Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 11, 2025, regarding the 112f claim interpretations (page 6) for the terms have been fully considered. In light of the amendment, the interpretation of those terms that have been removed have been withdrawn. The argument regarding the term “receiving area” is not persuasive, therefore the related interpretation has been maintained. The applicant argued that the term “area” is structurally defined, but the examiner disagrees, noting that there is no specific structure that is understood from the term “area”; nearly any structure could be referred to as an area. Further, the limitation recites the function of receiving a cassette without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the function of receiving a cassette.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 102/103 claim rejections (page 6-8) have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons, therefore the related rejections have been maintained.
Regarding applicant’s argument (page 7, para. 3: “Hansen discloses…”) that Hansen does not teach a hub with receiving area for a cassette because Hansen lack shifting at the rear wheel/ hub, the examiner disagrees. It is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., shifting at the rear wheel/ hub) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145(VI). Further, despite Hansen’s teachings primarily discussing a hub with a single sprocket, Hansen does teach a hub with multiple sprockets- i.e. a cassette- in Para. [0044]; see also the corresponding 102 rejection below.
Applicant’s argument (page 7, para. 5: “Hendey shows…”) that Hendey does not teach a receiving area is moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“receiving area” introduced in claim 18
uses a nonce term “area”
the nonce term being modified by the functional language “receive” which is linked with the linking phrase “configured to”
no structure for performing the function being claimed
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Particularly:
“receiving area” is interpreted as a “conventional cassette receiving area” or its equivalents based on Para. [0022] of the instant application’s written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hansen (US-20060040776-A1) (note: the underlined portions relate to the latest amendment, for the applicant’s convenience).
Regarding Claim 18, Hansen teaches a hub for a bicycle running wheel (Abstract; Bicycle Hub Assembly 10, Para. [0044]), the hub comprising:
a hub body (Hub Shell 11, Fig. 1); and
a receiving area (Knuckles 24, Fig. 7, considered an equivalent of a cassette receiving area; see the corresponding 112f claim interpretation discussion above) configured to receive a cassette (Para. [0045] and Fig. 7 teach the Knuckles 24 receiving a Cog Disc 14, and Para. [0044] teaches the use of additional sprockets to form a cog set- i.e. cassette),
wherein the hub body (11) and the receiving area (24) are a single part (Fig.1 and Para. [0045] teach the Knuckles 24 being molded into Hub Shell 11 {erroneously labeled 12} such that Hub Shell 11 and Knuckles 24 are a single part).
Regarding Claim 20, Hansen further teaches that the hub comprises no freewheel (Para. [0045] teaches the Bicycle Hub Assembly 10 as “fixed gear” and Cog Disc 14 being firmly connected to Hub Shell 11 with Cog Bolts 16 as illustrated in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Hansen further teaches that the receiving area (24) has a receiving profile (formed by the Knuckles 24 as illustrated in Fig. 1) configured to receive and/or fix the cassette (Para. [0045] teaches that Knuckles 24 protrude from the Hub Shell 11 which are received by Cog Disc 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen.
Regarding Claim 19, Hansen further teaches that the hub body (11) and the receiving area (24) are {molded} together from the single part (Para. [0044] teaches that Hub Shell 11 [there erroneously labeled 12] is a molded unit; molded Knuckles 24 protruding from it).
Hansen does not teach that the hub body is formed by being milled.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the molded process of Hansen with a milled process as it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent part forming techniques recognized in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). Please note that in the instant application, the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claims 18, 23, 26, 28-29, 31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendey (US-20160303961-A1) in view of Hansen.
Regarding Claim 18, alternately and in addition to the 102 rejection based on Hansen above, Hendey teaches a hub for a bicycle running wheel (Rear Wheel 802 being illustrated with a hub in Fig. 5), the hub comprising:
a hub body (a hub body being illustrated in Fig. 5); and
a receiving area configured to receive a [sprocket] (the hub of Rear Wheel 802 being connected to Chain or Belt 870 with a chain sprocket as taught in Fig. 6 and Para. [0035], necessitating a chain sprocket connection to the hub; a chain sprocket connection and chain sprocket being considered equivalents of a cassette receiving area and a cassette),
Hendey does not teach a cassette or that the hub body and the receiving area are a single part.
Hansen teaches a cassette and a hub body and receiving area that are a single part (see the 102 rejection of claim 18 above for the teachings of Hansen).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hendey and Hansen in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hendey’s hub to include a cassette and a hub body and receiving area that are a single part as suggested by Hansen. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing multiple gear choices and a robust connection between power transmission components that would beneficially make a more versatile and robust hub.
