DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 01/29/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and the corresponding rejections are withdrawn. Claims 16, 18, 22, 25, 28, 30, 31, and 35 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 22, 30, 31, and 35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in each of claims 22 and 30, “one of the triggered cell is selected” should read “one of the triggered cells is selected” (emphasis added).
in each of claims 22 and 30, “in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the condition configuration execution” should read “in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the conditional configuration execution” (emphasis added).
Applicant is advised that should claim 31 be found allowable, claim 35 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 18, 22, 25, 28, 30-31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0099926), hereinafter “Chen”, in view of Guo et al. (US 2021/0176682), hereinafter “Guo”, and further in view of Deenoo et al. (US 2022/0394583), hereinafter “Deenoo”, and further in view of Purkayastha et al. (US 2021/0352543), hereinafter “Purkayastha”.
Regarding claims 16, 25, Chen teaches:
A method performed by a terminal supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (see Chen, Fig. 8, par. [0181], lines 1-2: FIG. 8 illustrates a method 800 for a CPC procedure performed by a UE) or a terminal supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 900, par. [0191], lines 3-4: The node 900 may be a UE or a BS that performs various functions disclosed with reference to FIGS. 1 through 8), the method or the terminal comprising:
a transceiver (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 920, par. [0190], line 4: a node 900 may include a transceiver 920), and
a controller coupled with the transceiver (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 920, par. [0190], line 4: a node 900 may include a transceiver 920, a processor 928, and see Chen, par. [0198], lines 1-3: The processor 928 (e.g., having processing circuitry) may include an intelligent hardware device, e.g., a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a microcontroller) and configured (see Chen, Fig. 9, par. [0197], lines 6-10: the memory 934 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 932 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to cause the processor 928 to perform various functions disclosed herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 1 through 8) to:
receive, from a first base station associated with a master node (MN) via a signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB 1), a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information on a conditional reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 7, par. [0167]: In action 716, the MN 704 may send to the UE 702 an MN RRC reconfiguration message that includes the SN RRC reconfiguration message with the new SCG radio resource configuration and/or the conditional reconfiguration command(s). The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include one or more conditional reconfiguration command(s) for PSCell change. Each conditional reconfiguration command may include configuration(s) of the candidate cell(s) and execution condition(s). The MN RRC reconfiguration message in action 716 may be transmitted via SRB1 to the UE 702);
evaluating a condition of at least one target candidate special cell (SpCell), based on the information on the conditional reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 8, item 804, par. [0185], lines 1-2: In action 804, the UE may evaluate the execution condition(s), and see Chen, par. [0181], lines 6-12: The conditional reconfiguration may include a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition. In one implementation, the conditional reconfiguration may include multiple configurations of multiple target PSCells and multiple execution conditions, each of which may be associated with one of the configurations of the target PSCells, and see Chen, par. [0047], lines 1-3: For DC operation the term Special Cell (SpCell) refers to the PCell of the MCG or the PSCell of the SCG);
initiating a conditional configuration execution to a selected cell (see Chen, Fig. 7, par. [0169]: In action 722, the UE 702 may evaluate the execution conditions for the candidate cell(s) (e.g., candidate PSCell(s)). The UE 702 may apply the configuration of a target cell (e.g., a target PSCell) and synchronize to the target cell (e.g., the target PSCell) after determining that the execution condition corresponding to the target cell (e.g., the target PSCell) is satisfied),
setting at least one parameter to be included in an RRC reconfiguration complete message, wherein the at least one parameter is associated with a confirmation of a completion of an RRC reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 3, par. [0135]: the UE 302 may synchronize to the target cell and may complete the conditional SN change procedure by sending an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the target SN 308. In some implementations, the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message may include specific information (e.g., the UE ID, target cell ID, information related to the target SN 308, the executed conditional reconfiguration command (ID), or indication/information of condition SN change, but not limited thereto) to indicate to the target SN 308 which related conditional reconfiguration command is executed, and see Chen, par. [0178]: the UE may complete the CPC/CPA procedure by sending to the MN an RRC signaling (e.g., ULInformationTransferMRDC message) that includes an embedded RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the new target PSCell, and see Chen, par. [0187]: The response message may indicate to the MN the application/execution of the conditional reconfiguration; in this case, the UE including specific information used for indicating execution of a conditional reconfiguration as part of an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message corresponds to setting a parameter to be included in an RRC reconfiguration complete message. The specific information may be related to the conditional configuration which is executed (i.e. is associated with a confirmation of a completion of an RRC reconfiguration)); and
transmitting, to a second base station associated with a secondary node (SN), the RRC reconfiguration complete message including the at least one parameter (see Chen, Fig. 3, par. [0135]: the UE 302 may synchronize to the target cell and may complete the conditional SN change procedure by sending an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the target SN 308. In some implementations, the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message may include specific information (e.g., the UE ID, target cell ID, information related to the target SN 308, the executed conditional reconfiguration command (ID), or indication/information of condition SN change, but not limited thereto) to indicate to the target SN 308 which related conditional reconfiguration command is executed, and see Chen, Fig. 8, par. [0187]: In action 808, the UE may transmit, to the MN, a response message after determining that the conditional reconfiguration is applied/executed).
