DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments filed 10/02/2025 is acknowledged and entered. In the amendments claims 7-8 and 11-14 have been canceled and new claims 18-21 have been added. New claims 18 and 21 being directed to immunoconjugate of claim 1, have been included in elected Group I invention and new claims 19 and 20, being directed to method claim of Group II invention, have been included in non-elected Group II invention. Therefore, claims 15, 17, 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). See MPEP 803.02. Applicants preserve their right to file a divisional on the non-elected subject matter.
Applicant is reminded that upon cancellation of claims to a nonelected invention, the inventions must be amended in compliance with 37 C.F.R. 1.48(b) if one of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a petition under 37 C.F.R. 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 C.F.R. 1.17(i).
Therefore, claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to for not being in proper markush format. Claim 21 recites “wherein maytansinoids include maytansinoid 1 (DM1), maytansinoid 4 (DM4), maytansine and ansamitocins”. The term “include” in the recitation, is not a proper Markush format for selection. The claim suffers from similar problem throughout the claims. A Markush claim is commonly formatted as: “selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C”. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush group, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper (MEPP § 2173.05 (h)).
Claim 18 is objected for the drawing of the conjugate structures. The quality of the drawings of conjugates are of poor quality, blurred, and/or illegible. Clear drawings of the structure of the immunoconjugates are required to clearly claim the immunoconjugates of claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over of Cai et al (CN106488932A) alone or further in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Cai discloses antibody specifically binding to human alpha-enolase (ENO1). Cai teaches that ENO1 expressed on the cell surface of many cancer cells, plasminogen as a receptor, and is expressed on activated hematopoietic cells such as neutrophil, lymphocyte and monocyte. regulation of known plasminogen receptor protein (Introduction). Cai teaches that ENO1 can increase cancer cell invasion activity as plasminogen receptor expressed on the surface of cancer cells and therefore, ENO1 is a potential cancer therapeutic target (Introduction).
Cai discloses an antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFTSCVMN; SEQ ID NO: 3) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant claim 1.
Cai teaches that the antibody inhibits cell invasion and tumor metastasis ability of various tumors. Cai teaches that the antibody is useful for diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of various cancers expressing ENO1 at the cell surface (Abstract).
Cai teaches that in one embodiment ENO1 antibody or its segment is coupled to a therapeutic agent. Treating agent can be such as a toxin or a radioactive isotope.
Cai does not teach a general formula for antibody conjugate with therapeutic agent as claimed and does not specifically disclose a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent. The formula as claimed in claim 1 encompass an anti-ENO1 antibody directly bound to a therapeutic agent of a label when m is 1 and L is bond.
Thus, from the description in mind of Cai, the anti-ENO1 antibody bound to a therapeutic agent directly or through a linker, would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art because Cai teaches ENO1 antibody or its segment coupled to a therapeutic agent. Cai also teaches that the antibody is useful of diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of antibody with a label is very common and thus would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Moreover, providing a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent or a label would be obvious in view of Lee. Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al) and given the fact that Tsai teaches anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Cai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, Cai throughout the reference, teaches the antibody is monoclonal antibody (claim 10) and the antibody can be a chimeric antibody, a humanized antibody.
In regards to claims 5 and 21, as described above, Cai teaches therapeutic agent conjugated to the antibody and lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claim 6, as described above, Cai teaches that the antibody is useful for diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of the antibody with a various commonly known labels would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular diagnostic agent.
In regards to claims 9-10, Cai teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 and since as described above, conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-10, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, as disclosed in the specification (para [0077]), antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of Cai and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of Cai through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Cai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over of Tsai et al (10,781,266B2) in view of Tsai et al (US 2015/0183884A1; hereinafter Tsai2) and Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1, 4 and 6, Tsai discloses antibody specifically binding to human alpha-enolase (ENO1) (Abstract). Tsai teaches ENO1 expression on cancer cell surfaces as a plasminogen receptor can increase invasion activities of the cancer cells. Therefore, ENO1 is also a potential target for cancer therapy. Tsai teaches that the invention relates to antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof that specifically bind human ENO1, thereby inhibiting ligand (e.g., plasminogen) binding to ENO1 (col. 3). Tsai teaches that ENO1 protein-related disease may be an inflammatory disease or an immune disorder (col.4). Therefore, the invention may relate to a method for administering the antibody, or the antigen-binding fragment thereof, as described herein to a subject (e.g., a human or a non-human animal) for the treatment of an inflammatory disease or immune disorder (col. 24, lines 11-23).
