DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
After the amendments filed 04/13/2026, claims 1-25 remain pending, of which, 1, 4-6, 8, 18-20, 22-23, and 25 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-17, and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nietfeld et al (U.S. 2019/0138107).
Regarding claim 1, Nietfeld discloses:
an input device (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 8A, 8B, controller 110) comprising:
a main body (800) including a grip (812) and at least one operation member that is configured to receive a user operation (808), the user operation being a basis of generating video by another device apart from the input device (¶37-42, motion capture system includes cameras which track movement of the controller and displays animation of the tracked movement of the controller on a display of a VR display);
a tracked region in which a plurality of light-emitters are arranged (¶64-68, ¶83-86, Fig. 8A-8B, tracking transducers 832, 833, 834 located on controller 110) and are configured to emit light captured by a camera included in the other device (¶40-43, motion capture system includes cameras which capture images of the environment in visible light and non-visible light wavelengths, wherein the transducers include tracking beacons that emit infrared light which is received by the cameras of the motion capture system), the tracked region comprising:
a first section disposed in a rear direction from the at least one operation member in side view, the first section comprising a first plurality of light emitters of the plurality of light emitters (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow B below) on a rear side of tracking member 830); and
a second section in a front direction from the first section, the second section extending in a direction different from that of the first section, the second section comprising a second plurality of light-emitters of the plurality of light emitters (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8A (reproduced below), Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow A below) on a front side of tracking member 830).
Regarding claim 19, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses:
an input device (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 8A, 8B, controller 110) comprising:
a tracked region in which a plurality of light-emitters are provided (¶64-68, ¶83-86, Fig. 8A-8B (reproduced below), tracking transducers 832, 833, and 834 located on controller 110 (and shown at least at arrows A and B below)), the tracked region comprising:
a first curved surface that is located on a rear portion of the input device and that forms a part of an exterior surface of the input device and in which a first plurality of light-emitters are arranged (¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow B below) on a rear side of curved surface tracking member 830); and
a second curved surface that is located on a front portion of the input device and that forms another part of the exterior surface of the input device and in which a second plurality of light-emitters are arranged (¶86, Fig. 8A (reproduced below), Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow A below) on a front side of curved surface tracking member 830), wherein in a plan view of the input device, the front portion is extending perpendicular to the rear portion (Fig. 8A-8B (reproduced below), arrow Y showing a direction which the front portion extends which is perpendicular to the direction of the rear portion which is shown by arrow Z ), and wherein the first curved surface and the second curved surface form part of a single spherical surface (Fig. 8A-8B (reproduced below), wherein the front curved surface of tracking member 830 and the rear curved surface of tracking member 830 form part of a single spherical surface).
Regarding claim 22, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses:
an input device (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 8A, 8B, controller 110) comprising:
a tracked region in which a plurality of light-emitters are provided (¶64-68, ¶83-86, Fig. 8A-8B (reproduced below), tracking transducers 832, 833, and 834 located on controller 110 (and shown at least at arrows A and B below)), the tracked region comprising:
a first region which forms part of an exterior surface of the input device and in which a first plurality of light emitters are arranged (¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow B below) on a first region of tracking member 830); and
a second region which forms another part of the exterior surface of the input device and in which a second plurality of light emitters are arranged (¶86, Fig. 8A (reproduced below), Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow A below) on a second region of tracking member 830), wherein in a plan view of the input device, the second region is extending perpendicular to the first region (Fig. 8A-8B (reproduced below), arrow Y showing a direction which the second region extends and which is perpendicular to the direction of the first region which is shown by arrow Z ), and wherein the first plurality of light-emitters arranged in the first region and the second plurality of light-emitters arranged in the second region are located on a single virtual spherical surface (¶86, Figs. 8A-8B (reproduced below), transducers 832, 833, and 834 (shown at least at arrows A and B below) arranged on tracking member 830).
Regarding claim 25, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses:
an input device (Figs. 1, 2, 4, 5, 8A, 8B, controller 110) comprising:
a main body (800) including a grip (812) and at least one operation member that is configured to receive a user operation (808), the user operation being a basis of generating video by another device apart from the input device (¶37-42, motion capture system includes cameras which track movement of the controller and displays animation of the tracked movement of the controller on a display of a VR display);
a rear section in a rear direction from the at least one operation member, the rear section configured to cover at least an upper side of the grip in rear view (¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a second configured to cover at least an upper side of grip of outer shell 840);
a tracked region in which a plurality of light-emitters are arranged (¶64-68, ¶83-86, Fig. 8A-8B, tracking transducers 832, 833, 834 located on controller 110) and are configured to emit light captured by a camera included in the other device (¶40-43, motion capture system includes cameras which capture images of the environment in visible light and non-visible light wavelengths, wherein the transducers include tracking beacons that emit infrared light which is received by the cameras of the motion capture system), the tracked region comprising:
a first region in which a first plurality of light emitters of the plurality of light emitters are arranged (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow D below) arranged on a rear side of tracking member 830); and
a second region in which a second plurality of light-emitters of the plurality of light emitters are arranged (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8A (reproduced below), Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow A below) on a front side of tracking member 830);
a beam connecting an upper portion of the main body and the rear section to each other (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a beam (tracking member 830) including a portion at arrow E which connects the front portion of head 810 to a rear portion of head 810), wherein the first region is provided on the rear section (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8B (reproduced below), Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow D below), and wherein at least part of the second region comprising at least a portion of the second plurality of light-emitters is provided on the beam (¶13, ¶86, Fig. 8A (reproduced below), Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 832, 833, and 834 (and shown at least at arrow A below) on a front side of tracking member 830).
