DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 2/02/2026. Claims 1, 6, 18, 25, and 67 have
been amended. Claims 5 and 23 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 18-20, 22, 25-27, 30,
and 67-68 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 2/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 2/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 15-19), filed on 2/02/2026, with respect to the 102 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (SONG et al. US 2021/0227531 Al) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 18-20, 22, 25-27, 30, 67-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Onggosanusi et al. (US 2020/0100232 Al, hereinafter “Onggosanusi”) in view of SONG et al. (US 2021/0227531 Al, hereinafter “Song”).
Regarding claim 1, Onggosanusi discloses:
An uplink sending method performed by a terminal device, the method comprising (FIG. 9 illustrates a flow diagram 900 for UL beam indication procedure for multiple panels according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure, Onggosanusi: Fig.9, [0189]):
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message sent by a network device, wherein the RRC message is configured to indicate an uplink beam information set, and a plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set correspond to a same antenna panel or different antenna panels of the terminal device (In diagram 900, the UE receives the configuration information on the M reference RS resource sets (step 901). This information is signaled via higher-layer (RRC) signaling. UE is configured with M reference RS resource sets where M can correspond to the number of UE panels in implementation. This setup is particularly relevant when more than one reference RS resources are needed to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission. In Rel.15 NR, this is the case for non-codebook based UL transmission. for transmission schemes that require only one reference RS resource to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission (such as the case for codebook- based UL transmission), instead of associating one reference RS resource set with one UE panel, a panel can be associated with one reference RS resource. In this case, there is no need for configuring a UE with M reference RS resource sets. Rather, the UE can be configured with M reference RS resources. UE receives, from the same base station, and decodes an uplink (UL) beam indication, Onggosanusi: [0189]-[0190], [0211]);
determining a plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set (This procedure is followed by the UE determining, from the UL beam indication, Onggosanusi: [0211]);
receiving a first downlink signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first downlink signaling carries an uplink beam information field, and the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece or a plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information (UL beam indication is done via the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field in UL related DCI which is linked to one (and only one) reference RS. Once the UE receives this configuration, the UE can receive the N-subset selection information via LI or L2 control signaling (step 902). This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, Onggosanusi: [0115], [0189]);
determining target uplink beam information in the plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information based on the uplink beam information field carried by the first downlink signaling and a mapping relationship carried by a media access control (MAC) signaling (UL transmission configuration information/indicator (ULTCI) states can be configured dynamically, via L2 control signaling (such as MAC control element or MAC CE). the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), This procedure is followed by the UE determining, from the UL beam indication, Onggosanusi: [0142], [0189], [0211]),
wherein the mapping relationship is configured to indicate a correspondence between a codepoint of the uplink beam information field and candidate uplink beam information (to accommodate the support for UE panel selection, a code-point for turning off a panel is included in each of the UL-TCI field, Onggosanusi: [0159]); and
determining an uplink sending beam direction corresponding to the target uplink beam information as a target uplink sending beam direction (UE measures the reference RS (and in the process selects an UL TX beam) and reports the beam metric associated with the quality of the reference RS. In this case, the UE determines the TX-RX beam pair for every configured (DL) reference RS, Onggosanusi: [0127]),
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein before receiving the first downlink signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises:
sending antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information,
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches:
wherein before receiving the first downlink signaling sent by the network device, the method further comprises (the terminal forms an uplink transmit beam by using a spatial domain transmission filter, and one spatial relation corresponds to one uplink transmit beam. Song: [0007]):
sending antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information (includes a terminal that support multi-TRP/panel. send uplink information by using beams corresponding to a plurality of spatial relations. the network device configures a candidate spatial relation of each uplink channel/signal for the terminal by using spatialRelationinfo signaling of RRC, Song: [0031], [0034]-[0035]),
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device (the uplink information 1 is multiplexed with the uplink information 2 according to the multiplexing/discarding criterion, and an uplink channel for transmitting uplink information after the multiplexing processing is determined, Song: [0042]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Onggosanusi in view of Song in order to further modify sending antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information, wherein the antenna panel information comprises a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device before receiving the first downlink signaling from the teachings of Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because when a plurality of TRP scenarios are supported, it can improve a communication range and efficiency of a terminal. (Song: [0192]).
