DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2, of the Brief filed on 01/21/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-10, 14, 16, 19, 22-23 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US 20200389865 A1) in view of Lung et al. (US 20120083268 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kunz teaches a user equipment (UE)(UE 102/502 performing method of Fig. 5), comprising: a processor (processor 202); a memory (memory 204); and a transceiver (transmitter 210), wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are configured to:
receive an authentication reject from an initial public land mobile network (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE 502 in response to determining that the UE 502 is not part of the same PLMN as the first AMF, [0075] and a first AMF 504 e.g., AMF of a first PLMN, [0067]);
determine, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, whether there are other available PLMNs (the registration reject may include an encrypted SUPI corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 and/or a list of one or more PLMNs corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 e.g., an indication of a network to which the UE 502 belongs, [0075] and UE 502 may store 530 an encrypted SUPI and may extract MNC and/or MCC from the encrypted SUPI in order to know the PLMN ID of the subscription corresponding to the UE, [0076]);
select, when it is determined that there are other available PLMNs, a PLMN among the other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]); and
register with the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF… UE 502 may include a PLMN ID in the registration request (e.g., an indication of the network to which the UE 502 belongs). In such embodiments, the PLMN ID may be selected from a list of one or more PLMNs received from the DB, [0077]).
However, Kunz does not clearly teach wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE.
In an analogous art, Lung teaches wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE (HPLMN Check of Fig. 6), and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE (Similarly, the UE determines whether the MCC is the same as MCC of HPLMN and PPLMN. If the MCC is not the same as the MCC of the HPLMN (or equivalent HPLMN) and PPLMN, the UE assigns the HPLMN and PPLMN with remove indicators. After the UE finishes the MCC check, the UE performs the PLMN search according to the PLMN search list with exception that the PLMNs (namely the RPLMN, HPLMN, and PPLMN) with remove indicator assigned in MCC check step is removed from the PLMN search list, [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz with the exclusion list of Lung to provide a methods and a system wherein unnecessary PLMN search is avoided, so as to fasten the PLMN search in an international roaming as suggested, Lung [0031].
Regarding claim 3, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is in a standalone (SA) mode (The code may execute entirely on the user's computer, partly on the user's computer, as a stand-alone software package, [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: receive an authentication request from the initial PLMN (the first AMF 504, after it detects that a registration request is for initial IoT registration, requesting that the UE 502 sends it's device ID in order to retrieve a SUPI. In certain embodiments, if the UE 502 includes a certificate, the first AMF 504 may determine (e.g., verify) whether it trusts the UE, [0069]); and send, subsequent to receiving the authentication request, an authentication response to the initial PLMN (the UE 502, after verifying the first AMF 504 encryption key if available, may send its device ID (e.g., IMEI, a unique string—such as a device manufacturer globally uniquely provisioned string) encrypted with the first AMF 504 encryption key to the first AMF, [0070]), wherein the authentication response is sent prior to the authentication reject being received (UE send the ID in step 518 and The AMF sends the rejection later in step 534 of Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: determine whether registering with the selected PLMN is successful (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE, [0075]); and repeat, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful, determining whether there are other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 9, wherein in registering with the selected PLMN and determining whether registering is successful, the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are configured to: send a registration request to the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF, [0077]); determine whether a registration accept is received from the selected PLMN in response to the registration request (the second AMF 506 to the UE 502, the second AMF 506 may send a registration accept to the UE 502 to indicate successful registration for profile provisioning, [0084]); determine that registering with the selected PLMN is successful when the registration accept is received (the second AMF 506 to the UE 502, the second AMF 506 may send a registration accept to the UE 502 to indicate successful registration for profile provisioning, [0084]); and determine that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the registration accept is not received (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE, [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, Kunz teaches a method of a user equipment (UE) )(UE 102/502 performing method of Fig. 5), comprising:
receiving an authentication reject from an initial public land mobile network (PLMN) (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE 502 in response to determining that the UE 502 is not part of the same PLMN as the first AMF, [0075]);
determining, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, whether there are other available PLMNs (the registration reject may include an encrypted SUPI corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 and/or a list of one or more PLMNs corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 e.g., an indication of a network to which the UE 502 belongs, [0075] and UE 502 may store 530 an encrypted SUPI and may extract MNC and/or MCC from the encrypted SUPI in order to know the PLMN ID of the subscription corresponding to the UE, [0076]);
selecting, when it is determined that there are other available PLMNs, a PLMN among the other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]); and
registering with the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF… UE 502 may include a PLMN ID in the registration request (e.g., an indication of the network to which the UE 502 belongs). In such embodiments, the PLMN ID may be selected from a list of one or more PLMNs received from the DB, [0077]).
