DETAILED ACTION
The amendments of 10/31/2025 have been entered in full. Claims 52-57, 61, and 64-73 are pending.
All prior objection/rejections not specifically maintained in this Office action are hereby withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendment and/or arguments filed 10/31/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 52-57, 61, 64, 66, 72, and 73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-14, and 18-24 of U.S. Patent No. US 10653814 (the ‘814 patent), in view of US 8974803 (the ‘803 patent).
Patented claims 1, 6, 13, and 18 are drawn to a methods comprising administering tropoelastin crosslinked to hyaluronic acid. US 10653814 is the same disclosure as US 9611312 which, in turn, is cited as teaching the method of preparing the tropoelastin cross-linked to hyaluronic acid in the instant disclosure ([0120] in publication US 20230255875). Therefore, composition in the patented claims is inherently the same as that of the instant claims with respect to cross-linkage. Patented claims 7, 9, 14, 19, 21-24 encompass administration of the composition to soft tissue and, in particular, skin. Therefore, the patented and pending claims generally encompass administration of the same composition to the same subjects. The patented claims do not recite that the tropoelastin is present in an amount of about 30 mg/mL, and wherein the tropoelastin is crosslinked with about 0.5% hyaluronic acid, as in pending independent claims 52 and 72.
The ‘803 patent teaches and claims a composition comprising a tropoelastin concentration of from 5 mg/mL to 30 mg/mL and hyaluronic acid in an amount from 0.5% to 2.0% w/v (see claims 1, 8, and 9. The composition of pending claims 52 and 72 is included within the broadly defined composition of the ‘803 patent, which in turn is an example of a composition recited for administration in the claims of US 10653814. Like US 10653814, the ‘803 patent further teaches that the composition is useful for treating skin (col. 12, lines 1-31). Therefore, the pending claims are drawn to an obvious embodiment of the generic method of US 10653814 in view of US 8974803.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and § 103
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 52-57, 61, and 64-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 20140235547 (Mithieux).
Mithieux teaches methods comprising administration of tropoelastin and hyaluronic acid [0129]. In certain embodiments, the tropoelastin in the composition may be cross linked to derivatized hyaluronic acid (HA) [0130]. Mithieux cites PCT/AU2011/001503 for teaching the method of preparing tropoelastin cross-linked with derivatized hyaluronic acid for use in a clinical study [0216]. PCT/AU2011/001503 is the same disclosure as US 9611312 which, in turn, is cited as teaching the method of preparing the tropoelastin cross-linked to hyaluronic acid in the instant disclosure ([0120] in publication US 20230255875). Mithieux teaches that a suitable formulations may include from 10 to 30 mg/ml tropoelastin cross-linked to from 0.25% to 1% HA cross-linker. This teaching anticipates, or in the alternative renders obvious, the formulation of tropoelastin in an amount of about 30 mg/mL, and wherein the tropoelastin is crosslinked with about 0.5% hyaluronic acid, as recited in pending independent claims 52 and 72.
Therefore, Mithieux teaches administration of the same composition as in all pending claims. Mithieux teaches administration of the composition into the dermis of skin [0142] wherein the typical subject treatment area is characterized by photo-aging, loosened skin, relaxed subcutaneous tissue, loss of density of the extracellular matrix, wrinkling and stretch marks [0150]. Mithieux teaches expected outcomes of improving physical appearance of skin [0110] and providing elasticity [0144], which overlap with outcomes recited in the instant claims. Additional recited outcomes are inherent to the method wherein the same composition is administered to the same subjects.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL C GAMETT, Ph.D., whose telephone number is (571)272-1853. The examiner can normally be reached on M-W. Please note the examiner’s part-time schedule. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/DANIEL C GAMETT/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1647