DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason et al. (herein referred to as Helgason, US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel et al. (herein referred to as Schlegel, US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman et al. (herein referred to as Sweedman, “Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), and Gelin (US 20050048181 A1)
With regard to Claim 1, Helgason teaches an oil-in-water emulsion (abstract). The emulsion comprises a plurality of oil droplets as an oil phase ([0014]), an aqueous phase ([0108] Helgason reads such that the modified starch is dissolved in water thus creating an aqueous phase), an emulsifier ([0091]), and a functional ingredient system ([0055], [0096]). Helgason teaches the oil phase is present at a level of 1-30% ([0100], Claim 12), the emulsifier system is present at a level of 0.7%-70%, preferably 1-60%, more preferably 10-50%, especially 20-40% ([0095]).
Helgason teaches in one embodiment 95% of the oil droplets are between 0 and 200nm. See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions and MPEP 2144.04I(IV)(A) Changes in Size/ Proportion.
Helgason teaches utilizing extracts from fruit (such as apples and pears) in the oil-in-water emulsion ([0063]) but is silent to a non-steviol based taste modulator compound being from the group listed.
Ando teaches an oil and fat composition for bakery foods ([0001]). Ando teaches by adding a sugar and/or a sweetener to the oil and fat composition for bakery foods, the bakery foods having an even better sweetness expression can be produced ([0029]). Ando teaches examples of the sweetener include sucralose, stevia, aspartame, thaumatin, saccharin, neotame, acesulfame potassium, licorice, and monk fruit ([0029]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that monk fruit is another name for Luo Han fruit. Ando teaches the total of the content of the saccharide and the content of the sweetener is preferably 1 to 30% by mass in terms of sucrose, taking into consideration the sweetness degree ([0029]). Ando teaches the total fat/oil content in the fat/oil composition for bakery foods of the present invention is preferably 20 to 95% by mass ([0029] Ando reads such that the total fat/oil content is the equivalent to the instant claims emulsion). Therefore, the relationship of the amount of sweetener to the emulsion taught by Ando would be the sweetener presented at a level of 1.05% to about 150% of the emulsion. See MPEP 2144.05(I) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason to use monk fruit in the amount taught by Ando as a taste modulator so the product has a better sweetness expression. In addition because Helgason teaches the use of fruit extracts in the emulsion, Ando imparts reasoning for obvious to utilize monk fruit (luo han fruit) because the teaching shows that monk fruit was known to impart a better sweetness when used in an emulsion and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to select luo han fruit (monk fruit) as a sweetener for an oil-in-water emulsion, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
Helgason is silent to a flavor oil in the plurality of oil droplets in the oil phase.
Gelin teaches oil-in-water emulsion of a lipophilic substance such as a flavor and/or an animal or vegetable fat hydrolysate ([0010]). Gelin teaches the emulsion comprises a plurality of oil droplets as an oil phase ([0011], [0020]), an aqueous phase ([0011]), and a functional ingredient system ([0012], [0013]). Gelin teaches the emulsion contains a lipophilic active substance present in the dispersed phase and is preferably a flavor and/or a vegetable or animal fat hydrolysate ([0012], [0017]). Gelin teaches the flavor may be butter oil and due to the lipophilic character, these hydrolyzed fractions cannot be used per se in an application in which the continuous phase is watery because they will phase separate from this watery phase. The incorporation of these hydrolyzed fractions inside the dispersed oil phase of the novel emulsion described therein advantageously overcomes this drawback. ([0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Helgason in to incorporate the flavoring oil in the oil phase as taught by Gelin to prevent the oil from separating in the watery aqueous phase.
Helgason teaches the emulsifier system contains an octenyl succinic anhydride (OSA)-modified starch ([0091]).
However, Helgason is silent to the OSA starch having a weight average molecular weight of 3,000 Dalton or less when measured by gel permeation chromatography at a pH of 2.0.
