DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 15 recite the limitation "the pharmacological composition" in the first lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
For the purpose of examination it will be considered that claims 14 and 15 should recite “the method” instead of "the pharmacological composition", but appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 12-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lundberg et al (WO 2018/002886, January 2018, cited from IDS).
Concerning claims 1-4, 6-9, 21-22 Lundberg et al disclose a single-stranded oligonucleotide of SEQ ID NO: 29793, 20 nucleotides long, first 18 of which are identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 239 (see paragraphs [00060, 000117-000118], sequence listing). Such oligonucleotide can be 2’-OMe phosphorothioate modified and can include 5-methylcytosine (see paragraphs [000156, 000164-000165, 000171]).
Concerning claim 12 Lundberg et al disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising the oligonucleotide of the invention and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see paragraph [000315]).
Concerning claims 13-16, 19-20 Lundberg et al teach methods of treatment of spinocerebellar ataxia type 3 by administering oligonucleotides and compositions of the invention (see paragraph [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigo et al (WO 2017/053781, March 2017, cited from IDS) and in further view of Seth et al (WO 2011/156202, December 2011, cited from IDS).
Rigo et al teach methods of treating, preventing and ameliorating neurodegenerative diseases such as spinocerebellar ataxia type 3 (see lines 10-15 on page 1) by administering modified oligonucleotides to an individual in need thereof (see bridging paragraph between pages 2 and 3). One of such oligonucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 4 (see Table 1) is single-stranded, 22 nucleotides long, and is fully complementary to instant SEQ ID NO: 1. Such oligonucleotide can comprise 2’-O-methoxyethyl group (see lines 2-3 on page 3), LNAs (see lines 8-11 on page 18), 5-methylcytosines (see lines 19-21 on page 4) and phosphorothioate linkages (see lines 10-11 on page 4). Rigo et al teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising oligonucleotides of the invention and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see lines 5-7 on page 7). Further Rigo et al teach designing antisense oligonucleotides targeting ataxin 3 by complementarity of such oligonucleotide to the target mRNA, synthesizing and testing the oligonucleotides (see lines 30-34 on page 31, Example 1).
Rigo et al do not teach specific oligonucleotides of instant SEQ ID NOs: 239-263, or gapmer oligonucleotide modification as in instant claim 10, or the presence of specific modifications such as ALNA[mU].
Seth et al teach antisense oligonucleotides (see lines 14-17 on page 3) comprising bicyclic nucleosides such as LNAs (see lines 22-28 on page 47), some of such nucleosides are the same as instantly claimed ALNA[mU] (see structures of Formula IVa on pages 28-29). Further Seth et al teach that antisense oligonucleotides can have wing-gap-wing motifs with wings comprising modified sugars (see lines 12-25 on page 35). Seth et al teach that such modifications enhance antisense oligonucleotides properties (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify new antisense oligonucleotides targeting ataxin 3 based on teachings on Rigo et al and further improve them by including modifications taught by Seth et al arriving at instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Rigo et al provides basic framework for designing and testing of antisense oligonucleotides for spinocerebellar ataxia type 3 treatment, motivating one of the art to create new, more effective, antisense oligonucleotides. Seth et al teach further modifications improving properties of antisense oligonucleotides, motivating one of the art to include such modifications into new antisense oligonucleotides designed based on teachings of Rigo et al.
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-16, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigo et al (WO 2017/053781, March 2017, cited from IDS) and in further view of Sawamoto et al (WO 2020/100826 from IDS, claiming priority to JP 2018-212424, cited from machine translation of JP 2018-212424).
Teachings of Rigo et al are discussed above.
Rigo et al do not teach specific oligonucleotides of instant SEQ ID NOs: 239-263, or the presence of specific modifications such as ALNA[mU].
Sawamoto et al teach further improvement of antisense oligonucleotides by inclusion of modified nucleotides (see paragraphs [0002-0004]) identical to instantly claimed ALNA[mS], ALNA[mU], ALNA[ipU], ALNA[Oxz], ALNA[Trz] (see paragraph [0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify new antisense oligonucleotides targeting ataxin 3 based on teachings on Rigo et al and further improve them by including modifications taught by Sawamoto et al arriving at instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Rigo et al provides basic framework for designing and testing of antisense oligonucleotides for spinocerebellar ataxia type 3 treatment, motivating one of the art to create new, more effective, antisense oligonucleotides. Sawamoto et al teach further modifications improving properties of antisense oligonucleotides, motivating one of the art to include such modifications into new antisense oligonucleotides designed based on teachings of Rigo et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 19-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 12,338,265 in view of Rigo et al and Seth et al. Claims from ‘265 recite modified nucleotides identical to instantly claimed ALNA[mS], ALNA[mU], ALNA[ipU], ALNA[Oxz], ALNA[Trz]. Teachings of Rigo et al and Seth et al are discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify new antisense oligonucleotides targeting ataxin 3 based on teachings on Rigo et al and further improve them by including modifications taught by ‘265 and Seth et al arriving at instant invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, because Rigo et al provides basic framework for designing and testing of antisense oligonucleotides for spinocerebellar ataxia type 3 treatment, motivating one of the art to create new, more effective, antisense oligonucleotides. ‘265 and Seth et al teach further modifications improving properties of antisense oligonucleotides, motivating one of the art to include such modifications into new antisense oligonucleotides designed based on teachings of Rigo et al.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637