DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The response filed 06/11/2026 has been received, entered and carefully considered. The response affects the instant application accordingly:
Claims 1-2, 4, 13 have been amended.
Applicant had previously elected retinitis pigmentosa as the visual disorder due to a mutation in the RPE65 gene for the examination, which was expanded to include Leber’s congenital amaurosis caused by a RPE65 mutation to address the broad breath claimed.
Claim 23 was withdrawn being drawn to a non-elected invention/species
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 23-24, 26-29, 35 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 24, 26-29, 35 are present for examination at this time.
All grounds not addressed in the action are withdrawn or moot as a result of amendment.
New grounds of rejection are set forth in the current office action as a result of amendment.
New Grounds of Rejection
Due to the amendment of the claims the new grounds of rejection are applied:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 24, 26-27, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palczewski et al. (WO 2006/002097).
Rejection:
Palczewski et al. teaches a method of treating Retinitis Punctata Albesciens (a form of retinitis pigmentosa, an impairment in visual field with loss of night vision and contrast sensitivity) in a human with a synthetic retinal derivative including 9-cis retinyl acetate (also known as 9-cis retinal acetate and zuretinol acetate, claims 56-62 and 19, 22-23, 27, 38, 40, 42-45).
The retinal can be locally administered to the eye via conventional forms like eye drops and injections (claims 24-25, 61), and orally (claim 26, 62). Other forms include a time/control release formulation such as implants with the inclusion of a slow release polymer like collagen [119].
The dosage range for eye drop can be about 0.01mg to about 25mg per single dose and administered one or more times/day as needed [121]. Orally it can be about 1.0-about 1000mg, which can be given 1-4x/day [122-123]; and the dose can be selected depending on the clinical status, condition, age of the subject, dosage form and the like [121]. Palczewski teaches oral gavage of the 9-cis retinyl acetate at various dose levels including 1umol and 5umol (Figure 5, molar mass of the 9-cis retinyl acetate is 328.496g/mol wherein 1umol= 0.328496mg and 5umol= 1.64248mg, falling within the claimed range). Palczewski also teaches that the methods of using these compounds are to restore the photoreceptor function [11] and “restore” refers to long term improvement of the photoreceptor function in the visual system, such as in weeks or months ([107], months is more than one month (greater than 30 days), weeks include over 4 weeks (greater than 30days) see full document, specifically areas cited).
Palczewski et al. teaches oral dosing at values that fall within the claimed range (i.e. 1umol= 0.328496mg and 5umol= 1.64248mg fall within about 0.5-1.5mg) wherein it would be prima facie obvious to utilize the exemplified amounts in a human subject with a reasonable expectation of success. It is also prima facie obvious to optimize within the taught range to attain the desired therapeutic effect and profile as taught by Palczewski absent evidence of criticality or unexpected results for the specific dosage regime.
Palczewski et al. does not expressly teach the exact duration of treatment of the independent claim (at least 30 days (one month), and dependent claim 13 (i.e. at least 42 days (one month and about 12 days), but does teach the treatment to restore the photoreceptor function which is long term improvement such as in weeks or months ([107]); wherein it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to give the treatment for as long as needed to achieve the desired therapeutic effect to treat the condition (e.g. several months) and then either to stop the treatment upon resolution the condition, or to optimize the level/dosing protocol to achieve a maintenance dose and schedule to maintain the therapeutic effect if complete resolution is not possible but achieving stable maintenance of a chronic condition is; as this is the routine and customary protocol in the medicinal art for addressing an undesirable condition, particularly as Palczewski addresses that it is directed to a long term improvement measured in months, absent evidence of criticality of the time frame claimed.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant's arguments are centered on the assertions that Palczewski et al. does not teach or reasonably suggest the claimed invention and a mouse example with 500ul oral dose of 2.5mg/ml is higher than claimed, and the assertion that the unexpectedly low daily dosing of the retinoid without a resting period minimizes the adverse drug reactions citing Example 1 of a pharmacokinetic (PK) model of 1mg.
This is fully considered but not persuasive.