Schlegel teaches an oil-in-water emulsion composition containing beta-carotene for the enrichment, fortification and/or coloration of food beverages, animal feed, cosmetics or pharmaceutical compositions which contain carotenes ([0002], [0093]). Schlegel teaches the compositions comprises a modified starch ([0009]) and preferably an OSA-starch ([0013]). Schlegel teaches the modified starch acts as a multifunctional ingredient ([0146]) and assist in the stabilization of the functional ingredient in the composition ([0095]). Wherein the modified starch is obtained by separating the starch having a molecular weight from 1 kDa to 200 kDa by ultrafiltration ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason in view of Schlegel to incorporate OSA-starch at a molecular weight from 1 kDa to 200 kDa because Schlegel teaches the modified starch acts as a multifunctional ingredient ([0146]) and assist in the stabilization of the functional ingredient in the composition ([0095]). Schlegel imparts reasoning for obviousness because through routine experimentation with the process of filtration, one with ordinary skill in the art would be able to extract OSA-starch with the desired molecular weight. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results).
However, Schlegel is silent to the molecular weight being measure by gel permeation chromatography at a pH of 2.0.
Sweedman reviews the synthesis procedures, structural characterization methods, and physico-chemical properties , and the influences of the botanical origins and structural parameters of OSA starches on physico-chemical properties (Abstract) Sweedman teaches using size exclusion chromatography (SEC, used interchangeably in the art with GPC) to quantify size distribution (3.3.1. Size exclusion chromatography (SEC)). Sweedman teaches to quantify the size parameters effectively, molecules must be completely dissolved in the effluent and starch may be made soluble in aqueous media by pH changes to the solvent (3.3.1. Size exclusion chromatography (SEC)).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason in view of the combination of Schlegel and Sweedman to use GPC with a modified pH to measure the molecular weight of OSA-starch because Sweedman provides that using GPC to measure the molecular weight of OSA-Starches was known to be successfully used and published at the time of filing. Through routine optimization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a pH of 2.0.
With regard to Claim 2, Helgason teaches in one embodiment 70% of the oil droplets between 0 and 200 nm ([0027]) and in another embodiment, the pre-emulsification is carried out till the oil droplet size) is 200 nm to 20 μm, preferably 250 nm to 10 μm, more preferably 300 nm to 5 μm ([0084]) See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions and MPEP 2144.04I(IV)(A) Changes in Size/ Proportion “In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.”
With regard to Claim 5, Helgason teaches the emulsifier system further contains maltose ([0055]).
With regard to Claim 9, Helgason teaches the functional system contains a carbohydrate ([0096]).
With regard to Claim 10, Helgason teaches the taste modulator contains a non-steviol-based compound ([0055], Helgason teaches utilizing glucose syrup which is a non-steviol-based compound).
With regard to Claim 11, Helgason teaches utilizing extracts from fruit (such as apples and pears) in the oil-in-water emulsion ([0063]), but is silent to the non-steviol-based compound being Luo Han fruit extract.
Ando teaches an oil and fat composition for bakery foods ([0001]). Ando teaches by adding a sugar and/or a sweetener to the oil and fat composition for bakery foods, the bakery foods having an even better sweetness expression can be produced ([0029]). Ando teaches examples of the sweetener include sucralose, stevia, aspartame, thaumatin, saccharin, neotame, acesulfame potassium, licorice, and monk fruit ([0029]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that monk fruit is another name for Luo Han fruit.
Therefore, Ando imparts reasoning for obviousness because the teaching shows that luo han fruit was known for such a thing to have been successfully achieved and published at the time of filing, which means it was within the general skill of one with ordinary skill in the art to select luo han fruit (monk fruit) as a sweetener for an oil-in-water emulsion, because it would be obvious to one of skill in the art to do such a thing on the basis of its suitability for a similar intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 that discussed that when the prior art recognizes something is suitable for a similar intended use/purpose, such a thing is obvious.
With regard to Claim 12, Helgason teaches the carbohydrate is present at a level of 0.001-80% ([0097]) and can be selected from a group consisting of mono-, di- and
Oligosaccharides ([0055]). See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions.
With regard to Claim 16, Helgason teaches the oil phase is MCT oil (medium-chain triacylglycerol). One with ordinary skill in the art would know MCT oil has a density of 0.93-0.96 g/ml. See MPEP 2112.01(II) “ A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable.”
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason (US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel (US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman (“Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), Elkwil (“Design of complex emulsion interfaces for sugar reduction application”), Gelin (US 20050048181 A1), and Tesch et al. (herein referred to as Tesch, “Stabilization of emulsions by OSA starches”)
With regard to Claims 4 and 7, Helgason is silent to the emulsifier system further containing a co-emulsifier. Helgason does teach modified starches with a molecular weight distribution of 10,000-2,000,000 g/mol (Claim 7, 1 g/mol = 1 Da).
