DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 19-30 are pending. The finality of the previous OA filed on 03/11/2026 is withdrawn in view of applicants arguments.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the specification filed on 12/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (A highly ordered nanostructured carbon–sulphur cathode for lithium–sulphur batteries, NATURE MATERIALS, VOL 8, PGS 500-506, JUNE 2009), hereinafter “Ji”, in view of Yanagi et al. (Effects of Polysulfide Solubility and Li Ion Transport on Performance of Li–S Batteries Using Sparingly Solvating Electrolytes, Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 2020 167 070531), hereinafter “Yanagi” as evidenced by Yin et al. (US-20160233492-A1), hereinafter “Yin”. Ji et al. and Yanagi et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely Li batteries and electrolytes.
In regard to Claim 19 and 24-25 Ji et al. discloses an electrochemical cell comprising an anode (Ji, Page 502, Col 2), a cathode comprising greater than 65 wt.% sulfur, wherein the cathode comprises a carbon-sulfur composite material; and wherein the composite material comprises greater than 65 weight % sulfur based on the total weight of the composite material (Ji, 70% Sulfur/30% Carbon, Page 502). Ji et al. also discloses wherein the carbon sulfur composite material is formed from an electroconductive carbon material (CMK-3) having an average pore volume of 0.28-2.1 cm3 g-1 (Ji, Page 502, Col 2), which overlaps the claimed range and further comprises a particle diameter of 1 µm (Ji, Page 502, Col 1, Fig 1b), which falls within the claimed range.
Ji et al. also discloses wherein the average pore diameter of CMK-3 is 3.3 nm (Ji, Table 1). While the BJH pore diameter of CMK-3 is recorded as 3.3nm in Ji and using BJH to measure pore diameter, by definition requires at least 45% of the pores in the carbon in the electroconductive carbon material having a diameter falling within the measured range, the pore diameter is not particularly limited and in fact is a matter of selection of materials by the skilled artisan as evidenced by Yin et al., which discloses a carbon sulfur composite comprising a beneficial CMK-3 carbon with a pore diameter which can be selected over a preferred range between 0.4 and 10 nm with a corresponding pore volume that can be selected over a preferred range of 0.1-3.0 cm.sup.3/g (Yin, ([0027, 0029]), both of which overlaps the claimed range.. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a CMK-3 with a pore diameter of 2.5nm or less, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious and as doing so would provide the skilled artisan with the reasonable expectation of success without undue experimentation. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
While Ji discloses an electrolyte comprised of an ether solvent with an alkali metal salt (Ji, Page 505) and acknowledges novel advances in material design such as new electrolytes (Ji, Pg 500, Col 2), it is silent as to the electrolyte having a solubility for sulfur-containing species of less than 15 mM.
Yanagi et al. discloses an emerging class of electrolytes used in Li–S batteries with beneficial electrolytes comprising [Li(G4)0.8][TFSA]−4.3HFE and [Li(SL)2][TFSA]−4.0HFE wherein the solubility for sulfur-containing species is low (1 mM), which is less than the claimed 15 mM. These electrolytes are taught as being capable of suppressing polysulfide dissolution and shuttling, resulting in high Coulombic efficiency (Yanagi, Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an electrolyte such as those taught in Yanagi et al. to the electrochemical cell disclosed in Ji et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Yanagi, and as doing so would amount to nothing more than the use of known material to improve similar devices in the same way.
In regard to Claim 20, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. Ji et al. also discloses a specific example with an electrolyte comprising 1.2M LiPF6 solution in ethyl methyl sulphone (Ji, Page 505, Col 2), which is by definition a liquid electrolyte.
In regard to Claim 21, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. Ji et al. also discloses a specific example with an anode comprising lithium metal (Ji, Page 505, Col 2), which is by definition an alkali metal.
