DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 15-17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Jia 2019/0016065US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Chen 2012/0143522US further in view of the WIPO Publication to Farrell WO2008/062392A2.
In terms of Claims 1 and 22, Jia teaches A sensor device (Figure 1-3) comprising: a capillary (Figure 2: 4) configured for being embedded in a laminate structure (Figure 3: 6 and 8) between two layers (Figure 3: 6 and 8) of the laminate structure (Figure 3); a medium ([0015]) arranged within the capillary (Figure 2: within 4 a fluid; [0015]); an optical fiber (Figure 2: 11) extending through the capillary (Figure 2: 11 within 4) and surrounded by the medium [0015], wherein a portion (Figure 2: on 11) of the optical fiber (11) has temperature-dependent optical transmission characteristics (Figure 2: 3).
Jia does not teach a strain sensor configured to measure strain a distance from the portion of the inside of capillary, the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary, wherein the strain sensor is an additional optical fiber with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the strain sensor is arranged outside the capillary.
Chen does teach a strain sensor (Figure 1: 106; which can measure strain [0026] and temperature [0046]) configured to measure strain at a distance from the middle of tubular object similar in shape to the capillary of Jia (Figure 1: 106 on tubular structure 102), the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary (Figure 1: 106; the sensor 106 is positioned on the outside of the tube 102 hence a portion of the sensor is equal to the diameter of the tube), wherein the strain sensor is an additional optical fiber 104 ([0026]) with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the strain sensor is arranged outside the capillary or tubular structure (Figure 1: 106 on 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jia to include an additional strain sensor on the outside of the device to get a reading of the strain that is exerted on the outer surface of the cylindrical capillary body. This provides a more accurate reading of the strain exerted on the surface compared to a sensor that is located internally of the capillary since some of the strain force by muted of absorbed capillary (See Chen’s [0026]).
Jia / Chen does not teach a second fiber having a strain sensor located on the outside of a tube wherein the sensor is embedded within laminate layers is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure having 2 layers bonded together.
Farrel does teach a FBG (Fiber grating) sensor (Figure 2: 3 within 4) wherein the 4 is made using laminated layers bonded together (Figure 2: 4; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). Farrell indicates the temperature sensor FBG is located in capillary tube (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30); while the strain sensor FBG is directly attached to laminated without the need of a tube (See Figure 2: one grating is located inside of a tube at element 3; while a second FBG is located in the laminate without tube at location of element 2; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). The purpose of the tube on the FBG sensor is to isolate strain from effecting the temperature reading since strain may cause fluctuations that may influence temperature reading in FBG (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG); wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia / Chen to have one FBG being inside the tube while another being outside the tube in order to isolate strain from influencing temperature readings when measuring strain or temperature acting on the laminate structure. Further Farrell teaches having multiple fibers runs allows better coverage at different locations as shown in Figure 3.
As for Claim 2, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein Jia teaches the layer 6, 7 and 8 combines can have a thickness of 3 mm or less ([0074]). Jia further teaches layer 8 can have a thickness of 1.5 mm ([0075]). One can conclude that layers 6 and 7 will have a thickness of 1.5 mm or less from the disclosed dimension above. The diameter of the tube 4 is shown to be in layer 7 as shown by Figure 1. Hence, the range 450 um or smaller is completely within disclosed range of 1.5 mm or less as indicated by Figures 1, 2 and [0075]. Further, since the claimed ranges of a diameter of the capillary being 450 um or smaller do not have any associated critically or specificity in regards with the disclosure, the examiner considers the rejection as detailed above to read onto the claimed ranges. Lastly, based on the disclosed ranges above, there must be some degree of overlaps in ranges that exist from Jia to the claimed range of 450 um or smaller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capillary tube size so it will fit within the layers 6/7/8 as shown in Figure 1 wherein thin applications are required to fit the sensor into tight spaces. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
As for Claim 3, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein Jia teaches the portion (on 11) of the optical fiber 11 comprises a fiber Bragg grating (Figure 2: 2 or 3).