Tsai discloses antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFT-Xaa-VMN; SEQ ID NO: 50) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.7), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant claim 1.
Tsai teaches that the invention relates to the uses of the antibody, or the antigen-binding fragment thereof, in the preparation of a medicament for the treatment of an ENO1-related disease or disorder in a subject (e.g., a human or a non-human animal) (col. 23). Tsai teaches that the invention relate to pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutically effective amount of an antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof that can bind human ENO1 protein, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (col.4, lines 5-10 and claim 4).
Tsai teaches inhibiting cancer invasion in a subject in need thereof, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the antibody, or the antigen-binding fragment thereof, according to claim 1 to the subject (claim 9). Tsai teaches treating a subject suffering from an ENO1 protein-related disease or disorder, comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the antibody, or the antigen-binding fragment thereof (claim 5).
Tsai discloses antibody specifically binding to ENO1 but however does not teach the antibody conjugated to a label for detection or conjugated to a cytotoxic drug or therapeutic for treatment.
Tsai2 discloses antibody specifically binding the ENO1. Tsai2 teaches that the invention relates to method for treating diseases or conditions associated with the expression of ENO1 in a patient and the method may include administering to a patient an effective amount of an anti-ENO antibody (para [0044]). Tsai2 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody (paragraph [0043]). Tsai2 teaches that in one embodiment, the anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, is conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]).
Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al) and given the fact that Tsai2 teaches anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Tsai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2-3, Tsai teaches that the antibody is a polyclonal antibody, a monoclonal antibody, a humanized antibody or a fully human antibody (paragraph 20, lines 42-49).
In regards to claims 5 and 21, Lee teaches various drugs including DM1 (paragraph [0045]) and thus various commonly known therapeutic agent would be obvious for the conjugate of Tsai.
In regards to claims 9-10, Tsai teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 (claim 4) and since as described above, conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious by the combination of the references, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-11, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, as disclosed in the specification (para [0077]), antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of Tsai and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of Cai through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over of Tsai et al (9,527922) alone or further in view Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Tsai discloses antibody specifically binding to human alpha-enolase (ENO1). Tsai teaches that ENO1 expressed on the cell surface of many cancer cells, plasminogen as a receptor, and is expressed on activated hematopoietic cells such as neutrophil, lymphocyte and monocyte. regulation of known plasminogen receptor protein (Col. 1). Tsai teaches that ENO1 can increase cancer cell invasion activity as plasminogen receptor expressed on the surface of cancer cells and therefore, ENO1 is a potential cancer therapeutic target (Col. 1). Tsai teaches that the antibody inhibits cell invasion and tumor metastasis ability of various tumors (col. 1). Tai teaches that the antibody is useful for diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of various cancers expressing ENO1 at the cell surface (Col.2, lines 5-10). Cai teaches that in one embodiment ENO1 antibody or its segment is coupled to a therapeutic agent. Treating agent can be such as a toxin or a radioactive isotope (Col. 6, lines 1-5). Tsai discloses an antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFTSCVMN; SEQ ID NO: 3) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant antibody of claim 7.
Tsai does not teach a general formula for antibody conjugate with therapeutic agent as claimed and does not specifically disclose a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent. The formula as claimed in claim 1 encompass an anti-ENO1 antibody directly bound to a therapeutic agent of a label when m is 1 and L is bond.
Thus, from the description in mind of Tsai, the anti-ENO1 antibody bound to a therapeutic agent directly or through a linker, would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art because Tsai teaches ENO1 antibody or its segment coupled to a therapeutic agent. Cai also teaches that the antibody is useful of diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of antibody with a label is very common and thus would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Moreover, providing a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent or a label would be obvious in view of Lee. Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al) and given the fact that Tsai teaches anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Tsai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, Tsai throughout the reference, teaches the antibody is monoclonal antibody (claim 11) and the antibody can be a chimeric antibody, a humanized antibody.
