DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 13, 35, 42, 47, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2018/0176059 to Medles et al. (hereinafter Medles).
In regard claim 1, Medles teaches or discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving a message comprising an indication of a set of demodulation reference
signal candidates for a data channel (see Figs. 3a, 3b paragraphs [0005], [0007], [0010], [0011], [0047], [0048], and [0055], receiving from a base station a candidate demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence that is carried in a subframe and associated with a PDCCH carried in the subframe. The candidate DMRS sequence in a subframe can be received at the UE 121. The candidate DMRS sequence can be one of the set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are allocated among the UEs 121-123. The candidate DMRS sequence can be previously allocated to a specific UE, thus included in a CRS that this specific UE is being monitored for each subframe. A PDCCH intended for this specific UE can be included in the same CRS carrying the candidate DMRS sequence);
determining a set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference
signal candidates based at least in part on the received message, the set of parameters
corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band
associated with the data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present); and
estimating one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claims 8 and 42, Medles teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the message comprises:
receiving a radio resource control configuration message comprising the indication of the set of demodulation reference signal candidates for the data channel (see paragraphs [0010], [0047], and [0048], transmitting a DMRS sequence allocation configuration to the UE indicating the candidate DMRS sequence allocated to the UE. At the UE 121 side, the UE 121 can similarly generate a local DMRS sequence based on the expressions (1) and (2) according to the set of received sequence configuration parameters (indicating usage of the expressions (1) and (2)), and other parameters (such as N.sub.ID. sup.cell and n.sub.RNTI) obtained from other configurations signaled from the base station 110. The UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence).
In regard claims 13 and 47, Medles teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a size of a physical resource block bundle associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraph [0028], the subframe 200 can include a control resource set (CRS) 201 (also referred to as a control subband). Generally, a CRS refers to a set of physical resource blocks (PRBs) in frequency domain within which PDCCHs are carried. A PRB, as defined in related LTE or NR communication standards, can refer to a block of REs within a certain number of subcarriers in frequency domain and a certain number of OFDM symbols in time domain), wherein determining a size of the radio frequency spectrum subband comprises:
determining the size of the radio frequency spectrum subband based at least in part on the size of the physical resource block bundle (see paragraph [0028], the subframe 200 can include a plurality of CRSs expanding across a system bandwidth of the wireless communication network 100 in the frequency domain. In addition, different CRS may have different sizes in terms of a number of PRBs).
In regard claim 35, Medles teaches or discloses a method for wireless communications at a base station, comprising:
determining a set of parameters associated with a set of demodulation reference signal candidates, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band associated with a data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present);
transmitting a message comprising an indication of the set of demodulation reference signal candidates and the associated set of parameters for the data channel (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0047], and [0069], transmitting, from a base station, a subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence allocated to a UE and a PDCCH intended for the UE. The candidate DMRS sequence allocated to the UE is one of a set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are orthogonal across UEs and PDCCH aggregation levels. The base station 110 can then associate the generated candidate DMRS sequence with the to-be-transmitted PDCCH by including the generated candidate DMRS sequence and the to-be-transmitted PDCCH in a same CRS in the to-be-transmitted subframe. A subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence that is the sequence allocated to the UE 121 and a PDCCH intended for the UE 121 can be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UEs 121-123); and
estimating one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 69, Medles teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see Fig. 5), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 5, element 510),
memory coupled to the processor (see Fig. 5, elements520 and 510); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 5):
receive a message comprising an indication of a set of demodulation reference signal candidates for a data channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0007], [0010], [0011], [0047], [0048], and [0055], receiving from a base station a candidate demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence that is carried in a subframe and associated with a PDCCH carried in the subframe. The candidate DMRS sequence in a subframe can be received at the UE 121. The candidate DMRS sequence can be one of the set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are allocated among the UEs 121-123. The candidate DMRS sequence can be previously allocated to a specific UE, thus included in a CRS that this specific UE is being monitored for each subframe. A PDCCH intended for this specific UE can be included in the same CRS carrying the candidate DMRS sequence);