Regarding Claim 23, Hendey teaches a bicycle (Bicycle 1000, Fig. 5) comprising:
a frame (Frame 600, Fig. 3) with a bottom bracket region (Bottom Bracket Shell 670, Fig. 3);
a bicycle running wheel (Rear Wheel 802, Fig. 5); and
a bicycle drive system (Drive System 200, Fig. 5) comprising:
a hub (Rear Wheel 802 being illustrated with a hub in Fig. 5) comprising:
a hub body (a hub body being illustrated in Fig. 5); and
a receiving area configured to receive a [sprocket] (the hub of Rear Wheel 802 being connected to Chain or Belt 870 with a chain sprocket as taught in Fig. 6 and Para. [0035], necessitating a chain sprocket connection to the hub; a chain sprocket connection and chain sprocket being considered equivalents of a cassette receiving area and a cassette),
wherein the hub is arranged in the bicycle running wheel (as illustrated in Fig. 5), and
wherein the [sprocket] is arranged on the receiving area of the hub (as understood from Fig. 6);
a chain (Chain 870, Fig. 6);
a drive (Drive System 200, Fig. 1) arranged in the bottom bracket region (Drive System 200 being arranged in Bottom Bracket Shell 670 as illustrated in Fig. 3), the drive (200) comprising a pedal crank (Left and Right Crankshafts 850L and 850R, Fig. 6 and Para. [0035]) including a chainring (Sprocket 860, Fig. 6),
wherein the [sprocket] is drivable via the chain (870) by the drive (Para. [0035] teaches that the Rear Wheel 802 is driven by Chain or Belt 870); and
a freewheel (Freewheel Coupler 270, Fig. 12) arranged in the bottom bracket region between the chain and the drive (Freewheel Coupler 270 being arranged in Drive System 200 which is in Bottom Bracket Shell 670 as discussed above, and considered to be between the Chain or Belt 870 and the Drive System 200 in that Para. [0044] teaches that an Inner Spindle 245 of Drive System 200 sends power to Chain or Belt 870 through Freewheel Coupler 270).
Hendey does not teach a cassette or that the hub body and the receiving area are a single part, but Hansen does (see the 103 rejection of claim 18 above for the teachings of Hansen and motivation to combine them with the hub/ bicycle of Hendey).
Regarding Claim 26, Hendey further teaches that the freewheel (270) is arranged between the pedal crank (850L & 850R) and the chainring (Paras. [0045]- [0046] teach that the Freewheel Coupler 270 couples or decouples a Spider 202 to the Inner Spindle 245, which is taught there as powered by pedals understood to be connected to Cranks 850L & 850R, the Spider 202 being connected to Sprocket 860 as taught in Para. [0043]).
Regarding Claim 28, Hendey further teaches that the drive (200) further comprises an electric motor (Electric Motor 300, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 29, Hendey further teaches that the bicycle drive system is arranged such that the electric motor (300) is drivable by the chain (870) driven by the hub (Para. [0047] teaches a mode of use in which the Rear Wheel 802 drives Electric Motor 300 through Spider 202, which is connected to Chain or Belt 870 as discussed in the 103 rejection of claim 26 above) and such that the electric motor (300) acts as a generator during recuperation thereby recharging an accumulator (Battery Pack 500, Fig. 1) assigned to the electric motor (Para. [0047] teaches a mode in which the Electric Motor 300 charges a Battery Pack 500, the Battery Pack 500 being configured to provide power to- i.e. is assigned to- Electric Motor 300 as taught in Para. [0032]).
Regarding Claim 31, Hendey further teaches that the electric motor (300) is configured to act as a generator when the electric motor (300) is driven by the hub via the chain (870) during recuperation (Para. [0047] teaches a mode in which the Rear Wheel 802 drives Electric Motor 300 through Spider 202, which is connected to Chain or Belt 870 as discussed in the 103 rejection of claims 26 above; Electric Motor 300 charging a Battery Pack 500- i.e. acting as a generator).
Regarding Claim 34, Hendey further teaches that the freewheel (270) is arranged in a transmission of the drive (Freewheel Coupler 270 being arranged in Drive System 200 as taught in Para. [0043], Drive System 200 considered a transmission in that transmits rotational power from both or either of Electric Motor 300 and Cranks 850L & 850R to Rear Wheel 802 as taught in Paras. [0042]- [0043]).
Claims 30, 35-37, and 39-40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendey and Hansen in view of Honda (DE-10250645-A1) (see the alternate English translation for this document, previously attached as NPL).
Regarding Claim 30, Hendey further teaches a mode in which the electric motor does not provide recuperation (Para. [0049]) but does not teach that a presence and strength of the recuperation is selectable or adjustable by a user.
