DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of Applicant’s claim amendments, a new modified rejection has been made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant has amended the claims, and made arguments against the claims as amended. In view of Applicant’s claim amendments vis-a-vie the new wherein claim limitation of claim 40, a modified rejection has been made below, which now renders Applicant’s arguments moot.
Applicant has further made arguments concerning the claim term “crospovidone”. Applicant’s arguments have been further addressed in the modified rejection below.
Claims 40-50, 53, 54 and 58-64 are pending, and have been examined herewith to the extent of Applicant’s elected species.
Note to File on A Related Adjudicated Patent File Wrapper
While res judicata has not been invoked, because the instant claims are of a somewhat different scope, the Examiner notes that claims of a similar scope were already examined and rejected by a different examiner in patent application 15/950,707, were subsequently appealed to PTAB, which in turn affirmed the other examiner in 2023, and were then further affirmed on appeal by the Federal Circuit in 2024. Some related claims of the ‘707 application are noted for the record.
The Examiner also notes in comparison some claims in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(new)
Claims 40-50, 53, 54, and 58-64 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 40 recites:
The claim is vague and indefinite, because once it is recites that the treatment is plus prednisone wherein the patient is surgically castrated, and then it recites that it is plus prednisone, if not surgically castrated.
Claim 63 recites the limitations: "a)…253.2 mg lactose monohydrate, and 30 mg crospovidone" and b) a)…253.2 mg lactose monohydrate, and 32 mg crospovidone" in lines 2-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Applicant’s amended claim 63, deleting the claim term “diluent”, per Applicant allegedly overcomes the lack of antecedent basis for the claim term “diluent”. However, it does not. More than that, it creates a new lack of antecedent support claim issue vis-à-vis the claimed disintegrant crospovidone. For context, the entire claim 63, and claim 40 from which it depends, are reproduced for the record.
As can be seen from the claim amendments claim 40 did not recite a diluent, whether by claim term “diluent” or by its actual specific chemical name following up, but did recite “disintegrant”. Now Applicant has also deleted “disintegrant” from the claims further raising an antecedent base issue for the claimed ingredients by their chemical names.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-50, 53, 54, 58-62 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018191141 A1 to Yu et al. (“Yu”, of record), and further in view of Zejula (niraparib) capsules, for oral use, FDA Reference ID: 4600207, initial US. Approval: 2017, revised 04/ 2020 (“FDA label for niraparib”, of record).
Claim interpretation
The Examiner incorporates by reference her interpretation of Applicant’s claims from the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Rejection
Yu discloses a method for treating a prostate cancer comprising administering to a patient a therapeutically effective amount of niraparib, a therapeutically effective amount of abiraterone acetate, and a therapeutically effective amount of prednisone (claim 1). The prostate cancer is hormone-sensitive or castration-resistant prostate cancer (claim 2). The prostate cancer may be metastatic ([0033]). Niraparib and abiraterone acetate are administered to the patient in a single composition, or in separate compositions (claims 3-4, [0035]). The route of administration may be oral (tablets, troches, lozenges, aqueous or oily suspensions, dispersible powders or granules, emulsions, hard or soft capsules, or syrups or elixirs) ([0043]). The dosing, either free dose or fixed dose are taught in paragraphs, to include specific dose of the drugs of Applicant’s claims 60 and 63. ([0035]-[0040]).
The patient might have been previously treated with anti-androgens (i.e. medical castration per Applicant’s specification at para [0241]), to include for the pre-treatment times of Applicant’s claims 45-48. ([0034]). “Additionally or alternatively, the patient may have undergone at least one line of androgen receptor-targeted therapy prior to administering a first dose of the niraparib, abiraterone acetate, and prednisone. The period of time between the end of the other treatment and the administration of niraparib, abiraterone acetate, and prednisone in accordance with the present invention may be years, months, weeks, days, a single day, or less than 24 hours.” There is no indication in Yu that the patient should have undergone prior therapy with a next/ second generation androgen signaling inhibitor therapy, per Applicant’s claims 49 and 50.
Yu further provides motivation to specifically test for deleterious germline or somatic HRR gene mutations in prostate cancer as a part of the treatment, such as claimed by Applicant. It discloses that niraparib is a PARP inhibitor, and that the PARP inhibitor olaparib was recently investigated in a Phase 2 study to assess efficacy and safety in patients with mCRPC post-chemotherapy and AR-targeted agents, and that genetic sequencing identified homozygous deletions, deleterious mutations, or both in DNA-repair genes, including, but not limited to BRCA-1/2, ATM, Fanconi anemia genes, and CHEK2 in tumor samples. ([0004]-[0006]).
Even though the reference does not specifically indicate the niraparib as tosylate monohydrate and the lactose as lactose monohydrate, this was the pharmaceutical form used in therapy as to both, as exemplified by the FDA label for niraparib. (p. 16).