However, Chen does not teach:
wherein an applicable cell associated with the at least one target candidate SpCell is identified as a triggered cell in case that the applicable cell fulfills an execution condition;
wherein in case that more than one triggered cell exists, one of the triggered cells is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration, and in case that one triggered cell exists, the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for the execution of the conditional reconfiguration;
applying a second RRC reconfiguration message of a selected cell; and
in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the conditional configuration execution, transmitting, to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3, the RRC reconfiguration complete message.
Guo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein an applicable cell associated with the at least one target candidate SpCell is identified as a triggered cell in case that the applicable cell fulfills an execution condition (see Guo, pars. [0050-0054]: The UE shall: 1> for each CHO-ConfigId within the VarCHO-Config: 2> consider the cell which has a physical cell identity matching the value indicated in the ServingCellConfigCommon in the received cho-RRCReconfig to be applicable cell; 2> if two events are associated with the CHO-ConfigId, and the entry conditions applicable for all events associated with the CHO-ConfigId, e.g. the events corresponding with the cho-eventIds of the corresponding cho-TriggerConfig within VarCHO-Config, are fulfilled for the applicable cells for all measurements after layer 3 filtering taken during the corresponding timeToTrigger defined for this event within the VarCHO-Config. and if second TTT expires while the first triggered event (TTT expires first) still satisfy entry condition. 3> consider the applicable cell as a triggered cell, and see par. [0009]: the network configures the UE with one or more candidate target SpCells in the conditional reconfiguration. The UE evaluates the condition of each configured candidate target SpCell);
wherein in case that one triggered cell exists, the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for the execution of the conditional reconfiguration (see Guo, Fig. 1, par. [0009]: The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfils associated execution condition, and see par. [0010]: UE may apply the stored CHO configuration to the target candidate cell (i.e., now the triggered cell) when both of the two CHO triggering events remain fulfilled upon expiration of the both timers (i.e., the execution condition is satisfied/met when both of the CHO triggering events are simultaneous fulfilled); in this case, conditional configuration is applied to one triggered cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified method or terminal of Chen with the triggered cell identification of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving robustness (see Guo, pars. [0022-0023]).
However, the combination of Chen in view of Guo does not teach:
applying a second RRC reconfiguration message of a selected cell;
wherein in case that more than one triggered cells exists, one of the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration,
in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the conditional configuration execution, transmitting, to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3, the RRC reconfiguration complete message.
Deenoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
applying a second RRC reconfiguration message of a selected cell (see Deenoo, par. [0075]: A WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional reconfigurations where one or more conditional reconfigurations associated with a secondary cell group may be linked to a conditional reconfiguration of a master cell group. The WTRU may apply a conditional reconfiguration associated with the master cell group if a first trigger condition is satisfied. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration associated with the secondary cell group that is linked to a currently activated master cell group if a second trigger condition is satisfied, and see par. [0074]: The cell group configuration or reconfiguration may be signaled as a part of an RRC reconfiguration message; in this case, multiple RRC reconfigurations may be applied);
wherein in case that more than one triggered cells exists, one of the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration (see Deenoo, par. [0103]: If trigger conditions for an MCG (re)configuration and/or an SCG (re)configuration are satisfied (e.g., simultaneously), a WTRU may be configured to prioritize an MCG reconfiguration. After the MCG reconfiguration, if the stored SCG is linked to the serving MCG, the WTRU may apply the SCG reconfiguration; if the stored SCG is not linked to the serving MCG, the WTRU may release the SCG configuration. If trigger conditions for MCG and SCG (re)configurations are satisfied (e.g., simultaneously), the WTRU may be configured with rules to determine which (re)configuration(s) to prioritize),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or terminal of the combination of Chen in view of Guo with the applying a second RRC reconfiguration message and selection of triggered cells of Deenoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting mobility robustness (see Deenoo, par. [0071]).
However, the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, does not teach:
in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the conditional configuration execution, transmitting, to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3, the RRC reconfiguration complete message.
Purkayastha, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB 3) is available after initiating the conditional configuration execution, transmitting, to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3, the RRC reconfiguration complete message (see Purkayastha, Fig. 8, par. [0160]: As shown by reference 830, the UE may transmit (e.g., over SRB3 or split SRB1) a reconfiguration complete message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration complete message) indicating that the UE has determined that the condition for the conditional PSCell change has been satisfied for the candidate target PSCell. In some aspects, the message includes information that identifies the candidate target PSCell for which the UE has determined the condition to be satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission of the RRC reconfiguration complete message of the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, with the transmission via the SRB3 of Purkayastha with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of ensuring reliable performance of a conditional cell change (see Purkayastha, par. [0081]).
Regarding claims 18, 28, the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Purkayastha, teaches the method or terminal.
Chen does not teach, but Guo teaches:
wherein the information on the conditional reconfiguration includes a first list of a configuration of candidate SpCells to be added or modified, and a second list of a configuration of candidate SpCells to be removed (see Guo, Fig. 2, par. [0015]: the CHO configuration is to add, modify and/or release a configuration of the target candidate cell for a conditional handover, and Guo, par. [0034], Table “CHO-Config field descriptions”, and see Guo, par. [0009]: the network configures the UE with one or more candidate target SpCells in the conditional reconfiguration. The UE evaluates the condition of each configured candidate target SpCell. The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfils associated execution condition. The network provides the configuration parameters for the target SpCell in the Conditional Reconfiguration information element (IE); in this case, the CHO configuration may include a field for candidate cells to be added or modified and a field for candidate cells to be removed), and
wherein the first list includes information on the execution condition, and the second RRC reconfiguration message to be applied when the execution condition is fulfilled (see Guo, par. [0038]: The IE CHO-ConfigToAddModList concerns a list of CHO configurations to add or modify, with for each entry the cho-ConfigId and the associated cho-CandidateCellConfig, and Table “CHO-ConfigToAddModList information element”, and see Guo, pars. [0049-0052]: The UE checks whether the first event is still fulfilled (remain in the entry condition) when the second event is fulfilled (TTT expires), e.g. the first event TTT expires and second event TTT expires while first event still satisfy entry condition, then we call it execution condition met, e.g. consider the applicable cell as a triggered cell. The changes could be, for example:
The UE shall:
1> for each CHO-ConfigId within the VarCHO-Config:
2> consider the cell which has a physical cell identity matching the value indicated in the ServingCellConfigCommon in the received cho-RRCReconfig to be applicable cell; in this case, the CHO-ConfigToAddModList (i.e. first list) contains execution condition information and RRC information which is used when the execution condition is met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conditional reconfiguration information of Chen with the lists of cells of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving robustness (see Guo, pars. [0022-0023]).
