DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 7/30/26.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claim 1,10,18.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference of Witrisal and Cummings is silent on teaching the RF shielded container to house a UWB receiver device under test; an RF antenna arranged within the RF shielded container; and a UWB transmitter device configured to transmit a UWB ranging signal within the RF shielded container using the RF antenna, The reference of Witrisal et al. is relied upon for teaches a container that is enclosed by plaster walls and windows (paragraph 057-059). Witrisal teaches a UWB transmitter device operatively coupled to the RF antenna and configured to transmit a UWB ranging signal within the container using the antenna (paragraph 03,020).The reference of Cummings is relied upon for teaching transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023) in order to minimize interference from reflected signal or external device.
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference of Cummings is silent on teaching an RF antenna arranged in the RF shielded container, it is the examiner’s position that the reference of Cummings teaches an external radio source 116 providing the RF signal to a patch antenna 302 and the patch antenna transmit the RF signal to the device under test (paragraph 023).
Regarding applicant’s argument with respect to claims 6 and 16, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal that is an aggregate of the measured MPCs resulting from transmitting the UWB ranging signals in the end-use environment (prior to the transmitting a set of multipath component is calculated, the calculated multipath components are compared to the measured multipath component, paragraph 10- 013).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,5-6,8,10,12,15-16,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720.
Regarding claim 1,7, Witrisal teaches a system comprising: a container housing a UWB receiver device (paragraph 057-059); an RF antenna arranged within the container (paragraph 08,013,059); and a UWB transmitter device operatively coupled to the RF antenna and configured to transmit a UWB ranging signal within using the antenna (paragraph 03,020) wherein the transmitted UWB ranging signal includes a specified radio packet to be transmitted in an end-use environment of the UWB receiver device and includes an effect of multi-path components (MPCs) of the end-use environment of the UWB receiver device on the specified radio packet of the transmitted UWB ranging signal (paragraph 010,013,20-27). The system of Witrisal represents a device that is in an environment different from the RF shielded container because Witrisal is silent on teaching a test system and the UWB ranging signal is transmitted in a RF shielded container. Cummings in an analogous art teaches transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023). Cummings also teaches the RF shielded container includes one or more RF attenuators (paragraph 013).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal as disclosed by Cummings at the time of the invention because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal by providing RF shielding in order to remove the effect of interference and provide for a more reliable ranging result.
.
Regarding claim 2, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal representing transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a UWB ranging signal that includes a specified pulse pattern (paragraph 018).
Regarding claim 5, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit the UWB ranging signal to include the MPCs of the end use environment that is produced using an electromagnetic field model of the end use environment (paragraph 10-13, 021-046).
Regarding claim 6, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal that is an aggregate of the measured MPCs resulting from transmitting the UWB ranging signals in the end-use environment (prior to the transmitting a set of multipath components is calculated, the calculated multipath components are compared to the measured multipath component, paragraph 10- 013).
Regarding claim 8, Witrisal teaches the system including the UWB receiver device, wherein the UWB receiver device is operable within container to determine a ranging distance for the transmitted UWB ranging signal that includes the effect of MPCs on the specified radio packet of the transmitted UWB ranging signal (paragraph 010,013,20-27). Witrisal is silent on teaching a test system and the UWB ranging signal is transmitted in a RF shielded container. Cummings in an analogous art teaches transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal as disclosed by Cummings at the time of the invention because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal by providing RF shielding in order to remove the effect of interference and provide for a more reliable ranging result.
Regarding claim 10, Witrisal teaches a container housing a UWB receiver device (paragraph 057-059); an RF antenna arranged within the container (paragraph 08,013,059); and a UWB transmitter device operatively coupled to the RF antenna and configured to transmit a UWB ranging signal within using the antenna (paragraph 03,020) wherein the transmitted UWB ranging signal includes a specified radio packet to be transmitted in an end-use environment of the UWB receiver device and includes an effect of multi-path components (MPCs) of the end-use environment of the UWB receiver device on the specified radio packet of the transmitted UWB ranging signal (paragraph 010,013,20-27). The system of Witrisal represents a device that is in an environment different from the RF shielded container because Witrisal is silent on teaching transmitting in the RF shielded container. Cummings in an analogous art teaches transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal as disclosed by Cummings at the time of the invention because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal by providing RF shielding in order to remove the effect of interference and provide for a more reliable ranging result.
Regarding claim 12, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal representing transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a UWB ranging signal that includes a specified pulse pattern (paragraph 018).
Regarding claim 15, Witrisal teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit the UWB ranging signal that is produced using an electromagnetic field model of the end use environment (paragraph 021-036).
Regarding claim 16, Witrisal teaches transmitting the UWB signal includes: transmitting a UWB ranging signal using a first antenna (paragraph 08,017); measuring resulting UWB ranging signals that result from transmitting the UWB ranging signal (paragraph 013); and aggregating the resulting UWB ranging signals into the UWB signal transmitted within the container (paragraph 016-017). Witrisal is silent on teaching a test system and the UWB ranging signal is transmitted in a RF shielded container. Cummings in an analogous art teaches transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal as disclosed by Cummings at the time of the invention because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal by providing RF shielding in order to remove the effect of interference and provide for a more reliable ranging result.
