DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 8/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 31-35, 37-47 are pending. Claims 43-47 are withdrawn. Prior objections and rejections not included below are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 31-35, 37-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strong (US 5498438).
Regarding Claims 1 and 3, Strong teaches a food product (Abstract) comprising 40-80% of nut meal (Column 17, Claim 4), 5-15% starch (Column 8, Lines 62-65) and a moisture content of less than 5% (Column 11, Line 59). The food has a density of 0.1-0.4 g/cm3 (or g/mL, Column 11, Lines 61-62). Note that Strong teaches that “individual” pieces have the density as claimed. Absent evidence to the contrary, the density of strong is interpreted to be the same as the apparent density (i.e. the density of an individual piece, with volume delimited by the contour of the pieces) as defined in the instant Specification (Page 16, Section 1.1).
Strong teaches the use of nut flours which pass through a 30-mesh screen (Column 8, Line 28), which is less than 0.6 mm, which lies within the claimed range of “less than 2 mm”. Strong teaches that the food may be in a stick shape, which is not a chip (Column 11, Line 59).
Strong additionally teaches pieces of nut less than 3/16th of an inch, or 4.8 mm (Column 4, Lines 30-32), which overlaps the claimed range of “greater than or equal to 2 mm”. Note that where Strong teaches the effects of larger pieces of nut, e.g. a specific visual appearance and texture (Column 4, Lines 52-55), it would have been obvious to have included any amount of the nut pieces of Strong, including at least 2% as claimed.
Regarding the limitation that the product be an “expanded [and] porous”, where Strong teaches the density and composition limitations according to the Claim, the product of Strong is interpreted to have an “expanded [and] porous” texture as claimed. Additionally, note that one having ordinary skill would interpret a product that was e.g., deep fried (Column 12, Lines 54-56) to expand and have internal pores.
Regarding the limitation that the product be “crispy”, Strong teaches that the product has a “crisp” texture (Column 3, Line 44).
Regarding the limitation of a “uniform texture throughout”, Strong teaches that the product is formed from a homogeneous, cohesive dough (Column 9, Lines 36-67). The cooked product of Strong is therefore interpreted to have a uniform texture.
Strong teaches the product as discussed above, but does not discuss the porosity. However, given that Strong teaches the compositional and density limitations, the product of Strong is interpreted to meet the porosity limitation. Note that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Regarding Claim 2, Strong teaches an emulsifier as an optional ingredient (Column 9, Line 43). It would have been obvious to have provided the product without emulsifier, given that Strong teaches an emulsifier as optional.
Regarding Claim 31, Strong teaches that the food has a density of 0.1-0.4 g/cm3 (or g/mL, Column 11, Lines 61-62). Note that Strong teaches that “individual” pieces of the food have the density as claimed. Absent evidence to the contrary, the density of strong is interpreted to be the same as the apparent density (i.e. the density of an individual piece, with volume delimited by the contour of the pieces) as defined in the instant Specification (Page 16, Section 1.1).
Regarding Claim 32, Strong teaches that the food has less than “about 30%” oil (Column 4, Lines 21-22). Where Strong teaches less than “about 30%” oil, and the instant Claim teaches an oil amount “equal” to 30%, the teaching of Strong is interpreted to both approach and overlap the claimed range.
Regarding Claim 33, Strong teaches a ratio of 6:1 to 2:1 for a fine:coarse ratio of nut meal (Column 8, Lines 30-31), which is 67-85% fine nut meal, which lies within the claimed range of “at least 10%”. Note that Strong teaches that a “fine” nut meal preferably passes through a 30 mesh (Column 8, Lines 25-27) screen, which has openings of 0.6 mm.
Additionally, where Strong speaks to the effects of fine nut meal, e.g. binding capacity and workability (Column 8, Lines 15-16), one of ordinary skill would have been able to have adjusted the amount of finely ground nut meal to have arrived at the amounts as claimed through no more than routine experimentation.
Regarding Claims 34 and 35, Strong teaches that the food has a dimension of 1 ¼ inches (Column 12, Line 54), which is 31.8 mm. Note that the “thickness” of the food may be any dimension.
Regarding Claim 37, Strong teaches that the food may be in a stick shape cut from a sheet of uniform thickness, which is a prism (Column 11, Line 59). Note that a “prism” is any 3-dimensional shape with identical bases and parallelogram faces.
Regarding Claim 38, Strong teaches that the food comprises 40-80% nut meal (Column 17, Claim 4)
Regarding Claim 39, Strong teaches that the food comprises 5-15% starch (Column 8, Lines 62-65).
Regarding Claim 40, Strong teaches the addition of 1.8% salt (Column 13, Line 7).
Regarding Claim 41, Strong teaches embodiments which do not comprise sugar or gluten (Column 12, Example 1). Additionally, Strong teaches the use of peanuts, almonds, cashews, and walnuts (Column 4, Lines 7-9).
Regarding Claim 42, Strong teaches enrobing (which is covering) of the product (Column 11, Line 57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues (Pages 6-7 of Remarks) that the experimental evidence in the Declaration filed 8/7/2026 demonstrates that the product of Strong does not meet the claimed density and porosity. Specifically, Strong’s product forms an internal structure with parallel sheets and lacks a uniform, porous texture with evenly distributed ingredients.
See below in regard to Declaration response.
Applicant additionally argues (Page 7 of Remarks) that Strong does not contain particles greater than or equal to 2 mm. Applicant additionally argues that the disclosures of Strong regarding particle sizes (Column 3, Lines 30-32) are qualitative in nature, and that the disclosed procedure of Strong requires particle sizes smaller than 2.0 mm.
This argument is not found convincing. Prior art is available for all teachings and not only preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Additionally, note that Strong does not teach that the only nut meal present is nut meal that has been sieved.
Applicant additionally argues that Claims 2, 3, and 31-33 are non-obvious, given Applicant’s Declaration showing that the product of Strong does not have the claimed features.
This argument is not found convincing, for the same reasons as set forth above.
Applicant additionally argues (Pages 10-11 of Remarks) that that the “thickness” of the product of Strong is a short diameter and not a thickness. Applicant additionally argues that the product of Strong, prepared according to the procedure of Strong, does not yield the claimed product.
This argument is not found convincing. First, absent additionally disclosures regarding the dimensions of the claimed product, a “thickness” is a generic disclosure that may apply to any dimension of a 3-dimensional product. Second, arguments regarding the lack of the claimed features in the product of Strong are not found convincing for the same reasons as set forth above.
Response to Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 8/7/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 31-42 based upon 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
First, the features the Examiner relies upon in the prior art are the same features described in Applicant’s Claims to yield the claimed density, porosity, and texture. Applicant is reminded that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Examiner notes that Applicant has not claimed, e.g. a step of microwave expansion. Second, Applicant’s reproduction of a single example of Strong is insufficient to demonstrate that the product of Strong does not have the claimed features. Strong teaches a range of compositions and product densities. Additionally, prior art is available for all teachings and not only preferred embodiments. See MPEP 2123. Strong teaches multiple methods of dough treatment not addressed in the comparative example which are expected to affect porosity, e.g. frying, sheeting, or extruding (Column 3, Lines 6-7)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.L./
Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791