DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-8, 10-12 and 14-16 are pending, of which Claims 8, 10-12 and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-7 are under current examination.
Amendment necessitated new rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 are indefinite as:
Claim 1 recites “the metal”, which lacks the antecedent basis.
Claim 2 recites “the metal”, which lacks the antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lehmann (US 9079924 B2).
Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution (entire patent). Importantly, examples 2 and 3 (col 10-12):
discloses:
providing at least one amino alcohol, methyldiethanolamine CH3N (C2H5OH)2, reads on alcohol of formula I, wherein D=NCH3; X=Y=-CR2R3-; R2=R3=H and polyethylene glycol (a protic solvent, alcohol);
adding at least one basic compound NH3 in above solution (thus NH3 is in a protic solvent, polyethylene glycol (alcohol) and obtaining one corresponding amino alkoxide, bis-(N-methyldiethanolamino) tin (example 2 with both steps 1 and 2);
adding 165 g Sn(IV)halide to solution containing polyethylene glycol (i.e., SnCl4 is in protic solvent making a solution) and amino alkoxide of step 2 (165g SnCl4 was added to 1335g of 16% solution of alkoxide in polyethyleneglycol; bis-(N-methyldiethanolamino) tin= 213.6g in 1335g solution; polyethylene glycol 1335g-213g=1121.4g; Therefore, SnCl4 165g in 1121.4g polyethylene glycol, i.e., 14.71% concentration of protic solvent by weight) to obtain corresponding metal amino alkoxide.
Since the cited prior art reads on all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7, these claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann (US 9079924 B2).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution (entire patent). Importantly, examples 2 and 3 (col 10-12):
discloses:
providing at least one amino alcohol, methyldiethanolamine CH3N (C2H5OH)2, reads on alcohol of formula I, wherein D=NCH3; X=Y=-CR2R3-; R2=R3=H and polyethylene glycol (a protic solvent, alcohol);
adding at least one basic compound NH3 in above solution (thus NH3 is in a protic solvent, polyethylene glycol (alcohol) and obtaining one corresponding amino alkoxide, bis-(N-methyldiethanolamino) tin (example 2 with both steps 1 and 2);
adding 165 g Sn(IV)halide to solution containing polyethylene glycol (i.e., SnCl4 is in protic solvent making a solution) and amino alkoxide of step 2 (165g SnCl4 was added to 1335g of 16% solution of alkoxide in polyethyleneglycol; bis-(N-methyldiethanolamino) tin= 213.6g in 1335g solution; polyethylene glycol 1335g-213g=1121.4g; Therefore, SnCl4 165g in 1121.4g polyethylene glycol, i.e., 14.71% concentration of protic solvent by weight) to obtain corresponding metal amino alkoxide.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution, but fails to teach step C with further metal titanium, and amino alcohols examples of claim 5
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
With regards to the difference of amino alcohols of the instant claims 5- Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution. Since the cited prior art teaches general conditions of making amino alkoxide of amino alcohols, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that any amino alcohol having two OH groups may also be used in reaction of Lehmann to make corresponding amino alkoxide using same reaction conditions as taught by Lehmann.
Further, Case law has established that it is prima facie obvious to simply employ a different starting material in a generally old reaction. In re Farkas and Sorm 152 USPQ 109 (1966). Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
With regard to difference of fails to teach step C with further metal titanium Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution. Thus, based on the guidance provided by the cited prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success that Sn or titanium or their mixture may be used to make mixture of metal amino alkoxide. This is because the cited prior art teaches using metal, such as Sn, Ti to make their corresponding alkoxide.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Lehmann discloses a method of making metal amino alkoxide using amino alcohol, basic compound NH3 in protic solvent polyethylene glycol (alcohol), metal halide with examples of Sn(IV) halide and titanium in protic solvent as a solution.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.” KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that the metal amino alkoxide using any amino alcohol similar to the cited prior art and can be made by teachings of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive applicants process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation.
Response To Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and remarks, filed on 10/22/2025, have been fully considered but not found persuasive.
Applicant’s argument is moot in view of new rejection as set forth above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed.
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623