Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 23 are pending in this application, wherein claims 1, 5, 7, 9 – 10, 18, and 20 are amended, claim 24 is canceled, and claims 1 – 9 are withdrawn.
Claims 10 – 23 are currently examined.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/JP2021/018075, filed May 12, 2021, which claims benefit of foreign priority document JP2020-084641, filed May 13, 2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application is only pertinent when interference arises.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 in the previous Office Action, dated April 29, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. in view of Crozals et al. has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 10.
The rejection of claims 12 – 13 and 15 in the previous Office Action, dated April 29, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. in view of Crozals et al. as applied to claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 above, and further in view of National Institute of Standards & Technology has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 10.
The rejection of claims 21 – 23 in the previous Office Action, dated April 29, 2026, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. in view of Crozals et al. as applied to claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 above, and further in view of White has been considered and is withdrawn in view of the amended claim 10.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 1, “(Currently Amended)” should read “(Withdrawn-Currently Amended)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. (Tetrahedron Letters, 2004, Vol. 46, Issue 2, page 343 – 347, cited in the PTO-892 on December 9, 2025) in view of Shircliff et al. (ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 2011, Vol. 3, Issue 9, page 3285 – 3292, PTO-892) and Abry et al. (Comptes Rendus. Chimie, 2005, Vol. 8, Issue 3 – 4, page 741 – 752, PTO-892).
Padmanabhan et al. teach the functionalization and loading of controlled-pore-glass (CPG), wherein CPG is reacted with 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane (APTES) to provide amino-functionalized CPG 1, the aminated support 1 is reacted with succinic anhydride to provide carboxy-terminated CPG 2, and the carboxy-terminated CPG 2 is reacted with a nucleoside 3 to provide nucleoside-loaded CPG 4 (Abstract; page 343, Right Col., para. 2). The reaction for functionalization and loading of nucleoside on controlled-pore-glass (CPG) for making compound 4 is shown below (page 344, Figure 1):
.
The figure shows the reaction sequences for functionalization and loading of CPG and involve (Path A): (a) reaction of CPG with 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane to give the amino-functionalized CPG, (b) reaction of aminated support 1 with succinic anhydride to give carboxy-terminated CPG 2, and (c) reaction of 2 with nucleoside 3 to give the nucleoside loaded CPG 4 (page 343. Right Col., para. 2), wherein CPG 4 corresponds to the claimed limitations of X01 as a bond with the inorganic porous body; Y01 as a bond with the inorganic porous body while a is 2 and b is 0; A01/A02 as a propylene group; B1/B2 as a hydrogen atom; and C1/C2 as a nucleoside with a succinyl linker in which the reactive group is protected. Thus, the disclosure read on the limitations “(vi) a silyl group represented by the following formula (vi-1)” of claim 10, “glass” of claim 14, “contains a succinyl linker” of claim 16, “A01…is an alkylene group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms” of claim 19, and “silyl group of formula (vi-1-1)” of claim 20. Padmanabhan et al. specifically employ CPG having a pore size of 500 Å. Thus, the pore size disclosed by Padmanabhan et al., when converted to nm, is 50 nm, which reads on the pore diameter of 40 nm to 500 nm of claim 11. Padmanabhan et al. further teach that convention amination of CPG with APTES may be followed by capping of unreacted hydroxyl groups with trimethylsilyl chloride (page 344, Left Col., para. 3; Right Col., para. 1). Padmanabhan et al. investigate different amination reagents for functionalization of CPG, including APTES, APTMS, APDS, and further subject APDS-functionalized amino-CPG to a second microwave-assisted amination using APTES (page 345, Figure 2; Table 2; Left Col., para. 2):
.
Padmanabhan et al. teach that reaction conditions, such as additives and solvents, influence the amino loading of CPG and thereby the final loading of nucleosides (page 345, Right Col., para. 3).