Elkwil teaches using whey protein or sodium caseinate as a co-emulsifier with OSA-modified starch (Abstract). Elkwil teaches mixed emulsifiers showed a comparative ability to reduce the interfacial tension at the oil/water interface compared with using OSA starch alone (abstract). , Elkwil teaches embodiments which contain 0.4% OSA modified starch and 0.5% (w/w) whey protein (2.2.2. Mixed interface O/W emulsions).Thus, the ratio of Modified starch to co-emulsifier is 4:5. See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason in view of Elkwil to use a co-emulsifier with OSA-modified starch to reduce the interfacial tension at the oil/water interface (abstract).
However, the combination of Helgason and Elkwil are silent to the co-emulsifier being a chemically modified starch.
Tesch explores the possibility of producing finely dispersed emulsions by using OSA starches as additive (abstract). OSA starch is made by esterification of starch and anhydrous octenyl succinic acid under alkaline conditions (1. Introduction, Tesch reads on the starch being chemically modified). Tesch teaches measurements of interfacial tension prove that OSA starches are surface active substances, their dynamic surface tension being comparable to that of whey protein (4. Summary and conclusions).
Tesch clearly shows that OSA modified starches function as an emulsifier and are comparable to whey protein when used to make an emulsion. See MPEP 2144.06 discusses combining or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that to modify the combination of Helgason and Elkwil to use a chemically modified starch as a co-emulsifier because Tesch teaches OSA modified starches are comparable to whey protein and thus could be substituted for the whey protein used as a co-emulsifier taught by Elkwil. Because Helgason already teaches modified starches with a molecular weight distribution of 10,000-2,000,000 g/mol (Claim 7, 1 g/mol = 1 Da) can be successfully used as emulsifiers, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art that the chemically modified starch acting as a co-emulsifier could have a with a molecular weight distribution of 10,000-2,000,000 g/mol because Helgason already proved at that molecular weight modified starches are successful emulsifiers.
Lastly, the combination of Helgason, Elkwil, and Tesch are silent to the chemically modified starch having a weight average molecular weight measured by GPC at a pH of from about 2.0 to about 4.5.
Sweedman reviews the synthesis procedures, structural characterization methods, and physico-chemical properties , and the influences of the botanical origins and structural parameters of OSA starches on physico-chemical properties (Abstract) Sweedman teaches using size exclusion chromatography (SEC, used interchangeably in the art with GPC) to quantify size distribution (3.3.1. Size exclusion chromatography (SEC)). Sweedman teaches to quantify the size parameters effectively, molecules must be completely dissolved in the effluent and starch may be made soluble in aqueous media by pH changes to the solvent (3.3.1. Size exclusion chromatography (SEC)).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Helgason, Elkwil, and Tesch in view of Sweedman to use GPC with a modified pH to measure the molecular weight of OSA-starch because Sweedman provides that using GPC to measure the molecular weight of OSA-Starches was known to be successfully used and published at the time of filing. Through routine optimization, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a pH of 2.0 to about 4.5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason (US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel (US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman (“Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), Gelin (US 20050048181 A1), and Zhang et al. (herein referred to as Zhang, “Mechanistic understanding of the relationships between molecular structure and emulsification properties of octenyl succinic anhydride (OSA) modified starches”)
With regard to Claim 6, Helgason is silent to the OSA-modified starch containing maltose in an amount of from about 15% to about 60%.