As for Claim 4, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 3, wherein Jia teaches the optical fiber (11) comprises two fiber Bragg gratings (Figure 2: 2 and 3) having different lattice constants (2 lattice is different than 3 because 2 is designed to measure strain while 3 is designed to measure temperature).
As for Claim 5, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein Jia teaches the medium
As for Claim 6, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein Jia teaches the medium ([0015]) and the capillary (4) are optically transparent (the medium must be optical transparent in order for light to reach the grating).
As for Claim 7, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 1, wherein Jia teaches the sensor device is further configured to be connectable to a measurement circuit (Figure 3: via 5) configured to measure a change in the temperature-dependent optical transmission characteristics of the optical fiber (Figure 2: 3).
In terms of Claim 9, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches a sensor system (Figure 1-3), comprising: a laminate structure (Figure 3: 6 and 8) comprising two layers (Figure 3: 6 and 8); a capillary (Figure 2: 4) embedded in the laminate structure between the two layers (Figure 2: 4 and Figure 3); a medium ([0015]) arranged within the capillary ([0015]); an optical fiber (Figure 2: 11) extending through the capillary (Figure 2: 11 and 4) and surrounded by the medium ([0015] within 4), wherein a portion of the optical fiber (11) has temperature-dependent optical transmission characteristics (Figure 3: can be detected by 3); and light source ([0064]) configured to transmit light through the optical fiber ([0064: there must be a light source to transmit light through the optical fiber when it used as a light transmission tool).
Jia does not teach a strain sensor configured to measure strain a distance from the portion of the inside of capillary, the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary, wherein the strain sensor is an additional optical fiber with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the strain sensor is arranged outside the capillary.
Chen does teach a strain sensor (Figure 1: 106; [0026]) configured to measure strain ([0026]) at a distance from the middle of tubular object similar in shape to the capillary of Jia (Figure 1: 106 is located on outside surface of the cylindrical body 102, the sensor 106 is configured to measure strain at the surface [0026], which is located at a distance from the internal area of the tube (Figure 1: 102/106), the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary (Figure 1: 106 the sensor is positioned on the outside of the tube 102 hence a portion of the sensor is equal to the diameter of the tube), wherein the strain sensor (106) is an additional optical fiber (Figure 1: 106 of 104) with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the strain sensor is arranged outside the capillary (Figure 1: 102, 104, 106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jia to include an additional strain sensor on the outside of the device to get a reading of the strain that is exerted on the surface of the cylindrical capillary body. This provides a more accurate reading on the surface compared to a sensor that is located internally of the capillary since some of the strain or temperature maybe by muted by the absorbed capillary.
Jia / Chen does not teach a second fiber having a strain sensor located on the outside of a tube wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure having 2 layers bonded together.
Farrel does teach a FBG (Fiber grating) sensor (Figure 2: 3 within 4) wherein the 4 is made using laminated layers bonded together (Figure 2: 4; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). Farrell indicates the temperature sensor FBG is located in capillary tube (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30); while the strain sensor FBG is directly attached to laminated without the need of a tube (See Figure 2: one grating is located inside of a tube at element 3; while a second FBG is located in the laminate without tube at location of element 2; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). The purpose of the tube on the FBG sensor is to isolate strain from effecting the temperature reading since strain may cause fluctuations that may influence temperature reading in FBG (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG); wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia / Chen to have one FBG being inside the tube while another being outside the tube in order to isolate strain from influencing temperature readings when measuring strain or temperature acting on the laminate structure. Further Farrell teaches having multiple fibers runs allows better coverage at different locations as shown in Figure 3.
As for Claim 12, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 9, wherein the capillary is embedded in an encapsulant layer (Figure 3: 7) of the laminate structure (Figure 3: 6-8).
