DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-6 and 10 have been canceled. Claims 1, 7-9 and 11-20 are pending, Claims 8, 11-15 and 19-20 have been withdrawn, and Claims 1, 7, 9, and 16-18 have been considered on the merits, insofar as they read on the elected species of a double mutant W235R and R275S tPA. All arguments have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, the recitation of “a thermoreversible polymer comprising poloxamer 407” is indefinite because when poloxamer 407 undergoes a chemical reaction with another compound, it is no longer poloxamer 407, and the limitation recites “comprising”. Therefore, it is unclear how the limitation “a thermoreversible polymer comprising poloxamer 407” is being claimed. In addition, the recitation of “a composition comprising: a nanoparticle … suspended in said thermoreversible polymer” is indefinite because the term “suspended in” implies that the only solvent is the thermoreversible polymer. However, the limitation recites “comprising”. For instance, does adding water read on the limitation “suspended in said thermoreversible polymer” or not?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al (US 2015/0147276 A1; 5/28/2015.) in view of Salatin et al (RPS. 2017;12(1):1-14.).
The instant claims recite a composition comprising: a nanoparticle comprising a plasminogen activator precipitated with a poloxamer 188, and a thermoreversible polymer comprising poloxamer 407, wherein said nanoparticle is suspended in said thermoreversible polymer.
The limitation of “precipitated with a poloxamer 188” is regarded as a product-by-process limitation. Therefore, claim 1 is interpreted as a composition comprising a nanoparticle comprising a plasminogen activator, and a thermoreversible polymer comprising poloxamer 407, wherein said nanoparticle is suspended in said thermoreversible polymer.
Ingber teaches compositions (para 0002) comprising nanoparticles (para 0027) comprise plasminogen activator (para 0143) and poloxamer 407 (a thermoreversible polymer) (para 0075).
Ingber does not teach said nanoparticle is suspended in said thermoreversible polymer (claim 1).
However, Ingber does teach said compositions comprise nanoparticles comprise plasminogen activator and poloxamer 407. Salatin teaches a composition comprising a nanoparticle, and poloxamer 407, wherein said nanoparticle is suspended in said thermoreversible polymer (p.3 col right – para 1-2). Salatin teaches poloxamer 407 has been exploited for use in the preparation of nanoparticles as emulsifying or solubilizing agent (p.2 col right – para 1).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to suspend nanoparticles in poloxamer 407, since Ingber and Salatin both disclose a composition comprising a nanoparticle and poloxamer 407, and Salatin discloses that poloxamer 407 ensures nanoparticle stability (p.2 col right – para 1). Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to suspend nanoparticles in poloxamer 407 with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Claims 7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al (US 2015/0147276 A1; 5/28/2015.) in view of Salatin et al (RPS. 2017;12(1):1-14.) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Dorraj et al (IJPR. 2015;14(2):347-358.).
References cited above do not teach the claimed poloxamer 407 concentration (claims 7 and 16-17).
However, Ingber and Salatin do teach a composition comprises poloxamer 407, and Salatin does teach poloxamer 407 is used as a stabilizer. Dorraj teaches poloxamer 407 aqueous systems as a prolonged release system for injectable nanoparticles (p.348 col right – para 4), wherein one of the most important factors in ability of poloxamer 407 to form a gel at physiological temperature is its concentration, poloxamer concentration of 20% w/v is used based on the manufacturer suggestion (p.350 col right – para 5).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration of poloxamer 407 as a matter of routine experimentation, since Dorraj discloses that one of the most important factors in ability of poloxamer 407 to form a gel at physiological temperature is its concentration, and that the concentration of stabilizer (poloxamer 407) is obtained from investigating the effects of surfactant on the size and foaming of the system (p.349 col left – para 1). Generally, differences in concentration will not support patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05 II) Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate an optimized amount of poloxamer 407 with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingber et al (US 2015/0147276 A1; 5/28/2015.) in view of Salatin et al (RPS. 2017;12(1):1-14.) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Vivien et al (WO 2013/034710 A1; 3/14/2013.).
References cited above do not teach the claimed plasminogen activator (claims 9 and 18).
However, Ingber does teach said compositions can be used for treating thrombotic disorders and internal hemorrhage (Abstract), and said compositions comprise plasminogen activator, wherein said plasminogen activator includes hybrids, fragments and mutants (para 0143). Vivien teaches mutated plasminogen activators for treating thrombotic and haemorrhagic diseases (p.1 line 5-6), wherein said mutant is a double mutation W253R and R275S (a plasminogen activator) (p.11 line 4-5, line 15 line 22-23). Note: Sequence is listed in Search results filed on 10/6/2025, 20251006_100604_us-17-998-432-1.rag file, Result 1, see below.
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate plasminogen activator that is a double mutant W253R and R275S tPA having a sequence set forth as SEQ ID NO: 1, since Ingber and Vivien both disclose compositions for treating thrombotic disorders and hemorrhage, Ingber discloses compositions comprise mutated plasminogen activator, and Vivien discloses compositions comprise a double mutation W253R and R275S plasminogen activator having a sequence set forth as SEQ ID NO: 1. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference to incorporate plasminogen activator that is a double mutant W253R and R275S tPA having a sequence set forth as SEQ ID NO: 1, with a reasonable expectation for successfully obtaining a composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the purpose of Ingber et al. differs completely from the present invention, that Ingber would not have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to replace its stimulus-responsive, surface-functionalized PLGA aggregate system with a plasminogen activator-poloxamer nanoprecipitate suspension in P407, nor does Ingber provide a reasonable expectation that such a nanoprecipitation-first formulation would address the release and activity problems associated with direct incorporation of a protease into a thermoreversible polymer.
These arguments are not found persuasive because rejected claims are directed to a composition. The limitation of “precipitated with a poloxamer 188” as amended in claim 1 is regarded as a product-by-process limitation. Ingber does teach a composition comprising a nanoparticle comprises plasminogen activator and poloxamer 407, and Salatin does teach a nanoparticle is suspended in poloxamer 407, and poloxamer 407 ensures nanoparticle stability.
Applicant argues that Giuliano does not cure this deficiency, and that Vivien does not teach or suggest precipitating that plasminogen activator with a poloxamer to form a nanoparticle, nor suspending that nanoparticle in a thermoreversible polymer comprising P407. However, these arguments are moot in light of the new rejections above in view of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s Affidavit submitted on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged and reviewed.
However, applicant’s Affidavit is not commensurate in scope with the claims. The Affidavit did not define nanoparticle as well as poloxamer solution. In addition, data supporting unexpected results is missing in the Affidavit. Finally, please note that rejected claims are directed to a composition, not a process.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759