In regard to Claims 22-23, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 20. While Ji et al. discloses an electrolyte with a (EMS) solvent and an alkali metal salt (LIPF6), it fails to explicitly disclose a solvent listed in the claimed group of solvents, even though the original specification supports EMS (Original Specification, Paragraph [0046]). Yanagi et al. teaches beneficial electrolytes comprising [Li(G4)0.8][TFSA]−4.3HFE and [Li(SL)2][TFSA]−4.0HFE (Yanagi, Abstract), which comprise Glyme (linear ether) and HFE (halogenated ether) which falls within the claimed group. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an electrolyte such as those taught in Yanagi et al. to the electrochemical cell disclosed in Ji et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Yanagi, and as doing so would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
In regard to Claim 26, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. Ji et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the cathode further comprises electronically conductive carbon additives (Super-S carbon), and optionally further comprises a binder (PVDF) (Ji, Pg 505, Col 2).
In regard to Claim 27, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. Ji et al. also discloses a specific example wherein the sulfur material comprises elemental sulfur (Ji, Pg 503, Col 2).
In regard to Claim 28, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. While Ji et al. discloses an electrolyte with a (EMS) solvent and an alkali metal salt (LIPF6), and acknowledges novel advances in material design such as new electrolytes (Ji, Pg 500, Col 2), it is silent as to the electrolyte having a density of less than 1.5 g cm3.
Yanagi et al. teaches beneficial electrolytes comprising [Li(G4)1][TFSA]−4.0HFE and [Li(G4)1.5][TFSA]−3.4HFE, which have densities of 1.489 and 1.435 respectively (Yanagi, Table 1) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide an electrolyte such as those taught in Yanagi et al. to the electrochemical cell disclosed in Ji et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Yanagi, and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known material to a known device, ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 30, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. Ji et al. also discloses a lithium sulfur cell (Ji, Title, Abstract).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (A highly ordered nanostructured carbon–sulphur cathode for lithium–sulphur batteries, NATURE MATERIALS, VOL 8, PGS 500-506, JUNE 2009), hereinafter “Ji”, in view of Yanagi et al. (Effects of Polysulfide Solubility and Li Ion Transport on Performance of Li–S Batteries Using Sparingly Solvating Electrolytes, Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 2020 167 070531), hereinafter “Yanagi” as evidenced by Yin et al. (US-20160233492-A1), hereinafter “Yin”, as applied to claim 19 above and further in view of Visco et al. (US 20040126653 A1), hereinafter “Visco”. Ji, Yanagi, and Visco et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely Li batteries and electrolytes.
In regard to Claim 29, Ji et al. in view of Yanagi et al. disclose the electrochemical cell of claim 19. While Ji et al. discloses a lithium metal anode and mentions novel advances in material design such as protective films for the lithium anode (Ji, Pg, 500, Col 2), it is silent as to the composition of the protective layer.
Ji directly cites Visco et al. (Ji, Pg, 506, #19) as an example of the beneficial anode protective layer comprising an ionically conducting layer having a beneficial electronic conductivity of 10-7 S cm to 10 -3 S cm (Visco, Paragraph [0012]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide a protective layer as taught in Visco et al. to the anode disclosed in Ji et al. as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Visco and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection no longer relies on the previous evidentiary reference applied in the prior rejection of record and a newly cited reference (Yin et al.) is introduced wherein Ji in view of Yanagi as evidenced by Yin et al. teaches all of the features of amended claim 1 including the electrolyte for a Li-S battery with the claimed properties.
In regard to the argument that the average pore diameter of the carbon material in Fuertes does not correspond to a pore volume within the claimed range, Ji et al. discloses an embodiment wherein CMK-3 is provided in the composite and as disclosed in the 35 U.S.C rejection of Claim 19 above, and as evidenced by Yin et al. the pore diameter with corresponding pore volume of CMK-3 can be easily selected by the skilled artisan over preferred ranges, both of which are result effective variables to be optimized by the skilled artisan with the reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, considering Ji already discloses the carbon in the preferred pore volume, the skilled artisan of Ji would reasonably look to Yin to select CMK-3 carbons with a pore diameter in the preferred range as doing so would be obvious to try and would amount to nothing more than a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725