In terms of Claims 15 and 16, Jia / Chen / Farrell teach a method of measuring a temperature in the laminate structure of claim 9, wherein Jia teaches using the sensor system of claim 9, the method comprising: transmitting light from the light source through the optical fiber (Figure 1: 11 [0064]); measuring light reflected or transmitted in the optical fiber ([0023]), wherein the light reflected or transmitted is indicative of the temperature of the laminate structure ([0020-0023]); measuring strain at a distance from the portion of the optical fiber (on 11), the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary (Figure 2: 2 grating has a diameter of the fiber 11, the fiber 11 is within 4 thus the diameter of 2 is less diameter of 4); and calculating the temperature of the laminate structure based on detecting changes in wavelength of the measured light (The sensor is capable of detecting strain deformation base on wavelengths [0027] and (Figure 4), the strain is then used to correlate to certain ranges of temperature base on deformations ([0011] and [0046]) and the measured strain.
Jia does not teach, wherein measuring the strain comprises measuring light reflected or transmitted in the additional optical fiber, and wherein the light reflected or transmitted is indicative of the strain at the distance from the portion; wherein the strain sensor comprises an additional optical fiber with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein measuring the strain comprises measuring the light reflected or transmitted in the additional optical fiber of the strain sensor.
Chen does teach wherein measuring the strain ([0026]) comprises measuring light reflected (from the grating structure ([0028]) or transmitted in the additional optical fiber (104), and wherein the light reflected or transmitted is indicative of the strain at the distance from the portion (Figure 1: at 106 and [0026]); wherein the strain sensor (106) comprises an additional optical fiber (Figure 1: 104 wrapped around the outside of the tubular structure 102) with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein measuring the strain comprises measuring the light reflected or transmitted in the additional optical fiber of the strain sensor ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jia to include an additional strain sensor on the outside of the device to get a reading of the strain that is exerted on the surface of the cylindrical capillary body. This provides a more accurate reading on the surface compared to a sensor that is located internally of the capillary since some of the strain force or temperature may be muted by the absorbed capillary ([0032]).
Jia / Chen does not teach a second fiber having a strain sensor located on the outside of a tube wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure having 2 layers bonded together.
Farrel does teach a FBG (Fiber grating) sensor (Figure 2: 3 within 4) wherein the 4 is made using laminated layers bonded together (Figure 2: 4; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). Farrell indicates the temperature sensor FBG is located in capillary tube (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30); while the strain sensor FBG is directly attached to laminated without the need of a tube (See Figure 2: one grating is located inside of a tube at element 3; while a second FBG is located in the laminate without tube at location of element 2; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). The purpose of the tube on the FBG sensor is to isolate strain from effecting the temperature reading since strain may cause fluctuations that may influence temperature reading in FBG (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG); wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia / Chen to have one FBG being inside the tube while another being outside the tube in order to isolate strain from influencing temperature readings when measuring strain or temperature acting on the laminate structure. Further Farrell teaches having multiple fibers runs allows better coverage at different locations as shown in Figure 3.
As for Claim 17, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches the sensor device according to claim 15, wherein Jia the capillary is embedded in an encapsulant layer of the laminate structure (Figure 3: 7).
In terms of Claim 21, Jia / Chen / Farrell teaches a capillary (Figure 2: 4) configured for being embedded in a laminate structure (Figure 3: 6 and 8) between two layers (Figure 3: 6 and 8) of the laminate structure (Figure 3); a medium ([0015]) arranged within the capillary (Figure 2: within 4 a fluid; [0015]); an optical fiber (Figure 2: 11) extending through the capillary (Figure 2: 11 within 4) and surrounded by the medium [0015], wherein a portion (Figure 2: on 11) of the optical fiber (11) has temperature-dependent optical transmission characteristics (Figure 2: 3).
Jia does not teach a strain sensor configured to measure strain at a distance from the portion of the optical fiber, the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary, wherein the strain sensor comprises an additional optical fiber with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the additional optical fiber is arranged outside the capillary.
