RESPONSE TO APPLICANT’S AMENDMENT
1. Applicants amendment filed on 07/01/26 is acknowledged.
2.Claims 113-141 are pending.
3. Claims 115-120, 129-132 stand withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 113, 114, 121-128, 133-141 read on a CAR comprising inhibitory NK receptor binding domain comprising NKGA binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID NO:229 and VH CDRs of SEQ ID Nos 213,214 and 215, and VL CDRs of SEQ IDS NOs: 216,217 and 218 are under consideration in the instant application.
5. Claims 123 and 125 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action mailed on 04/01/26.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/01/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that an amended claims 123 and 125 now depend on claim 122 which recites a complete set of six CDRs.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion an amended claims 123 and 125 still recited 98 % similarity.
As has been stated previously, Applicant is in possession of : 1) CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID N:229.
Applicant is not in possession of : any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229.
The claimed invention is drawn to a genus of CARs that recognize and quantitatively binds to NKG2A however, structural identifying characteristics of the genus are not disclosed. There is no evidence that there is any per se structure/function relationship between the disclosed CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID N:229 and any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229.
In determining that the Specification did not support the claimed any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229, the Specification disclosure is considered. The specification fails to disclose a complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof. Thus the skilled artisan could not envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of genus of CARs that recognize and quantitatively binds to NKG2A until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Absent a recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the Specification does not provide adequate written description support of the claimed genus.
It is well known in the art of remarkable flexibility of antibody repertoire and that huge variety of antibodies including monoclonal can be made that binds to a single epitope. Thus, disclosing a few antibodies doesn’t describe a genus of antibodies that binds to a particular epitope ( see for example Ferrara et al, 2015 and Lloyd et al., 2009, Protein Engineering, v.22, pages 159-168 and Edwards et al., JMB 2003, v.334,pages 103-118)
Given the well known high level of polymorphism of immunoglobulins / antibodies, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of antibodies and the unlimited number of antibodies encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genus of an any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229.encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations, broadly encompassed by the claimed invention.
The claims do not define the relevant identifying characteristics, namely the relevant amino acid sequences of the claimed genus of any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations that are essential for specific binding to NKG2A
On 22 February 2018, the USPTO provided a Memorandum clarifying the Written Description Guidelines for claims drawn to antibodies, which can be found at www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf. That Memorandum indicates that, in compliance with recent legal decisions, the disclosure of a fully characterized antigen no longer is sufficient written description of an antibody to that antigen. Accordingly, the instant claims have been re-evaluated in view of that guidance.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615. “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.”
Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. See ABBVIE DEUTSCHLAND GMBH & 2 CO. v. JANSSEN BIOTECH, INC., Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts in Nos. 09-CV-11340-FDS, 10-CV-40003-FDS, and 10-CV-40004-FDS, Judge F. Dennis Saylor, IV. See also Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 (“[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology.”); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech, Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 636 F.3d 1341, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (noting the technical challenges in developing fully human antibodies of a known human protein).
Further, the Court has interpreted 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph, to require the patent specification to “describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc, 63 USPQ2d 1609 and 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
In evaluating whether a patentee has fulfilled this requirement, our standard is that the patent’s “disclosure must allow one skilled in the art ‘to visualize or recognize the identity of’ the subject matter purportedly described.” Id. (quoting Regents of Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed Cir. 1997)).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483.
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "the written description requirement can in some cases be satisfied by functional description," it has made clear that "such functional description can be sufficient only if there is also a structure-function relationship known to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Wallach, 378 F.3d 1330, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2004); see also, Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 964 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (holding that the written description requirement would be satisfied "if the functional characteristic of preferential binding ... were coupled with a disclosed correlation between that function and a structure that is sufficiently known or disclosed"); Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 782 F.3d 1367, 1378 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (holding that an "adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products"). Here, the specification provides a functional description of the claimed any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229. i.e. binding to NKG2A
but the specification does not identify any disclosure of a correlation between the claimed function and the structure of the antibodies that perform that function.
Federal Circuit clarification of the law of written description as it applies to antibodies. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Federal Circuit) decided Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), which concerned adequate written description for claims drawn to antibodies. The Federal Circuit explained in Amgen that when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79. The Amgen court expressly stated that the so-called "newly characterized antigen" test, which had been based on an example in USPTO-issued training materials and was noted in dicta in several earlier Federal Circuit decisions, should not be used in determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody. Citing its decision in Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., the court also stressed that the "newly characterized antigen" test could not stand because it contradicted the quid pro quo of the patent system whereby one must describe an invention in order to obtain a patent. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79, quoting Ariad Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2010). In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
Also, it is noted that the Court has held that the disclosure of screening assays and generalclasses of compounds was not adequate to describe compounds having the desired activity: without disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, or small organic molecules have the desired characteristic, the claims failed to meet the description requirement of § 112.
See University of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., lnc., 69 USPQ2d 1886,1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Here, the problem here is that the instant specification fails to provide a disclosure of which amino acids are required for the claimed genus of any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations that retain the appropriate structural and functional attributes encompassed by the claimed methods.
Given the claimed broadly class of antibodies and in the absence of sufficient disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics for the broadly claimed genus of any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations encompassed by the claimed methods, the patentee must establish “a reasonable structure-function correlation” either within the specification or by reference to the knowledge of one skilled in the art with functional claims AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co. v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014)
and the specification at best describes plan for making a genus any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations then identifying those that satisfy claim limitations, but mere “wish or plan” for obtaining claimed invention is not sufficient. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Laboratories, 97 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Therefore, there is insufficient written description for the genus of any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations at the time the invention was made and as disclosed in the specification as filed under the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Applicant has been reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115.)