However, Padmanabhan et al. do not teach an inorganic porous body having, in addition to the nucleoside-bearing silyl functionality, the claimed second silyl group (D) selected from formulas (vii-1), (vii-2), and (vii-3) on the same porous body.
Shircliff et al. teach forming mixed silane monolayers on silica using n-propyldimethylchlorosilane (PDMCS) and 3-aminopropyldimethylethoxysilane (APDMES) (Abstract). Shircliff et al. teach a stepwise deposition procedure in which PDMCS is deposited first on the silica surface and APDMES is subsequently deposited on the remaining available surface sites, thereby forming a mixed PDMCS/APDMES monolayer (page 3285, Left Col., para. 2; page 3286, Figure 1):
.
Shircliff et al. further teach that the amount of predeposited PDMCS controls the unmodified surface area available for subsequent APDMES attachment, allowing the degree of amine functionality to be varied while maintaining substantially constant total silane coverage (page 3286, Left Col., para. 3; Right Col., para. 1). Shircliff et al. confirm that subsequently deposited APDMES does not displace PDMCS already attached to the silica surface and that the resulting films are truly mixed monolayers containing both PDMCS- and APDMES-derived functionalities (page 3289, Right Col., para. 3). Thus, the PDMCS-derived functionality corresponds to the claimed second silyl group (D), which corresponds to the claimed formula (vii-3), wherein P01 is a bond with the inorganic porous body; K1 is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom; M1 is an alkylene group having 1 carbon atom; and N1 is an alkyl group having 2 carbon atoms. Shircliff et al. further teach use of these mixed monolayers for DNA probe immobilization and DNA target hybridization, and report that hybridization efficiency varies with APDMES content and probe density (page 3290, Left Col., para. 4; Right Col., para. 4; page 3291, Left Col., para. 1 and 3). Accordingly, Shircliff et al. teach a silica surface having two different silyl functionalities on the same surface, which are APDMES-derived aminopropyl silyl functionality and a PDMCS-derived non-amine silyl functionality.
Abry et al. teach dual functionalization of the surface of mesostructured silica suing sequential grafting (Abstract). Abry et al. teach that mesostructured porous silica provides controlled porosity and relatively large pores, and that such materials can be modified and functionalized by grafting silane moieties on pre-formed silica through reaction with surface silanol and siloxane groups (page 742, Left Col., para. 1 – 2). Abry et al. further teach grafting organodimethylsilyl functionalities, including chloropropyldimethylsilyl (CPDMS) and trimethylsilyl (TMS) groups, and explain that the corresponding R(CH3)2SiCl reagents are deliberately chosen with only one possible linkage to the surface to avoid grafted oligomers (page 742, Right Col., para. 2). Abry et al. teach sequential grafting in which a first function is grafted while retaining part of the templating surfactant, followed by displacement of the remaining surfactant and introduction of a second function, with most of the first function effectively retained during the second grafting step (Abstract; page 742, Right Col., para 1; page 750, Right Col., para. 1). Abry et al. further demonstrate bifunctionalized porous silica containing both TMS and CPDMS functionalities and report that the CPDMS moieties remain fully intact (page 748, Left Col., para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the PDMCS-derived silyl functionality of Shircliff et al. onto the CPG of Padmanabhan et al. because Shircliff et al. teach a known silica surface modification technique in which a non-amine silane, PDMCS, is used together with an aminopropyl silane to form a mixed silane layer on the same silica surface. Padmanabhan et al. modify a silica-based CPG support with an aminopropyl silane. Thus, applying the known mixed silane surface treatment of Shircliff et al. to the aminopropyl functionalized silica support of Padmanabhan et al. would have amounted to use of a known surface-functionalized technique on a similar silica substrate to obtain the predictable result of a surface containing both aminopropyl-derived functionality and a second non-amine silyl functionality. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such incorporation because Padmanabhan et al. teach that the amino loading of CPG influences the final loading of nucleosides, thereby identifying the amount of reactive aminopropyl functionality on the CPG surface as a parameter affecting subsequent nucleoside loading. Shircliff et al. teach that the amount of predeposited PDMCS controls the unmodified silica surface area available for subsequent APDMES attachment, thereby allowing the degree of amine functionality to be varied while maintaining constant total silane coverage. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the PDMCS-derived functionality of Shircliff et al. into the CPG of Padmanabhan et al. in order to regulate the density of reactive aminopropyl sites and thereby control the number of sites available for subsequent nucleoside attachment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Padmanabhan et al. and Shircliff et al. employ organosilane chemistry to functionalize silica surfaces, and Shircliff et al. experimentally demonstrate that PDMCS remains attached after subsequent APDMES deposition, producing a true mixed monolayer containing both functionalities. Further Abry et al. demonstrate that different organosilyl functionalities may be sequentially grafted and retained together on mesostructured porous silica, including retention of a substantial portion of the first functionality after grafting the second. Thus, the prior art provide evidence that mixed organosilane functionalization is compatible not only with silica generally but also with porous silica, supporting a reasonable expectation that the mixed silane approach of Shircliff et al. would work on the porous CPG of Padmanabhan et al.
