitting measurement gaps to UEs and as Tenny teaches using radio resource control (RRC) protocol data units (PDUs), it would have been obvious to modify Sahai to use this conventional way of transmitting the measurement gap patters, for the reasons as in Thomas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3-19-26 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
/STEVEN S KELLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646