Honda teaches, in another drive system for a bicycle (Page 2: Para. 10 teaches a motor-assisted bicycle), a recuperation mode wherein a presence of the recuperation is selectable by a user of the bicycle (Page 4: Para. 7 teaches and “eco mode” in which regenerative braking- i.e. recuperation- is carried out, the eco mode being selectable by a user), and wherein a strength of the recuperation is selectable or adjustable by a user (Page 8: Para. 2 teaches that the regenerative braking varies in response to a brake application, which is understood to be applied adjustably by a user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hendey, Hansen, and Honda in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hendey ‘s bicycle drive system, as modified, such that a recuperation mode was selectable and adjustable by a user as suggested by Honda. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of providing a user with the ability to choose a performance setting for the drive system that would beneficially allow the user to adjust the drive system according to riding conditions.
Regarding Claim 36, Hendey, as modified by Hansen, teaches a bicycle drive system with substantially the same features as the bicycle drive system of claim 23 (see the 103 rejection of claim 23 above for the teachings of Hendey and Hansen), and further teaches:
an electric motor (Electric Motor 300, Fig. 1), and
that the bicycle drive system is configured such that, in a push mode, the electric motor (300) is drivable by the chain (870) driven via the hub (Para. [0047] teaches a mode of use in which the Rear Wheel 802 drives Electric Motor 300 through Spider 202, which is connected to Chain or Belt 870 as discussed in the 103 rejections of claims 26 above) thereby acting as a generator during recuperation and for charging an accumulator (Battery Pack 500, Fig. 1) assigned to the electric motor (Para. [0047] teaches a mode in which the Electric Motor 300 charges a Battery Pack 500, the Battery Pack 500 being configured to provide power to- i.e. is assigned to- Electric Motor 300 as taught in Para. [0032]),
Hendey does not teach that a presence and strength of the recuperation is selectable or adjustable by a user, but Honda does (see the 103 rejection of claim 30above for the teachings of Honda and motivation to combine them with the bicycle/ bicycle drive system of Hendey, as modified).
Regarding Claim 35, Hendey teaches a bicycle (Bicycle 1000, Fig. 5) comprising:
the bicycle drive system according to claim 36 (see the 103 rejection of claim 36 above).
Regarding Claim 37, Hendey further teaches that the hub comprises no freewheel (Para. [0043] teaches that Rear Wheel 802 does not need a freewheel).
Regarding Claim 39, Hendey further teaches that the freewheel (270) is arranged in a transmission of the drive (Freewheel Coupler 270 being arranged in Drive System 200 as taught in Para. [0043], Drive System 200 considered a transmission in that transmits rotational power from both or either of Electric Motor 300 and Cranks 850L & 850R to Rear Wheel 802 as taught in Paras. [0042]- [0043]).
Regarding Claim 40, Hendey further teaches that the freewheel (270) is arranged between the pedal crank (850L & 850R) and the chainring (Paras. [0045]- [0046] teach that the Freewheel Coupler 270 couples or decouples a Spider 202 to the Inner Spindle 245, which is taught there as powered by pedals understood to be connected to Cranks 850L & 850R, the Spider 202 being connected to Sprocket 860 as taught in Para. [0043]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendey and Hansen in view of Schaeffler (DE-102018121837-A1) (see the alternate English translation for this document, previously attached as NPL).
Regarding Claim 32, Hendey does not teach that the freewheel is arranged in the electric motor of the drive.
Schaeffler teaches, in another bicycle drive system (Abstract), a freewheel arranged in an electric motor of a drive. (Page 3: Para. 5 and Fig. 2 teach a Freewheel 32 having an outer ring that forms a Rotor 34 of a Motor 36 such that the Freewheel 32 is considered to be in the Motor 36).
Schaeffler further teaches that arranging the freewheel as such advantageously allows the material used for the rotor to be reduced and the installation space for the motor can be kept small (Page 3: Para. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Hendey, Hansen, and Schaeffler in front of them before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hendey ‘s bicycle drive system, as modified, such that the freewheel is arranged in the electric motor of the drive as suggested by Schaeffler. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the advantage of being able to reduce both the material used for the rotor and the installation space for the motor, as taught by Schaeffler and discussed above, that would beneficially reduce the weight and bulk of the bicycle drive system.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendey, Hansen, Honda, and Schaeffler.
Regarding Claim 38, Hendey does not teach that the freewheel is arranged in the electric motor of the drive, but Schaeffler does (see the 103 rejection of claim 32 above for the teachings of Schaeffler and motivation to combine them with the bicycle/ bicycle drive system of Hendey, as modified).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER JAY STANLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611