Regarding claim 11, Padmanabhan et al. teach controlled-pore-glass having a pore size of 500 Å, which corresponds to 50 nm. Accordingly, Padmanabhan et al. teach a pore diameter falling within the recited range of 40 nm of 500 nm.
Claims 12 – 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. (Tetrahedron Letters, 2004, Vol. 46, Issue 2, page 343 – 347, cited in the PTO-892 on December 9, 2025) in view of Shircliff et al. (ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 2011, Vol. 3, Issue 9, page 3285 – 3292, PTO-892) and Abry et al. (Comptes Rendus. Chimie, 2005, Vol. 8, Issue 3 – 4, page 741 – 752, PTO-892) as applied to claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 above, and further in view of National Institute of Standards & Technology (Certificate of Analysis, 2012, cited in the previous Office Action mailed December 9, 2025).
The combined teachings of Padmanabhan et al., Shircliff et al., and Abry et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Padmanabhan et al. further teach microwave-assisted amination CPG having amino loading of about 90 – 113 μmol/g (page 344, Right Col., para. 1).
However, Padmanabhan et al., Shircliff et al., and Abry et al. do not teach the cumulative pore volume and the specific surface area of the inorganic porous body as well as the I01/S01.
National Institute of Standards & Technology teaches that CPG with the diameter of 300 nm has a specific surface area of 10.73±0.68 m2/g or 10.99±0.68 m2/g depending on the measurement technique.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use, as the controlled-pore-glass support of Padmanabhan et al., the 300 nm CPG characterized by National Institute of Standards & Technology because Padmanabhan et al. teach CPG as the inorganic porous support for functionalization and nucleoside loading, while National Institute of Standards & Technology establishes that 300 nm CPG is a known CPG material having a specific surface area of
10.73±0.68 m2/g or 10.99±0.68 m2/g. Thus, the proposed modification would have involved selecting one known CPG material in place of another known CPG material of the same general type, with the predictable result that the selected CPG would possess its known physical characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make that selection because Padmanabhan et al. employ CPG as the porous solid support on which silanization and subsequent nucleoside loading chemistry are performed, and do not limit that chemistry to a single unique CPG pore size. National Institute of Standards & Technology identifies another known CPG material having a defined pore diameter and corresponding measured surface area. Accordingly, a skilled artisan selecting a CPG support for the process of Padmanabhan et al. would have had reason to choose among known CPG materials of the same general class, including the 300 nm CPG characterized by National Institute of Standards & Technology, when those known pore and surface area characteristics are desired. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify because the proposed modification changes the physical grade of the CPG support rather than the silanization, succinylation, or nucleoside-coupling chemistry taught by Padmanabhan et al.. Both materials are controlled-pore-glass, and National Institute of Standards & Technology characterizes the physical properties of the 300 nm CPG. Therefore, selecting the CPG characterized by National Institute of Standards & Technology for use as the porous support of Padmanabhan et al. would have predictably provided the reported pore size and surface area characteristics while leaving the underlying CPG surface functionalization chemistry unchanged.
