Status
This Office Action is in Response to the Amendments and Arguments filed 16 December 2025. As directed by applicant, claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 10 and 16 are amended, claims 11-14 are cancelled. This is a Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Eckert (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/ 0090802).
Regarding claim 1, Eckert discloses heating cavity assembly of an electric heater, the heating cavity assembly comprising:
an electric heating unit (Eckert, 25) , located in a heating cavity and configured to convert electric energy into heat energy; and
a flow channel structure (Eckert, 20, ¶39, figs. 1,6,8) located in the heat exchange cavity and configured to allow a heat transfer medium passing through the flow channel structure to receive heat energy from the electric heating unit, characterized in that,
the flow channel structure comprises a plurality of medium flow channels, the plurality of medium flow channels (Eckert, 20, see Figs. 6) extending in parallel (the back and forth is parallel; and the tracks are even “in parallel” with each other) to each other along respective extension track lines (a whole flow path from one side to the other), and the extension track lines with a translation relationship (Eckert, fig. 6; the heat transfer medium is divided among the flow channels, as described in the instant Specification, p. 6, 2nd to last paragraph),
wherein at least one of the extension track lines of each of the plurality of medium flow channels is provided with at least one discontinuous part (Eckert, Fig. 6, flow is continuous from one side to the other, inlet chamber 16 or outlet chamber 22 are discontinuous.), the discontinuous part of each of the medium flow channels forming a mixing flow area (in 16), and the numbers of the medium flow channels at upstream and downstream of the mixing flow area are same or different (upstream of 16 there is one entering from 14, and downstream from 16 a plurality of flows each of the individual medium flow channels, the flow channels are different for upstream,0, and downstream, at least 3, fig. 6) , and
wherein a turbulent flow structure (28) is arranged in the mixing flow area (¶¶0010, 0040), the turbulent flow structure comprising a plurality of turbulent flow columns which extend in a height direction of the electric heater and are distributed at intervals from each other (fig. 4, ¶40, elements 28 ).
Regarding claim 2, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein at least one of the extension track line comprises at least one n shape (Eckert, fig. 6, going around the curves makes an “n” shape).
Regarding claim 3, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim s, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein each of the plurality of medium flow channel comprises:
a first extension portion, linearly extending from a first opening of the medium flow channel along a first linear direction (Eckert, fig. 6A, annotated below, 1st annotated below; coming in at 36, extending to the other side) ;
a second extension portion, linearly extending from an end of the first extension portion along a second linear direction vertical to the first linear direction (Fig. 6, 2nd, flow path just goes down a little) ;
a bending extension portion, linearly extending from an end of the second extension portion along the first linear direction (BE; walls have a bend in them to move the liquid in a serpentine way back forth and back);
a third extension portion, extending from an end of the bending extension portion along the second linear direction (3rd, flow path goes down a little at a further end); and
a fourth extension portion, extending from an end of the third extension portion to a second opening of the medium flow channel along the first linear direction (Fig. 6, 4th annotated; last extension and then out at 38).
Regarding claim 4, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 3, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein one of the first linear direction and the second linear direction is the width direction of the electric heating device, and the other one is the length direction of the electric heating device (Figs. 1, 6; width and length of heating device).
Regarding claim 5, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein the extension track lines form an axisymmetric shape or a centrosymmetric shape (each track has centrosymmetry around its center, see below, annotated fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 6, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein the flow channel structure (20) of the electric heater comprises: an inflow cavity (16), configured to receive a heat transfer medium to be heated ; and an outflow cavity (22), configured to collect and discharge a heated heat transfer medium and communicating with the inflow cavity through a plurality of medium flow channels (Fig. 6, multiple element 36 entrances) which are arranged in parallel, wherein the first opening of each of the medium flow channels communicates with the inflow cavity, and the second opening of each of the medium flow channels communicates with the outflow cavity (38 dumps into 22).
Regarding claim 7, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 6, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein, the cross-sectional area of the inflow cavity gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium; and/or the cross-sectional area of the outflow cavity gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium (Eckert, ¶0009).
Regarding claim 9, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 4, as above, and further discloses a heating cavity wherein in the second linear direction, the first opening of each of the medium flow channels at the inflow cavity is arranged in parallel (Eckert, Figs. 1, 6; Fig. 6B, annotated below; FL indicates the direction in the second direction moving into 36 coming from 14, and these are all parallel in the second direction; if you look at these openings “in the second linear direction”, these openings are arranged in parallel); and/or in the second linear direction, the second opening of each of the medium flow channels at the outflow cavity is arranged in parallel.
Regarding claim 10, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 9, as above, and further teaches a heating cavity assembly of an electric heater wherein the heating cavity assembly has at least one of the following features:
each of the first openings is arranged in the first linear direction flush with each other;
the extension degree of each of the first openings towards an inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
the extension degree of each of the first openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
the extension degree of each of the first openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually increases and then gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
the extension degree of each of the first openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually decreases and then gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
* each of the second openings (38) is arranged in the first linear flush with each other (Eckert, fig. 6, the opening is flush with the rest of the heater);
the extension degree of each of the second openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
the extension degree of each of the second openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium;
the extension degree of each of the second openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually increases and then gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium; and
the extension degree of each of the second openings towards the inner side wall of the heating cavity assembly in the first linear direction gradually decreases and then gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/ 0090802).