Regarding claim 18, Onggosanusi discloses:
An uplink sending method performed by a network device, the method comprising (methods and apparatuses for uplink multi-beam operation, Onggosanusi: [0013]):
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to a terminal device, wherein the RRC message is configured to indicate an uplink beam information set, and a plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set correspond to a same antenna panel or different antenna panels of the terminal device (UL TX beam indication associated with at least one reference RS index/indicator is signaled to the UE via higher-layer (e.g. RRC) signaling. UE receives the configuration information on the M reference RS resource sets (step 901). This information is signaled via higher-layer (RRC) signaling. UE is configured with M reference RS resource sets where M can correspond to the number of UE panels in implementation. This setup is particularly relevant when more than one reference RS resources are needed to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission. In Rel.15 NR, this is the case for non-codebook based UL transmission. for transmission schemes that require only one reference RS resource to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission (such as the case for codebook- based UL transmission), instead of associating one reference RS resource set with one UE panel, a panel can be associated with one reference RS resource. In this case, there is no need for configuring a UE with M reference RS resource sets. Rather, the UE can be configured with M reference RS resources, Onggosanusi: [0168], [0189]-[0190]); and
sending a first downlink signaling to the terminal device (gNB/NW can then indicate the UL TX beam selection (step 604) using the SRI field in the UL-related DCI (that carries the UL grant, such as DCI format 0_1 in NR), Onggosanusi: [0131]);
wherein the first downlink signaling carries an uplink beam information field; and sending a MAC signaling, wherein the MAC signaling carries a mapping relationship, and the mapping relationship is configured to indicate a correspondence wherein the uplink beam information field is configured to determine target uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set by determining a plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set and querying the mapping relationship based on the codepoint of the uplink beam information field, and the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece or a plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information, and (for transmission schemes that require only one reference RS resource to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission (such as the case for codebook- based UL transmission), instead of associating one reference RS resource set with one UE panel, a panel can be associated with one reference RS resource. In this case, there is no need for configuring a UE with M reference RS resource sets. Rather, the UE can be configured with M reference RS resources, UL transmission configuration information/indicator (ULTCI) states can be configured dynamically, via L2 control signaling (such as MAC control element or MAC CE). the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), This procedure is followed by the UE determining, from the UL beam indication, to accommodate the support for UE panel selection, a code-point for turning off a panel is included in each of the UL-TCI field, Onggosanusi: [0142], [0159], [0190], [0211]), and
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein before sending the first downlink signaling to the terminal device, the further comprises:
receiving antenna panel information of the terminal device and send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information,
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches:
wherein before sending the first downlink signaling to the terminal device, the further comprises (the terminal forms an uplink transmit beam by using a spatial domain transmission filter, and one spatial relation corresponds to one uplink transmit beam. Song: [0007]):
receiving antenna panel information of the terminal device and send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information (includes a terminal that support multi-TRP/panel. send uplink information by using beams corresponding to a plurality of spatial relations. the network device configures a candidate spatial relation of each uplink channel/signal for the terminal by using spatialRelationinfo signaling of RRC, Song: [0031], [0034]-[0035]),
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device (the uplink information 1 is multiplexed with the uplink information 2 according to the multiplexing/discarding criterion, and an uplink channel for transmitting uplink information after the multiplexing processing is determined, Song: [0042]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Onggosanusi in view of Song in order to further modify receiving antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information, wherein the antenna panel information comprises a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device before sending the first downlink signaling from the teachings of Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because when a plurality of TRP scenarios are supported, it can improve a communication range and efficiency of a terminal. (Song: [0192]).
Regarding claim 67, Onggosanusi discloses:
A terminal device, comprising (gNB can communicate directly with any number of UEs and provide those UEs with wireless broadband access to the network, Onggosanusi: Fig. 1, [0083]):
a processor (The UE also includes a speaker, a processor, Onggosanusi: [0093]);
a transceiver coupled to the processor (UE includes an antenna, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver, Onggosanusi: [0093]); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (UE also includes a speaker, a processor, an input/output (I/O) interface, an input, a display, and a memory. processor can include one or more processors or other processing devices and execute the OS program stored in the memory, Onggosanusi: [0093], [0096]);
wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message sent by a network device, wherein the RRC message is configured to indicate an uplink beam information set, and a plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set correspond to a same antenna panel or different antenna panels of the terminal device (In diagram 900, the UE receives the configuration information on the M reference RS resource sets (step 901). This information is signaled via higher-layer (RRC) signaling. UE is configured with M reference RS resource sets where M can correspond to the number of UE panels in implementation. This setup is particularly relevant when more than one reference RS resources are needed to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission. In Rel.15 NR, this is the case for non-codebook based UL transmission. for transmission schemes that require only one reference RS resource to perform a multi-layer MIMO transmission (such as the case for codebook- based UL transmission), instead of associating one reference RS resource set with one UE panel, a panel can be associated with one reference RS resource. In this case, there is no need for configuring a UE with M reference RS resource sets. Rather, the UE can be configured with M reference RS resources, Onggosanusi: [0189]-[0190]);