Regarding claim 15, it would have been prima facie obvious to employ the CPG characterized by National Institute of Standards & Technology as the porous support in the nucleoside-loading process of Padmanabhan et al. because Padmanabhan et al. already teach nucleoside loading on CPG and National Institute of Standards & Technology identifies a known CPG material having a defined specific surface area. Use of the CPG that is characterized by National Institute of Standards & Technology in the known process of Padmanabhan et al. would predictably provide a loading per unit surface area relationship based on the known loading and known surface area of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to make this selection because Padmanabhan et al. is concerned with the amount of nucleoside loaded onto CPG, while the available surface area of the porous support is a physical characteristic of the CPG on which such surface loading occurs. Accordingly, when selecting a CPG having a known specific surface area, a skilled artisan would have had reason to evaluate or characterize the amount of nucleoside loading relative to the available surface area of the support. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because the proposed modification does not require changing the silanization, succinylation, or nucleoside-coupling of Padmanabhan et al. Instead, it uses a known CPG support having a known surface area in the same type of CPG-based loading process. Thus, the resulting loading per surface area value would have been expected to follow predictably from the known loading achieved by Padmanabhan et al. and the known surface area of the selected CPG.
Claims 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan et al. (Tetrahedron Letters, 2004, Vol. 46, Issue 2, page 343 – 347, cited in the PTO-892 on December 9, 2025) in view of Shircliff et al. (ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, 2011, Vol. 3, Issue 9, page 3285 – 3292, PTO-892) and Abry et al. (Comptes Rendus. Chimie, 2005, Vol. 8, Issue 3 – 4, page 741 – 752, PTO-892) as applied to claims 10 – 11, 14, and 16 – 20 above, and further in view of White (Humana Press, 1988, Vol. 4, cited in the previous Office Action mailed December 9, 2025).
The combined teachings of Padmanabhan et al., Shircliff et al., and Abry et al. teach the limitations discussed above. Padmanabhan et al. further teach coupling nucleosides to succinylated CPG 2 to obtain CPG 4 having high nucleoside loading, and using the resulting nucleoside-loaded CPG 4 for synthesis of oligonucleotides using phosphoramidite chemistry (page 346, Left Col., para. 2 and 5).
However, Padmanabhan et al., Shircliff et al., and Abry et al. do not explicitly teach the particular phosphoramidite synthesis steps recited in claims 21 – 23.
White teaches the oligonucleotide synthesis, which starts with an appropriately base-protected nucleoside that also has its 5’-OH group protected with the dimethoxytrityl group and is coupled through its 3’-OH to controlled-pore glass support via a long-chain alkylamine arm and succinyl group. The elongation cycle for oligonucleotide synthesis, which consists of the following steps: (1) removal of the 5’-dimethoxytrityl group with dichloroacetic acid in dichloroethane; (2) coupling of the next monomer by adding the appropriate nucleoside 3’-O-phosphoramidite with the activating agent tetrazole; and (3) oxidation of the phosphite to phosphate with iodine/water. The elongation cycle is repeated until the oligonucleotide is completed (page 194, para. 2). When the synthesis is completed, the chain must be cleaved from the support and the base, phosphorus, and terminal 5’-OH-protecting groups removed (page 193, para. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the conventional phosphoramidite synthesis sequence taught by White with the nucleoside-loaded CPG support taught by Padmanabhan et al. because Padmanabhan et al. explicitly teach that the nucleoside-loaded CPG is used for oligonucleotide synthesis by phosphoramidite chemistry, while White teaches the conventional individual steps of that same phosphoramidite synthesis process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the phosphoramidite-cycle step of White with the functionalized CPG of Padmanabhan et al. because Padmanabhan et al. provide a nucleoside-loaded CPG specifically intended for oligonucleotide synthesis, and White teaches a known phosphoramidite procedure employing a nucleoside attached to CPG for that same purpose. Thus, White provides a known method for carrying out the oligonucleotide synthesis for which the support of Padmanabhan et al. is explicitly intended. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Padmanabhan et al. already demonstrate that the nucleoside-loaded CPG may be used in phosphoramidite oligonucleotide synthesis, and White teaches established phosphoramidite-cycle operations on a CPG-supported nucleoside. Accordingly, applying the conventional cycle steps of White to the CPG-supported nucleoside of Padmanabhan et al. would have been expected to produce oligonucleotides according to known phosphoramidite chemistry.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed September 11, 2026, have been fully considered. To the extent Applicant’s arguments are directed to the previously applied rejection based on Padmanabhan et al., including the prior mapping of compound 6 to the claimed second silyl group (D) and the prior theory involving modified compound 4 and unreacted compound 6 on the same porous body, those arguments are moot because the present rejection is based on a different combination of references and a different obviousness rationale. The arguments are nevertheless addressed below to clarify the basis of the present rejection.
