Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-26 are pending as of the response and amendments filed on 12/11/25.
Claims 2 and 13 have been canceled, claims 21-26 have been newly added.
The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1) over Gaetani is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claims 5-7, 11, and 17-18 were previously rejected under 103 as being unpatentable over Gaetani. Applicants’ reasons for traversal are summarized and addressed below.
Applicants have argued Gaetani relates to combination compositions for the “treatment of corneal diseases”, and further discusses corneal diseases to be selected from numerous diseases, but doesn’t disclose autoimmune diseases, let alone Sjogren’s syndrome. Applicants have further stated Gaetani describes one example where patients were treated twice daily with the combination composition comprising acetyl L-carnitine mucate 100 mg, fish oil 500 mg, and Coenzyme Q 10 mg., with L-carnitine taught to be most preferably at a dose of 0.1 g. Applicants have argued Gaetani fails to provide any guidance or discussion on which specific components within its combination compositions are responsible for the “treatment of corneal diseases”, and in particular fails to teach or suggest methods of treating Sjogren’s syndrome comprising administering greater than 500 mg. of a compound of Formula (II) or levocarnitine.
Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive. Gaetani discloses in the clinical trial patients treated with the composition were those suffering from Sjogren’s syndrome and dry eye (pp. 11-12, Ex. 1). Although Applicants’ arguments appear to imply that Gaetani teaches a combination composition Applicants’ claims have comprising language present and as such don’t exclude the presence of additional agents along with a compound of Formula (II). Moreover, while Gaetani teaches L-carnitine taught to be most preferably at a dose of 0.1 g, Gaetani also clearly teaches a preferred dose between 0.1-4.0 g. for L-carnitine or an alkanoyl L-carnitine, which includes the dose of greater than about 500 mg. recited in claims 12 and 14. It is maintained that the claimed method would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the guidance provided by Gaetani. The rejection is maintained and updated below based on amendments.
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-26 were examined. Claims 12, 14, 17-20, and 23-26 are rejected. Claims 1, 3-11, and 21-22 are allowed. Claims 15-16 are objected to.
Claim Rejections-35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14, 17-20, and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaetani et. al., WO 2007006672 A1, of record.
Gaetani discloses the use of a medicament comprising L-carnitine and/or one or more alkanoyl L-carnitine derivatives, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof for the treatment of corneal diseases (title & abstract; p. 1, lines 4-8). In particular Gaetani discloses treatment of female patients, including subjects suffering from Sjogren’s syndrome and having mild, moderate, or severe dry eye, by administering twice daily a composition comprising 100 mg. acetyl L-carnitine mucate, 500 mg. fish oil, and 10 mg. coenzyme Q for a period of 6 months (Ex. 1, p. 11, line 2-p. 12, all lines before Ex. 2). Therefore, Gaetani discloses treatment of a subject having Sjogren’s syndrome with symptoms of dry eye comprising administering a composition comprising 100 mg. acetyl L-carnitine mucate. Acetyl L-carnitine mucate is included in formula (II) of claim 12, wherein R =-C(O)-methyl. Gaetani further discloses the composition in any form suitable for oral administration to human subjects, e.g., systemically, with suitable excipients (p. 17, lines 12-21). Additionally, Gaetani teaches L-carnitine and/or an alkanoyl L-carnitine is preferably present in the composition in a dose of 0.1-4.0 g (p. 8, line 19-p. 9, line 21). As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claims to have treated a patient with Sjogren’s syndrome and dry eye by administering a composition comprising L-carnitine and/or an alkanoyl L-carnitine in an amount from about 100 mg to 4000 mg., which overlaps with the dosage range recited in claims 12, 14, and 17-18, in view of the guidance provided by Gaetani, and have had a reasonable expectation of success. As Gaetani teaches in Ex. 1 the composition was administered twice daily to subjects with Sjogren’s syndrome and dry eye (Ex. 1, p. 11, line 2-p. 12, all lines before Ex. 2), it would have been prima facie obvious to have administered L-carnitine twice daily, wherein the composition comprises about 1000 mg. L-carnitine, and have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
SARAH . PIHONAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627