DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 06/08/2026 has been received and considered entered. This is a response to amendments and arguments filed 06/08/2026.
Claims Status
Claims 4, 6-8, 10-11, 13-14, 23-33, 36-38, 41, 44, 46-48, 50, 52, 54-57, 59-60, 63, 65-101, 103-109, 112 is/are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12, 15-22, 34-35, 39-40, 42-43, 45, 49, 51, 53, 58, 61-62, 64, 102, 110-111 is/are currently pending. Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12, 15-22, 34-35, 39-40, 42-43, 45, 49, 51, 53, 58, 61-62, 64, 102, 110-111 is/are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 110-111 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burns (WO2020077295A1; published 04/16/2020), in view of Nishio (2015), Sacheli (2009), Ranum (2019), and Brown (2007).This is a new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claim 110, Burns teaches a construct comprising a coding sequence operably linked to a promoter (GJB2 promoter), wherein the coding sequence encodes a connexin 26 protein, and wherein the construct is introduced into inner ear support cells (claims 24-25, 28-37, 40-41, 46-47, 62-63, 66-75, 78-79, 84-85).
However, Burns does not teach that the construct further comprises an miRTS for a microRNA expressed in an inner ear cell.
Brown teaches the use of miRTS to regulate tissue specificity of transgene constructs, and Sacheli teaches inner ear-specific miRNA.
Regarding claim 110, Brown teaches that the insertion of a microRNA target site into a transgene expression vector (labeled “mirT” in Brown) (see Fig. 1a, Fig. 2c) can be used to restrict expression of the transgene to cells that do not endogenously express the miRNA which binds to the mirT (pages 1461, 1463-1464). Brown also teaches that mirT “perfectly complementary” to an miRNA provide greater transgene suppression than imperfectly complementary mirT sites (page 1465).
However, Brown does not teach miRNA expressed in the inner ear.
Sacheli teaches miRNA expressed in the inner ear.
Regarding claims 110-111, Sacheli teaches that the microRNA miR-182 and miR-183 are expressed exclusively in inner ear hair cells in the mature ear (page 365).
Burns teaches a polynucleotide construct comprising a promoter specific to inner ear support cells, as discussed above. As taught by Nishio, GJB2 is expressed in supporting cells but not hair cells (pages 21-22; Fig. 4). The selection of the GJB2 promoter for expression in inner ear supporting cell types in Burns renders obvious that expression of the construct in hair cells is not desired by Burns in these methods. The teachings of Brown and Sacheli render obvious a method of further suppressing the expression of the construct of Burns in hair cells. Brown teaches that microRNA target sites, perfectly complementary to their corresponding miRNA, can be used to suppress expression of a transgene in specific cell types which endogenously express the miRNA; Sacheli teaches that miR-182 and miR-183 are specifically expressed in inner ear supporting cell types but not in hair cells. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that, in order to further suppress undesired expression of the transgene of Burns in hair cells while promoting desired expression in inner ear supporting cell types, in addition to the use of a supporting cell-specific promoter, an miR-182 and/or miR-183 target site, perfectly complementary to miR-182 and/or miR-183, should be inserted into an untranslated region of the transgene expression vector, as taught by the combination of Brown and Sacheli.
However, regarding claim 110, Burns does not teach that the promoter is the IGFBP2 or RBP7 promoter.
Regarding claim 110, Nishio teaches that the GJB2 gene is expressed in supporting cell populations of the inner ear (pages 5, 21-22; Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 110, Ranum teaches that the IGFBP2 and RBP7 genes are expressed in supporting cells (Deiters’ cells) but not outer or inner ear hair cells (Supplementary Table S3).
Given that the GJB2 promoter, used by Burns, has the same cell type specificity as the IGFBP2 and RBP7 promoters, as taught by Ranum, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the IGFBP2 and RBP7 promoters were obvious alternatives to the GJB2 promoter used by Burns for driving expression in inner ear supporting cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the amendments made to the claims overcome the rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12, 15-22, 34-35, 39-40, 42-43, 45, 49, 51, 53, 58, 61-62, 64, 102 under 35 USC 103 and render these claims free of the prior art, they do not render claims 110-111 free of the prior art, as described above in the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12, 15-22, 34-35, 39-40, 42-43, 45, 49, 51, 53, 58, 61-62, 64, 102 are allowed.