Regarding claim 18, Witrisal teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of an ultra-wide band (UWB) device unit, causes the unit to perform acts comprising:
a container housing a UWB receiver device (paragraph 057-059); an RF antenna arranged within the container (paragraph 08,013,059); and a UWB transmitter device operatively coupled to the RF antenna and configured to transmit a UWB ranging signal within the housing using the antenna (paragraph 03,020) wherein the transmitted UWB ranging signal includes a specified radio packet to be transmitted in an end-use environment of the UWB receiver device including multi-path components that are representative of the MPC in the end use environment of the UWB receiver device (paragraph 010,013,20-27). The system of Witrisal represents a device that is in an environment different from the RF shielded container because Witrisal is silent on teaching a test system and the UWB ranging signal is transmitted in a RF shielded container. Cummings in an analogous art teaches transmitting a test signal in a RF shielded environment (abstract, paragraph 012,014,023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal as disclosed by Cummings at the time of the invention because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal by providing RF shielding in order to remove the effect of interference and provide for a more reliable ranging result.
Claim(s) 3,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720 and further in view of Molisch et al. US Patent Application Publication 20070293153.
Regarding claim 3,13, Witrisal is silent on teaching the UWB signal includes a radio packet having a specified preamble. Molisch et al. in an analogous art teaches the UWB transmitter device that is configured to transmit a UWB signal representing transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a radio packet having a specified preamble (fig. 1, paragraph 013-014).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Molisch et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings by providing the means for the transmission and reception of configuration parameter in order to provide for effective communication between the transmitter and receiver.
Claim(s) 4,14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720 and further in view of Yoon et al. US Patent Application Publication 20230014199.
Regarding claims 4,14, and 20, Witrisal is silent on teaching the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal representing transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a radio packet that includes a scrambled timestamp sequence. Yoon et al. in an analogous art teaches the UWB transmitter device is configured to transmit a UWB signal representing transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a radio packet that includes a scrambled timestamp sequence (paragraph 05,026,065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Yoon et al. because such modification improves the security of the UWB communication system by making it harder for attackers to accessing or manipulating the UWB communication system.
.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720 and further in view of Hammerschmidt et al. US Patent 10171129.
Regarding claim 9, Witrisal is silent on teaching the UWB receiver device is configured to perform deconvolution of a UWB signal received within the RF shielded container to estimate a channel impulse response (CIR) of the transmitted UWB signal and determine time-of-flight information using the estimated CIR. Hammerschmidt et al. in an analogous art teaches the UWB receiver device is configured to perform deconvolution of a UWB signal received within the RF shielded container to estimate a channel impulse response (CIR) of the transmitted UWB signal and determine time-of-flight information using the estimated CIR (col. 2 line 65-col. 3 line 27,col. 3 lines 15-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Hammerschmidt et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings by providing an efficient and reliable means for processing the UWB signal and obtaining the ranging distance.
Regarding claims 11, Witrisal is silent on teaching the ranging distance includes the UWB receiver device performing deconvolution of a received UWB signal to estimate a channel impulse response (CIR) of the transmitted UWB signal and determining time-of-flight information using the estimated CIR. Hammerschmidt et al. in an analogous art teaches the UWB receiver device is configured to perform deconvolution of a UWB signal received within the RF shielded container to estimate a channel impulse response (CIR) of the transmitted UWB signal and determine time-of-flight information using the estimated CIR that include the effects of MPC on the specific radio packet of the transmitted UWB signal (col. 2 line 65-col. 3 line 27,col. 3 lines 15-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Hammerschmidt et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings by providing an efficient and reliable means for processing the UWB signal and obtaining the ranging distance.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720 and further in view of Rousu et al. US Patent Application Publication 20090130989.
Regarding claim 17, Romine in view of Molisch et al. is not explicit in teaching the UWB receiver device is a UWB capable reader device. Rousu et al in an analogous art teaches the receiver device (710) obtain information from devices in block 110 (fig. 2, paragraph 087) and is therefore considered a reader.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Rousu et al. increases the functions provided by the test system by enabling the reader to obtain data from other devices in the container and further representing an improvement over the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witrisal US Patent Application Publication 20200217920 in view of Cummings US Patent Application Publication 20190331720 and further in view of Dutz et al. US Patent Application Publication 20180254910.
Regarding claim 19, Witrisal is silent on teaching transmitting the UWB signal includes transmitting a UWB signal that represents transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a radio packet having a specified synchronization pattern. Dutz et al. in an analogous art teaches transmitting the UWB signal includes transmitting a UWB signal that represents transmitting, in the end-use environment, a UWB ranging signal that includes a radio packet having a specified synchronization pattern (paragraph 096-098).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings as disclosed by Dutz et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Witrisal in view of Cummings by using the synchronization to communicate configuration information of the UWB link and further increases the efficiency of the communication link.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686