Regarding claim 8, Eckert discloses all the limitations of claim 7, as above, but does not further disclose a heating cavity wherein characterized in that, a height of the inflow cavity in the height direction of the electric heater gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium; and/or a width of the inflow cavity in the width direction of the electric heater gradually decreases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium; and/or a height of the outflow cavity in the height direction of the electric heater gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium; and/or a width of the outflow cavity in the width direction of the electric heater gradually increases along the flow direction of the heat transfer medium. This claim just details that when changing the cross-sectional area, one of the width and/or the height should change size. While Eckert does not teach HOW they cavities change in size, whether the height or the width of the cavity changes so that its cross sectional area changes, it does teach that the cross-sectional areas does change, and it meets the limitations of claim 7 (Eckert, ¶0009), above. The cross-sectional area of a passageway, the area to pass through, is the width of the passageway multiplied times its height. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Eckert, to have either the width or the height of the chambers change in size, the width and the height making up the dimensions of the cross-sectional area which Eckert teaches may change, in order to change the cross-sectional area in a conventional way, dealing with its dimensions, a cross-sectional area being the width times the height of the cavity or passage.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckert (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/ 0090802) in view of Himeno (U.S Patent Application Publication 2013/ 0220987).
Regarding claim 15, Eckert discloses an electric heater of a(Eckert, Title, “Heating Device for a Vehicle”), characterized in that, the electric heater comprising: a heating cavity assembly, the heating cavity assembly being the heating cavity assembly of claim 1; and a first shell and a second shell (Eckert, walls 32 and 34, ¶0041), the first shell and the second shell being arranged on two sides of the heating cavity assembly respectively.
Eckert does not disclose that the vehicle is an “electric vehicle”. However, having these type of fluid medium heaters within electric vehicles is now conventional, such as taught in Himeno, (Himeno, ¶0002, electric heater for “an electric vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, etc.). It is noted that such electric heaters are conventional in vehicle air conditioning (Eckert, ¶0003; Himeno, ¶0002). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing, to modify Eckert with the teachings of Himeno, to install such a heating device in a conventional way, to achieve the expected result of heating within an electric car (see MPEP 2143A).
Regarding claim 16, Eckert in view of Himeno, teaches an electric vehicle, characterized in that, the electric vehicle comprising the electric heater of claim 15 (see rejection above), the electric vehicle being a pure-electric vehicle or a hybrid power vehicle (electric or hybrid vehicle from Himeno).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant merely moved already rejected claims into the independent claim. Thus, the rejection over the prior art is maintained.
Applicant argues, specifically, that Eckert, the primary reference, “does not disclose the specific combination of (a) discontinuous parts in the extension track lines that form mixing flow areas combined with (b) the specific turbulent flow structure comprising turbulent flow columns as now recited in claim 1” (Remarks, p. 10). Examiner disagrees.
The claim amendments recite, in claim 1, “wherein at least one of the extension track lines of each of the plurality of medium flow channels is provided with at least one discontinuous part, the discontinuous part of each of the medium flow channels forming a mixing flow area, and the numbers of the medium flow channels at upstream and downstream of the mixing flow area are same or different, and wherein a turbulent flow structure is arranged in the mixing flow area, the turbulent flow structure comprising a plurality of turbulent flow columns which extend in a height direction of the electric heater and are distributed at intervals from each other”.
Examiner interprets that Eckert does disclose “wherein at least one of the extension track lines of each of the plurality of medium flow channels is provided with at least one discontinuous part”, that is, in fig. 1, the turbulent section 16 is the “at least one discontinuous part” of “each of the plurality of medium flow channels”. Eckert discloses “the discontinuous part of each of the medium flow channels forming a mixing flow area” in that in area 16, there is mixing, ¶40, and turbulence, and Eckert discloses wherein “the numbers of the medium flow channels at upstream and downstream of the mixing flow area are same or different, that is, there is one flow channel upstream of the turbulent area, entering from inlet 14 about to be in contact with elements 28,, and it is multiple flow channels leading into 22, fig. 6 , and thus the numbers of flow channels upstream versus downstream of the mixing flow area are different, meeting the limitations of the claim. And Eckert discloses “wherein a turbulent flow structure is arranged in the mixing flow area, the turbulent flow structure comprising a plurality of turbulent flow columns which extend in a height direction of the electric heater and are distributed at intervals from each other”, in that area 16 has a turbulent flow help created by elements 28, which a “plurality of flow columns which extend in a height direction”, as seen in fig. 4, sticking out of the base (Eckert, ¶40, element 28 may be a fin, cone, bolt or pin) and they are certainly distributed at intervals, fig. 1. Thus, the prior art anticipates the invention as claimed.
Applicant argues that the track lines of Eckert are continuous, and that element 28 is actually a heat discharge body that serves to discharge waste heat and has a different purpose than the turbulent flow structure recited in claim 1 (Remarks, p. 11). However, in Examiner’s current interpretation of Eckert, the track lines are discontinuous, with the discontinuous part coming before the track lines pointed to by Applicant. As well, although elements may also serve an additional function, looking at the structure of the invention, the reference’s structures read on the limitations of the claim (and this point also addresses Applicant’s Third point, (Remarks, p. 12), dealing with the “technical problem to be solved”, in that although perhaps Eckert set out to solve a different problem, his structure, with the track lines and the turbulent flow, also reads on the limitations of the instant claim).
The rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAWRENCE H SAMUELS whose telephone number is (571)272-2683. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5PM M-F.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ibrahime Abraham can be reached at 571-270-5569. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761