In regards to claims 5 and 21, as described above, Tsai teaches therapeutic agent conjugated to the antibody and lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claim 6, as described above, Tsai teaches that the antibody would be useful for diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of the antibody with a various commonly known labels would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular diagnostic agent.
In regards to claims 9-11. Tsai teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 (claim 12) and since as described above, conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-11, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, as disclosed in the specification (para [0077]), antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of Tsai and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of Cai through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over of Tsai et al (9,382,331) alone or further in view Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Tsai discloses antibody specifically binding to human alpha-enolase (ENO1) (Abstract). Tsai teaches that the antibody of the invention are useful for diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of cancers that have been reported to express cell-surface ENO1 (Abstract). Tsai teaches that ENO1 expressed on the cell surface of many cancer cells, plasminogen as a receptor, and is expressed on activated hematopoietic cells such as neutrophil, lymphocyte and monocyte. regulation of known plasminogen receptor protein. Tsai teaches that ENO1 can increase cancer cell invasion activity as plasminogen receptor expressed on the surface of cancer cells and therefore, ENO1 is a potential cancer therapeutic target (Cols 1-2). Tsai teaches that the antibody inhibits cell invasion and tumor metastasis ability of various tumors (Abstract).
Tsai discloses an antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFTSCVMN; SEQ ID NO: 3) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant antibody of claim 1.
Tai teaches that the antibody is useful for diagnosis, prognosis and treatment of various cancers expressing ENO1 at the cell surface (Col.2, lines 1-3). Cai teaches that in one embodiment ENO1 antibody or its segment is coupled to a therapeutic agent. Treating agent can be such as a toxin or a radioactive isotope (Col. 6, lines 1-4).
Tsai does not teach a general formula for antibody conjugate with therapeutic agent as claimed and does not specifically disclose a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent. The formula as claimed in claim 1 encompass an anti-ENO1 antibody directly bound to a therapeutic agent of a label when m is 1 and L is bond.
Thus, from the description in mind of Cai, the anti-ENO1 antibody bound to a therapeutic agent directly or through a linker, would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art because Cai teaches ENO1 antibody or its segment coupled to a therapeutic agent. Cai also teaches that the antibody is useful of diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of antibody with a label is very common and thus would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Moreover, providing a conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent or a label would be obvious in view of Lee. Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al) and given the fact that Tsai teaches anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Tsai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, Tsai throughout the reference, teaches the antibody is monoclonal antibody (claim 14) and the antibody can be a chimeric antibody, a humanized antibody (col. 5, lines 1-3)
In regards to claims 5 and 21, as described above, Tsai teaches therapeutic agent conjugated to the antibody and lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claim 6, as described above, Tsai teaches that the antibody would be useful for diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of the antibody with a various commonly known labels would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular diagnostic agent.
In regards to claims 9-10, Tsai teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 (claim 15) and since as described above, conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-11, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, as disclosed in the specification (para [0077]), antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of Tsai and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of Cai through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,527922 in view Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Claims of US patent ‘922 discloses antibody specifically binding to ENO1 (claims 1 and 10) and also teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody for treating cancers (claim 11). US patent ‘922 discloses an antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFTSCVMN; SEQ ID NO: 3) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant antibody of claim 1.
Claims of US patent ‘922 discloses antibody specifically binding to ENO1 and the antibody comprising the same CDR sequences as claimed in claim 1, but however does not teach the antibody conjugated to a label for detection or conjugated to a cytotoxic drug or therapeutic for treatment.
Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Tsai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, US patent discloses the antibody is monoclonal antibody (claim 11) and is a humanized antibody (claim 1).
In regards to claim 5, US patent ‘922 in view of Lee suggest the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent and lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claim 6, as described above, claims of US patent ‘922 in view of Lee teaches conjugation to a diagnostic agent useful for diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of the antibody with a various commonly known labels would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular diagnostic agent.