Zhang explores the relationship between performance and molecular structure of Octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches (OSA-starches) (abstract). Zhang teaches the emulsifying properties of OSA-starch can be improved by β-amylase hydrolysis); β-amylase specifically cleaves (1/4)-α glycosidic bonds from the non-reducing ends of starch branches, releasing a maltose for each successful hydrolysis (1. Introduction). Zhang teaches a large amount of maltose results in a low viscosity and a large droplet size (4. Conclusion). Zhang suggests that different treatments on OSA-starch can result in various molecular size distributions. This is due to different hydrolysis mechanisms of enzymes and acid, as well as different processing conditions and the origins of the parent starches (3.1.1. Whole Molecular size distribution of OSA-starches).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason in view of Zhang to incorporate OSA-modified starch with maltose to lower the viscosity and increase the droplet size (4. Conclusion). Because the amount of maltose can vary with the methods used to produce the OSA-modified starch, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation, that through hydrolysis conditions and the desired viscosity and droplet, one with ordinary skill in the art would produce an OSA-modified starch with the claimed maltose concentrations. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason (US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel (US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman (“Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), Gelin (US 20050048181 A1), and Xu et al. (herein referred to as Xu, “Effect of pH and ionic strength on the emulsifying properties of two Octenyl succinate starches in comparison with gum Arabic”)
With regard to Claim 8, Helgason is silent to the weight ratio between the emulsifier system and the oil phase.
Xu compares octenyl succinate starches and gum Arabic in terms of molecular structure and emulsion properties (abstract). Xu teaches the emulsions were prepared with emulsifier and orange oil at various mass ratios (5:5, 3:7, 1.5:8.5, 1:9, and 0.5:9.5 (2.7.1. Emulsion preparation). See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions. Xu teaches the ratio of emulsifier to oil directly effects the size of the droplets and the storage ability (3.2.2. Effect of emulsifier-oil ratio and storage time).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Helgason in view of Xu to utilize the emulsifier to oil ratios taught by Xu to develop the desired droplet size and storage capabilities through routine optimization.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason (US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel (US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman (“Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), Gelin (US 20050048181 A1), and Griat (US 5863545 A)
With regard to Claim 17, the combination of Helgason, Schlegel, and Sweedman is silent to the pH of the oil-in-water emulsion.
Griat teaches oil-in-water type emulsions with a pH below or equal to 3.5 (abstract). See MPEP 2144.05 Obviousness of Similar and Overlapping Ranges, Amounts, and Proportions Griat teaches acidic emulsions may be encountered, in particular, when it is desired to obtain cosmetic and/or pharmaceutical compositions containing acidic active agents, such as, for example, hydroxy acids having exfoliative/moisturizing properties, acidic compositions for which there is currently a strong need (Col 1, lines 57-67).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Helgason, Schlegel, and Sweedman in view of Griat to use an oil-in-water emulsion with a pH below 3.5 to obtain compositions containing acidic active agents (Col 1, lines 57-67).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helgason et al. (herein referred to as Helgason, US 20140023712 A1) in view of Schlegel et al. (herein referred to as Schlegel, US 20100120713 A1), Ando (JP 6231282 B2), Sweedman et al. (herein referred to as Sweedman, “Structure and physiochemical properties of octenyl succinic anhydride modified starches: A Review”), Gelin (US 20050048181 A1), and Gaspard et al. (herein referred to as Gaspard, US 20190223481 A1).
With regard to Claim 23, Helgason is silent to the taste modulator compounds containing steviol-based compounds.
Gaspard teaches a solubilized steviol glycoside composition (abstract) wherein the solubilized steviol glycoside compositions can be used in an emulsion ([0010], [0126]). Gaspard teaches steviol compounds are a non-caloric/low caloric sweetener which satisfies consumer demand for a sweet taste, such as sucrose, without the calories that come with uses sucrose ([0003]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Helgason in view of Gaspard to utilize a steviol-based compound as a taste modulator to impart a sweet flavor to satisfy consumer demand while avoiding other high calorie sweeteners.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First applicant argues that the combination of Helgason, Schlegel, Ando, and Sweedman fails to teach or suggest all the features of amended claim 1. This argument is moot with the addition of Gelin which teaches the claimed feature of “wherein the functional ingredient system contains taste modulator compounds in the aqueous phase and a flavor oil in the plurality of oil droplets in the oil phase”.
