Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-25, 27, 29, 32, 34-36, 38, 42, 48-50, 53, 55 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
This rejection has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment filed 09/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 24, 27, 29, 32, 35 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. CN 109497560 A.
Claims 23-25, 27, 29, 21, 34-36, 42, 48-50, 53, 55 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tillotson et al. US 9,358,212 B2.
The above 102 rejections have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s Amendment filed 09/15/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 27, 29, 32, 34-36, 38, 42, 48-50, 53 and 63-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tillotson et al. US 9,358,212 B2, in view of Tillotson et al. KR 20110128829 A (Tillotson ‘829).
Tillotson teaches an oral solid dosage form comprising at least three polyols and at least one active agent. See abstract and columns 11-12, 24 and 26. Polyols include mixture of mannitol, sorbitol and maltitol in an amount of from 80-99.5%, 0.5-20%, and 0.5-20% respectively is found in column 11, lines 23-35, and column 12, lines 63 through column 13. Solid dosage form having increase hardness values is found in column 24, lines 43-54. Dosage further comprising effervescent components is found in column 25, lines 33-59. Solid dosage having the claimed total weight in mg, friability, compression force and hardness in kP is found in column 28 and Examples. In some embodiments, an excipient system including 91.2 wt % mannitol, 2.3% sorbitol and 6.5 wt % maltitol has a hardness value of about 45 kP upon application of a 34 kN compression force. Such an excipient system may have a friability value of about 0.13%. In some embodiments, the moisture content of the solid dispersion may be less than about 8%, less than about 5%, less than about 3%, less than about 2%, less than about 1% or less than about 0.5%. In one embodiment of the present invention, the moisture content of the solid dispersion is about 0.3%. See columns 17-19.
Tillotson does not expressly teach the claimed ratio between the three polyols.
However, coprocessing at three polyols having the ratio that falls within the claimed range is known in the art. See for example the teaching in Tillotson ‘829. Specifically in the claims, where Tillotson teaches a solid dosage form of claim 35, wherein the solid dosage form disintegrates within 10 minutes. The method of claim 23, wherein the polyols comprise about 70 wt% to about 99.5 wt% of the first polyol, about 0.5 wt% to about 30 wt% of the second polyol, and about 0.5 wt% to about 30 wt% of the third polyol. The solid dosage form of claim 37, wherein the first polyol is mannitol, the second polyol is maltitol, and the third polyol is sorbitol. The solid dosage form of claim 37, wherein the first polyol is mannitol, the second polyol is lactitol, and the third polyol is sorbitol.
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to, by routine experimentation select a ratio of mannitol, maltitol and sorbitol of at least 80:10:10 in view of the teaching in Tillotson ‘829 with the expectation of at least similar result. This is because Tillotson ‘829 teaches the use of mannitol in a ratio that falls within the claimed range, namely, 70-80%, sorbitol in the range that falls within the claimed range, namely, up to 20% and the third polyol in an amount within the claimed range, namely, up to 10%. This is because Tillotson ‘829 teaches mixing at least three polyols to obtain a compressed tablet is known in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/15/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SUSAN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615