DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–10 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0178850 A1.
Specification
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections to the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 2019/0214685 A1, hereinafter Chang) in view of Nishijima et al. (US 6,534,214 B1, hereinafter Nishijima).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 2B, [0044]) comprising:
a positive electrode mixture layer (15, [0033]);
a negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0044]), and
a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) located between the positive electrode mixture layer (15) and the negative electrode mixture layer (12', [0047]),
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer (15) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode, [0033]),
wherein the negative electrode mixture layer (12') comprises a negative electrode active material (12a), a second lithium salt (12b), and a second solvent (12b) different from the first solvent (FIG. 3, [0072]), and
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) comprises at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group , and a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one olefin comprising fluorine ([0039], [0051], [0059], [0135], [0146]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent,
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent.
Nishijima discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (50) comprising a positive electrode mixture layer (3) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37), a negative electrode mixture layer (6) comprises a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37) to enhance battery performance and cycle life characteristics (TABLE 1, C13/L20–27). Chang and Nishijima are analogous because they are directed to lithium ion secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium ion secondary battery of Chang with the first and second solvents of Nishijima to enhance battery performance and cycle life characteristics.
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises a porous body (16, [0055]), and
wherein the at least one resin is retained in the porous body (16, [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the porous body (16) is made of a polymer (FIG. 3, [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises inorganic oxide particles (13) retained in the porous body (16, [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a lithium ion secondary battery:
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) further comprises a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Regarding claim 6, Chang discloses a separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) comprising:
at least one resin selected from the group consisting of a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one monomer having a (meth)acryloyl group, and a resin comprising, as a monomer unit, at least one olefin comprising fluorine ([0039], [0051], [0059], [0135], [0146]),
wherein the separation membrane (13, 16, 17, 20) is for being disposed between a positive electrode mixture layer (15) and a negative electrode mixture layer (12') in a lithium ion secondary battery (FIG. 2B, [0047]), and
wherein the lithium ion secondary battery comprises t the positive electrode mixture layer (15) comprising a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode, [0033]); and the negative electrode mixture layer (12') comprising a negative electrode active material (12a), a second lithium salt (12b), and a second solvent (12b) different from the first solvent (FIG. 3, [0072]).
Chang does not explicitly disclose:
a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent,
wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent.
Nishijima discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (50) comprising a positive electrode mixture layer (3) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37), a negative electrode mixture layer (6) comprises a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent (TABLE 1, C13/L28–37) to enhance battery performance and cycle life characteristics (TABLE 1, C13/L20–27). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the lithium ion secondary battery of Chang with the first and second solvents of Nishijima to enhance battery performance and cycle life characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
a porous body (16, [0055]), and
wherein the at least one resin is retained in the porous body (16, [0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane:
wherein the porous body (16) is made of a polymer (FIG. 3, [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
inorganic oxide particles (13) retained in the porous body (16, [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a separation membrane, further comprising:
a third lithium salt (20) and a third solvent (20, [0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (100) comprising a positive electrode mixture layer (108) comprises a positive electrode active material, a first lithium salt, and a first solvent (see cathode electrolyte formulations, [0033]), a negative electrode mixture layer (106) comprises a negative electrode active material, a second lithium salt, and a second solvent that is different in composition from the first solvent (see anode active materials, [0034]), wherein the positive electrode mixture layer does not contain the second solvent (see anode active materials, [0034]) and the negative electrode mixture layer does not contain the first solvent (see cathode electrolyte formulations, [0033]) to enhance battery performance and cycle life characteristics (see electrolytic solution, [0027]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725