Regarding claims 22, 30, Chen teaches:
A method performed by a first base station associated with a master node (MN) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (see Chen, Fig. 2, par. [0120], lines 1-2: FIG. 2 2 illustrates an MN-initiated inter-SN CPC procedure 200, and see Chen, par. [0105], lines 1-3: a UE may maintain connection with a source base station (e.g., MN and/or SN, if already in MR-DC mode); in this case, a master node (MN) corresponds to a base station) or a first base station associated with a master node (MN) supporting a dual connectivity (DC) in a wireless communication system (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 900, par. [0191], lines 3-4: The node 900 may be a UE or a BS that performs various functions disclosed with reference to FIGS. 1 through 8, and see par. [0051]: Master Node (MN): in MR-DC, MN is the radio access node that provides the control plane connection to the core network. It may be a Master eNB (in EN-DC), a Master ng-eNB (in NGEN-DC) or a Master gNB (in NR-DC and NE-DC)), the method or the first base station comprising:
a transceiver (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 920, par. [0190], line 4: a node 900 may include a transceiver 920), and
a controller coupled with the transceiver (see Chen, Fig. 9, item 920, par. [0190], line 4: a node 900 may include a transceiver 920, a processor 928, and see Chen, par. [0198], lines 1-3: The processor 928 (e.g., having processing circuitry) may include an intelligent hardware device, e.g., a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a microcontroller) and configured (see Chen, Fig. 9, par. [0197], lines 6-10: the memory 934 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 932 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to cause the processor 928 to perform various functions disclosed herein, for example, with reference to FIGS. 1 through 8) to:
transmitting, to a terminal via a signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB 1), a first radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message including information on a conditional reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 7, par. [0167]: In action 716, the MN 704 may send to the UE 702 an MN RRC reconfiguration message that includes the SN RRC reconfiguration message with the new SCG radio resource configuration and/or the conditional reconfiguration command(s). The MN RRC Reconfiguration message may include one or more conditional reconfiguration command(s) for PSCell change. Each conditional reconfiguration command may include configuration(s) of the candidate cell(s) and execution condition(s). The MN RRC reconfiguration message in action 716 may be transmitted via SRB1 to the UE 702);
wherein a condition of at least one target candidate special cell (SpCell) is evaluated based on the information on the conditional reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 8, item 804, par. [0185], lines 1-2: In action 804, the UE may evaluate the execution condition(s), and see Chen, par. [0181], lines 6-12: The conditional reconfiguration may include a configuration of the target PSCell and an execution condition. In one implementation, the conditional reconfiguration may include multiple configurations of multiple target PSCells and multiple execution conditions, each of which may be associated with one of the configurations of the target PSCells, and see Chen, par. [0047], lines 1-3: For DC operation the term Special Cell (SpCell) refers to the PCell of the MCG or the PSCell of the SCG; in this case, a target SpCell is based on execution conditions (i.e. information) related to conditional reconfiguration),
wherein a conditional configuration execution to a selected cell is initiated (see Chen, Fig. 7, par. [0169]: In action 722, the UE 702 may evaluate the execution conditions for the candidate cell(s) (e.g., candidate PSCell(s)). The UE 702 may apply the configuration of a target cell (e.g., a target PSCell) and synchronize to the target cell (e.g., the target PSCell) after determining that the execution condition corresponding to the target cell (e.g., the target PSCell) is satisfied),
wherein at least one parameter is based on an application of the conditional reconfiguration (see Chen, Fig. 3, par. [0135]: the UE 302 may synchronize to the target cell and may complete the conditional SN change procedure by sending an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the target SN 308. In some implementations, the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message may include specific information (e.g., the UE ID, target cell ID, information related to the target SN 308, the executed conditional reconfiguration command (ID), or indication/information of condition SN change, but not limited thereto) to indicate to the target SN 308 which related conditional reconfiguration command is executed, and see Chen, par. [0178]: the UE may complete the CPC/CPA procedure by sending to the MN an RRC signaling (e.g., ULInformationTransferMRDC message) that includes an embedded RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the new target PSCell, and see Chen, par. [0187]: The response message may indicate to the MN the application/execution of the conditional reconfiguration; in this case, the specific information may be related to which conditional reconfiguration is executed (corresponding to based on an application of the conditional reconfiguration)), and
a RRC reconfiguration complete message including the at least one parameter associated with a confirmation of a completion of an RRC reconfiguration is transmitted from the terminal to a second based station associated with a secondary node (SN) (see Chen, Fig. 3, par. [0135]: the UE 302 may synchronize to the target cell and may complete the conditional SN change procedure by sending an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the target SN 308. In some implementations, the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message may include specific information (e.g., the UE ID, target cell ID, information related to the target SN 308, the executed conditional reconfiguration command (ID), or indication/information of condition SN change, but not limited thereto) to indicate to the target SN 308 which related conditional reconfiguration command is executed, and see Chen, Fig. 8, par. [0187]: In action 808, the UE may transmit, to the MN, a response message after determining that the conditional reconfiguration is applied/executed)
However, Chen does not teach:
wherein an applicable cell associated with the at least one target candidate SpCell is identified as a triggered cell in case that the applicable cell fulfils an execution condition,
wherein in case that more than one triggered cells exists, one of the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration,
wherein in case that one triggered cell exists, the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for the execution of the conditional reconfiguration,
wherein a second RRC reconfiguration message of the selected cell is applied, and
wherein in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB) 3 is available after initiating the condition configuration execution, a RRC reconfiguration complete message is transmitted from the terminal to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3.