A skilled artisan cannot, as one can do with a fully described genus, visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus that exhibit this functional property.
Meeting the written description threshold requires showing that the applicant was in “possession” of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.2d at 1563-1564. Support need not describe the claimed subject matter in exactly the same terms as used in the claims. Eiselstein v. Frank, 52 F.3d 1035, 1038 (Fed. Cir. 1995). This support cannot be based on obviousness reasoning – i.e., what the written description and knowledge in the art would lead one to speculate as to modifications the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Ariad points out, the written description requirement also ensures that when a patent claims
a genus by function, the specification recites sufficient materials to accomplish that function - a problem that is particularly acute in biological arts." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1352-3.
The USPTO has released a Memo on the Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, 02/22/2018.
See https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf.
The Memo clarifies the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) concerning the written description requirement for claims drawn to antibodies, including the following.
“In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional”.
In contrast to applicant’s reliance upon the description of CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID N:229 there is insufficient written description of the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding makeup of the claimed any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 encompassing various structures, specificities and functional limitations to demonstrate possession.
Also, see Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
“When a patent claims a genus using functional language to define a desired result, the specification must demonstrate that the applicant has made a generic invention that achieves the claimed result and do so by showing that the applicant has invented species sufficient to support a claim to the functionally-defined genus.” See Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
“A sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can "visualize or recognize" the members of the genus.” See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1297, reiterating Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), the following is noted.
To show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358).
This it is the Examiner’s position that one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genus of any CAR comprising NKG2A binding domain comprising VH having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID :219 and VL having at least 98% identity to SEQ ID N:229 that can specifically binds to NKG2A.
7. Claims 113 , 114, 127 and 128 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 for the same reasons set forth in the previous Office Action mailed on 04/01/26.
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/01/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that : (i) US Patent Application’463 teaches CAR comprising antigen binding domain that is derived from NKG2A while the instant claims recited an antigen binding domain that binds NKG2A; (ii) US Patent Application’296 only disclosed a polypeptide construct that binds to NKG2A not CAR
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of the whole teaching of the prior art references.
In particular:
the whole purpose of US Patent Application’463 was to construct a novel CAR having antigen binding domains that were able to bind to the antigen of interest, including NKG2A. Applicant provided no evidences or that the CAR and CAR-expressing cells taught by US Patent Application ’463 is not capable of binding NKG2A.
(ii) the whole purpose of US Patent Application’296 was to develop a new CAR-T cells that can be used for immunotherapy.
As has been stated previously, US Patent Application ‘ 463 teaches a CAR and CAR-expressing cells, wherein CAR comprising antigen binding capable of binding to NKG2A, intracellular domain comprising signaling domain and transmembrane domain. US Patent Application ‘ 463 teaches that said CARs can be used for immunotherapy. ( see entire document, Abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0010, 0070 in particular).
US Patent Application ‘ 296 teaches a CAR and CAR-expressing cells, wherein CAR comprising extracellular inhibitory NKG2A binding domain, intracellular domain comprising signaling domain and transmembrane domain. US Patent Application ‘ 296 teaches that said CARs can be used for immunotherapy. ( see entire document, paragraphs 007, 0014, 0021, 0022, 0044, 0071,0072 in particular).
Claims 127 and 128 are included because said functional features would be an inherent properties of the recited CAR, because the recited and instantly claimed CAR are the same. See MPEP § 2112.01, “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” Also, “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada's polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").”
It is noted that the CAFC recently held in Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2d 1508 (CA FC 2001) that when a claimed process is not directed to a new use, consists of the same steps described in a prior art reference, and the newly discovered results of the known process directed to the same purpose are inherent, the process is not patentable.
The reference teaching anticipates the claimed invention.
9. Claims 113, 114, 121-126, 133-141 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 in view of US Patent 10711063 for the same reason set forth in the previous Office Action mailed on 04/01/26.
Applicant’s argument filed on 07/01/26 have been fully considered but have not been found convincing.
Applicant asserts that since US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 are not prior art references they can not be used for 103 rejection.
Contrary to Applicant’s assertion, as has been discusses above it is the Examiner’s position that US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 are prior art references that thus can be used for 103 rejection.
The teaching of US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 have been discussed supra.
US Patent Application 20210341463 and US Patent Application 20230183296 do not explicitly teach CAR comprising NKG2A domain comprising VH of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID NO:229 and VH CDRs of SEQ ID Nos 213,214 and 215, and VL CDRs of SEQ IDS NOs: 216, 217, 218
US Patent ‘063 teaches a inhibitory NKG2A binding antibody that can be used for immunotherapy, comprising VH of SEQ ID NO: 4 and VL of SEQ ID : 9 that are 100% identical to the instantly claimed VH of SEQ ID :219 and VL of SEQ ID NO:229 and comprising CDRH1,CDRH2, CDRH3, CDRL1,CDRL2and CDRL3 that are 100% identical to the instantly claimed VH CDRs of SEQ ID Nos 213,214 and 215, and VL CDRs of SEQ IDS NOs: 216, 217,218 ( see sequence alignment, attached) .
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute inhibitory NKG2A binding domain taught by US Patent Application ‘463 and US Patent Application ‘296 with inhibitory NKG2A binding domain taught by US Patent ‘063 with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art suggests that both types of inhibitory NKG2A binding domain can be used for immunotherapy.
Claims 133-138 are included because it would be conventional and within the skill of the art to determine an optimal signaling and transmembrane domains for CAR. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and therefore obvious).
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
10. No claim is allowed.
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Gregory Emch can be reached on 571/ 272-8149
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644