Applicant argues that Helgason is directed to transparent carotenoid emulsions for producing color in beverages and fails to teaches flavor oils and taste modulators as defined in claim 1. Applicant argues that one with ordinary skill in the art would not look to the emulsion systems taught by Helgason for use for the claimed emulsion containing taste modulator compounds and a flavor oil. Applicant argues Helgason focuses on solving problems specific to carotenoid colorants whereas Claim 1’s emulsion is defined to provides a multi-component functional ingredient system delivering both hydrophobic and hydrophilic functional activities. Per claim 9, applicant definition of a functional ingredient includes a colorant. Further support can be found in applicant’s specification page 1 lines 21-24 which states, “This invention is based on the discovery of a robust emulsion that allows formulating a broader palette of flavor ingredients and other functional ingredients such as colors, modulators, nutrients such as vitamins, and nutraceutical ingredients such as cannabidiol.” Applicant provides examples of colorants which include yellow 5 and red 40 which are both hydrophilic and per applicants definition a functional ingredient. As pointed out by applicant, carotenoids are also hydrophilic colorants. Thus, one with ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to look to the emulsion systems as taught by Helgason because the colorant taught by Helgason would be considered a functional ingredient as define in the applicants specification and is used in an oil-in-water emulsion as instantly claimed. Helgason even teaches carotenoids are used to replace azo synthetic dyes (Helgason [0002]). One with ordinary skill would recognize that the applicant defined functional ingredients Yellow 5 and Red 40 are synthetic azo dyes and thus carotenoids and the colorants defined by applicants fill the same purpose in an oil-in-water emulsion. In addition Helagson teaches the use of other functional ingredients in the form of taste modulators in paragraphs [0055] and [0096] as instantly claimed. Further, this argument is not found to be persuasive because Gelin is relied upon to teach the claimed flavor oil. With regard to the taste modulator, Helgason teaches utilizing extracts from fruit (such as apples and pears) in the oil-in-water emulsion (Helgason,[0063]) and Ando is further relied upon to teach the use of monk fruit in the amount claimed as a taste modulator and further provides motivation to combine by teaching a better sweetness expression. Therefore applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Next, with regard to Ando, applicant argues that Ando teaches a water-in-oil type emulsion and not an oil-in-water emulsion. This argument is not found to be persuasive because Ando is merely relied upon to teach the use of the non-steviol based taste modulator compound, specifically Luo Han fruit, as claimed and as Helgason teaches using fruit in the oil and water emulsions one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the luo han fruit as a fruit used in the water in oil emulsion. The examiner would like to note that it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Ando is within the field of the inventor’s endeavor and by teaching the use of Luo Han fruit the reference becomes reasonably pertinent to the particular problem in which the inventor is concerned.
Applicant argues that Schlegel neither teaches nor suggest the claimed multi-functional ingredient emulsion comprising both taste modulator compounds and a flavor oil. This argument is not found to be persuasive because Schlegel is merely relied upon to teach the incorporation OSA-starch which advantageously assists in the stabilization of the functional ingredient in the composition. Therefore applicants argument is not found to be persuasive.
In addition, the applicant argues that Schlegel generically described modified starches with a lower MW and upon reviewing Helgason would be dissuaded from modifying to the claimed molecular weight of 3,000 daltons or less. This argument is not found to be persuasive because Schlegel provides ample motivation to combine. First Schlegel teaches modified starch with a molecular weight range of 1 kDa to 200 kDa. This claimed range overlaps substantially with the range, 10,000-2,000,000 g/mol (i.e., daltons) taught by Helgason and Schlegel teaches within that range the starch can act as a multifunction ingredient and can assist in stabilization. On top of that, Schlegel teaches the process of filtration and therefore one with ordinary skill in the art would be able to extract OSA-starch with the desired molecular weight. Thus, applicant argument is not found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sweedman merely teaches physical properties of OSA starch but has no molecular-weight details. This argument is not found to be persuasive because Sweedman is not relied upon to teach the claimed molecular weight, the reference is merely relied upon to teach the claimed Ph.
Lastly, with regard to newly added claim 23, applicant argues “surprising and unexpected results” wherein lower-molecular weight OSA-modified starch was more stable than higher molecular OSA-modified starch which is opposite of the expected trend. However, it is first important to note that the newly added claim 23 does not reference the claimed OSA-modified starch and the claim states, “wherein the taste modulator compounds contain steviol-based compounds”. Thus it is unclear the connection between claim 23 and the applicants “surprising and unexpected results”. Regardless, applicant points to paragraphs 98-108 of the specification as support. The examiner would like to highlight MPEP 716.02(d)(II) To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). In this case, emulsion I and emulsions I’ – IV’ do not show a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed molecular weight to be convincing that the results are surprising and unexpected results. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
/K.I.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792