determine a plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set (This procedure is followed by the UE determining, from the UL beam indication, Onggosanusi: [0211]);
receive a first downlink signaling sent by the network device, wherein the first downlink signaling carries an uplink beam information field, and the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece or a plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information (UL beam indication is done via the SRS resource indicator (SRI) field in UL related DCI which is linked to one (and only one) reference RS. Once the UE receives this configuration, the UE can receive the N-subset selection information via LI or L2 control signaling (step 902). This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, Onggosanusi: [0115], [0189]);
determine target uplink beam information in the plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information based on the uplink beam information field carried by the first downlink signaling and a mapping relationship carried by a media access control (MAC) signaling (UL transmission configuration information/indicator (ULTCI) states can be configured dynamically, via L2 control signaling (such as MAC control element or MAC CE). the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), This procedure is followed by the UE determining, from the UL beam indication, Onggosanusi: [0142], [0189], [0211]),
wherein the mapping relationship is configured to indicate a correspondence between a codepoint of the uplink beam information field and candidate uplink beam information (to accommodate the support for UE panel selection, a code-point for turning off a panel is included in each of the UL-TCI field, Onggosanusi: [0159]); and
determine an uplink sending beam direction corresponding to the target uplink beam information as a target uplink sending beam direction (UE measures the reference RS (and in the process selects an UL TX beam) and reports the beam metric associated with the quality of the reference RS. In this case, the UE determines the TX-RX beam pair for every configured (DL) reference RS, Onggosanusi: [0127]).
Onggosanusi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein before receiving the first downlink signaling sent by the network device, the processor is configured to:
send antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information,
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Song teaches:
wherein before receiving the first downlink signaling sent by the network device, the processor is configured to (the terminal forms an uplink transmit beam by using a spatial domain transmission filter, and one spatial relation corresponds to one uplink transmit beam. Song: [0007]):
send antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information (includes a terminal that support multi-TRP/panel. send uplink information by using beams corresponding to a plurality of spatial relations. the network device configures a candidate spatial relation of each uplink channel/signal for the terminal by using spatialRelationinfo signaling of RRC, Song: [0031], [0034]-[0035]),
wherein the antenna panel information comprises at least one of: a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device (the uplink information 1 is multiplexed with the uplink information 2 according to the multiplexing/discarding criterion, and an uplink channel for transmitting uplink information after the multiplexing processing is determined, Song: [0042]-[0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Onggosanusi in view of Song in order to further modify sending antenna panel information of the terminal device to the network device to enable the network device to send the first downlink signaling based on the antenna panel information, wherein the antenna panel information comprises a time point of switching between different uplink sending beams of a same antenna panel of the terminal device before receiving the first downlink signaling from the teachings of Song.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because when a plurality of TRP scenarios are supported, it can improve a communication range and efficiency of a terminal. (Song: [0192]).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 18 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
wherein the first downlink signaling is a downlink control information (DCI) signaling (Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI, Onggosanusi: [0189], [0193]):
Regarding claim 3, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece of target uplink beam information (UL-TCI configuration in TABLE 4A, when co-configured with 2 SRS resources, can represent the so-called UE panel selection, Onggosanusi: Table 4A, [0160]);
determining the target uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set based on the uplink beam information field carried by the first downlink signaling comprises (the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]):
determining a plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set (Once the UE receives this configuration, the UE can receive the N-subset selection information via LI or L2 control signaling (step 902), Onggosanusi: [0189]); and
determining the target uplink beam information in the plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information based on the uplink beam information field (This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]).
Regarding claim 6, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the uplink sending beam direction corresponding to the target uplink beam information as the target uplink sending beam direction comprises (the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]):
in response to there being one piece of target uplink beam information, determining the uplink sending beam direction corresponding to the target uplink beam information as the target uplink sending beam direction (UE measures the reference RS (and in the process selects an UL TX beam) and reports the beam metric associated with the quality of the reference RS. In this case, the UE determines the TX-RX beam pair for every configured (DL) reference RS, Onggosanusi: [0127]); and
in response to there being a plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information, determining one or more uplink sending beam directions corresponding to one or more pieces of the plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information as one or more target uplink sending beam directions (Once the UE receives this configuration, the UE can receive the N-subset selection information via LI or L2 control signaling (step 902), Onggosanusi: [0189]);
wherein the plurality of pieces of target uplink beam information correspond to a same time domain resource or different time domain resources (one UL-TCI field is used for both panel selection and simultaneous transmission across the two panels. Optionally, two separate UL-TCI fields can be used wherein each UL-TCI field can be associated with one panel, Onggosanusi: [0162]).