Regarding claim 2, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the second section extends from one of an upper portion of the main body and the first section toward another of the upper portion of the main body and the first section (Fig. 8B, wherein the front of the controller extends from a first top portion of the back side to a second top portion of the back side of the controller).
Regarding claim 3, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the second section connects an upper portion of the main body and the first section to each other (Figs. 8A, 8B, wherein the front and back of the controller are connected to the upper portion of grip 812 of the main body 800).
Regarding claim 4, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the second section has such a shape as to be located between a thumb and an edge portion of a palm of the user when the user spreads out a hand that has been gripping the grip (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
in the plan view of the input device, the second section is located on a right or left side of an upper portion of the main body, and the second section extends from the upper portion of the main body toward the first section (Figs. 8A, 8B, wherein the front side of the controller when located on a right or left side extends from the top of grip 812 of the main body 800 and connects to the back side of the controller).
Regarding claim 8, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the second section is connected to the first section, and a connection section between the second section and the first section is spaced rightward or leftward from the grip in a plan view of the input device (Figs. 8A, 8B, wherein when spaced to face the left or right direction the front and back of the controller are connected left and right with regard to the grip 812).
Regarding claim 10, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section extends in a direction in which the first section intersects with the grip, in a side view of the input device (Fig. 8B, wherein the back head 810 intersects with the grip 812).
Regarding claim 11, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section has an upper portion having an arc shape covering at least an upper side of the grip, in a rear view of the input device (Fig. 8B, wherein the top portion of the back head 810 is arc shaped).
Regarding claim 12, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section has a ring shape in the rear view of the input device (Fig. 8B, wherein the back head 810 is ring shaped).
Regarding claim 13, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section has a ring or arc shape surrounding or covering a center line extending obliquely rearward (Fig. 4, wherein the back side of the head 810 extends rearward in an arc shape).
Regarding claim 14, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section is substantially circular (Fig. 8B, wherein the back head 810 is substantially circular).
Regarding claim 15, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section is connected to a lower portion of the grip (Fig. 8B, wherein the back head 810 is connected via the top portion of grip 812 to the lower portion of grip 812).
Regarding claim 16, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section is located on a rear side of a front portion of the grip in a side view of the input device (Fig. 8B, wherein the back head 810 is located on the rear side of grip 812).
Regarding claim 17, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
the first section has a ring or arc shape surrounding or covering a center line extending obliquely rearward and upward in a side view of the input device (Fig. 8B).
Regarding claims 20 and 23, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses:
at least one operation member that a user operates with his/her thumb (¶83, Fig. 8A, thumb operated controls A, B and 808),
wherein, in a plan view of the input device, the first curved surface is located on a rear side of the at least one operation member (Fig. 8A-8B, the first curved surface of tracking member 830 is located on a rear side of thumb operated controls A, B and 808) and the second curved surface is located on a front side of the at least one operation member (Fig. 8A-8B, the second curved surface of tracking member 830 is located on a front side of thumb operated controls A, B and 808).
Regarding claim 21, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses:
a grip that a user grips (812),
wherein the first curved surface has an arc or ring shape covering at least an upper side of the grip, in a rear view of the input device (Fig. 8B, wherein the top portion of the back head 810 is arc shaped and covers a portion of the grip 812).
Regarding claim 24, Nietfeld discloses that which is discussed above. Nietfeld further discloses that:
at least one of the first plurality of light-emitters arranged in the first region is provided on a surface facing in rear and upper directions of the input device (¶86, Fig. 8B depicts a rear view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 834 on the head 810), and at least one of the second plurality of light-emitters arranged in the second region is provided on a surface facing in a front direction of the input device (¶86, Fig. 8A depicts a front view of the controller 800 and includes a plurality of transducers 834 located on the head 810).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and necessitated by the newly added limitations, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of the previously applied reference, as discussed above.
Conclusion
/Jason Pinheiro/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715