Chen does teach a strain sensor (Figure 1: 106; [0026]) configured to measure strain at a distance from the portion of the optical fiber ([0026]), the distance being less than or equal to a diameter of the capillary (Figure 1: 106 is on the outside, wherein the strain sensor (106) comprises an additional optical fiber (104) with strain-dependent optical transmission characteristics and wherein the additional optical fiber is arranged outside the capillary (Figure 1: 106 and 104; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jia to include an additional strain sensor on the outside of the device to get a reading of the strain that is exerted on the surface of the cylindrical capillary body. This provides a more accurate reading of properties being measured on the surface compared to a sensor that is located internally of the capillary since some of the strain force or temperature may be muted by absorbed capillary ([0032]).
Jia / Chen does not teach a second fiber having a strain sensor located on the outside of a tube wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure having 2 layers bonded together.
Farrel does teach a FBG (Fiber grating) sensor (Figure 2: 3 within 4) wherein the 4 is made using laminated layers bonded together (Figure 2: 4; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). Farrell indicates the temperature sensor FBG is located in capillary tube (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30); while the strain sensor FBG is directly attached to laminated without the need of a tube (See Figure 2: one grating is located inside of a tube at element 3; while a second FBG is located in the laminate without tube at location of element 2; Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30). The purpose of the tube on the FBG sensor is to isolate strain from effecting the temperature reading since strain may cause fluctuations that may influence temperature reading in FBG (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG); wherein the sensor is measuring strain occurring in the laminate structure (Page 7, lines 20-35 and Page 8, lines 1-30 wherein a tube is used to isolate strain from the temperature FBG). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Jia / Chen to have one FBG being inside the tube while another being outside the tube in order to isolate strain from influencing temperature readings when measuring strain or temperature acting on the laminate structure. Further Farrell teaches having multiple fibers runs allows better coverage at different locations as shown in Figure 3.
Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia / Chen / Farrel as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Shah 2019/0178268US.
In regard to claims 10 and 11, Jia / Chen/ Farrell teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the light reflected or transmitted is indicative of the temperature of the laminate structure; wherein the strain sensor (Figure 2: 2) comprises an additional optical fiber with strain-dependent transmission characteristics. Farrell teaches as rejected in Claim 9 above wherein the FBG is located between two layers of laminate structure bonded together (Figure 2: 4).
Jia / Chen do not teach the device, further comprising a measurement circuit
Shah does teach a measurement circuit arranged to measure the light reflected or transmitted in the optical fiber, wherein the light reflected or transmitted is indicative of the temperature (Figure 7: 400; [0021], [0050-0051]) which can calculate the temperature and strain from FBG gratings ([0021] and [0050-0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shah with Jia of using a measurement circuit to perform calculations of temperature and strain data from the gratings of Jia. This allows the system to detect temperature / strain variance and over different parameters of measurement.
In regard to Claims 13-14 and 19-20 Jia / Chen teach the device of claim 9; the sensor system further comprises another strain sensor (Figure 6).
Jia / Chen do not teach wherein the laminate structure further comprises a photovoltaic cell; wherein the sensor is attached to the photovoltaic cell using an optically transparent bonding material and attached to the photovoltaic cell.
Shah does teach sensor structure further comprises a photovoltaic cell (Figure 6 and 7; the FBG ([0021]) is attached to the photovoltaic cell (Figure 6) using an optically transparent bonding material and attached to the photovoltaic cell (Figure 6: various transparent layers in the photovoltaic cell bonds or encapsulate the sensor to the cell). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to integrate a Fiber grating sensor capable of detecting temperature and strain to a photovoltaic cell in order to detect strain and temperature acting on the cell which may cause the cell to have performance issues via a laminate layer such transparent bonding material. The incorporation of temperature and strain sensors improves the performance and functionality of the cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, 15 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The newly amended limitations have been rejected in view of the prior art to Farrell as detailed above. Newly added claim 22 have also been rejected as detailed above.
This action is therefore made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874