In regards to claims 9-10, claim 12 of US patent teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 and in view of Lee makes obvious of a conjugate of the antibody with a pharmaceutical agent of a label and since conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-10, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of US patent ‘922 and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of US patent ‘922 through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9382331 in view Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 4, Claims of US patent ‘331 discloses antibody specifically binding to ENO1 (claim 1) and also teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody for treating cancers (claim 16). claim 1 of US patent ‘331 discloses an antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFTSCVMN; SEQ ID NO: 3) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant antibody of claim 7.
Claims of US patent ‘331 discloses antibody specifically binding to ENO1 and teaches diagnosis of cancer utilizing the antibody, but however does not teach the antibody conjugated to a label for detection or conjugated to a cytotoxic drug or therapeutic for treatment.
Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of US patent ‘331 conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2 and 3, US patent discloses the antibody is monoclonal antibody and is a humanized antibody (claim 14).
In regards to claims 5 and 21, US patent ‘331 in view of Lee suggest the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent or a label and lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claim 6, as described above, claims of US patent ‘331 in view of Lee teaches conjugation to a diagnostic agent useful for diagnosis and one of ordinary skilled in the art readily understands that for diagnosis or detection, labeling of the antibody with a various commonly known labels would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with a particular diagnostic agent.
In regards to claims 9-10, claim 12 of US patent ‘331 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 and in view of Lee makes obvious of a conjugate of the antibody with a pharmaceutical agent of a label and since conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-11, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious in view of US patent ‘922 and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of US patent ‘331 through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Claims 1-6, 9-10, 18 and 21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,781,266 in view of Tsai et al (US 2015/0183884A1) and Lee et al (US 2019/0106507A1).
In regards to claims 1, 4 and 6, US patent ‘266 discloses antibody specifically binding to human alpha-enolase (ENO1) (Claim 1). Claim 4 of the US patent ‘266 discloses the antibody in a pharmaceutical composition and claims 5-8 of the US patent ‘266 discloses the antibody for treating subject suffering from ENO1 protein-related disease or disorder. Claim 1 of US patent ‘266 discloses antibody comprising one or more sequences selected from the group consisting of: HCDR1 (GYTFT-Xaa-VMN; SEQ ID NO: 50) and HCDR2 (YINPYNDGTKYNEKFKG; SEQ ID NO: 4) and HCDR3 (EGFYYGNFDN; SEQ ID NO: 5) and LCDR1 (RASENIYSYLT; SEQ ID NO: 6), LCDR2 (NAKTLPE; SEQ ID NO: 7) and LCDR3 (QHHYGTPYT; SEQ ID NO: 8) and the CDR sequences correspond to HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.7), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) of instant antibody of claim 1.
The claims of the US patent ‘266 however does not teach the antibody conjugated to a label for detection or conjugated to a cytotoxic drug or therapeutic for treatment.
Tsai discloses antibody specifically binding the ENO1. Tsai teaches that the invention relates to method for treating diseases or conditions associated with the expression of ENO1 in a patient and the method may include administering to a patient an effective amount of an anti-ENO antibody (para [0044]). Tsai teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody (paragraph [0043]). Tsai teaches that in one embodiment, the anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, is conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]).
Lee discloses an antibody (anti-Globo H antibody) conjugated to a therapeutic or a label having the formula Ab-(L-D)m, wherein Ab is the anti-Globo H antibody or binding fragment thereof, L is a linker or a direct bond, D is a therapeutic agent or a label and m is an integer of 1-8 (Abstract). Lee teaches that the immunoconjugate is for treating a cancer by administering to a subject in need (Abstract). Lee teaches that that antibody-drug conjugates can provide targeted therapy to treat various diseases or conditions, such as cancer (paragraph [0002]). Lee teaches the antibody coupled to a payload (which can be a drug, a diagnostic agent or a therapeutic agent) ([para [0028]).