Applicant has amended independent claim 40 to recite: “wherein the patient is surgically castrated or continues with a gonadotropin releasing hormone analog (GnRHa) therapy during the treatment with the pharmaceutical formulation, plus prednisone, if not surgically castrated.” It is noted that Yu does teach surgical castration as a means of early stage treatment of prostate cancer, and does indicate that this early therapy has a risk of failing leading to disease progression and spread. “At its early stages, localized prostate cancer is often curable with local therapy including, for example, surgical removal of the prostate gland and radiotherapy. However, when local therapy fails to cure prostate cancer, as it does in up to a third of men, the disease progresses into incurable metastatic disease (i.e., disease in which the cancer has spread from one part of the body to other parts).” ([0002]). Then it goes on to explain that there remains a need for the subset of patients with metastatic disease who do not respond initially to these treatments. “ [0003] For many years, the established standard of care for men with malignant castration-resistant prostate cancer (mCRPC) was docetaxel chemotherapy. More recently, abiraterone acetate (ZYTIGA®) in combination with prednisone has been approved for treating metastatic castrate resistant prostate cancer. Androgen receptor (AR)-targeted agents, such as enzalutamide (XTANDI®,) have also entered the market for treating metastatic castrate resistant prostate cancer. Platinum-based chemotherapy has been tested in a number of clinical studies in molecularly unselected prostate cancer patients with limited results and significant toxicities. However, there remains a subset of patients who either do not respond initially, or become refractory (or resistant) to these treatments. No approved therapeutic options are available for such patients.” Then it explicitly says that the instant invention are directed meeting this need. “[0007] However, a need remains for therapies against a prostate cancer, including hormone sensitive, hormone naive high risk, and castration-resistant prostate cancers. SUMMARY [0008] Provided herein are methods for treating a prostate cancer comprising, consisting of and/or consisting essentially of, administering to a patient in need thereof a therapeutically effective amount of a PARP inhibitor, a therapeutically effective amount of a CYP17 inhibitor and a therapeutically effective amount of a glucocorticoid.” Thus, Yu explicitly makes the disclosed therapy applicable to patients with mCRPC, who have undergone surgical castration. It is noted that surgical castration is a term also known as bilater orchiectomy. (see, e.g., Applicant’s specification at [0243]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu and the FDA label for niraparib in order to practice Applicant’s claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so guided by the desire to optimize the niraparib drug form with one, which has already gone through clinical testing. Even though Yu does not specifically disclose the amounts of the additional ingredients crospovidone and lactose monohydrate, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amounts of these ingredients with a reasonable expectation of success in order to achieve good formulation disintegration and dilution. It would have been further obvious to a person of skill in the art to practice Applicant’s claimed method in the mCSPC patient population, which has undergone surgical castration, as explicitly provided by Yu as beneficial for this particular subset of patients.
Claim 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, as applied to claims 40-50, 53, 54, 58-62 and 64 in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection above, as unpatentable over WO 2018191141 A1 to Yu et al. (“Yu”, of record), and further in view of Zejula (niraparib) capsules, for oral use, FDA Reference ID: 4600207, initial US. Approval: 2017, revised 04/ 2020 (“FDA label for niraparib”, of record), and as further evidenced by US 20230046317 A1 to Ye (“Ye”).
Claim interpretation
The Examiner incorporates by reference her interpretation of Applicant’s claims from the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above.
Rejection
Yu and the FDA label for niraparib are discussed in the 35 USC rejection above.
Yu further discloses that the composition may further contain additional excipients, such as disintegrating agents ([0043]), and names as an additional excipient polyvinyl polypyrrolidone ([0043], [0046]). It is noted that polyvinyl polypyrrolidone is an alternative name for crospovidone. Yu further discloses that additional ingredients include diluents, such as lactose. ([0043]).
Applicant has disputed that “polyvinyl polypyrrolidone is an alternative name for crospovidone”, saying that crospovidone is instead polyvinyl polypyrrolidone. The Examiner does not disagree with Applicant that crospovidone is also known as polyvinyl polypyrrolidone. However, crospovidone is further called as well “polyvinyl polypyrrolidone” by persons of skill in the art. See, e.g. Ye at [0011]- “polyvinyl N-pyrrolidone (crospovidone)”.1
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu, the FDA label for niraparib and Ye, in order to practice the method of Applicant’s claim 63 with a reasonable expectation of success. This is because the additionally claimed excipients in it are further known in the art in combination with Applicant’s claimed ingredients. As crosspovidone is knows as all of, inter alia, polyvinyl polypyrrolidone, crosslinked polyvinyl polypyrrolidone and polyvinyl polypyrrolidone, among names, the skilled artisan would have been further motivated to optimize the composition with different forms of the compounds (crosslinked or not), as well as to optimize the amounts of it, as these are result-effective variables, which are subject to optimization for creating an optimum pharmaceutical formulation for proper dilution and disintegration.
/SVETLANA M IVANOVA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627
1 A way to understand this is that crospovidone is a crosslinked form of polyvinyl pyrrolidone. See, e.g., US 20230218640 A1 to Quinten et al.- “crospovidone (crosslinked polyvinylpyrrolidone”, e.g., commercially available as Kollidon CL-F and Polyplasdone XL-10)”.