DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–10 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0178850 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 March 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final Office Action on 02 February 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group." Claim 1 has previously recited the limitation "at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1)." Formula (1) does not include R1. It is unclear if "R1" is further limiting "R1" recited in formula (1). The Office recommends the limitation "wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group."
Claims 2–5 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–5 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group." Claim 6 has previously recited the limitation "at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1)." Formula (1) does not include R1. It is unclear if "R1" is further limiting "R1" recited in formula (1). The Office recommends the limitation "wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group."
Claims 7–10 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 6 and include all the limitations of claim 6. Therefore, claims 7–10 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2019/0214685 A1, hereinafter Chang) in view of Oba (JP 2002-334719 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 2B, [0044]) comprising:
a positive electrode mixture layer (15, [0033]);
a negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0044]), and
a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) located between the positive electrode mixture layer (15) and the negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0047]),
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer (15) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode, [0033]),
wherein the negative electrode mixture layer (12') comprises a negative electrode active material (12a), a second lithium salt (12b), and a second solvent (12b) different from the first solvent (FIG. 3, [0072]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separation membrane comprises at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1) wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group .
a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent,
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent.
Oba discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 3, [0039]) comprising a separation membrane (2) comprises at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1) wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group (see acrylic acid, [0098]); a positive electrode mixture layer (4) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see GBL; TABLE 1, [0112]), a negative electrode mixture layer (7) comprises a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent (see PC, TABLE 1) that is different in composition from the first solvent (TABLE 1, [0112]), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent (TABLE 1, [0112]) to enhance thermal stability and cycle life characteristics (TABLE 2, [0134]). Chang and Oba are analogous because they are directed to lithium ion secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium ion secondary battery of Chang with the resin, and first solvent, and second solvent of Oba to enhance thermal stability and cycle life characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises a porous body (16, [0055]), and
wherein the at least one resin is retained in the porous body (16, [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the porous body (16) is made of a polymer (FIG. 3, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises inorganic oxide particles (13) retained in the porous body (16, [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) comprising:
at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer ([0039], [0051], [0059], [0135], [0146]),
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) is for being disposed between a positive electrode mixture layer (15) and a negative electrode mixture layer (12') in a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 2B, [0047]), and
wherein the lithium ion secondary battery comprises t the positive electrode mixture layer (15) comprising a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode, [0033]); and the negative electrode mixture layer (12') comprising a negative electrode active material (12a), a second lithium salt (12b), and a second solvent (12b) different from the first solvent (FIG. 3, [0072]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the separation membrane comprises at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1) wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group .
a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent,
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent.
Oba discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 3, [0039]) comprising a separation membrane (2) comprises at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1) wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group (see acrylic acid, [0098]); a positive electrode mixture layer (4) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see GBL; TABLE 1, [0112]), a negative electrode mixture layer (7) comprises a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent (see PC, TABLE 1) that is different in composition from the first solvent (TABLE 1, [0112]), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent (TABLE 1, [0112]) to enhance thermal stability and cycle life characteristics (TABLE 2, [0134]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium ion secondary battery of Chang with the resin, and first solvent, and second solvent of Oba to enhance thermal stability and cycle life characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
a porous body (16, [0055]), and
wherein the at least one resin is retained in the porous body (16, [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane:
wherein the porous body (16) is made of a polymer (FIG. 3, [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
inorganic oxide particles (13) retained in the porous body (16, [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 2016/0064770 A1) discloses a separation membrane (143) comprises at least one resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group of formula (1),
(1) wherein in formula (1), R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group (see ion conductive repeating unit, [0133]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725