DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/9/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments of independent claims 1 and 8 overcome the corresponding 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Ericsson (R2-2003880) and Zhao (US 2023/0354459 A1) are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments clarifying functionality / condition(s) related to “sidelink reset configuration information”.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Lee465 (US 2023/0085465 A1) on page 11 includes:
A) “Lee465 never discloses the "sidelink reset configuration information" a [sic] recited in Claim 1. Lee465 merely discloses that a MAC reset is triggered by a PC5-RRC procedure and that a UE performs a partial MAC reset for a PC5-RRC connection”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding A) Applicant appears to ascribe a particular meaning / definition / information to “sidelink reset configuration information”, however, claim language does not limit “sidelink reset configuration information” to any particular meaning / definition / information. The examiner notes MPEP 2145 Consideration of Applicant’s Rebuttal Arguments and Evidence, I. ARGUMENT DOES NOT REPLACE EVIDENCE WHERE EVIDENCE IS NECESSARY, Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness."). Insofar as applicant is arguing Lee465’s “PC5-RRC message” is devoid of any information, Lee465 discloses PC5-RRC messages exchange sidelink configuration including SLRB configuration in para. 121 and thus, includes information, and cited Fig. 13 is for MAC reset operation for sidelink data transmission (para. 395-396) and thus, Lee465 discloses “sidelink reset configuration information”.
B) “Lee465 does not disclose a linkage between "sidelink reset configuration information" and "sidelink MAC reset" as recited in Claim 1. Therefore, [Zhao, Ericsson, and] Lee465 do not teach or suggest, in alone or combination, "based on the sidelink RRC reconfiguration message comprising the sidelink reset configuration information, releasing a sidelink data radio bearer (DRB) for a PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal and resetting a sidelink medium access control (MAC) entity for the PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal" as recited in Claim 1”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding B) Cited Fig. 13 is for MAC reset operation for sidelink data transmission (para. 395-396) and shows flow/steps of processes / procedures for MAC reset operation for sidelink data transmission. Cited MAC reset (S1334) occurs after the PC5-RRC message (steps S1330-S1332) and thus, discloses a “linkage”, further, cited para. 434 recites “In step S1332, the RX UE may … receive the PC5-RRC release message. Thus, in step S1334, … UE performs … MAC reset for the PC5-RRC connection” [emphasis added] where “Thus” clearly discloses a “linkage” between "sidelink reset configuration information" and "sidelink MAC reset" as recited in Claim 1.
In view of the above, applicant’s arguments are non-persuasive.
Arguments for remaining claims rely on the above arguments and thus, are correspondingly non-persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2023/0085465 A1) hereinafter Lee465 in view of Tseng et al. (US 2021/0329510 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 63/008,566, filed 4/10/2020).
Regarding claim 1, Lee465 teaches a method of a first terminal for a sidelink communication in a wireless communication system (RX UE [first terminal] communicating over sidelink with TX UE; para. 397-398 and Fig. 13 step S1300), the method comprising: receiving, from a second terminal, a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (RX UE receiving PC5-RRC Release from TX UE [second terminal]; para. 433 and Fig. 13 step S1330, PC5-RRC messages used for UE capability and sidelink configuration including sidelink radio bearer (SLRB) configuration; para. 121) comprising sidelink reset configuration information (PC5-RRC messages used for sidelink configuration; para. 121, RX UE receives PC5-RRC release message and releases PC5-RRC connection; para. 434 and Fig. 13 step S1334); and based on the sidelink RRC reconfiguration message comprising the sidelink reset configuration information (RX UE receives PC5-RRC release message and releases PC5-RRC connection; para. 434 and Fig. 13 step S1334), resetting a sidelink medium access control (MAC) entity for the PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal (RX UE receives PC5-RRC release message and performs MAC reset; para. [384, 395, 433-434, 444-445] and Fig. 13 steps S1330-S1334).