SEQ ID NOs:90 and 104 are described in the disclosure as corresponding to the human GDF6 promoter and the human PARM1 promoter, respectively. However, a search of the art did not produce evidence that the PARM1 promoter was known in the art to be a supporting cell-selective promoter. As such, it would not be obvious to design an expression cassette comprising a GJB2 gene—important for inner ear function—operatively linked to a promoter not known to drive expression in the inner ear (pPARM1). Moreover, Bademci (2020) (published after the effective filing date) teaches that GDF6 is expressed in the entire cochlea, inherently including supporting cells. However, a search of SEQ ID NO:90 in BLAST shows that SEQ ID NO:90 comprises segments which in aggregate are at least 95% identical to segments of the human GDF6 5’ UTR, but that SEQ ID NO:90 as a whole is not at least 85% identical to one contiguous segment of the human GDF6 5’ UTR (see alignments below). Likewise, a BLAST search of SEQ ID NO:104 showed that SEQ ID NO:104 is not at least 85% identical to a continuous segment of the human genome. Thus, claims 2-3, which require SEQ ID NOs:90 and 104 respectively, are not rendered obvious by the prior art at the time of filing.
Additionally, while Ranum (2019) does disclose that IGFBP2 and RBP7 have support cell-specific expression (see discussion above), a search of the art for SEQ ID NOs:95 and 98 did not yield sequences at least 85% identical to the full length of either sequence, and as such, SEQ ID NOs:95 and 98 would not have been obvious to use as IGFBP2 or RBP7 promoters based on what was taught in the art at the time of filing.
SEQ ID NOs:94, 97, 100, 103, and 106 comprise a GJB2 exon 2 fragment with two mismatches to the known GJB2 gene sequence and a GJB2 exon 2 fragment with 17 mismatches relative to the known GJB2 gene sequence, wherein 25 nucleotides of the human GJB2 gene sequence are unaccounted for (see BLAST alignments below of SEQ ID NO:103).
A BLASTx search shows that nucleotides 1401-2078 of SEQ ID NO:103 encode a protein comprising a single amino acid alteration relative to the known human (and P. troglodytes) GJB2 protein, with the single alteration being M102K (see alignment below).
Kenneson (2002) teaches known mutations of GJB2 (page 259). However, no mutation of amino acid residue 102 is described by Kenneson, or otherwise found in the prior art. It would not have been obvious to an artisan whether an M102K alteration would be benign (and thus an obvious alternative to the known reference GJB2 exon 2 sequence) or pathogenic (and thus obvious to introduce into an expression cassette used to investigate or model a pathogenic GJB2 variant). An artisan, without knowing the function of such an alteration, or having any indication as to the functional or structural implications of such an alteration, would have no motivation to introduce the alteration. SEQ ID NOs:94, 97, 100, and 106 each comprise a sequence 100% identical to nucleotides 1401-2078 of SEQ ID NO:103. As claim 51 requires sequences 100% identical to SEQ ID NOs:94, 97, 100, 103, or 106, claim 51 is free of the art.
Double Patenting
18314671:
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 12, 15-22, 34-35, 39-40, 43, 45, 49, 53, 58, 61-62, 64, 102, 110-111 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-10, 12-17, 87, 91-92, 106, 109, 113-114, 117-118, 120, 129, 131, 133, 142, 157, 167 of copending Application No. 18314671 (reference application), in view of Burns (WO2020077295A1; published 04/16/2020).
The copending claims recite all of the same limitations as the pending instant claims except for the AAV serotype from which the 5’ and 3’ ITRs are derived, and the sequence of the polynucleotide encoding a polypeptide.
Regarding claim 1, Burns teaches a construct, similar to that of the copending claims, comprising a coding sequence operably linked to a promoter, wherein the coding sequence encodes GJB2 (connexin-26) and the promoter is selective for a supporting cell (claims 24-25, 28-37, 40-41, 46-47, 62-63, 66-75, 78-79, 84-85).
Regarding claim 5, Burns teaches that the GJB2 mRNA has the sequence of NCBI accession number NM_004004, which is comprises a sequence 100% identical to SEQ ID NO:1 (see alignment below; Burns page 49).
Regarding claim 9, Burns teaches that the GJB2 mRNA has the sequence of NCBI accession number NM_004004, which encodes a protein of accession number QAU32547.1, which is 100% identical to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:7 (see alignment below; Burns page 49).