Therefore, given the fact that conjugating an antibody to a drug or a diagnostic label is common once the antibody developed that specifically binds to a target antigen related to a disease for treatment and for diagnosis (lee et al) and given the fact that Tsai teaches anti-ENO1 antibody, or fragment thereof, conjugated to a therapeutic agent and the therapeutic agent can be, for example, a toxin or a radioisotope (para [0043]), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to easily envisage the antibody of Tsai conjugated to a drug, therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent with the expectation of expanding the arsenal of the antibody useful as pharmaceutical composition for treatment and for diagnosis with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claims 2-3, claim 1 of US patent discloses CDR sequences for the antibody and thus it is highly expected that the antibody is monoclonal and is humanized as the antibody is for treating human subject.
In regards to claims 5 and 21, US patent ‘266 in view of Tsai and Lee, suggest the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent or a label. Lee teaches various therapeutic agents including DM1 and auristatins and thus various commonly known therapeutic agents including cytotoxic agents would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art absent showing of unexpected advantages with the particular therapeutic agent.
In regards to claims 9-10, Claim 4 of US patent ‘266 teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody of claim 1 and since as described above, conjugate of the antibody with a therapeutic agent has been found to be obvious by the combination of the references, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the antibody conjugated to a therapeutic agent or a diagnostic agent would also be obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In regards to claims 9-11, the recitation “for diagnosing or imaging cells or a tissue expressing ENO1” and “for use in treating an inflammatory disease, an immune disorder or an ENO1-expressing cancer”, are intended use/process utilizing a composition comprising the immunoconjugate. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use/process of the claimed invention, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In regards to claim 18, antibody HuL001 comprises HCDR1 (SEQ ID NO.1), HCDR2 (SEQ ID NO.2), HCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 3), LCDR1 (SEQ ID NO. 4), LCDR2 (SEQ ID NO. 5) and LCDR3 (SEQ ID NO. 6) as claimed in claim 1 and a conjugate with a cytotoxic agent is obvious over US patent ‘266 in view of Tasi and Lee. Lee teaches various cytotoxic agents including DM1 (para [0044]) and auristatins conjugated to antibody through various linkers. Lee discloses antibody conjugated to auristatin MMAE with a linker composition
, which is the same linker composition as claimed in claim 18 conjugate with MMAE. Therefore, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage various cytotoxic drugs conjugated to the antibody of US patent ‘331 through various linker compositions including MMAE through a linker composition disclosed by Lee with a reasonable expectation of success. Various linker composition for conjugating the antibody of Tsai to various cytotoxic drugs would be within the purview of one of ordinary skilled in the art.
Response to argument
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome the objections in view of the amendments. However, Applicant’s arguments have been rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejections as described in the office action. However, some of the arguments are addressed below:
First, in regards to Applicant’s inquiry regarding the rejection referring to a disclosure of Tsai on page 9, it is clear from the body of the rejection, that Tsai was mistakenly referred in page 9 instead of Cai. As described in the heading of the rejection, the rejection is based on Cai et al in view of Lee et al (see pate 7).
In regards to Cai et al (CN106488932) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0106507), Tsai et al (US 9,527,922) in view of and Lee et al (US 2019/0106507), and Tsai et al (US 9,382,331) in view of and Lee et al (US 2019/0106507), Applicant’s argued that claim 1 has been amended with the limitations of claims 7 and 8, and all claims depend therefrom and since claim 8 was not rejected under this section, this rejection is prima facie overcome. In regards to Tsai et al (US 10,781,266) in view of Tsai et al (US 2015/0183884) and Lee et al (US 2019/0106507), Applicant argued that claim 1 has been amended with the limitations of claims 7 and 8, and all claims depend therefrom and since claim 7 was not rejected under this section, this rejection is prima facie overcome.
The above arguments have fully been considered but are not found persuasive because as described above in the modified rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, claim 1 now encompass both the claim 7 and claim 8 limitations in alternative embodiments, and as described in the rejections above, all the references are still applicable.
In regards to double patenting rejections, Applicant’s arguments are based on the same arguments that claim 1 has been amended with the limitations of claim 7 and 8 and thus the rejections are prima facia overcome. However, as described in the modified rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, the double patenting rejections have been maintained for the reasons described in the modified rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678