Applicant argues that amended claim 10 no longer encompasses the compound 6 of Padmanabhan et al. because the amended definition of N1 in the formula (vii-3) no longer permits the amino-containing substituent previously relied upon by the Office. Applicant therefore contends that the compound 6 of Padmanabhan et al. does not correspond to the claimed second silyl group (D). Applicant’s argument is moot in respect to the present rejection because the present rejection does not rely on the compound 6 of Padmanabhan et al. as the claimed second silyl group (D). Instead, Padmanabhan et al. is relied upon for the nucleoside-bearing silyl functionality on CPG and for the teaching that amino loading of CPG affects the final loading of nucleosides. Shircliff et al. is relied upon for the distinct non-amine PDMCS-derived silyl functionality corresponding to the claimed second silyl group (D).
Applicant argues that Padmanabhan et al., either alone or in combination with Crozals et al. and/or White, do not each or suggest an inorganic porous body having both a silyl group © and a structurally distinct silyl group (D) as presently claimed on the same support. The argument is not persuasive because the present rejection relies on different prior art to address this limitation. Shircliff et al. teach a silica surface having a mixed monolayer comprising an APDMES-derived aminopropyl silyl functionality and a distinct PDMCS-derived non-amine silyl functionality on the same surface. Shircliff et al. further teach that PDMCS remains attached after subsequent deposition of APDMES, thereby producing a mixed surface containing both functionalities. Thus, Shircliff et al. supply the teaching of two distinct silyl functionalities coexisting on the same inorganic surface.
Applicant then argues that the previously applied theory involving modified compound 4 and unreacted compound 6 does not establish the presently claimed relationship between silyl groups (C) and (D) because the structures in Padmanabhan et al. are related as precursor and reaction product rather than as two independently present and structurally distinct silyl functionalities on the same inorganic porous body. Applicant’s argument is moot with respect to the present rejection. The present rejection does not rely on a precursor/product relationship between compound 6 and 4, nor does it rely on retaining unreacted compound 6 on the same support. Instead, Shircliff et al. is relied upon for intentionally providing two different surface-bound silyl functionalities, while Abry et al. is relied upon for demonstrating that different organosilyl functionalities may be sequentially grafted and retained together on porous silica. Accordingly, the present rejection addresses the claimed coexistence of distinct silyl functionalities through teachings different from those previously applied.
Applicant also contends that Crozals et al. and White do not remedy the deficiencies of Padmanabhan et al. with respect to the claimed silyl group (D) and the coexistence of silyl groups (C) and (D). Applicant’s argument is moot with respect to the present rejection. The present rejection does not rely on Crozals et al. or White to supply the claimed second silyl group (D) or the coexistence of two distinct silyl functionalities. Those limitations are addressed by Shircliff et al. and Abry et al. Crozals et al., National Institute of Standards & Technology, and/or White, where applied to dependent claims, are relied upon only for the additional limitations specifically recited in those dependent claims.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693