DETAILED ACTION
1. This FINAL action is in response to Application No. 17/998,578 originally filed on 11/11/2022. The amendment presented on 11/03/2025 which claims 1, 10 - 13, 16 - 20 and 22 - 23 are currently amended, claims 2 - 9, 14 - 15 and 21 were previously canceled and claim 24 is currently cancelled is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1, 10 - 13, 16 - 20 and 22 - 23 are pending.
Response to Amendments
3. This is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 03 November
2025, wherein: claims 1, 10 - 13, 16 - 20 and 22 - 23 are currently pending. Claims 1, 10 - 13, 16 - 20 and 22 - 23 have been amended. Claims 2 - 9, 14 - 15, 21 and 24 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments filed on November 03, 2025 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 10 - 13, 16 - 20 and 22 - 23 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
7. Claims 1, 10 - 11, 17 - 20, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii “US 2004/0130579”.
Re-claim 1, Ishii teaches an information processing apparatus, (fig. 1; 1) comprising:
circuitry (par. [0042] As shown in FIG. 1, the information processing apparatus 1 includes an input unit 11, a main controller 12, and a display 13. The information processing apparatus 1) configured to:
control a display to display a virtual space (fig. 8; 32) superimposed on a real space (fig. 8)
control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display a first plane and a second plane in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32), (par. [0094]) wherein
the first plane and the second plane correspond to a real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) in the real space (fig. 8; 34 floor), (par. [0096] - [0098])
the first plane and the second plane are displayed at a first position and an orientation in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32), (par. [0098])
the first position and the orientation correspond to feature information of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62), (par. [0099]) and
the first plane is orthogonal to the second plane. (see fig. 8)
Re-claim 10, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry (par. [0042] As shown in FIG. 1, the information processing apparatus 1 includes an input unit 11, a main controller 12, and a display 13. The information processing apparatus 1) is further configured to:
set a coordinate space in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32) based on a second position of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) and a first posture of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62); (par. [0099]) and
control the display to display an image in the virtual space, (fig. 8; 32) wherein the image indicates the set coordinate space. (par. [0046] correspondence between those two coordinate systems is defined on the basis of particular information (for example, shape, position, angle, etc.) associated with the real object 14.)
Re-claim 11, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display a region image, (par. [0094])
the region image indicates a region that corresponds to an arrangement of one of a virtual object or the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) on a virtual surface, (fig. 8; 34)
the virtual surface (fig. 8; 34) is in the virtual space, (fig. 8; 32)
the virtual surface (fig. 8; 34) corresponds to a real surface, (e. g. fig. 8; 14-1) and
the real surface (fig. 8; 14-1) is in the real space. (fig. 8; 31)
Re-claim 17, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to
control the display (fig. 8; 13) to display the first plane and the second plane in association with the first position of the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) and a second posture of the real object. (fig. 8 and pars. [0098] - [0099])
Re-claim 18, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the display to display the region image. (par. [0043] the operation performed by the user, and the main controller 12 displays a corresponding image on the display 13.)
Re-claim 19, is rejected as applied to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Re-claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein and only further limitations are addressed below.
Ishii teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer-executable instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations, (par. [0146]) the operations comprising:
Re-claim 22, Ishii teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
acquire the feature information, based on a user operation, wherein the user operation corresponds to an operation to point at the real object. (par. [0076])
Re-claim 23, Ishii teaches wherein the first plane and the second plane are superimposed on the real object (fig. 8; 61 & 62) in the virtual space (fig. 8; 32). (fig. 8 and par. [0098])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
10. Claims 12 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii “US 2004/0130579” in view of Ishihara “US 2018/0101223”.
Re-claim 12, Ishii teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to
generate a notification based on the display of the first plane and the second plane,
control a speaker to output a sound as the generated notification.
However, Ishihara teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to
generate a notification based on the display of the first plane and the second plane; (par. [0063] The reference plane is a planar area in real space. For example, it is assumed that the real space is a room composed of a plurality of wall surfaces. In this case, the reference plane is one wall surface of the plurality of wall surfaces. and par. [0195] The first display control unit 14G includes a real space image 42 arranged in the virtual space,) and
control a speaker to output a sound as the generated notification. (par. [0018] FIG. 1, the input unit 18 receives various operations from the user. The input unit 18 is, for example, a mouse, a microphone for voice recognition, …)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the invention of the combination with the teachings of Ishihara to provide a head mounted display include a device which presents feedback by senses, such as a piezo actuator for generating vibrations. (par. [0086])
Re-claim 13, Ishii in view of Ishihara teaches all the limitations of claim 12, Ishihara teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control a vibrator to give a stimulus to a tactile sense of a user as the notification. (pars. [0086] and [0092])
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii “US 2004/0130579” in view of Yuki “JP 2016139199”.
Re-claim 16, Ishii teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 the circuitry but Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein
the circuitry is further configured to;
reduce the real space to generate a reduced virtual space, wherein the real space is reduced based on three-dimensional information of the real space; and
display the reduced virtual space superimposed on the real space.
However, Yuki teaches wherein
the circuitry is further configured to;
reduce the real space to generate a reduced virtual space, and
display the reduced virtual space superimposed on the real space. (par. [0144])
Ishii in view of Yuki does not explicitly teach wherein the real space is reduced based on three-dimensional information of the real space;
However, it is a well-known feature for generating a reduces space obtained by reducing a three-dimensional space, and superimposing and displaying the same on the three-dimensional space.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 2/12/26B