DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group II, claims 44, 49-50 and 56, in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9, 13-14, 17, 24, 28, 31 and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 50 recites “wherein the one or more phosphorus-containing organic acids have molecular weights of greater than or about 125 g/mol and less than or about 600 g/mol”. The claimed molecular weight range is not clearly defined because the upper and lower limits are defined both by “greater than/less than” and “about”, which make the upper and lower limits of the claimed molecular weight range vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sebralla et al. US 2012/0070674(Sebralla).
Sebralla teaches a metal product, such as wheels made of an aluminum alloy, comprising a surface with a self-assembled monolayer(abstract[0020]), formed by applying an aqueous composition comprising organic phosphonic acid with hydroxyl and/or amino functional groups([0082], claim 27), such as 1,8-octanediphosphonic acid and 1-phosphonic acid-8-aminooctane, etc.[0083-0099, 0134-0143].
Regarding claim 44, the aluminum wheels of Sebralla reads on the claimed pretreated metal product. Examples of the functionalized organic phosphonic acids disclosed by Sebralla, such as 1,8-octanediphosphonic acid(MW 274.19g/mol) and 1-phosphonic acid-8-aminooctane(MW:209.22g/mol) have molecular weights that fall within the claimed less than 1000g/mol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sebralla.
The teachings of Sebralla are discussed in section 7 above.
Regarding claim 49, Sebralla further teaches at least one organic phosphonic acid can be used[0082-102], which encompasses the claimed two or more organic phosphonic acids. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 50, Examples of the functionalized organic phosphonic acids disclosed by Sebralla, such as 1,8-octanediphosphonic acid(MW 274.19g/mol) and 1-phosphonic acid-8-aminooctane(MW:209.22g/mol) have molecular weights that fall withinthe claimed greater than or about 125g/mol and less than or about 600g/mol.
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sebralla and further in view of Choi et al. US 2020/0248052 A1 (Choi) or BR102017005049 (BR049).
The teachings of Sebralla are discussed in sections 7 and 9 above.
Regarding claim 56, Sebralla further teaches that the aluminum alloy is used for the production of wheels in automotive construction[0111].
However, Sebralla does not explicitly teach the claimed second product positioned adjacent to the aluminum alloy product and the claimed joining material providing a bond between the aluminum alloy product and the second product.
Choi teaches a method of manufacturing a nonpneumatic tire, a tread made of a polyurethane material and an aluminum alloy wheel is chemically bonded by using an adhesive[0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the aluminum alloy wheel of Sebralla into the construction of a nonpneumatic tire of Choi with expected success. The polyurethane tread as taught by Sebralla in view of Choi reads on the claimed second product and the adhesive as taught by Sebralla in view of Choi reads on the claimed joining material.
Alternatively, BR049 teaches a device for adapting beadlock kit on aluminum alloy wheels, wherein the beadlock kit (comprising two rings) is fixed to the aluminum alloy wheels by screws and a sealing rubber(abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted the beadlock kit as taught by BR049 to the Al alloy wheel of Sebralla in order to prevent the Al alloy wheel from detaching from the rim in off-road use as taught by BR049(abstract0. In this case, the beadlock kit as taught by Sebralla in view of BR049 reads on the claimed second product. The screws and/or the sealing rubber as taught by Sebralla in view of BR049 read on the claimed joining material.
Conclusion
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733