Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, 17, 18, 20, 22, 31, 92, 93, 97, 99, 115, 117, 119-125 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,946,173 in view of Zhu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0204718. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claims yarns comprising the same blends of fibers in the same proportions and fabrics made from the yarns. The fabric of US ‘173 can have a basis weight of 2-15 osy. See claim 6.
U.S. ‘173 differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the amount of fiber dyed modacrylic fibers by weight of the fabric.
However, Zhu et al discloses yarns comprising 40-70 wt% modacrylic fibers, 5-20 wt% para aramid fiber, 10-40 wt% M aramid fibers, (see paragraph 0007-0009), which can further include 1-5 wt% antistatic fibers, see paragraph 0026.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have selected amounts of modacrylic fibers from within the range as taught by Zhu in order to provide a yarn having the desired properties such as fire resistance.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-12, 17, 18, 20, 22, 31, 92, 93, 97, 99, 115, 117, 119-125 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0204718 in view of Lawson, III et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0290560 and Ashley et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0292953.
Zhu et al discloses yarns comprising 40-70 wt% modacrylic fibers, 5-20 wt% para aramid fiber, 10-40 wt% M aramid fibers, (see paragraph 0007-0009), which can further include 1-5 wt% antistatic fibers, see paragraph 0026. The yarns can be formed into woven and knitted fabrics. See paragraph 0030. The fabrics can have a basis weight of 8-12 osy which meets the limitations of new claim 121. See paragraph 0031. Example 2 discloses a fabric having a construction of 27 ends X21 picks per CM, (68 ends X52 picks per inch which meets the limitations of new claim 120. See paragraph 0060. The fabrics can be formed into garments. The fabric does not include cellulosic or nylon fibers.
Zhu differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose that the fibers are solution, (fiber) dyed.
However, Lawson teaches that it was known to solution dye flame retardant fibers including aramids and modacrylic fibers. See paragraph 0003, 0006.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have solution dyed the fibers of Zhu in order to provide fibers having a particular appearance or color. Solution dyeing the flame retardant fibers of Zhu which can be present in amounts of up to 70 wt percent modacrylic, 20 wt% p-aramid and 40 wt% m-aramid would arrive at a yarn including 70 wt% or more of solution dyed fibers. With regard to the claimed basis weight, Zhu teaches values about 8 osy which would at least render obvious a value of 7.5 osy. See paragraph 0031. Zhu further teaches at paragraph 0031 that the degree of protection afforded by the material correlates with the amount of material. Therefore, Zhu teaches that the amount of material, (basis weight), is a result effective variable and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a value of basis weight which provided the desired degree of protection.
With regard to the claims 117 and 122, since Zhu teaches the claimed fiber blend, it is reasonable to expect that the yarn of Zhu would meet the claimed standard. Further, it would have been obvious to have dyed all the fibers so that the yarn had a uniform appearance, or to dye only some fibers in order to provide a yarn having different colors within the same yarn.
Zhu does not disclose the claimed tear strength, tensile strength or arc rating. However, since Zhu teaches the same fibers in the same proportions made into yarns which are made into fabrics having the claimed basis weight and construction, it is reasonable to expect that the claimed properties would necessarily be present or else it would have been obvious to have selected the proportions of each type of fiber within the broader ranges disclosed by Zhu to provide a fabric having the desired properties.
Zhu differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the claimed basis weight.
However, Ashley discloses fabrics which are made from yarns which are a blend of aramid and modacrylic fibers. Ashley discloses that the fabrics can have basis weights of from 4-10.5 osy and meet ASTM F1506. See abstract.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the fabric of Zhu so that it had a lighter weight as taught by Ashley in order to provide a lighter and more comfortable but still protective fabric.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 5/7/26 are sufficient to overcome the previous rejection. A new rejection is set forth in view of the amended claims.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789