Guo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein an applicable cell associated with the at least one target candidate SpCell is identified as a triggered cell in case that the applicable cell fulfills an execution condition (see Guo, pars. [0050-0054]: The UE shall: 1> for each CHO-ConfigId within the VarCHO-Config: 2> consider the cell which has a physical cell identity matching the value indicated in the ServingCellConfigCommon in the received cho-RRCReconfig to be applicable cell; 2> if two events are associated with the CHO-ConfigId, and the entry conditions applicable for all events associated with the CHO-ConfigId, e.g. the events corresponding with the cho-eventIds of the corresponding cho-TriggerConfig within VarCHO-Config, are fulfilled for the applicable cells for all measurements after layer 3 filtering taken during the corresponding timeToTrigger defined for this event within the VarCHO-Config. and if second TTT expires while the first triggered event (TTT expires first) still satisfy entry condition. 3> consider the applicable cell as a triggered cell, and see par. [0009]: the network configures the UE with one or more candidate target SpCells in the conditional reconfiguration. The UE evaluates the condition of each configured candidate target SpCell);
wherein in case that one triggered cell exists, the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for the execution of the conditional reconfiguration (see Guo, Fig. 1, par. [0009]: The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfils associated execution condition, and see par. [0010]: UE may apply the stored CHO configuration to the target candidate cell (i.e., now the triggered cell) when both of the two CHO triggering events remain fulfilled upon expiration of the both timers (i.e., the execution condition is satisfied/met when both of the CHO triggering events are simultaneous fulfilled) in this case, conditional configuration is applied to one triggered cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified method or base station of Chen with the triggered cell identification of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving robustness (see Guo, pars. [0022-0023]).
However, the combination of Chen in view of Guo does not teach:
wherein in case that more than one triggered cells exists, one of the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration,
wherein a second RRC reconfiguration message of the selected cell is applied, and
wherein in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB) 3 is available after initiating the condition configuration execution, a RRC reconfiguration complete message is transmitted from the terminal to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3.
Deenoo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein in case that more than one triggered cells exists, one of the triggered cell is selected as the selected cell for an execution of the conditional reconfiguration (see Deenoo, par. [0103]: If trigger conditions for an MCG (re)configuration and/or an SCG (re)configuration are satisfied (e.g., simultaneously), a WTRU may be configured to prioritize an MCG reconfiguration. After the MCG reconfiguration, if the stored SCG is linked to the serving MCG, the WTRU may apply the SCG reconfiguration; if the stored SCG is not linked to the serving MCG, the WTRU may release the SCG configuration. If trigger conditions for MCG and SCG (re)configurations are satisfied (e.g., simultaneously), the WTRU may be configured with rules to determine which (re)configuration(s) to prioritize),
wherein a second RRC reconfiguration message of the selected cell is applied (see Deenoo, par. [0075]: A WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional reconfigurations where one or more conditional reconfigurations associated with a secondary cell group may be linked to a conditional reconfiguration of a master cell group. The WTRU may apply a conditional reconfiguration associated with the master cell group if a first trigger condition is satisfied. The WTRU may apply the conditional reconfiguration associated with the secondary cell group that is linked to a currently activated master cell group if a second trigger condition is satisfied, and see par. [0074]: The cell group configuration or reconfiguration may be signaled as a part of an RRC reconfiguration message; in this case, multiple RRC reconfigurations may be applied)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or base station of the combination of Chen in view of Guo with the applying a second RRC reconfiguration message and selection of triggered cells of Deenoo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of supporting mobility robustness (see Deenoo, par. [0071]).
