DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s reply filed 9/24/2025, is acknowledged. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-17, 19, 20 and 22-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-17, 19, 20 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fedorchak et al. (US2022/0249700) in view of Zhang et al., Nanoscale Research Letters, 2011, 6:555, 1-22.
Regarding claim 1, Fedorchak et al. teaches polymer-based implants for treating retina diseases and/or retinopathies. See Abstract. The implant may be performed via injection. See para. [0005]. The polymer implant may be used to treat ocular tumors. See para. [0084]. Further, the implant may include chemotherapeutics for retinoblastoma and carbon nanotubes (“CNTs”) (current claims 4, 12 and 22). See para. [0074]. Fedorchak et al. does not provide an explicit example of a complex of a carbon nanotube and a therapeutic agent. However, the use of carbon nanotube for delivery treating cancer was within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
For instance, Zhang et al. teaches that “CNTs are promising drug carriers in the target drug delivery systems for cancer therapies.” Page 2, col. 1. Zhang et al. also teaches that for this purpose CNTs may be functionalized in two way covalently and non-covalently (current claims 2, 3, 14 and 15). See page 2, col. 2.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention in view of Feorchak et al. and Zhang et al. to arrive at the claimed invention. In this regard, it is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). It would have been obvious to employ a CNT and a chemotherapeutic agent to treat an ocular tumor as taught by Fedorchak et al.
Regarding claims 6-8, 16, 17 and 24, Zhang et al. teaches that water-soluble precursor CNTs have been covalently conjugated with tumor-specific mAbs, radiometal-ion chelates, and fluorescent probes (current claim 23). See page 12, col. 2. The fluorescent probes imply signal detection (current claim 13).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Zhang et al. teaches single walled carbon nanotubes. See page 14, col. 2.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Zhang et al. teaches CNT that are 900 nm long and 11 nm in diameter. See page 2, col. 2.
Conclusion
/ROBERT S CABRAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614