However, Kunz does not clearly teach wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE.
In an analogous art, Lung teaches wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE (Similarly, the UE determines whether the MCC is the same as MCC of HPLMN and PPLMN. If the MCC is not the same as the MCC of the HPLMN (or equivalent HPLMN) and PPLMN, the UE assigns the HPLMN and PPLMN with remove indicators. After the UE finishes the MCC check, the UE performs the PLMN search according to the PLMN search list with exception that the PLMNs (namely the RPLMN, HPLMN, and PPLMN) with remove indicator assigned in MCC check step is removed from the PLMN search list, [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz with the exclusion list of Lung to provide a methods and a system wherein unnecessary PLMN search is avoided, so as to fasten the PLMN search in an international roaming as suggested, Lung [0031].
Regarding claim 16, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the UE is in a standalone (SA) mode (The code may execute entirely on the user's computer, partly on the user's computer, as a stand-alone software package, [0028]).
Regarding claim 19, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving an authentication request from the initial PLMN (the first AMF 504, after it detects that a registration request is for initial IoT registration, requesting that the UE 502 sends it's device ID in order to retrieve a SUPI. In certain embodiments, if the UE 502 includes a certificate, the first AMF 504 may determine (e.g., verify) whether it trusts the UE, [0069]); and sending, subsequent to receiving the authentication request, an authentication response to the initial PLMN (the UE 502, after verifying the first AMF 504 encryption key if available, may send its device ID (e.g., IMEI, a unique string—such as a device manufacturer globally uniquely provisioned string) encrypted with the first AMF 504 encryption key to the first AMF, [0070]), wherein the authentication response is sent prior to the authentication reject being received (UE send the ID in step 518 and The AMF sends the rejection later in step 534 of Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 22, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: determining whether registering with the selected PLMN is successful (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE, [0075]); and repeating, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful, determining whether there are other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]).
Regarding claim 23, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 22, wherein registering with the selected PLMN and determining whether registering is successful comprise: sending a registration request to the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF, [0077]); determining whether a registration accept is received from the selected PLMN in response to the registration request (the second AMF 506 to the UE 502, the second AMF 506 may send a registration accept to the UE 502 to indicate successful registration for profile provisioning, [0084]); determining that registering with the selected PLMN is successful when the registration accept is received; and determining that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the registration accept is not received (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE, [0075]).
Regarding claim 27, Kunz teaches a user equipment (UE) (UE)(UE 102/502 performing method of Fig. 5), comprising:
means for receiving an authentication reject from an initial public land mobile network (PLMN) (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE 502 in response to determining that the UE 502 is not part of the same PLMN as the first AMF, [0075]);
means for determining, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, whether there are other available PLMNs (the registration reject may include an encrypted SUPI corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 and/or a list of one or more PLMNs corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 e.g., an indication of a network to which the UE 502 belongs, [0075] and UE 502 may store 530 an encrypted SUPI and may extract MNC and/or MCC from the encrypted SUPI in order to know the PLMN ID of the subscription corresponding to the UE, [0076]);
means for selecting, when it is determined that there are other available PLMNs, a PLMN among the other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]); and
means for registering with the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF… UE 502 may include a PLMN ID in the registration request (e.g., an indication of the network to which the UE 502 belongs). In such embodiments, the PLMN ID may be selected from a list of one or more PLMNs received from the DB, [0077]).
However, Kunz does not clearly teach wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE.
In an analogous art, Lung teaches wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE (Similarly, the UE determines whether the MCC is the same as MCC of HPLMN and PPLMN. If the MCC is not the same as the MCC of the HPLMN (or equivalent HPLMN) and PPLMN, the UE assigns the HPLMN and PPLMN with remove indicators. After the UE finishes the MCC check, the UE performs the PLMN search according to the PLMN search list with exception that the PLMNs (namely the RPLMN, HPLMN, and PPLMN) with remove indicator assigned in MCC check step is removed from the PLMN search list, [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz with the exclusion list of Lung to provide a methods and a system wherein unnecessary PLMN search is avoided, so as to fasten the PLMN search in an international roaming as suggested, Lung [0031].