The prior art of Palczewski et al. teaches treatment of the elected condition with the same 9-cis retinyl acetate with the same administration forms with daily dose ranges that overlap the claimed range and a dose amount that falls within the claimed values. As for the assertion that the mouse example with 500ul oral dose of 2.5mg/ml is higher than claimed values, this is not persuasive as the teachings of Palczewski et al. are not held solely to the example when the general teaching is for a specific dosage range which includes the claimed values wherein optimization within the taught range to attain the desired therapeutic profile is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality for the claimed values which has not been presented. As for the assertion for unexpectedly low daily dosing for the claimed range of about 0.5-1.5mg/day without a rest period minimizing adverse drug reactions citing Example 1, this is fully considered but not persuasive. Optimization within a range to attain the desired therapeutic profile (i.e. minimal adverse effects) is prima facie obvious with a reasonable expectation of success. Contrary to Applicant’s assertion Example 1 does not demonstrate evidence of unexpected results, it is a pharmacokinetic (PK) model of 9-cis retinyl acetate to suggest 1mg as a dosage point which is optimization -as it is a means of attaining the desired therapeutic profile and within the taught range. Also contrary to Applicant’s assertion it is to a single concentration which is not commensurate in scope with the claims and does not provide evidence of criticality. The model is used to ascertain a dosage point for a trial for Example 2 which is a prophetic study without data. Arguments without factual support are mere allegations and are not found persuasive.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palczewski et al. (WO 2006/002097) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 24, 26-27, 35 above, in view of Shapiro et al. (Development and Validation of a Portable Visual Navigation Challenge for Assessment of Retinal Disease in Multi-Centered Clinical Trials).
Rejection:
The teachings of Palczewski et al. are addressed above.
Palczewski et al. does not teach using a visual navigational challenge to assess the improvement from treatment.
Shapiro et al. teaches that Ora-VNC™ is a visual navigation challenge that is designed to assess and create a metric that provides a reproducible measure of functional vision for patient with vision loss from an inherited retinal disease like retinitis pigmenta (retinitis pigmentosa). The course is mobile and designed to assess the visual function in a simulated “real-world” setting.
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the Ora-VNC 360 visual navigation challenge to evaluate the improvement with treatment as suggested by Shapiro et al. and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to utilize a known means to measure the amount of functional vision to evaluated the improvement of treatment of an inherited retinal disease like retinitis pigmentosa (retinitis punctata albesciens is a form of retinitis pigmentosa) with a reasonable expectation of success. The improvement amount/score would be expected to be the same as the amount of improvement necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art as it is the natural result of the same 9-cis retinyl acetate that is administered for the recited eye condition at a dose and time period within the instant claims.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant's arguments are those to Palczewski et al. which is addressed above.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palczewski et al. (WO 2006/002097) as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 24, 26-27, 35 above, in view of Ora (Ora-VNC™ Mobility Courses).
Rejection:
The teachings of Palczewski et al. are addressed above.
Palczewski et al. does not teach using a visual navigational challenge to assess the improvement from treatment.
Ora teaches that Ora-VNC™ Mobility Courses are designed to assess mobility and functional vision in patient with inherited retinal diseases like retinitis pigmentosa using a 360 degree visual challenge environment (visual navigational/mobility challenge) that has a standard protocol and objective scoring.
Wherein it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the Ora-VNC 360 degree visual challenge (visual navigation challenge) to evaluate the improvement with treatment as suggested by Ora and produce the claimed invention; as it is prima facie obvious to utilize a known means to measure the improvement of treatment of an inherited retinal disease like retinitis pigmentosa (retinitis punctata albesciens is a form of retinitis pigmentosa) with a reasonable expectation of success. The improvement amount/score would be expected to be the same as the amount of improvement necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art as it is the natural result of the same 9-cis retinyl acetate that is administered for the recited eye condition at a dose and time period within the instant claims.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant's arguments are those to Palczewski et al. which is addressed above.
Accordingly, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 13, 24, 26-29, 35 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIGI G HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613