Regarding claim 8, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 and above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 3, wherein determining the plurality of pieces of activated candidate uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set comprises (Once the UE receives this configuration, the UE can receive the N-subset selection information via LI or L2 control signaling (step 902), Onggosanusi: [0189]):
in response to a number of the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set being less than or equal to M, determining all the uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set as candidate uplink beam information, where M is a positive number (This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]); and
in response to the number of the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set being greater than M, receiving a MAC signaling and activating M pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set as candidate uplink beam information based on the MAC signaling (UL transmission configuration information/indicator (UL-TCI) states can be configured either via higher-layer (RRC) signaling, or via L2 control signaling (MAC CE), or via L1 control signaling(DCI), Onggosanusi: [0134], [142]).
Regarding claims 10 and 26, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 18 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
wherein the first downlink signaling is a MAC signaling (UL TX beam indication associated with at least one reference RS index/indicator is signaled to the UE via MAC CE (L2 control), Onggosanusi: [0167]).
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 10 and 26 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
wherein the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece of target uplink beam information, and the terminal device supports uplink sending through only one antenna panel at a same time point (only one analog beam (which can be single- or dualpolarized) can be used for UL transmission and DL reception at a given time unit or sub-time unit ( one or a fraction of a symbol, one or a fraction of a slot), Onggosanusi: [0174]).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 18 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
wherein, the uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set carries an indication identifier, and the indication identifier is configured to indicate an antenna panel corresponding to the uplink beam information (dynamic signaling is used to signal the UE the assigned UL TX beam which is represented by either a target SRS resource ID (if SRI-based method is used) or the reference RS resource ID via Ll DL control channel, that is, UL-related DCIII. Therefore, a DCI field designated for UL TX beam indication is used-either SRI or UL-TCIII. To support multi-beam operation with multi-panel UEs, this DCI field can be designed to accommodate signaling in relation to one or multiple resource sets, Onggosanusi: [0195]);
wherein the indication identifier comprises at least one of a cell identification (ID), a transmission reception point ID, an antenna panel ID, a reference signal resource ID, or a resource set ID (The reference RS can be associated with a resource ID of the particular type of RS. An example of such configuration is given in TABLE 1, Onggosanusi: [0138]).
Regarding claim 20, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 19, wherein the uplink beam information field corresponds to one piece of target uplink beam information (UL-TCI configuration in TABLE 4A, when co-configured with 2 SRS resources, can represent the so-called UE panel selection, Onggosanusi: Table 4A, [0160]).
Regarding claim 22, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 20 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 20, further comprising:
in response to a number of the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set being greater than M, sending a media access control (MAC) signaling to the terminal device, where M is a positive number (This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]);
wherein the MAC signaling is configured to activate M pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set as candidate uplink beam information (UL transmission configuration information/indicator (UL-TCI) states can be configured either via higher-layer (RRC) signaling, or via L2 control signaling (MAC CE), or via L1 control signaling (DCI), Onggosanusi: [0134], [142]).
Regarding claim 25, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
The method of claim 18, wherein,
in response to a number of the plurality of pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set being greater than M (This N-subset selection information can also be accompanied with either SpatialRelationinfo (if SRI-based solution is used) or UL-TCI-State (if UL-TCI-based solution is used). Based on this configuration information, when the UE receives an UL-related DCI addressed to it, the UE can receive and decode the UL TX beam indication, either from SRI or from TCI field, in the DCI (step 903), Onggosanusi: [0189]),
the MAC signaling is configured to activate M pieces of uplink beam information in the uplink beam information set as candidate uplink beam information, where M is a positive number (UL transmission configuration information/indicator (UL-TCI) states can be configured either via higher-layer (RRC) signaling, or via L2 control signaling (MAC CE), or via L1 control signaling (DCI), Onggosanusi: [0134], [142]).
Regarding claim 68, Onggosanusi in view of Song teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 18 above.
Onggosanusi further discloses:
A network device, comprising (wireless network includes a BS, Onggosanusi: Fig. 1, [0079]):
a processor (gNB also includes a controller/processor, a memory, Onggosanusi: Fig. 3B, [0102]);
a transceiver coupled to the processor (gNB includes multiple antennas, multiple RF transceivers, Onggosanusi: Fig. 3B, [0102]); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (gNB also includes a controller/processor, a memory, Onggosanusi: Fig. 3B, [0102]);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 18 (the controller/processor can control the reception of forward channel signals and the transmission of reverse channel signals by the RF transceivers, Onggosanusi: [0105]).
Conclusion
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 March 27, 2026