Regarding claim 28, Kunz teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer- executable instructions for a user equipment (UE)( the processor 202 executes instructions stored in the memory 204 to perform the methods, [0046]), the computer-executable instructions comprising:
one or more instructions instructing the UE to receive an authentication reject from an initial public land mobile network (PLMN) (the first AMF 504 sends a registration reject to the UE 502 in response to determining that the UE 502 is not part of the same PLMN as the first AMF, [0075]);
one or more instructions instructing the UE to determine, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, whether there are other available PLMNs (the registration reject may include an encrypted SUPI corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 and/or a list of one or more PLMNs corresponding to the device ID of the UE 502 e.g., an indication of a network to which the UE 502 belongs, [0075] and UE 502 may store 530 an encrypted SUPI and may extract MNC and/or MCC from the encrypted SUPI in order to know the PLMN ID of the subscription corresponding to the UE, [0076]);
one or more instructions instructing the UE to select, when it is determined that there are other available PLMNs, a PLMN among the other available PLMNs (UE 502 performs PLMN selection and selects its HPLMN=a second PLMN (e.g., PLMN indicated by the PLMN ID), [0076]); and
one or more instructions instructing the UE to register with the selected PLMN (UE 502 sends a registration request for IoT registration to the second AMF… UE 502 may include a PLMN ID in the registration request (e.g., an indication of the network to which the UE 502 belongs). In such embodiments, the PLMN ID may be selected from a list of one or more PLMNs received from the DB, [0077]).
However, Kunz does not clearly teach wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE.
In an analogous art, Lung teaches wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are home PLMNs of the UE, and wherein none of the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are equivalent home PLMNs of the UE (Similarly, the UE determines whether the MCC is the same as MCC of HPLMN and PPLMN. If the MCC is not the same as the MCC of the HPLMN (or equivalent HPLMN) and PPLMN, the UE assigns the HPLMN and PPLMN with remove indicators. After the UE finishes the MCC check, the UE performs the PLMN search according to the PLMN search list with exception that the PLMNs (namely the RPLMN, HPLMN, and PPLMN) with remove indicator assigned in MCC check step is removed from the PLMN search list, [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz with the exclusion list of Lung to provide a methods and a system wherein unnecessary PLMN search is avoided, so as to fasten the PLMN search in an international roaming as suggested, Lung [0031].
Claims 2, 5, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US 20200389865 A1) in view of Lung and further in view of Salkintzis (US 20220116769 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are 5G New Radio (NR) PLMNs.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are 5G New Radio (NR) PLMNs (the present disclosure extends the EAP-5G protocol that operates between the UE and the TNGF during a 5G registration, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Regarding claim 5, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein the authentication reject from the initial PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein the authentication reject from the initial PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message (TNGF 213 sends an EAP-Request/5G-Notification packet to the UE 205 that contains one or more access parameters and may also contain a result indication (e.g., Success or Failure) that indicates whether the EAP-5G session is successful or not, [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Regarding claim 15, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are 5G New Radio (NR) PLMNs.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein the initial PLMN and the other available PLMNs are 5G New Radio (NR) PLMNs (the present disclosure extends the EAP-5G protocol that operates between the UE and the TNGF during a 5G registration, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Regarding claim 18, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein the authentication reject from the initial PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein the authentication reject from the initial PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message (TNGF 213 sends an EAP-Request/5G-Notification packet to the UE 205 that contains one or more access parameters and may also contain a result indication (e.g., Success or Failure) that indicates whether the EAP-5G session is successful or not, [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Claims 7, 11-12, 20 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US 20200389865 A1) in view of Lung and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20230069252 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with, and wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: add, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list.
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs (The SNPN network selection information preconfigured by the UE may include a forbidden list (PLMN ID), (PLMN ID, forbidden indication), an optional list (PLMN ID+NID), (PLMN ID+NID, priority), or the like, [0216]) and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with (The access management network element allocates a tracking area list (TA list), [0131]), and wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: add, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Regarding claim 11, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 9.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with, and wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: add, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list.
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs (The SNPN network selection information preconfigured by the UE may include a forbidden list (PLMN ID), (PLMN ID, forbidden indication), an optional list (PLMN ID+NID), (PLMN ID+NID, priority), or the like, [0216]) and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with (The access management network element allocates a tracking area list (TA list), [0131]), and wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: add, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Regarding claim 12, Kunz as modified by Lung and Zhu teaches the UE of claim 11. Zhu further teaches wherein in adding the selected PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list, the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: determine whether registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful due to receiving the authentication reject from the selected PLMN (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]); and add, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful due to receiving the authentication reject from the selected PLMN, the selected PLMN and/or the one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Regarding claim 20, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with, and wherein the method further comprises: adding, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list.
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs (PLMN ID), (PLMN ID, forbidden indication), an optional list (PLMN ID+NID), (PLMN ID+NID, priority), or the like, [0216]) and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with (The access management network element allocates a tracking area list (TA list), [0131]), and wherein the method further comprises: adding, subsequent to receiving the authentication reject from the initial PLMN, the initial PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the initial PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Regarding claim 24, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 22.
