CTNF 17/998,578 CTNF 86563 DETAILED ACTION 1. This action is in response to Application No. 17/998,578 originally filed on 11/11/2022. The Request for Continued Examination and amendment presented on 05/18/2026 which claims 1, 12, 19 - 20 and 22 are currently amended, claims 2 - 9, 14 - 15 and 21 were previously canceled, claims 16 and 18 are currently canceled and claim 24 is currently added is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1, 10 - 13, 17, 19 - 20 and 22 - 24 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 3. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed May 18, 2026 has been entered. Response to Amendments 4. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 18 May 2026, wherein: claims 1, 10 - 13, 17, 19 - 20 and 22 - 24 are currently pending. Claims 1, 12, 19 - 20 and 22 have been amended. Claims 2 - 9, 14 - 16, 18 and 21 have been cancelled. Response to Arguments 5. Applicant’s arguments filed on May 18, 2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10 - 13, 17, 19 - 20 and 22 - 24 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 6. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 7 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 8. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 9. Claim s 1, 10 - 11, 17, 19 - 20 and 22 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii “US 2004/0130579” in view of Shimada “US 2019/0179511” . Re-claim 1, Ishii teaches an information processing apparatus, (fig. 1; 1) comprising: circuitry (par. [0042] As shown in FIG. 1, the information processing apparatus 1 includes an input unit 11, a main controller 12, and a display 13. The information processing apparatus 1) configured to: control a display to display a virtual space (fig. 8; 32) superimposed on a real space; (fig. 8) control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display a first plane and a second plane in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32) , (par. [0094]) wherein the first plane and the second plane correspond to a real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) in the real space (fig. 8; 34 floor) , (par. [0096] - [0098]) the first plane and the second plane are displayed at a first position and an orientation in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32) , (par. [0098]) the first position and the orientation correspond to feature information of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) , (par. [0099]) and the first plane is orthogonal to the second plane, (see fig. 8) Ishii does not explicitly teach reduce the real space to generate a reduced virtual space, wherein the real space is reduced based on three-dimensional information of the real space; and display the reduced virtual space superimposed on the real space. However, Shimada teaches reduce the real space (fig. 3; 101) to generate a reduced virtual space, wherein the real space is reduced based on three-dimensional information of the real space; (pars. [0062] The exemplary screen illustrated in FIG. 3 has a visual-field picture 101 (entire-celestial-sphere partial picture) displayed on the display unit 51 and an indicator 102 displayed on the upper left of the visual-field picture 101. A window 103 is displayed in the indicator 102. The picture displayed in the window 103 is displayed as the visual-field picture 101. [0063] The indicator 102 expresses the entire-celestial-sphere picture, and part in the entire-celestial-sphere picture is displayed as the visual-field picture 101. The indicator 102 is displayed in order to cause the user to recognize which part of the entire-celestial-sphere picture the part displayed as the visual-field picture 101 is.) and display the reduced virtual space superimposed on the real space. (par. [0064] In other words, the indicator 102 is a figure having a shape capable of covering all directions of an entire celestial sphere (capable of expressing all directions). The screen on which the figure is superimposed on the visual-field picture 101, is presented to the user. Furthermore, the window 103 displayed in the indicator 102 indicates which region in the indicator 102 the part of the entire-celestial-sphere picture provided to the user as the visual-field picture 101, is, in other words, which region of the entire-celestial-sphere picture the part is.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the invention of Ishii with the teaching of Shimada a user can find a desired location or move to the desired location easily, so that the convenience in viewing can further improve. (par. [0234]) Re-claim 10, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry (par. [0042] As shown in FIG. 1, the information processing apparatus 1 includes an input unit 11, a main controller 12, and a display 13. The information processing apparatus 1) is further configured to: set a coordinate space in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32) based on a second position of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) and a first posture of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) ; (par. [0099]) and control the display to display an image in the virtual space, (fig. 8; 32) wherein the image indicates the set coordinate space. (par. [0046] correspondence between those two coordinate systems is defined on the basis of particular information (for example, shape, position, angle, etc.) associated with the real object 14.) Re-claim 11, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display a region image, (par. [0094]) the region image indicates a region that corresponds to an arrangement of one of a virtual object or the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) on a virtual surface, (fig. 8; 34) the virtual surface (fig. 8; 34) is in the virtual space, (fig. 8; 32) the virtual surface (fig. 8; 34) corresponds to a real surface, (e. g. fig. 8; 14-1) and the real surface (fig. 8; 14-1) is in the real space. (fig. 8; 31) Re-claim 17, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display the first plane and the second plane in association with the first position of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) and a second posture of the real object. (fig. 8 and pars. [0098] - [0099]) Re-claim 19, is rejected as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same. Re-claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below. Ishii teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations, (par. [0146]) the operations comprising: Re-claim 22, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire the feature information, based on a user operation, wherein the user operation, and the user operation corresponds to an operation to point at the real object. (par. [0076]) Re-claim 23, Ishii teaches wherein the first plane and the second plane are superimposed on the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32) . (fig. 8 and par. [0098]) Re-claim 24, Ishii in view of Shimada teaches all the limitations of claim 11, Shimada teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: detect a pattern on the real surface based on an image of the real space; determine an orientation of the detected pattern; and set the orientation of the detected pattern as an orientation of the image region. (pars. [0140] - [0141] and [0192]) 07-21-aia AIA 10. Claim s 12 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii “US 2004/0130579” in view of Shimada “US 2019/0179511” and further in view of Ishihara “US 2018/0101223” . Re-claim 12, Ishii in view of Shimada teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but Ishii and Shimada do not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a notification based on the display of the first plane and the second plane, control a speaker to output a sound as the generated notification. However, Ishihara teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a notification based on the display of the first plane and the second plane; (par. [0063] The reference plane is a planar area in real space. For example, it is assumed that the real space is a room composed of a plurality of wall surfaces. In this case, the reference plane is one wall surface of the plurality of wall surfaces. and par. [0195] The first display control unit 14G includes a real space image 42 arranged in the virtual space,) and control a speaker to output a sound as the generated notification. (par. [0018] FIG. 1, the input unit 18 receives various operations from the user. The input unit 18 is, for example, a mouse, a microphone for voice recognition, …) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Ishihara to provide a head mounted display include a device which presents feedback by senses, such as a piezo actuator for generating vibrations. (par. [0086]) Re-claim 13, Ishii and Shimada in view of Ishihara teaches all the limitations of claim 12, Ishihara teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control a vibrator to give a stimulus to a tactile sense of a user as the notification. (pars. [0086] and [0092]) Contact Information 11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626 /TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/2/26B Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 2 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 3 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 4 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 5 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 6 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 7 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 8 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 9 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 17/998,578 Page 10 Art Unit: 2626