Regarding claim 45, Burns teaches that the 5’ and 3’ ITRs are AAV2 ITRs (claim 94).
Regarding claim 49, Burns teaches that the construct comprises the gene GJB2 and 5’ and 3’ UTR sequences (page 57 lines 12-16; page 49; claims 24-25, 28-37, 40-41, 46-47, 62-63, 66-75, 78-79, 84-85) (the known GJB2 mRNA sequence comprises the 5’ UTR sequence of SEQ ID NO:20 and the 3’ UTR sequence of SEQ ID NO:67, shown below, and SEQ ID NO:1, shown above).
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:20:
Alignment of SEQ ID NO:67:
Further regarding claim 49, Burns teaches that the construct comprises AAV ITR sequences known in the art (page 58 line 35-page 59 line 11; claims 89, 94). Alignments of SEQ ID NOs:8 and 9 to the known AAV2 reference sequence of accession number J01901.1, shown below, show that SEQ ID NOs:8 and 9 comprise the plus and minus strand of the AAV2 3’ ITR sequence. Burns teaches that the construct comprises AAV2 ITR sequences, specifically (claim 94). As such, the construct of Burns comprises SEQ ID NOs:8-9.
SEQ ID NO:8:
SEQ ID NO:9:
Regarding claim 110, Burns teaches that the coding sequence of a similar expression cassette encodes connexin 26 (claims 24-25, 28-37, 40-41, 46-47, 62-63, 66-75, 78-79, 84-85).
Given that the structure and function of the construct of Burns and of the copending claims overlap significantly (an expression construct, comprising a polynucleotide under the control of a supporting cell-specific promoter, used in methods of treating hearing loss), the use of specifically GJB2 as the coding sequence of the construct, to treat hearing loss associated with GJB2, as taught by Burns, would be an obvious modification to the copending claims. Furthermore, the teachings of Burns detailed above render obvious additional limitations to the copending claims which then render obvious the specific sequences of the 5’ and 3’ UTRs and ITRs of the polynucleotide construct of the pending instant claims, as the 5’ and 3’ UTR sequences are the non-coding regions of the GJB2 gene, and the 5’ and 3’ ITR sequences are known AAV2 ITR sequences. Burns teaches constructs in which the entirety of the GJB2 gene is comprised in the construct, and as such, the constructs of Burns comprise the 5’ and 3’ UTR sequences of the GJB2 gene. Burns also specifically teaches that the AAV2 ITR sequences allow for versatility in AAV vector serotype selection; as the copending claims require packaging of the construct in an AAV and require that the construct comprise AAV ITR sequences, it would be obvious for the AAV ITR sequences of the copending claims to be AAV2 ITR sequences, allowing for the selection of multiple different AAV vectors with different tropisms.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 42 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8-10, 13, 92 of copending Application No. 18314671 and Burns (WO2020077295A1; published 04/16/2020), as applied to claims 1 and 40 above, and further in view of Post (US5122458A) and copending claims 129 and 131.
The claim limitations of the copending application render obvious the limitations of claims 1 and 40. However, the copending application does not require that the polyadenylation tail is bovine growth hormone polyA.
Post teaches that the bGHpA was known to be an effective polyadenylation signal for expression of transgenes in eukaryotes.
Regarding claim 42, Post teaches that bGHpA was an effective polyadenylation signal for use in eukaryotes, to enhance expression of a transgene (claim 1; abstract).
The copending claims recite that a polyadenylation signal is comprised in the polynucleotide construct. However, the copending claims do not specify the particular polyadenylation signal to be used. Post teaches that the bovine growth hormone polyadenylation signal is effective in enhancing expression of genes in eukaryotes; such a polyadenylation signal would be beneficial to use as the polyadenylation signal of the copending claims, as the methods of the copending claims (claims 129 and 131) are methods of expressing the polynucleotide construct in eukaryotic cells. As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the bGHpA of Post would be an optimal polyadenylation signal for use with the methods and compositions of the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered.
As the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection above is not the only rejections remaining in the pending application, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via EFS-Web using the document description Internet Communications Authorized or Internet Communications Authorization Withdrawn to facilitate processing. See MPEP 502.03(II).
/AFRICA M MCLEOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/KIMBERLY CHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636