However, Kunz and Lung do not clearly teach wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with, and wherein the method further comprises: adding, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful, the selected PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list.
In an analogous art, Zhu teaches wherein a forbidden list is stored within the UE, the forbidden list comprising one or more PLMNs and/or tracking area codes (TAC) of the one or more PLMNs that the UE will not attempt to connect with (The SNPN network selection information preconfigured by the UE may include a forbidden list (PLMN ID), (PLMN ID, forbidden indication), an optional list (PLMN ID+NID), (PLMN ID+NID, priority), or the like, [0216]), and wherein the method further comprises: adding, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful, the selected PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Regarding claim 25, Kunz as modified by Lung and Zhu teaches the method of claim 24. Zhu further teaches wherein adding the selected PLMN and/or one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list comprises: determining whether registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful due to receiving the authentication reject from the selected PLMN (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]); and adding, when it is determined that registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful due to receiving the authentication reject from the selected PLMN, the selected PLMN and/or the one or more TACs of the selected PLMN to the forbidden list (Optionally, if receiving the registration reject message and obtaining the reject reason, the UE updates a network selection configuration based on the reject reason, and removes the PLMN ID from an optional list or adds the PLMN ID to a forbidden list, [0207]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the forbidden list of Zhu to provide a methods and a system to enable a terminal device to obtain SNPN network selection information of the terminal device from a PLMN or an SNPN, so that when being located in coverage of different networks, the terminal device can select the SNPN or the PLMN by using the SNPN network selection information, and access the SNPN as suggested, Zhu [0005].
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US 20200389865 A1) in view of Lung and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 20230069252 A1) and Salkintzis (US 20220116769 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kunz as modified by Lung and Zhu teaches the UE of claim 12.
However, Kunz, Lung and Zhu do not teach wherein it is determined that the registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the authentication reject from the selected PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein it is determined that the registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the authentication reject from the selected PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message (TNGF 213 sends an EAP-Request/5G-Notification packet to the UE 205 that contains one or more access parameters and may also contain a result indication (e.g., Success or Failure) that indicates whether the EAP-5G session is successful or not, [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz, Lung and Zhu with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Regarding claim 26, Kunz as modified by Lung and Zhu teaches the method of claim 25,.
However, Kunz, Lung and Zhu do not teach wherein it is determined that the registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the authentication reject from the selected PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message.
In an analogous art, Salkintzis teaches wherein it is determined that the registering with the selected PLMN is unsuccessful when the authentication reject from the selected PLMN includes an extensible authentication protocol (EAP)-fail message (TNGF 213 sends an EAP-Request/5G-Notification packet to the UE 205 that contains one or more access parameters and may also contain a result indication (e.g., Success or Failure) that indicates whether the EAP-5G session is successful or not, [0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz, Lung and Zhu with the 5G network of slice priority of Salkintzis to provide a methods and a system to supporting a notification procedure during 5G registration over a non-3GPP access network as suggested, Salkintzis [0001].
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al. (US 20200389865 A1) in view of Lung and further in view of Sripada et al. (US 20160373977 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the UE of claim 1.
However, Kunz and Lung do not teach wherein the processor, the memory, and/or the transceiver are further configured to: invalidate, when it is determined that there are no other available PLMNs, a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE.
In an analogous art, Sripada teaches invalidate, when it is determined that there are no other available PLMNs, a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE (if the CSG subscription is rejected due to the user selection, contexts in the UE, such as security parameters, an equivalent PLMN (ePLMN) list, a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), etc., are deleted, evolved-universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) is disabled, or a subscriber identity module (SIM) is invalidated, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the network selection of Sripada to provide a methods and a system for optimizing service recovery of user equipment (UEs) during manual closed subscriber group (CSG) selection in wireless communication as suggested by Sripada [0003].
Regarding claim 21, Kunz as modified by Lung teaches the method of claim 14.
However, Kunz and Lung do not teach further comprising: invalidating, when it is determined that there are no other available PLMNs, a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE.
In an analogous art, Sripada teaches invalidating, when it is determined that there are no other available PLMNs, a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE (if the CSG subscription is rejected due to the user selection, contexts in the UE, such as security parameters, an equivalent PLMN (ePLMN) list, a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), etc., are deleted, evolved-universal terrestrial radio access (E-UTRA) is disabled, or a subscriber identity module (SIM) is invalidated, [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network selection of Kunz and Lung with the network selection of Sripada to provide a methods and a system for optimizing service recovery of user equipments (UEs) during manual closed subscriber group (CSG) selection in wireless communication as suggested, Sripada [0003].
Conclusion
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641