determine a set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates based at least in part on the received message, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band associated with the data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and perform a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present); and
estimate one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 70, Medles teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (see Fig. 4), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 5, element 510),
memory coupled to the processor (see Fig. 5, elements 520 and 510); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 5):
determine a set of parameters associated with a set of demodulation reference signal candidates, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band associated with a data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present);
transmit a message comprising an indication of the set of demodulation reference signal candidates and the associated set of parameters for the data channel (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0047], and [0069], transmitting, from a base station, a subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence allocated to a UE and a PDCCH intended for the UE. The candidate DMRS sequence allocated to the UE is one of a set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are orthogonal across UEs and PDCCH aggregation levels. The base station 110 can then associate the generated candidate DMRS sequence with the to-be-transmitted PDCCH by including the generated candidate DMRS sequence and the to-be-transmitted PDCCH in a same CRS in the to-be-transmitted subframe. A subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence that is the sequence allocated to the UE 121 and a PDCCH intended for the UE 121 can be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UEs 121-123); and
estimate one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 71, Medles teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (see Fig. 5), comprising:
means for receiving a message comprising an indication of a set of demodulation reference signal candidates for a data channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0007], [0010], [0011], [0047], [0048], and [0055], receiving from a base station a candidate demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence that is carried in a subframe and associated with a PDCCH carried in the subframe. The candidate DMRS sequence in a subframe can be received at the UE 121. The candidate DMRS sequence can be one of the set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are allocated among the UEs 121-123. The candidate DMRS sequence can be previously allocated to a specific UE, thus included in a CRS that this specific UE is being monitored for each subframe. A PDCCH intended for this specific UE can be included in the same CRS carrying the candidate DMRS sequence);
means for determining a set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates based at least in part on the received message, the set of parameters
corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band
associated with the data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present); and
means for estimating one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 72, Medles teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communications (see Fig. 5), comprising:
means for determining a set of parameters associated with a set of demodulation\ reference signal candidates, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum
subband or a radio frequency spectrum band associated with a data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present);
means for transmitting a message comprising an indication of the set of demodulation reference signal candidates and the associated set of parameters for the data channel (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0047], and [0069], transmitting, from a base station, a subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence allocated to a UE and a PDCCH intended for the UE. The candidate DMRS sequence allocated to the UE is one of a set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are orthogonal across UEs and PDCCH aggregation levels. The base station 110 can then associate the generated candidate DMRS sequence with the to-be-transmitted PDCCH by including the generated candidate DMRS sequence and the to-be-transmitted PDCCH in a same CRS in the to-be-transmitted subframe. A subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence that is the sequence allocated to the UE 121 and a PDCCH intended for the UE 121 can be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UEs 121-123); and
means for estimating one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 73, Medles teaches or discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see paragraphs [0071], and [0072], the circuitry can be configured to perform various functions described herein. In one example, the memory 520 can store program instructions that cause the processor 510 to perform various functions), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to (see paragraphs [0071] and [0072]):
receive a message comprising an indication of a set of demodulation reference
signal candidates for a data channel (see paragraphs [0005], [0007], [0010], [0011], [0047], [0048], and [0055], receiving from a base station a candidate demodulation reference signal (DMRS) sequence that is carried in a subframe and associated with a PDCCH carried in the subframe. The candidate DMRS sequence in a subframe can be received at the UE 121. The candidate DMRS sequence can be one of the set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are allocated among the UEs 121-123. The candidate DMRS sequence can be previously allocated to a specific UE, thus included in a CRS that this specific UE is being monitored for each subframe. A PDCCH intended for this specific UE can be included in the same CRS carrying the candidate DMRS sequence);
