DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second layer" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In line 2, replace “5” with –6--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Izumi et al. (JP 2016186886A).
Regarding claim 1, Izumi et al. disclose an electrochemical device comprising:
a positive electrode (11);
a negative electrode (12); and
an electrolyte [0050]-[0051] having lithium ion conductivity, wherein:
the positive electrode (11) includes a positive current collector (111) and a positive electrode mixture layer (112) supported on the positive current collector (111),
the positive electrode (111) mixture layer contains a positive electrode active material reversibly doped with an anion [0085],
the negative electrode (12) includes a negative current collector (121) and a negative electrode mixture layer (122) supported on the negative current collector (121),
the negative electrode mixture layer (122) contains a negative electrode active material reversibly doped with lithium ions [0086],
the negative electrode active material contains non-graphitizable carbon [0086], and
a ratio Mp/Mn of a mass Mp of the positive electrode active material supported on a unit area of the positive electrode (91 % of 6.92 mg/cm2 – [0085]) to a mass Mn of the negative electrode active material supported on a unit area of the negative electrode (93% of 4.0 mg/cm2) is in a range from 1.1 to 2.5 (6.2972 / 3.72 = 1.693), inclusive.
Regarding claim 2, Izumi et al. disclose the ratio Mp/Mn is in a range from 1.4 to 1.8, inclusive (1.693 – see above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi et al. (JP 2016186886A) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0140322).
Regarding claim 3, Izumi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is in a range from 10 m2/g to 70 m2/g, inclusive.
Chen et al. disclose an electrochemical device (title) comprising a negative electrode mixture (abstract), wherein the negative electrode mixture has a specific surface area in a range from 10 m2/g to 70 m2/g, inclusive [0051].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the electrochemical device are to form the electrochemical device of Izumi et al. so that the negative electrode mixture has a specific surface area in a range from 10 m2/g to 70 m2/g, inclusive, since such a modification would form an electrochemical device having high cycle performance.
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. teach that the specific surface area of the negative electrode mixture layer is in a range from 25 m2/g to 50 m2/g, inclusive [0051].
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi et al. (JP 2016186886A) in view of Yagi et al. (JP 2005166469A).
Regarding claim 5, Izumi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a surface layer of the negative electrode mixture has a first layer containing lithium carbonate.
Yagi et al. disclose an electrochemical element (title) having a negative electrode, wherein the negative electrode has a lithium carbonate layer [0009].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Izumi et al. so that the negative electrode layer comprises a thin lithium carbonate layer, since such a modification would improve the charge-discharge cycle characteristics.
Regarding claim 8, Izumi et al. disclose the first layer has a thickness of 15 nm [0027].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izumi et al. (JP 2016186886A) in view of Hamon et al. (US 2015/0372274).
Regarding claim 10, Izumi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the electrolyte having lithium ion conductivity includes lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide: LiN(SO2F)2.
Hamon et al. disclose an electrochemical device using a lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide electrolyte.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the electrochemical device art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Izumi et al. using a bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide electrolyte, since electrolyte materials are selected based on design considerations and tradeoffs between cost and electrochemical properties.
Bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide is a known electrolyte that demonstrates outstanding chemical and thermal stability.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest an electrochemical device:
wherein the surface layer part of the negative electrode mixture layer has a second layer containing a solid electrolyte (claim 6); and
wherein the second layer is measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, a substantially F1s peak attributed to a LiF bond is observed (claim 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 20060028121
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2848