While Lee465 discloses SLRB and sidelink data radio bearer (SL DRB) and releasing sidelink connection, Lee465 does not explicitly disclose releasing a sidelink data radio bearer (DRB) for a PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tseng teaches releasing a sidelink data radio bearer (DRB) for a PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal (RX UE receives RRC message from TX UE regarding PC5 RRC connection sidelink configuration, RX UE releases corresponding sidelink data radio bearer (DRB); para. 128-133 and Table 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Tseng to the system of Lee465, where Lee465’s MAC reset during sidelink link failure (para. 10-11) along with Tseng’s sidelink management for sidelink failure (para. [02, 128-133] and Table 8) improves interoperability between devices by different manufacturers by standardizing functionality in case of sidelink failure.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Lee465 further teaches wherein the resetting of the sidelink MAC entity for the PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal (RX UE receives PC5-RRC release message and performs MAC reset; para. [384, 395, 433-434, 444-445] and Fig. 13 steps S1330-S1334) comprises at least one of: emptying a soft buffer of a sidelink procedure related to the PC5-RRC connection (reset of MAC includes flush soft buffers for downlink HARQ process; para. [309, 335, 425, 438], MAC reset for PC5 for sidelink data; para. [291-293, 353, 396-408, 431-444], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); cancelling a triggered scheduling request procedure related to the PC5-RRC connection (cancel triggered scheduling request procedure; para. [304, 324, 420, 439], MAC reset for PC5 for sidelink data; para. [291-293, 353, 396-408, 431-444]); cancelling a triggered sidelink buffer status report procedure related to the PC5-RRC connection (cancel triggered sidelink buffer status reporting procedure; para. [307, 329, 423, 440], MAC reset for PC5 for sidelink data; para. [291-293, 353, 396-408, 431-444]); stopping a timer related to the PC5-RRC connection (stop all timers [including any timer related to PC5 connection]; para. [297, 316, 413, 437], MAC reset for PC5 for sidelink data; para. [291-293, 353, 396-408, 431-444]); or initializing a parameter for a sidelink buffer for each logical channel related to the PC5-RRC connection (initialize Bj/SBj [buffer] for each logical channel to zero; para. [296, 314-315, 412, 431, 436], MAC reset for PC5 for sidelink data; para. [291-293, 353, 396-408, 431-444]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Lee465 further teaches configuring a new sidelink radio bearer for the PC5-RRC connection with the second terminal (PC5-RRC connection established between RX UE and TX UE based on PC5-S signaling; para. 397-401 and Fig. 13 step S1300-1306, SLRB configured for PC5-RRC and PC5-S signaling; para. 93) based on sidelink configuration information (SLRB configuration included in dedicated signaling, in system information block (SIB); para. [71, 84], SLRB configuration preconfigured; para. 79).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 3.
Lee465 further teaches wherein the sidelink configuration information is included in at least one of received sidelink dedicated configuration information (SLRB configuration included in dedicated signaling; para. [71, 84], examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a system information block (SIB) (SLRB configuration included in SIB; para. 84), or sidelink pre-configuration information (SLRB configuration preconfigured; para. 79).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Lee465 further teaches further comprising, in case that a reset of a MAC entity of a Uu interface is triggered (sidelink resource allocation mode 1 configured; para. [56, 222, 228, 343] and Fig. 11 step S1110, MAC reset for Uu interface occurs; para. 221, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340), at least one of: initializing a parameter related to sidelink resource allocation mode 1 (sidelink resource allocation mode 1 configured; para. [222, 228, 343] and Fig. 11 step S1110, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference); cancelling a triggered procedure (cancel triggered procedures; para. 324-334, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340); or stopping a running timer (stop all timers; para. [297, 316], method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Lee465 further teaches wherein the parameter related to the sidelink resource allocation mode 1 comprises a parameter for a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configuration related to the sidelink resource allocation mode 1 (set NDI for hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to zero; para. 318-319, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee465 and Tseng teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Lee465 further teaches wherein the triggered procedure (cancel triggered procedures; para. 324-334, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340, examiner notes the use of alternative language of parent claim 6, thus, only one of the other alternative features of parent claim 6 need to be shown by reference) comprises at least one of a scheduling request procedure (cancel scheduling request procedure; para. 324, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference), a sidelink buffer status report procedure (cancel buffer status reporting procedure; para. 325, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340), or a sidelink configured grant confirmation (cancel sidelink grant confirmation; para. 333, method for Fig. 11 [mode 1]; para. 340).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including first terminal (UE; para. 210-215 and Fig. 10: Lee465); transceiver (transceiver 106; para. 215 and Fig. 10: Lee465); processor coupled with transceiver (processor 102 coupled with transceiver 106; para. 215 and Fig. 10: Lee465).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2021/0385805 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for resource allocation in wireless communication system.
Park et al. (US 2022/0338301 A1) discloses a method for transmitting/receiving signal in wireless communication system.
Chen et al. (US 2020/0252989 A1) discloses unicast sidelink access stratum level connection maintenance.
Tseng et al. (US 2022/0174774 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for sidelink communication managements.
Kung et al. (US 2021/0045178 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for handling multiple sidelink communication in a wireless communication system.
Xu et al. (US 2020/0068581 A1) discloses data processing method, terminal device, and base station.
Lee et al. (US 2023/0217454 A1) discloses Sidelink resource allocation and MAC reset.
Xu et al. (WO 2020/221071 A1) discloses a radio bearer management method, device, and system.
US Provisional Application No. 63/008,566 (Tseng) is included in the instant OA.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474