DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 01/14/2026; has been considered by the Examiner. A signed copy of the IDS is included with the present Office Action.
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 are pending and under current examination.
Applicants' arguments and amendments filed 10/07/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained and modified rejections in view of claim amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanbara et al. (United States patent Publication 2014/0178890) in view of Tanaka et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190091380).
Kanbara et al. teach a cancer cell enrichment filter for collecting cancer cells that has a polymer coating, see paragraphs [0001], [0020], [0080] and [0082] and claims 7-11. The composition has moderate hydrophilicity and enables blood platelets to only be slightly adhered, thus providing excellent blood compatibility, see paragraph [0076]. The agent is applied to the surface of a substrate to reduce blood cell components and platelet adhesion, see paragraph [0077]. Kanbara et al. teach a method for detection of cancer cells by utilizing a filtration step and culturing cells that have been enriched during filtration, see claims 1 and 12-14 and paragraphs [0091]-[0092]
Kanbara does not expressly teach that the polymer adhered to the filter is the same polymer as instantly claimed in claim 1.
However, Tanaka et al. teach a polymer composition as follows:
A repeating unit (A) represented by formula 1:
Wherein R2 represents an aliphatic hydrocarbon group, see claim 1. The polymers of Tanaka reduce platelet adhesion when applied to as surface, see paragraph [0084]. The polymers can be used in a variety of medical devices including filters, see paragraph [0002]. The coating prevents adhesion of biocomponents including cells, see paragraph [0034]. Examples 15-18 demonstrate some cancer cell adhesion (paragraphs [0085]-[0806].
It would have been prima facie obvious to substitute the biocompatible polymers of Kanbara that coat the surface of cell collection filters in the method of detecting cancer cells by utilizing a filtration step for the polymers of Tanaka et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the polymers of Tanaka are taught to reduce cell components and platelet adhesion and are suggested to adhere cancer cells. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as both Kanbara and Tanaka teach polymers that reduce platelet and cell component adhesion.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9372136 in view of Tanaka et al. (United States Patent Publication 20190091380).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Both the instant claims and that of Patent ‘136 claim a cancer cell collecting filter and detecting the presence of cancer cells via a method of culturing cells that are enriched by the filter.
The difference between the instant claims and the claims of Patent ‘136 is the type of polymers used in the method to detect cancer cells and for use with a cancer cell filter.
However, Tanaka et al. teach a polymer composition as follows:
A repeating unit (A) represented by formula 1:
Wherein R2 represents an aliphatic hydrocarbon group, see claim 1. The polymers of Tanaka reduce platelet adhesion when applied to as surface, see paragraph [0084]. The polymers can be used in a variety of medical devices including filters, see paragraph [0002]. The coating prevents adhesion of biocomponents including cells, see paragraph [0034]. Examples 15-18 demonstrate some cancer cell adhesion (paragraphs [0085]-[0806].
It would have been obvious to substitute the biocompatible polymers of Patent ‘136 that coat the surface of cell collection filters in the method of detecting cancer cells by utilizing a filtration step for the polymers of Tanaka et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the polymers of Tanaka are taught to reduce cell components and platelet adhesion and are suggested to adhere cancer cells.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success as both Patent ‘136 and Tanaka utilize polymers that reduce platelet and cell component adhesion. (column 2, lines 58-64, column 8, lines 5-15, and 43-50 of Patent ‘136).
Response to remarks
Applicants argue that Tanaka teaches away from sufficiency adhering copolymer to cancer cells because Tanaka discloses that a coating film of the copolymer of the present invention prevents adhesion of biocomponents and that cell adhesion numbers were found to be very small in the cancer cell adhesion test (paragraphs 0085 and 0086).
Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s remarks are considered unpersuasive because the cancer cell adhesion test showed some adhesion of the cancer cells to the instantly claimed polymers even if it is a small amount. Thus, there is a detection of at least one cancer cell from the teaching of Tanaka. Tanaka at example 15-18 demonstrates at least some cell adhesion of cancer cells. Notably, the instant claims do not require any degree of adhesion of the cells, and adhering even a very small sample of cells meets the limitation required by claims 1 and 8. Furthermore, Tanaka teaches identical polymers as claimed, thus it is unclear why Tanaka would not at least suggest some cancer cell adhesion utilizing the same polymers with their cancer cell adhesion test performed.
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments/remarks are considered unpersuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Currently, no claims are allowed and all claims are rejected.
Correspondence
/SARAH ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619