determine a set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference
signal candidates based at least in part on the received message, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or a radio frequency spectrum band
associated with the data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present); and
estimate one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
In regard claim 74, Medles teaches or discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications at a base station, the code comprising instructions executable by a processor to (see paragraphs [0071] and [0072], the circuitry can be configured to perform various functions described herein. In one example, the memory 520 can store program instructions that cause the processor 510 to perform various functions):
determine a set of parameters associated with a set of demodulation reference signal candidates, the set of parameters corresponding to a radio frequency spectrum subband or
a radio frequency spectrum band associated with a data channel (see paragraphs [0008], [0033], [0035], [0039], [0042], and [0048], the UE 121 can then perform a DMRS detection process to determine a presence of the candidate DMRS sequence. Monitoring multiple CRSs in the subframe each carrying a candidate DMRS sequence associated with a PDCCH, determining whether the local DMRS sequence is present among the candidate DMRS sequences carried in the multiple CRSs, and performing a PDCCH decoding process to decoding the respective PDCCH associated with the local DMRS when the local DMRS is present. A threshold for determining presence of a DMRS sequence (which is referred to as a threshold based detection), a ranking mechanism (referred to as ranking based detection) can be used. For example, the quality metrics for different candidate DMRS sequences can be ranked in descending order of the mostly likely to be present to the least likely, and only a small number ‘N’ (a pre-defined or a configured constant of 1 or greater than 1) of the highest ranked candidates is determined to be present);
transmit a message comprising an indication of the set of demodulation reference signal candidates and the associated set of parameters for the data channel (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0047], and [0069], transmitting, from a base station, a subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence allocated to a UE and a PDCCH intended for the UE. The candidate DMRS sequence allocated to the UE is one of a set of orthogonal or quasi-orthogonal sequences that are orthogonal across UEs and PDCCH aggregation levels. The base station 110 can then associate the generated candidate DMRS sequence with the to-be-transmitted PDCCH by including the generated candidate DMRS sequence and the to-be-transmitted PDCCH in a same CRS in the to-be-transmitted subframe. A subframe including a candidate DMRS sequence that is the sequence allocated to the UE 121 and a PDCCH intended for the UE 121 can be transmitted from the base station 110 to the UEs 121-123); and
estimate one or more characteristics of the data channel using the set of parameters associated with the set of demodulation reference signal candidates (see paragraphs [0026], and [0031], a DMRS sequence can also be used as a pilot sequence for channel estimation. DMRS sequence symbols can be used to obtain a channel estimation that facilitates a coherent demodulation of one or more PDCCHs, or other control channels or data channels. The RS REs 221 is included in a first OFDM symbol of the subframe 200, such that channel estimation based on the DMRS sequence 220 can start early to reduce delay in decoding the PDCCH 230).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 34, 67, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medles in view of US Pub. 2016/0112994 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
In regard claims 33 and 67, Medles may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the data channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel.
However, Chun teaches or discloses wherein the data channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (see paragraphs [0073], [0086], [0088], [0098], and [0100], the DMRS port candidate set field may indicate not only the candidate group of e-PDCCH ports but also the candidate group of DMRS ports for a PDSC).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify reference signal detection for reducing contro decoding complexity of Medles by including the data channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel suggested by Chun. This modification would provide to extend cell coverage and improve transmission performance and improve reliability of signal transmission capacity read in paragraph [0087].
In regard claims 34 and 68, Medles may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the data channel comprises a physical uplink shared channel.
However, Chun teaches or discloses wherein the data channel comprises a physical uplink shared channel (see paragraphs [0049], [0052], a physical uplink shared channel (PUCCH) for transmitting data is allocated to the data region. When indicated by a higher layer, the UE may support a simultaneous transmission of the PUSCH and the PUCCH).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify reference signal detection for reducing contro decoding complexity of Medles by including the data channel comprises a physical uplink shared channel suggested by Chun. This modification would provide to extend cell coverage and improve transmission performance and improve reliability of signal transmission capacity read in paragraph [0087].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-12, 14-32, 36-41, 43-46, and 48-66 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 13, 35, 42, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, and 74 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Date: 02/13/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476