However, the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, does not teach:
wherein in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB) 3 is available after initiating the condition configuration execution, a RRC reconfiguration complete message is transmitted from the terminal to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3.
Purkayastha, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein in case that a signaling radio bearer 3 (SRB) 3 is available after initiating the condition configuration execution, a RRC reconfiguration complete message is transmitted from the terminal to a second base station associated with a SN via the SRB 3 (see Purkayastha, Fig. 8, par. [0160]: As shown by reference 830, the UE may transmit (e.g., over SRB3 or split SRB1) a reconfiguration complete message (e.g., an RRC reconfiguration complete message) indicating that the UE has determined that the condition for the conditional PSCell change has been satisfied for the candidate target PSCell. In some aspects, the message includes information that identifies the candidate target PSCell for which the UE has determined the condition to be satisfied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission of the RRC reconfiguration complete message of the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, with the transmission via the SRB3 of Purkayastha with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of ensuring reliable performance of a conditional cell change (see Purkayastha, par. [0081]).
Regarding claims 31, 35, the combination of Chen in view of Guo, and further in view of Deenoo, and further in view of Purkayastha, teaches the first base station.
Chen does not teach, but Guo teaches:
wherein the information on the conditional reconfiguration includes a first list of a configuration of candidate SpCells to be added or modified, and a second list of a configuration of candidate SpCells to be removed (see Guo, Fig. 2, par. [0015]: the CHO configuration is to add, modify and/or release a configuration of the target candidate cell for a conditional handover, and Guo, par. [0034], Table “CHO-Config field descriptions”, and see Guo, par. [0009]: the network configures the UE with one or more candidate target SpCells in the conditional reconfiguration. The UE evaluates the condition of each configured candidate target SpCell. The UE applies the conditional reconfiguration associated with one of the target SpCells which fulfils associated execution condition. The network provides the configuration parameters for the target SpCell in the Conditional Reconfiguration information element (IE); in this case, the CHO configuration may include a field for candidate cells to be added or modified and a field for candidate cells to be removed), and
wherein the first list includes information on an execution condition, and the second RRC reconfiguration message to be applied when the execution condition is fulfilled (see Guo, par. [0038]: The IE CHO-ConfigToAddModList concerns a list of CHO configurations to add or modify, with for each entry the cho-ConfigId and the associated cho-CandidateCellConfig, and Table “CHO-ConfigToAddModList information element”, and see Guo, pars. [0049-0052]: The UE checks whether the first event is still fulfilled (remain in the entry condition) when the second event is fulfilled (TTT expires), e.g. the first event TTT expires and second event TTT expires while first event still satisfy entry condition, then we call it execution condition met, e.g. consider the applicable cell as a triggered cell. The changes could be, for example:
The UE shall:
1> for each CHO-ConfigId within the VarCHO-Config:
2> consider the cell which has a physical cell identity matching the value indicated in the ServingCellConfigCommon in the received cho-RRCReconfig to be applicable cell; in this case, the CHO-ConfigToAddModList (i.e. first list) contains execution condition information and RRC information which is used when the execution condition is met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conditional reconfiguration information of Chen with the lists of cells of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving robustness (see Guo, pars. [0022-0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16, 22, 25, and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Palat et al. (US 2019/0045568) teaches a system for signaling radio bearer type 3 (SRB3) and secondary cell group (SCG) failure handling.
Shih et al. (US 2019/0037625) teaches a method for secondary node addition using RRC reconfiguration messages.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419